Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

MBBS siang
post Feb 2 2009, 07:15 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 2 2009, 05:38 PM)
you need physics for engineering......except for chemical, where the requisite is chemistry......

if you do get 4.0, you should be able to get into one of the ipta.......if it is a high 3 (eg 3.9) don't try for um or ukm, put ums or unimas as 1st choice, and you have a good chance to get in......

if you really score 4.0 at stpm, you are better qualified to enter medicine than >1/2 of those in med schools now........they get in with less result and more money....... smile.gif
Haha...hey guy!!! This sentence seems like.......... brows.gif

Added on February 2, 2009, 7:19 pm
QUOTE(Vint @ Feb 2 2009, 04:57 PM)
whats the estimated fee for med course in india?
i heard from my senior, the cost is around RM500k++.....

Added on February 2, 2009, 7:22 pm
QUOTE(SticH @ Feb 2 2009, 04:28 PM)
Hello guys,

I'm taking form 6 this year, a biology class which included bio, chemistry, mathematics, and pengajian am. Let's say I get CGPA 4.0 but I fail getting in to medicine, what alternative can i choose? I was thinking of chemical engineering but in the other thread they said physic is required. I'm very anxious about not getting a alternative if I failed to pursue medicine, anyone?
hey hey!!!Buck up!!! Sure can make it!!! Aim for UM or UKM ,I think you will put in more effort in order to get your 4.0!!!!GAMPATEH!!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif laugh.gif!! To me, I don't allow myself to think any alternative way if sure really want to be a doctor!!!!

Added on February 2, 2009, 7:29 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 2 2009, 05:38 PM)
you need physics for engineering......except for chemical, where the requisite is chemistry......

if you do get 4.0, you should be able to get into one of the ipta.......if it is a high 3 (eg 3.9) don't try for um or ukm, put ums or unimas as 1st choice, and you have a good chance to get in......

if you really score 4.0 at stpm, you are better qualified to enter medicine than >1/2 of those in med schools now........they get in with less result and more money....... smile.gif
erm...ask you something limeuu!!! If my actual result unexpected to get 3.83 or 3.84(AAAB+ or AAA-A-),apply for ums or unimas still stand a chance or not?

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 2 2009, 07:29 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 2 2009, 10:58 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 2 2009, 10:38 PM)
yes.......make it first choice........they will look at people who place them as first choice first........they are more likely to offer people with 3.8 who chooses them first, rather than a 4.0 placing them at 5th choice.......
Thanks!!!

Added on February 2, 2009, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Feb 2 2009, 11:01 PM)
U doing what actually? STPM or Gov.Matriculation ?
i have finished my STPM......!!!!Waiting for result!!!Gov matriks, biggrin.gif I went there just around 2 weeks and because of my"blur blur",so i cheated by somebody who was closest to me then come back to do my STPM lo....

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 3 2009, 10:26 AM
MBBS siang
post Feb 3 2009, 10:23 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Feb 3 2009, 03:35 AM)
It's good for you to do STPM,
it prepares you well to study in the future.

By the way, u like to translate chinese directly into english?
Wao.... you never really used past tense....
hihi!!!forgive my stupid english!!!I will try very hard to improve it!!!!

Added on February 3, 2009, 10:45 am
QUOTE(haya @ Feb 3 2009, 09:08 AM)
Maybe we can change the mentality of some people, and make them realise that they are not cut out for medical school instead?

Or how about the whole system where many people, including some people in this forum, try to get around the system at all costs to get into an MBBS program?

The people are as much as fault as the political interests of the government.
Actually I think most of the doctor are NOT "DOCTOR MATERIAL"before they enter medical school!!!
I think one who want to be a doctor must have the determination,passion,confident and compassion and they should know what should they do after become a doctor and also know the responsibility of a doctor!!!
They need to have mentality prepare about their life when they become a doctor....work like dog and pay like shit!!!!!! They must realize how much effort they need to put in according different ability!!!! I think some are think"DR"is god ,graduate from medical school means they are god and never really pay more more more attention to the patient because they think any diagnosis they do must be correct and neglect the condition of patient...
A "DOCTOR MATERIAL" shouldn't have any attitude problem and willing to learn,humble,and the most important thing is to care the patient!!! With the brilliant brain not mean you can be a good doctor but maybe skillful!!!!Don't care how smart you are if you treat the patient only with your skill or knowledge but without any care and love, the doctor will just a technician who can only repair the human but not save them!!!

