Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

wgy589
post Mar 26 2009, 01:33 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 25 2009, 01:18 PM)
By all means go for it, instead of wasting your time doing foundation. I would have gone to China if the degree was recognized by SMC back then. The tuition fee is only half of what i am paying. Damn.

Added on March 25, 2009, 1:21 pm
I am trained in the old system, and so far i find it ok, but most of the time a quick revision of basic medical sciences is needed before studying a new system (CNS, RS , etc), which can be quite tedious. However according to my friends in IMU, they had problems linking one system to another.
hey seems like you have a strong foundation in medical sciences. now i'm trying to revise parts of anat and physio b4 clinical yrs.

anyone knows where can i buy this handbook called "the consult manual of internal mediicne" in msia/sg. i tried Kamal and NUS, but couldn't find it.

http://www.amazon.com/Consult-Manual-Inter...e/dp/0977013308

Added on March 26, 2009, 1:36 pm
QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 25 2009, 11:24 PM)
Wa, very good are you! I even stutter ot talk to university representative yet alone embassy! smile.gif
I think you got evrything in check but the word from the university itself is important. Make sure the syllabus is in English. You quite lucky as be able to talk in mandarin. I can't and I better off with English-medium place until got no further option. By the way, I got a pamplet from Russia Resources stating that the cost to Nizhy Volgograd in total of 263k. Still affordable but not recognized as in China. I think Zhenjiang look much more 'modern' compare to Fudan.
Best of luck!

Added on March 25, 2009, 11:28 pmplease tell us the outcome as I also wanted to know the procedure
huh, i thot fudan is in shanghai?

This post has been edited by wgy589: Mar 26 2009, 01:36 PM
wgy589
post Mar 28 2009, 01:05 AM

759 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Mar 28 2009, 12:21 AM)
Erm.....what is the licensing exam in china? I cant search it! I will try to find out but If anyone here can answer please post it up here!

Now, I have registered with that agent and bank in RM500 to him already. Everything in process,within 14 working days I will accept an offer letter from zhejiang uni.When I make sure everything from china,then I will announce the good news here. Zhejiang uni is the top 4 uni in china.The affiliated hospital is the most popular and famous organ transplant center in china and there are a lot of cadavers can do the experiment.With the 11 fully equipped affiliated hospital(2 of its are general hospital), I think the clinical skill shouldn't be an obstacle for me to be a skillful doctor.

I'm sure with smc recognition and my effort, to register with smc will not very difficult to me! Dear senior here please bless me good luck all the way! rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
try to keep in contact wif SMC throughout ur studies, as i said it can be easily de-recognised in the near future.

and it's impt to improve ur english on ur own efforts, as i dun think studying in china can help, eventhough it's conducted in english.

and u should also try to look for alternatives elsewhere, eg USMLE, australian...

and lastly, all the best. rclxms.gif
wgy589
post Apr 2 2009, 02:04 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 2 2009, 12:51 PM)
my point is, why do you need to go through a middleman agent?........why can't you apply directly to the uni?........

that sijil sokong is just a rough way of controlling who gets offered places in med schools in other countries....you do NOT need it to go study, but you may get into trouble when you want to return and register to work......the very fact that the mohe needs such a rule show how bad it is.......of med schools taking in very poor qualify students....
exactly, there shouldn't be any agent involved in the education field. these agents are just to earn $ from you, by telling you how good the universities are, helping you to apply, arranging for accomodations, etc, which are just basic things you can do or the university concerned can do for you, if those universities really care for their students, despite language barrier and stuffs.

Added on April 2, 2009, 2:17 pm
QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Apr 2 2009, 11:51 AM)
Im going to do in Indo not russia(UMG,Universitas Gadjah Mada),they will make sure all criteria meet before register! Now all the medical student want to pursue medicine overseas must obtain the sijil"sokongan luar negara" from MOHE.If the uni allowed them to do medicine without meet the criteria,when they graduated should have a bundle of problems before they can practise and qualifying exam may be required.The Uni itself also will die.So,Mr doctor limeuu don't worry. As I know It is in ukraine. But russia?
you always talked about the positive sides of the medskols you are/were applying, whether it's AIMST, Zhejiang, and Indo. try to consider the other way round. there are tonnes of problems there.

btw, i do think that indo is the better choice than zhejiang, which is obviously a very risky and "non traditional" route.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Apr 2 2009, 02:25 PM
wgy589
post Apr 2 2009, 03:24 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Apr 2 2009, 03:03 PM)
Haha! Life is always like this, we should always make thing easy.To me,a cheaper but acceptable quality of medical school is okay.Thats why I only accept the positive side of the medical school. Indonesia is not a bad destination to do medicine isn it?Actually,what Dr limeuu say is not wrong! The medical school of 3rd world uni like UMG in indonesia,they want to earn the money from foreign student.So,they just give the priority to the representative to reserve the seat in order to attract the student,who actually fit to enter medical school but due to the competitiveness lost the seat.Some of the local public uni or reputable western uni also do the similar backdoor method to franchise,twining and etc,to allow people to get the degree without much competition.The only different is just,I go indo pay RM160000 for tuition fees and who do twinning partner medical school in IMU going to pay more than half a million for tuition fees. laugh.gif Dr limeuu I go through a middleman because I have meet the requirement,so the agent will reserve a seat for me.Who go to apply on your own will only end up with failed because the priority will always give to the agent.This is the dark side of education.We can just accept it wink.gif
being optimistic doesn't mean you can ignore the problems.

