Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

MBBS siang
post May 18 2009, 12:24 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 18 2009, 12:19 AM)
So what is the estimated cost for the entire 6-years of medical study there (tuition fees, food, books, travel, accomodation)?

Are you certain that it will be cheaper?
Total tuition fees+hostel+living expenses+flight fare for 6 years+....! Its about RM300k++! Then the agent agree to loan if the money not enough!
MBBS siang
post May 19 2009, 12:19 AM

582 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: May 19 2009, 12:26 AM
MBBS siang
post May 19 2009, 01:08 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ May 19 2009, 03:33 AM)
hello which agent are u under? do not tell me russian resources? any agent suck your money dry by putting sweet words to convince parents. they never come good. and they know nothing about russia but they think they know.
prepare to suffer a little too by living in Moscow. first the hostels are very very far away from your class and lecture. have to wake up very early.
and the hostel admin are very .... unscrupulous, irresponsible and their managing effectiveness is even worst than our government sectors. You might get no hostel to live every year you go back if there are a lot of students already arrived before you before the semester starts. Safety, cost of living is no guarantee..but there should be no problem wink.gif
MEDIC ED

Added on May 19, 2009, 1:30 pm
QUOTE(edge85 @ May 19 2009, 09:52 AM)
and who's gonna be the guarantor in the event that you 'run away'? =)
They will sign agreement with me in case I loan with them! The Medic ed also agree to sign the agreement with me to make sure they will provide the loan if my money not enough.

I have no choice,only can choose to trust them.They promise with my father thousand time about the financial and ask me dont give up just because financial problem.If they really cheat me,I have nothing to say.I have no way out.This is the only way for my medical career to be realized sad.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: May 19 2009, 01:30 PM
MBBS siang
post May 19 2009, 05:13 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 19 2009, 05:18 PM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j59BiLwdNO8

i dont wanna scare you guys. but racism there is really really big. India is better than Russia in that sense.
I know this! But no choice,just can behave myself and be careful.
MBBS siang
post May 19 2009, 11:04 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 19 2009, 10:43 PM)
malaysia is not as bad as this. That is literally killing any person that isn't white.

They will never be able to tell worker or student apart. so yeah its tough i know, and its not gonna get any better.
Your advice will make me aware of it! But so far,no serious or dangerous cases occur among malaysian student la.So,still ok la! The thing is just go people's country dont behave like "sombong".Always pay attention and beware some danger situation should be no problem la.
MBBS siang
post May 20 2009, 07:02 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 20 2009, 01:19 AM)

Alright... I saw that video... below is the second part..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuOVgx3Zh6E&feature=related

I quote from the above video:
MBBS Siang, I wish you luck, Kick those Neo-Nazi asses~
Thanks for the info! Should not be any problem de la! Wish me all the best yo! rclxms.gif

Added on May 20, 2009, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 20 2009, 01:19 AM)

Alright... I saw that video... below is the second part..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuOVgx3Zh6E&feature=related

I quote from the above video:
MBBS Siang, I wish you luck, Kick those Neo-Nazi asses~
Thanks for the info! Should not be any problem de la! Wish me all the best yo! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: May 20 2009, 07:03 PM
MBBS siang
post May 20 2009, 11:19 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 20 2009, 10:50 PM)
haha, all the best!! hope nothing bad befalls you!

its quite bad the situation, even if not exaggerated, i mean come on killing is a way different level from just bullying and whacking.
The video is created in 2007 and so far no any bad news about malaysian students la! We are go there by group and will totally be careful and beware,so should be ok la.The Russian government is going to fight for the olympic games.Therefore,the safety will be ok la. tongue.gif ! Dont scare me any more liao la. biggrin.gif
MBBS siang
post May 22 2009, 10:30 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 22 2009, 04:25 AM)
To all doctors and medical students here, do a preliminary diagnosis on this:

- Explain your diagnosis.
Even though Im not medical student yet. But can I guess this is the complication of diabetes. As my limited knowledge,serious diabetes patient if do not control their level of blood glucose and cleanliness.Some part of body tend to be rotten. My ah ma macam ini la! I don't know.Please diagnose it every doctor koko!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: May 22 2009, 11:46 AM
MBBS siang
post May 22 2009, 05:18 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ May 22 2009, 05:03 PM)
I wouldn't jump straight to a diagnosis first.

I want to know the history of the patient.
(cardinal features? other problems? recent infections? recent bites? recent injuries? past medical history? family history? etc)

That looks like some sort of necrosis, towards the posteriomedial part of his leg.