1. We need a fair ,systematic and consistent selection of admission of medical school(no political power involve,no consideration of skin,no priority to the rich)
2. We need the medical council which is really work...!!!!De-recognize the substandard medical school!!! strictly make sure the quality of med school is good!!!
3.Stop producing rubbish but doctor!!!
4.Who want to be a doctor should know don't because your result is good so must become a doctor , don't because it is a high pay or stable job so you choose it as your career and don't think the title 'DR' means god and with higher social status then want to be 'DR'!!!!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 3 2009, 12:49 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 3 2009, 04:59 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Feb 3 2009, 02:09 PM)
why do you want to be a doctor?
from pmr to spm ,I think become a doctor will make me have a higher social status than the others!!!! I can wear the smart white coat with the stethoscope...awesome is it?

When I was in the mid-year of upper6 , I only realize why i want to be a doctor!!!! I want to reduce the pain,to help the patient from being tortured by the diseases!!! i want my hand and my brain to become extra-ordinary which can really save the life...All of this is because someone die in front of me just because me unable to do something to help her,the only thing i can do is send her to hospital but halfway.........haiz..........she was yelling and crying for help but I don't dare to do anything just because i was nothing and i don't know how to help her.....until now i still feel very sorry about her death!!!! I swear to be a great doctor even there is a lot of resistant and difficulty in front of me!!! I am willing to sacrifice anything even my life just to help a patient. So, why i say if i failed to enter IPTA ,I will try all the way to enter IPTS.Although im not rich but i can get the loan from ptptn and to beg my rich relative for help,they may agree but they want interest. I will promise their condition(interest), if they agree to lend me the money!!! Its because i really want to be a doctor....I want to save the painful and miserable people....They do feel pain ,very pain!!!!!they cry and yell just want to seek help!!! I can feel their pain!!!!They are suffering cry.gif ,they need doctor!!!!!!Haiz...... sad.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 3 2009, 07:56 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 3 2009, 09:39 PM

582 posts

thanks for the advice!!!! I know that!!! Sometime,reality are different from dream!!!! I know what you mean cybersetan. I have mentally prepare if my dream are crush,I will just accept the reality and try other way which may lead to the same thing(save human life) or I will just retake STPM and try again!!! Haha...I know god will listen what I say,god will know that and god will bless me!!! Thats what I believe!!!! Thanks!!!

Added on February 3, 2009, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Feb 3 2009, 10:25 PM)
Well sometimes we just could'nt help it. But I guess we all should have realistic expectation. I once see a pictures of medical diseases and curing method and it just struck me.

I wanted to do exactly like the guy who reconstructed back a face of an accident person or a burned victim by skin graft. But somehow financial assistance might not come so I keep the goal low like doing some other thing before continuing my thought on becoming a doctor.
You are right!!! But I think if there is still a hope doctor will try,at least they do something!!! I feel sorry to her because she is trying to ask for help but I can't and not able to help!!! Buck up and all the best everyone(future doctor) here!!!!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 3 2009, 10:31 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 4 2009, 07:45 AM

582 posts

Added on February 4, 2009, 7:46 am
QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Feb 4 2009, 01:58 AM)
Wao...
U r so-super-determinated to study medicine. That's great.
I hope you are one of the doctors who CAN really treat patients but not being called a Dr. Doom instead.

From ur previous post, I don't think there's going to be much change for the selection of students into the IPTA's medicine programme, unless the government goes nutty.
Thanks! Hope so!

thats for sure but only my hope and definitely impossible !!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif If opposition party can hold the government that maybe some chances to see changes!!!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 4 2009, 09:19 AM
MBBS siang
post Feb 4 2009, 04:37 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Feb 4 2009, 02:50 PM)
muahaha.. I suppose many of us are waiting desperately for it to happen, right?
nearly, nearly....
I crave for it to happen drool.gif !!!! Hahaha.....!!! laugh.gif If our deputy prime minister see this,I'm sure he will directly faint down!!! rclxub.gif

Added on February 4, 2009, 4:41 pm
QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Feb 4 2009, 10:50 AM)
Err, but that another 3 year or more but if the selection is more honest and strict like NUS which accept lil' foreigner maybe it could be more tougher to get into. But right now scoring high in STPM/Mat is the only way.

