Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

csrulez
post Aug 7 2008, 06:44 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

Ministry of Education? Do they take in House Officers too? I've heard of it before but am not sure about it. Do housemans go under MOE? What are the job scopes den? Might be a stupid question i know, just curious. wink.gif
csrulez
post Aug 7 2008, 08:17 PM

1,114 posts

I see. Thanks for explaining. So i guess it is UKM, UM and USM. wink.gif
csrulez
post Aug 9 2008, 04:29 PM

1,114 posts

How i wish i could finish my pre-clinicals fast and move on to the clinical side. Envy my senior each time see-ing them coming back from hospitals carry their own stethoscope. Haha.
csrulez
post Aug 9 2008, 04:59 PM

1,114 posts

But according to my seniors, 1st and 3rd year are the toughest. 1st year is tough cause of the packed up timetable, 8 to 5 everyday. And 3rd year is because of the transition from preclinicals to clinicals. also because of the packed up schedule, 8 to 12 hospital attachments, 2 to 5 lectures at the campus. lol. I think they are quite true.

And nope not yet, am currently finishing 1st year. Basic clinical skills will be taught on 2nd year as we're learning by systems. Probably now what i know is the regions we can use the stetoscope, but not yet using it. Few more months to go, and i'll have my very own stethoscope i guess. OSCE starts from the 2nd yer. wink.gif
csrulez
post Aug 9 2008, 05:06 PM

1,114 posts

PMC = Penang Medical College, FYI. wink.gif
csrulez
post Aug 15 2008, 01:18 AM

1,114 posts

AIMST is going to be a new medical university to receive JPA scholars too. We currently have a few in the latest foundation batch already.

Besides that, i heard that AIMST is going to be one of the choices of uni for medicine in the upcoming IPTA application form for stpm and matriks leaver. Due to the lack of seats for med in IPTA. It seems that the PM is going to announce it soon on the upcoming official opening on this Sunday. Lol. We'll see.

Anyhow, i was trying to say that 3rd world med schools aren't that bad at all. We still produce good doctors. But probably might lack in the consistency like what limeuu has said i guess. O.o

This post has been edited by csrulez: Aug 15 2008, 01:19 AM
csrulez
post Aug 15 2008, 01:30 AM

1,114 posts

Since it's a university founded by MIC, i would say that it might be true. Probably cos of the pathetic number of indian students admitted for medicine in IPTA which is a result of the quota which tends to side the bumis. Kind of sad isn't it? Nyways it's setted up to support the non-bumis at first.

Not too sure about it tho cos it has just recently promoted to a IPTA-like uni but the management will still run on it's own. What i'm glad to hear is that at least this new medical uni has got it's recognition in M'sia, at last. After 3 batches have graduated.

This post has been edited by csrulez: Aug 15 2008, 01:33 AM
csrulez
post Aug 16 2008, 12:21 AM

1,114 posts

Hey munsheng and hypermax.

Seriously you guys have seen my seniors? We only had a chance to catch a glimpse of them graduating when we first entered, sadly. Haha. I was wondering how are AIMST housemens doing there at MGH? I was told that our students kind of lacked in clinical exposure such as clinical procedures. Is it true so?

They are our pioneer batch who works really really hard to help us obtain the 3 years recognition by MMC. Thanks to them really. wink.gif
csrulez
post Aug 16 2008, 12:42 AM

1,114 posts

Yup, very true saying indeed. That was what i was told by the MMC guys during their accredition tour to our university. The problem is some hospitals such as the Alor Setar General Hospital's policy does not really allowed medical students to do their procedures compared to UM, UKM and USM who has their own hospitals. That professor jokingly asked us to suggest to our Uni to build our own hospitals as they have not been such application sent to MMC before. LOL. We have a dental hospital here though, not the medical hosp.
csrulez
post Aug 16 2008, 10:59 AM

1,114 posts

Hmm, am not sure about how many deliveries we have to do before graduating but what i've heard is that we're allowed to do so too. Currently that's what i heard from the clinical students. Exposure is really important i guess. But most of the time medical students only assist HO and MO i heard.