I can see some fibrosis, so it has to be there for some time. It looks infected and seems to be spreading anteriorly.

But I don't think it is a complication of diabetes, seeing as he doesn't look overweight and also its not the distal ends doesn't look affected.
Is it call clinical skill? Awesome senior! waiting for more diagnosis tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: May 22 2009, 05:18 PM
MBBS siang
post Jun 5 2009, 11:34 AM

582 posts

Added on June 5, 2009, 11:41 am
QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Jun 5 2009, 10:48 AM)
If public doesnt want that, go to government hosp. I dont study medicine for not being able to charge even rm30. I'm not so noble.

It's good if you're so noble 10 years down the road, especially when u need a car, a bigger house, and ur children want to go to uk to study med.
Are you a doctor?Disappointed to hear this. From the time you enter medical school,you should know this is the life of doctor in malaysia isnt it?This is what you choose.Doctor=sacrifice! Maybe,you will say "naive" but that is truth.

Added on June 5, 2009, 11:44 am
QUOTE(jovyn @ Jun 5 2009, 10:59 AM)
jus saw this thread here...all is future doctor to be?

im ur "assistance" onli...blush.gif
Are you a nurse? Hey,dont belittle yourself.Healthcare is a "Teamwork".You are not assistant of doctor but an important role in healthcare.Without you a healthcare system can not function well. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Jun 5 2009, 11:44 AM
MBBS siang
post Jun 5 2009, 11:13 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 5 2009, 07:19 PM)
USA: Nearly 62% middle-class bankruptcies driven by medical expenses

http://topnews.us/content/25481-nearly-62-...edical-expenses

In the richest country in the world. What a joke.
fortunately,Im malaysian! I love malaysia! tongue.gif Thats why American doctors "paid" better.Very very funny ! rclxms.gif In fact USA is not the richest country but strongest military power.USA is a largest "penghutang" in the world. brows.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Jun 5 2009, 11:15 PM
MBBS siang
post Jun 7 2009, 11:14 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 7 2009, 11:43 AM)
this depends on whether the 'housemanship' in india is recognised in msia......they are usually NOT.....

the reason is, first the housejob there is part of the course, ie equivalent to the senior clerkship or final year of ipta like um......

second, the job scope and responsibility is different.....

mmc will decide.....

in comparison, housejobs done in spore, oz, and uk are recognised by mmc.......
If in taiwan? A senior who is doing his medicine in National Taiwanese University then her mum told me that after graduate she no need to undergo housemanship.Is it true?
MBBS siang
post Jun 7 2009, 09:15 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jun 7 2009, 09:14 PM)

whats with the same multiple post?

Added on June 7, 2009, 8:15 pm

No. Housmanship in Malaysia is seperate from that of India.
Maybe is the system corruption! Sometime my posts also like this! tongue.gif
MBBS siang
post Aug 12 2009, 01:02 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Aug 11 2009, 06:11 PM)
I just saw the news about msia lacking of doctors and they are opening up more med schools in future, eg. UTAR. Wondering if its a plausible decision. We're lacking of lecturers right? I mean experienced ones.
CUCMS is good! Since I am the first year medical student here.I can tell you the system here is freaking good.If you are here you will know what is "team work".With the SCTL learning system that can facilitate you to open up your mind.The lecturers here the fairly nice. rclxms.gif

I learn quite a lot here even though I only here for a week.I started to build up my confident and all the seniors and the fellow students here are helpful as well.Btw,it is new so not really many people know about it and merely garner the info from the website.I can say this is a very good medical school as you are not only benefited from the academic aspect but all including the required skills as a doctor or pharmacist. biggrin.gif

Fortunately,I made the correct decision at the last minutes.I will say you will not allowed to enter here if you only have a qualified result but do bad in your interview.When you go through the interview you may think some of the question they ask are"rubbish" but if you think it properly,actually they are trying to test your maturity and your mind. icon_idea.gif

I am sure I will graduated as a good doctor 5 years later! drool.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Aug 12 2009, 01:05 PM
MBBS siang
post Aug 15 2009, 08:56 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 12 2009, 04:18 PM)
all new medical students thinks their med schools are 'freaking good'........

the problem is, you have NO basis for comparison, as you have NOT experienced other med schools.......

it appears good to you because you have moved up to a different level of education.......yes, it is 'good' compared to your secondary schools.......how can it be not, as a university?........

cucms entry cut-offs are amongst the lowest....quite comparable to russia/indonesia....i know people with pretty mediocre results who got in........the uni have no choice, as people with better results will have been accepted into more established med schools........ask yourself, if you were accepted into aimst/imu/mmmc and money is no problem, would you choose cucms?.........
Yea.Its make sense.Anyway,as long as one is accepted into a medical school which suit their needs then it will be good.haha!