"only accept the positive" is just a suicide
wgy589
post Apr 3 2009, 01:24 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(zedstat @ Apr 3 2009, 01:19 PM)
i have to agree on this.. even after 5 years of medical school i still dont think its enough
although its tiring.. but yes.. the things u need to learn are too vast..
its like a never-ending journey
huh, i think both of you are talking abt diff topics rclxub.gif
wgy589
post Apr 3 2009, 02:26 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(zedstat @ Apr 3 2009, 01:59 PM)
its the same topic..
im saying that. if ur looking for shortest course to get ur MBBS or MD
u might as well find other course.. bcoz ur not dr. material..
bcoz even after 5years of med school i still don think 5years is enuff
ok, there's no point arguing over a small issue.

btw, are you a Malay? cos i saw from other threads that you are looking for places to learn mandarin/canto (i'm assuming most malaysian chinese know mandarin/canto and indians only form a minority in UM medicine)

This post has been edited by wgy589: Apr 3 2009, 02:32 PM
wgy589
post Apr 4 2009, 03:48 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(zedstat @ Apr 3 2009, 06:44 PM)
hurm yup im malay.. i managed to find mandarin class in YMCA near KL sentral
wo zai xue jiang hua yu smile.gif
by the way in my batch.. there are actually alot chinese who called themself "banana"
i only know that term when i study in YMCA for my class.. tongue.gif
my batch.. indians only made up ard 10-20% out of the whole batch
i dont think the arguement for no3 and no4 are valid for the cons
because the patients will always be there.. however.. the cases would be the issue
as ur studying in university hospital like hukm or ummc.. the cases would be abit better compared to general
govt hospital, there are alot more of this so called "rare" or "unique" cases bcoz the cases there mostly are  the referred one.
so u can learn more..
but in general govt hospital. u can master the most basic and common disorder.

as for the lack number of prof or DR, i would say in my final year... im attached to like 1 dr per 8 students max.. hurm its nt the ratio actually
that determine the quality of teaching. its the effort. if u manage to stand out in that group of 8.. for sure u will get more..
and yes i would say all the prof in my school are so "keng"
damn pro -.- *jealous of them*
i'm so jealous of you being a Malay, which means 5 years later (1yr for HO and 4 yrs for SLAB), you are specialist already, while most of your Chinese batchmates are still MOs under you. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by wgy589: Apr 4 2009, 03:57 PM
wgy589
post Apr 4 2009, 08:25 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Apr 4 2009, 08:14 PM)
What is SLAB?
http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2008/04/slai-or-sly.html

wgy589
post Apr 17 2009, 09:37 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(brownydoggy @ Apr 17 2009, 08:03 PM)
Any books to recommend for Operative Surgery, Propadeutics , Pharmacology, Path. physio, Path. anat and General surgery?? Thanks.
books used in the kiasuland

http://www.medicus.tk/

click on

TEXTBOOKS AND TYS
Textbook Reviews (M1, M2, medicine, surgery, etc)

wgy589
post May 1 2009, 07:03 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ May 1 2009, 01:48 PM)
Has anyone read Sinchew paper recently? Have a look at this: 吳名‧醫生的素質問題 | 評論 I'm sorry it's in Chinese. Would be glad if anyone can properly translate it. Or else use the goole translator....

Correct me if I'm wrong, since I myself is not Chinese-educated. My friend roughly translated the article orally. Although it's a bit racist, it's roughly about 7 final year Chinese medical students at University of Malaya (UM) who failed their final MBBS exam and has to undergo supplementary semester. For your information, this is the first ever failure of Chinese final year medical students which has never happened before. Incidentally, this was also the first batch of students with non-bumi matriculation students. Tho anonymous author blamed the system for denying the 128 STPM 4.0 students (the 2004 incident) from getting a place in the local university medical schools and stated that this would have never happened if the 128 STPM students were accepted in the first place.

And this is the rebuttal article written not long after the first: 吳名氏‧醫生素質與128事件無關 | 評論
Something about getting into medical school depends not only on brains but other criteria as well. And also stating that the 128 students were offered to do medicine elsewhere other than local uni.