Well, I really think that pursuing medicine must have interest in it just like getting into other course. Hopefully you get ones. Try loan if out of money.
Thanks guy!!! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 4 2009, 04:41 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 4 2009, 07:25 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Feb 4 2009, 07:39 PM)
Lol, I think this already got into 'Real WOrld Issue' thread but if the opposition is ever going to change the university entrance is yet to be seen. But making U's more open to all races without any quota can actually increase international ranking and also more honest in accepting good student without any discrimination.
Alright! I think if the opposition take place,for sure some changes must be seen!!! The International ranking of the local U keep on dropping and dropping, such a shame condition really hell!!!! We really need the high quality education,the"pure and clean"education! And the standard health care should also improve more and more otherwise will like my uncle say:" In future,patient will trying to choose the doctor before they are treated if the rubbish keep on appear".Haha...!!!!!Education and health care unit is a foundation of a country....With good education and wonderful health care unit sure will make this country advance in a high speed(Turbo engine)....If everything can even change,well malaysia+changes=developed country!!!!! thumbup.gif

Added on February 4, 2009, 7:35 pm
QUOTE(edge85 @ Feb 4 2009, 08:09 PM)
unfortunately, you and me, we know that in 'the real world' such fairness do not exist...

and it doesn't matter, to me at least...if our public universities incrase in their international rankings..they can have it their way, if that's what they want...if entrance were to be 'easier', ie by removing the quota wouldn't that make us complacent?

ideally speaking if such fairness were to be introduced, think of all the possible consequences...the country would face economic imbalance... hence protests, racial killings etc...
Actually,with the concern to economic,all the "protect Bumi policy"is only benefit to UM..O(a party in BN) member but not bumi!!!!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 4 2009, 07:37 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 4 2009, 10:55 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Feb 4 2009, 09:58 PM)
BUt even changing to Pakatan still mean keeping the Bumi vote which is the majority. While there is some Bumi who said about more fairness, most don't. Most of my old schoolmate is zealous on the speciality of Bumi.

If you give a baby a lollipop, don't the baby cry if you take it back? The situation might be different if it an adult. mentality bro..
Actually,non-bumi only hope the government to be more fairness to us but not mean to cut off the specialty of bumi!!! We just want the bumi to share a bit of lollipop to us but not put the lollipop on the desk then start to drag and fight!!! No...actually we don't think in that way!!! Most of the Bumi are now realize that actually the"protect bumi policy" is not directly benefit to the usual bumi,but only the politician and the rich bumi will enjoy it, don't you think so?I don't think the quota system will be just disappear even though the pakatan hold the power..!!! Being more fairness to others(non-bumi) is the only way to keep our talent to serve our own country(any sector)and to speed up the development!!"duit kopi"culture is also a culprit which may lead to a"DROP" to our country!!!!
BN should know they have lost a lot of vote from bumi,so I think bumi are now more and more understand their situation!!!They should understand malaysia are going backward!!!Hopefully,we can see the changes not only non-bumi but bumi also!!!!

Added on February 4, 2009, 11:28 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 4 2009, 08:22 PM)
no........meritocracy encourages competition, and prevents complacency.....

no........fallacious thinking, but widely promoted by some politicians to justify unjustifiable policies....

this thread is becoming kopitiam..... biggrin.gif
nod.gif nod.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 4 2009, 11:28 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 5 2009, 04:08 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 5 2009, 02:30 PM)
3M Littman Classic SE II is the choice for most medical students around the world. It's abit pricey but i guess it's all worth it.

And i guess brand does not matter for the pen torches and patella hammers. They all have the same functions. I'm using a Littman stets, an Energizer pen torch and unbranded patella hammer though. wink.gif
The medical students are begin to use the stethoscope when they are in the 1st and 2nd year oo?
MBBS siang
post Feb 5 2009, 04:30 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Feb 5 2009, 05:28 PM)
It depends, it's either 3rd year or 1st year onwards. Traditionally it's supposed to be 3rd year (clincal years), but some meskols integrate clincal components into the pre clinical stage, so stethoscope is used from 1st year onwards.
thank you!!
MBBS siang
post Feb 5 2009, 06:06 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(hocklee @ Feb 5 2009, 06:48 PM)
i'm in 2nd.
Oo...!!!So, depend on medical school lo!!!thanks!!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 5 2009, 06:06 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 6 2009, 02:48 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Feb 6 2009, 02:31 PM)
imu 1st year, 2nd semester does have clinical skills unit, but am not sure if stests are used.
The admission of IMU need to attend an Interview or not?
MBBS siang
post Feb 6 2009, 10:52 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Feb 6 2009, 06:20 PM)
Yeap...
They are the lecturers from different programme.

