4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

> Advice on opening small store -Business guru need, Helping fren getting advice

BlurGuy1992
post Jan 1 2017, 10:12 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(zozzle @ Jan 1 2017, 10:06 PM)
200k loss inkambing
cafe business not good? the profit margin quite high and seems many coffee people around KL right?
jGuyz
post Jan 1 2017, 10:15 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Mae_Kok @ Jan 1 2017, 10:12 PM)
There is small area they have not cover yet which I think my friend wanted to cover.

It should be very cheap otherwise the people who bought from you can't really make profit
hmm the problem is their price is just like borong price. hope your friend dun lose so much
TSMae_Kok
post Jan 1 2017, 10:17 PM

QUOTE(BlurGuy1992 @ Jan 1 2017, 11:12 PM)
cafe business not good? the profit margin quite high and seems many coffee people around KL right?
High traffic area should be able to make profit just that the rental are high too. Unless people don't like his coffee
aku_ker
post Jan 1 2017, 10:18 PM

438 posts

Prepare capital for 2 years, if he willing to have no salary for the next 2 years go ahead.my advice try online first, use fb ads to test the market.
TSMae_Kok
post Jan 1 2017, 10:20 PM

QUOTE(jGuyz @ Jan 1 2017, 11:15 PM)
hmm the problem is their price is just like borong price. hope your friend dun lose so much
Yes hope so. This is the 1st think he should take into account. Or maybe he has a plan in place already
SereneAshley
post Jan 1 2017, 10:20 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(zozzle @ Jan 1 2017, 10:06 PM)
200k loss inkambing
Not really, it depends on several factors

my cousin has a cafe business, started out with 2 and is now planning to expand
TSMae_Kok
post Jan 1 2017, 10:27 PM

QUOTE(aku_ker @ Jan 1 2017, 11:18 PM)
Prepare capital for 2 years, if he willing to have no salary  for the next 2 years go ahead.my advice try online first, use fb ads to test the market.
In my observation, I don't see him prepare himself for 2 years without profit. More like do or die within 1 year, but he is very confident though. Is there any you know manage to come out from lose after 2 years or running business?

How you mean test the market through fb ads? Is it survey or open online business first?
TSMae_Kok
post Jan 1 2017, 10:32 PM

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Jan 1 2017, 11:20 PM)
Not really, it depends on several factors

my cousin has a cafe business, started out with 2 and is now planning to expand
I've seen lot of this kind of business fail too. Maybe because of mediocre quality at high price they only make profit for a lilwhile. Not to say the fierce competition too, there are so many people selling coffee nowadays. Kind of gang banging the market
SUSBlueButtBaboon
post Jan 1 2017, 10:34 PM

FEEL WITH IT
517 posts

QUOTE(yattnana @ Jan 1 2017, 09:27 PM)
easy, just hire win7 as your salesperson.....confirm can make at least 100K in sales per month....
Sales 100k
Replace barang he songlap can close shop
K.I.T.T
post Jan 1 2017, 10:41 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(Mae_Kok @ Jan 1 2017, 09:21 PM)
His store sell equipment. Not sure if he plan to sell other stuff too.

To open apply for license, does he need to open current account and provide statement too. Also, does he required to have address of his store premise?

The 60k sales amount is net profit or just sales amount?
his want selll equiment bakery or bakery itself?
SereneAshley
post Jan 1 2017, 10:41 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Mae_Kok @ Jan 1 2017, 10:32 PM)
I've seen lot of this kind of business fail too. Maybe because of mediocre quality at high price they only make profit for a lilwhile. Not to say the fierce competition too, there are so many people selling coffee nowadays. Kind of gang banging the market
Haven't really taken notice, but yea I do know a few places only have nice ambience but sell mediocre food/coffee and there are those that are too expensive.
TSMae_Kok
post Jan 1 2017, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Jan 1 2017, 11:41 PM)
his want selll equiment bakery or bakery itself?
He never really tell me but he says selling kitchen/bakery stuff. I understand your mean there on the survey in shop and online. You gotta know what people need in order to provide right?

Really helpful. Thanks
K.I.T.T
post Jan 1 2017, 10:53 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(Mae_Kok @ Jan 1 2017, 10:50 PM)
He never really tell me but he says selling kitchen/bakery stuff. I understand your mean there on the survey in shop and online. You gotta know what people need in order to provide right?

Really helpful. Thanks
not much i know about pos system. otherwise open bill by hand la.
TSMae_Kok
post Jan 1 2017, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Jan 1 2017, 11:53 PM)
not much i know about pos system. otherwise open bill by hand la.
Okay. Thanks. Classic way are inefficient especially for store with many small item
TSMae_Kok
post Jan 1 2017, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(BlueButtBaboon @ Jan 1 2017, 11:34 PM)
Sales 100k
Replace barang he songlap can close shop
Who is this win7 btw?

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Jan 2 2017, 12:00 AM)
If your fren open a physical shop sure bankrupt .
May I know why? But there are many physical shop out there
buysellaccount
post Jan 1 2017, 11:08 PM

127 posts

i tell u what. ask him to contact suppliers first. they will assign you one of their salesmen. they will teach you what to stock up on.

do this with 2-3 suppliers then weigh your options. suppliers don't make money if you don't make money.
ListenToTheAngin
post Jan 1 2017, 11:08 PM

25 posts

The general ways of managing inventory are as below:

1) Allocate a stock code for each product he carry.
2) Issue a stock in for stock purchase. The details for a stock in are from which supplier he purchase, when the purchase is made, quantity & cost.
3) Issue a stock out for stock sold. The details for a stock out are when to whom the sales is made, when it is made, quantity & selling price.
4) Have a stock flow which act like a report to track your stock level. It is a computation for all his stock in and out for a certain period of time.

He will also want to handle situation like stock return, stock spoil, stolen stock & issue stock in/out depending on the situation.

This post has been edited by ListenToTheAngin: Jan 1 2017, 11:10 PM
SUSBlueButtBaboon
post Jan 1 2017, 11:09 PM

FEEL WITH IT
517 posts

QUOTE(Mae_Kok @ Jan 1 2017, 11:03 PM)
Who is this win7 btw?
May I know why? But there are many physical shop out there
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...&t=4020663&st=0
SUSadvocado
post Jan 1 2017, 11:16 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Mae_Kok @ Jan 1 2017, 10:32 PM)
if it's an area not covered by vendors here, are the items your friend selling easily ordered from suppliers? if yes, once the vendors see there is a market they left out, they will start to stock those items & sell at more competitive prices because they are big players high capital & buy in bulk so they can get more discount price.

so even if your friend can make money the 1st year, he will soon face competitions not just from established big players but also new comers who see the opportunities, so your friend will need a plan B like sell things that offer New potentials, and keep doing so because others will play catch up, so unless your friend is capable of designing some stuffs he can contract the manufacturing to China and he will have some original designs, others will copy & beat you with cost cut & lower price, but you will have to keep your products unique. look at Dyson, they are innovative leaders with tons of cheapskate brands copying & chasing them. and anything that manufacturers in China, will have copy & fakes coming out form the same Factories.
TSMae_Kok
post Jan 1 2017, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Jan 2 2017, 12:08 AM)
i tell u what. ask him to contact suppliers first. they will assign you one of their salesmen. they will teach you what to stock up on.

do this with 2-3 suppliers then weigh your options. suppliers don't make money if you don't make money.
Thanks. Really useful info & make sense.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >

0.0200sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:56 AM