These articles have sparked outcries from one of the junior batches, with most from matriculation disageeing with the first article. Those from STPM, who are the minority, did not participate although there was a general consensus of agreement with the first article. In other words, the age-old debate about STPM vs Matriculation has started all over again.

Being from STPM myself, I can't help but to be more inclined towards the first article, although I still think that we should not generalize things. So guys. what's your take on this?
maybe they had some quarrels with their malay colleagues and didn't manage to get exam hints from them
wgy589
post May 14 2009, 09:21 PM

759 posts

being a foreignerin hk, postgrad might be a prob, but u are always welcome to go spore

btw,hku medicine is definitely one of the best in Asia.imo, u shld go if u can't get any better offers, eg, johns hopkins, edin...
wgy589
post May 17 2009, 11:30 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ May 17 2009, 10:26 PM)
If i am not mistaken, all foreign graduates including those from UK and US have to take AMC in order to practice in Aus. Anyone can clarify on this?
If i'm not wrong, UK graduates who have finished their 2 foundation years are exempted from AMC exam. It was introduced few years back. can't find the link though.
wgy589
post May 18 2009, 08:00 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ May 18 2009, 07:54 PM)
Yep but don't worry. I think PTPTN will do something. Bank loan wll be quite tough to get nowadays with the interest much higher than before.

hey limeuu, how you find the time to post in lowyat and cut people open in the same time eh? smile.gif
erm, i thought ptptn only applies to local studies?
wgy589
post May 21 2009, 09:45 AM

759 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ May 21 2009, 09:34 AM)
This is indeed an eye opener. While many think that most 3rd world health care systems suck, Cuba on the other hand has better health care system than the Bolehland. Therefore, dun always generalize.

I came across a blog entry by the famous blogger Dr. Pot, and i would like to share it with you guys

Source

While this young UM trained doctor has such mature thinking, there's a self claimed experienced UM trained doctor in our forum who likes to generalize. Why such a big difference? rolleyes.gif
"The most reasonable and objective statement is to evaluate each house officer as an individual and not from the university one graduates from"
dun think u should expect all UM graduates to be the same.
wgy589
post May 22 2009, 06:07 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 22 2009, 03:25 AM)
To all doctors and medical students here, do a preliminary diagnosis on this:

- Explain your diagnosis.
with 2 weeks experience in gen surg department, for me it looks very typical of a venous ulcer. being on the medial side of the leg, with granulation tissues and pus on the base and signs of lipodermatosclerosis.

let me go mug again and at the same time, you might want to give ur diagnosis. cry.gif
wgy589
post Aug 9 2009, 01:55 PM

759 posts

for those considering to work in spore, do take note that they are slowly changing their postgrad trainings from UK to US style. which means from the current HO-MO-Reg-Consultant to residency program.

Compared to UK system, residency program selects trainees among new graduates and the training duration will be shorter (eg 5 years in ortho than the previous 6 yrs).Trainees are not required to sit for any external exams, eg MRCP/MRCS.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Aug 9 2009, 05:18 PM
wgy589
post Aug 10 2009, 05:18 PM

759 posts

they will start residency in certain specialties next year, and subsequently every specialties will be converted into residency system.

Hmm, Imo, specialists trained in spore are expected to contribute to the people there, and i'm sure those who just take spore as a stepping stone and cabut upon completion of their post grad trainings are certainly not welcomed there. so recognition is certainly not an issue here.
wgy589
post Aug 10 2009, 06:00 PM

759 posts

with a few new hospitals coming up, they certainly need more doctors at all levels. and one of the aims to introduce residency system is to increase the proportion of specialists to GP's. I'm not sure how serious is the mid level doctors' issue.
wgy589
post Aug 15 2009, 03:56 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Aug 15 2009, 03:39 PM)
Congrats on ur A-levels results =)
You are quite right, except sg.
U take AMC for aussie, NZREX for new zealand, PLAB for UK, USMLE for US. And IMO the best chance that you can get is the USMLE and NZREX.
Sg may accept u on a case by case basis, but officially they do not take in the local imu grads.
and welcome to imu xD lol
I'm asking for my colleagues in some local medskols on what do you mean by "case by case basis"
wgy589
post Aug 15 2009, 04:59 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Aug 15 2009, 04:30 PM)
this is what i gathered from hearsay from seniors, as well as the SINGHEALTH ppl when they came to UoA to tarik ppl to sg.
If you are from a medschool that's not recognized by SG officially, you can still apply for a job in sg, with very good referrals, cv, etc etc, but of course you cannot do housemanship over there. They may or may not accept you, depending on a case by case basis.

And apparently sg has no discrimination once they sign you in, and they hardly terminate any contract.

I think you know it better. (coz i think ur more senior lol)
being from nus, i'm not sure how the system works for un recognised foreign graduates.

Btw, thx for ur info as I think it might help my friends in local medskols.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0585sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:26 PM