Added on August 15, 2009, 9:02 am
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Aug 12 2009, 03:04 PM)
...and you told us you are going to Russia...

Did we missed something here, care to explain?
I heard some solid bad news from a senior who had graduated from Moscow,Russia.I am not going to further discuss the bad news as some may feel discourage.I will PM you my reason later.busy with my assignment.

Added on August 15, 2009, 9:31 am
QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Aug 12 2009, 08:02 PM)
yo welcome back mbbs siang! mind to explain abit hows CUCMS medical course is like? i would like to know more about it man!
Actually,CUCMS medical programme is designated as a "block system". Block system mean every course will become a block for four weeks.Like general anotomy-contain 4 academic weeks.every week we have a weekly assessment (test) for the topic we taught in that week.We will take our final exam at the end of every block or every four weeks but not in the normal semester system will take their final only at the end of semester.

All the students all will be divided into smaller group with maximum ten members or minimum 6 members guided by a mentor.This group named as SCTL group or student centered team learning group.We will not attend lecture for whole weeks.1 weeks will only contain 2 lectures and the rest of the topics will be prepared by SCTL group itself before we present it in class.Here,we have a concept of obtaining the knowledge on your own lectures note will only as a guide to lead you well and achieve the objective.

Beside that,we have a online asses learning system(LMS) or learning management system.The lecturers will upload the note or assignment in this web page then student will go and download for practical class preparation sheet,lecture notes ,timetable,SCTL assignment and etc.ALL the senior here are very helpful and friendly.

In CUCMS you will not only study for no rest but you "must" enjoy your life with some extracurricular activities.As it run a block system,so student will not over relax for their studies.If you do so,you may repeat or worse will be expelled.One of my group member is from the senior batch and repeat his first year now.We also have some clinical exposure in pre-clinical year that will lead us to have a correct thinking and concept of being a medical professional later on.

In the beginning few block we will taught in separated subjects like anatomy,physiology,microbiology,biochemistry and etc.When it come to second sem onward all all block will run in system like cardiovascular sytem,musculoskeletal system and etc.Its good to teach separated subjects before enter system as this make strengthen our basic knowledge toward basic medical sciences.

Our faculty currently got 14 cadaver for our practical purposes.So,quite good to study here la................

Added on August 15, 2009, 10:59 amCan anyone here tell me more about:
-What is meningomyelocoele?

-Describe the defect in this condition

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Aug 15 2009, 10:59 AM
MBBS siang
post Aug 23 2009, 12:43 PM

582 posts

In a general examination,normally the nail will be part of the physical examination. What can we determine after a nail checking?

All senior please tell me about this. Not really clear about this.For my assignment!!!! biggrin.gif
MBBS siang
post Aug 23 2009, 05:05 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 23 2009, 02:20 PM)
what you need to look for in the nails is all in any textbook on clinical examinations.......so which parts don't you understand........
erm....I dont have any clinical text book yet. This is just an assignment for general anatomy which is skin.Our lecturer link it to clinical science and he just need an rough idea about this. Yesterday,I google it up and found that the nail appearances will reflex the homeotasis of the body since the nail apearence will easily changed due to abnormality of body homeotasis. I am not sure if this idea correct or not? hmm.gif
MBBS siang
post Aug 23 2009, 10:57 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Aug 23 2009, 07:11 PM)
U have 2 ways to solve things out.
1. just do nothing, and eventually answer will come to u.
2. study every system (cardio, respi, GI, renal, neuro, hemato, endocrine, etc etc) and then u'll know the answer.
Abang!!! All those thing I no yet learn even a word.We just start to learn anat first and later other subjects, second sem will only enter system lo.

Anyway,thank you all! I will try to find again. smile.gif

Added on August 23, 2009, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(zltan @ Aug 23 2009, 10:26 PM)
Go read up basic:

1. Abdo exam
2. Respiratory exam
3. Cardio Exam

To be honest,ost of it wouldn't make much sense in 1st semester.

But, that should be sufficient to telly you about clubbing, leukonychia, nicotine stains etc etc etc.
Thanks! I will try. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Aug 23 2009, 10:58 PM

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0267sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:51 AM