Dr. King! I know that guy, still got his powerpoint presentation on his elective posting in Hospital Batu Pahat with me. LOL. Try asking if his previous ID number was 0200101. He'll be shocked. wink.gif

And thanks for the advices, guys. Oops, seniors i should say. Haha. =)
csrulez
post Aug 16 2008, 12:25 PM

1,114 posts

IPTA or IPTS? Cause it seems impossible for an IPTS to build their own hospitals as there are many factors that needs to be considered. And most of the cost has to be borne by themselves. The MMC accrediting team was telling us so far no uni has applied to them, yet. Probably they're just bluffing us. Lol.
csrulez
post Aug 16 2008, 02:24 PM

1,114 posts

QUOTE(munsheng @ Aug 16 2008, 12:47 PM)
wow...
having their own teaching hospital..
really convenient le!!

wow csrulez, u really know dr king ar!!u even remember his student number!!hehe

Yup, our first batch of seniors u see. Lol. If i've not mistaken there are 2 more doctors from AIMST in MGH. Dr. Ng Chin Hui and another indian doctor. Not sure where they are posted though.

Hospital takes up lots of budget each year, and i guess it is impossible for a private medical university to bear all the costs. UNLESS, the government is willing to subsidize it. Impossible though. So far we've got a dental hospital here at AIMST which will be opened officially tomoro. As far as i've heard it's somehow like a private dental hospitals which provide various dental services for outsiders and our own students, at the same time to train our own dental students as well. Lower budget if compared to setting up our own medical hospital. Equipments, labs, nurses, OTs, beds etc etc. Money money money.
csrulez
post Aug 16 2008, 05:41 PM

1,114 posts

Very true indeed. Why did i never thought of patient's autonomy in choosing their doctors at private hospitals. Therefore is it impossble to establish a private teaching hospital in Malaysia? Was wondering if UCSI's hospital is funded by the government.

Anyhow, i think med students are allowed to conduct deliveries under close supervision of MOs or specialists in almost every teaching hospitals?
csrulez
post Aug 17 2008, 10:22 PM

1,114 posts

I'd recommend Lange, MIMS or Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple. wink.gif The drawings inside CMMRS is cool. lol.
csrulez
post Aug 20 2008, 12:48 AM

1,114 posts

In my uni, my lect says the notes is already sufficient to get 50%. Rest of it, will depends on our own Directed Self Learning (DSL). Mim's de book he said we can refer to for immunology and microbes. But still think dat CMMRS is the better one. Lol.
csrulez
post Aug 20 2008, 12:22 PM

1,114 posts

Talking about research, does all med students need to complete a certain amount of SSMs (Special Study Modules) before graduation? It's somehow like a personal research project which has to be done individually and in groups under the supervision of the Research Ethical Committee of the institute. I was kinda confused how should i hand in mine by 3rd year. Tough job.
csrulez
post Aug 21 2008, 09:22 PM

1,114 posts

Professional Exam 1, 2a, 2b, 3 or 4? Just curious. wink.gif

And oh btw MCQ plays a very small role in the exams right? If i've not mistaken. SAQ and LAQ is the killer quest.

This post has been edited by csrulez: Aug 21 2008, 09:24 PM
csrulez
post Aug 21 2008, 11:28 PM

1,114 posts

Omg, final year student. Looks like i'm in no position to comment on the exams. Hahaha. Anyways, wishing you the best of luck. How i wish i could finish my course fast. =(
csrulez
post Aug 22 2008, 12:38 AM

1,114 posts

Being smart does not prove anything, it's just an add on point for your studies. Hardwork sounds like the more reliable virtue to hold on. Therefore, one can live in medicine without the "smart" (of course abit of basic common sense is needed) part, but not with the "hardwork" part. Most of the work that has to be done during a medical studies is only memorizing and understanding. It depends how much effort and time u put into your studies. Still, who says med students are boring? We studied hard. but at the same time some of us play hard as well. Hahaa. It truly depends on how u cope with it.

My Professor for community medicine has once said that Medicine is all the while about common sense, but the "common" is not common. Nice quote.

And me wanting to be a doctor? It's an interest. Just thought of knowing out own body is fun and challenging at the same time. wink.gif

This post has been edited by csrulez: Aug 22 2008, 12:41 AM
csrulez
post Sep 1 2008, 05:09 PM

1,114 posts

One must take MMed for surgery if he/she is interested to become a surgeon? And i heard from a doctor that a MRCP paper will cost 8000 and normally what they do is that they usually will have already prepared 16000 for the exam. So that when they fail the paper, they could take up for the second time. Max 3 tries.True?

Btw i dun quite understand the specialisation and sub-specialisation thingy. Does that mean dat if one wants to be a neuro surgeon, pedatric surgeon, orthopaedic surgeon etc, he/she must first take up General Surgery den sub-specialise in orthopaedics etc? Same applies to Physicians, they must first take up Internal Medicine then sub-specialise in for example endocrinology, urology, otolaryngology etc?

This post has been edited by csrulez: Sep 1 2008, 05:11 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0490sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:02 PM