By the way, does medical students in IMU need to attend classes during saturday???
hey bro!!!Which partner school you are choose to?I mean IMU partner school!!!sometime,Im quite jealous the rich family who can send their child overseas but never mind la....can enter the recognized medical school is most important la!!!Haha rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 6 2009, 10:56 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 7 2009, 08:04 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Feb 7 2009, 01:59 AM)
har? i ain't in pms programme, doing local de.
I have my plan and reason for doing so,
muahahaha~
From your previous post,i know that you have accepted by the National Taiwan University isn it?Then why you reject it to choose to do medicine in IMU(local) but not pms programme ?In my opinion, I think it is a bit pity and wasteful because I think the national taiwan U is better and is a more reputable uni if compared to IMU lo!!! But that is your choice and as you say you have your own plan,so wish you all the best la rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 7 2009, 10:19 AM
MBBS siang
post Feb 8 2009, 01:48 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Feb 8 2009, 01:01 PM)
Guys, Recently rumors of Insufficient seats for Doctors or even Freshman are flying...

If I'm not mistaken, Sin Chew once Published a headline which states that on the year of 201x(I don't remember what the digit is) The quantity of Doctors exceeds the requirements by 8000 people.

Is it true or is it serious?

I know that first thing that comes to the doctor's life is the competence, but you don't invest 350K into a course and complete it, then cant even get a freshman position, do you?
2015. I do read this news but this news is actually quite long ago isn't it?I think this is a bad news to medical students or prospective medical students but is a good news to patients. In my opinion,due to the competitiveness in medical profession the competency of doctor should increases and the doctor with less competency and compassion will be eliminated by the profession itself. The patient deserve the right to choose the doctor who is suit to them,maybe this will make the profession cheap but this is a way to retain the real doctor but not....hantu!!!!haha...!!! If mmc do change the recognition policy and make some changes to their register system of doctor,maybe this will not be happened!Good doctor should able to survive, even though there is an exceeding of quantity of doctor! So,don't worry if one have prepared to be a good doctor. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 8 2009, 02:05 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 8 2009, 02:03 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Feb 8 2009, 03:01 PM)
In Msia there would never be such thing as "competitiveness in medical profession "
Maybe!!!
MBBS siang
post Feb 8 2009, 05:52 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(ShaneNg @ Feb 8 2009, 06:28 PM)
to Haya: Thanks for searching the article, yea it's precsiely the article, only that i had been skimming the article to round up the datas roughly.

to MBBS Siang: If I were a undercover Interviewer, once I again I can confirm your optimistic and humble point of view is indeed an excellent attribute to make you a successful doctor one day.

Added on February 8, 2009, 5:29 pmI wonder if problems like this exist in foreign countries? If it does, shouldnt the problem persists for a long time already?
Thanks for your praise. notworthy.gif I believe and hopefully,I will !!! drool.gif

Can anyone tell me about the CUCMS? Is it good?Will this med school very hard to enter?

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 9 2009, 10:06 AM
MBBS siang
post Feb 10 2009, 10:25 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(se-ryn @ Feb 10 2009, 03:29 AM)
wat is CUCMS .. =.= i read the previous post.. i feel its rather hard to enter lor.. xD

I'm a newbie.. ^^ aimst will be much easier to enter.. wakakak ~
Oh! CUCMS stand for (Cyberjaya University College of Medical Sciences),it is a new medical school! I had garner some info from csrulez,he told me it is very easy to enter and give me a good advice but I just want to know more about this Uni. Who is from this Uni or know something about it then can tell me lo.....!Are you from Aimst MBBS?

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 10 2009, 10:28 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 11 2009, 12:58 PM

582 posts

em.

Added on February 11, 2009, 1:11 pmThen,how about the Unikl(RCMP)? The MBBS ok or not?How about the admission?

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 11 2009, 01:11 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0506sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:48 AM