Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages  1 2 3 >Bottom
Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Set Up Of Aquarium on 4 Layer Rack

aquaneo16
post Dec 31 2016, 12:38 AM, updated 4 months ago

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


Been planning this for months
and finally started my project! biggrin.gif

Was planning 2 layer for fishes, 2 layers for shrimps

Got This Geilee Aquarium Rack!(each layer can support up to 300kg)
Attached Image

Starting to build(the steel is rather heavy though) sweat.gif
Attached Image
Attached Image

Finish First Layer!
Attached Image

Time To DIY Aquarium
(bought glasses from glass factory)
Attached Image
Attached Image
Attached Image

Time To Place Aquarium Onto Geilee Rack!
Attached Image

Still Have Long Way To Go...
Stay Tune For Updates biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

craw
post Dec 31 2016, 12:48 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 133

Joined: Oct 2009
wondering is it hard & required special to DIY aquarium?
aquaneo16
post Dec 31 2016, 11:09 AM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


QUOTE(craw @ Dec 31 2016, 12:48 AM)
wondering is it hard & required special to DIY aquarium?
*
U can find some tutorial from youtube 😁
I myself learn it from ' uruajoey'(not sure if I spell the name correctly)

Normally to attach first glass panel is difficult, starting from 2nd glass it will be easy.. But be sure to get the correct silicone, I once try another silicone, it took like forever to dry, then I get frustrated, remove all the silicone and redo the whole thing again
😈

azbro
post Jan 2 2017, 11:25 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,010

Joined: Jan 2007
From: Johor Bahru


How many mm is the glass? Looks thin
aquaneo16
post Jan 2 2017, 02:31 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 2 2017, 11:25 AM)
How many mm is the glass? Looks thin
*
5mm, should be OK since the tank is only 30cm height
tehoice
post Jan 11 2017, 11:16 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,093

Joined: Oct 2007


yeah, 30cm tank, 5mm thickness is doing fine.

great. interesting!

how about your water inlet and outlet?

what fish and what shrimps you gonna keep? =)
aquaneo16
post Jan 11 2017, 01:49 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 11 2017, 11:16 AM)
yeah, 30cm tank, 5mm thickness is doing fine.

great. interesting!

how about your water inlet and outlet?

what fish and what shrimps you gonna keep? =)
*
Haha.. Only gonna use undergravel for these tanks.. So no water inlet/outlet..

Erm.. Neocaridina, Sulawesi, some kilifish, apisto.. 😀
tehoice
post Jan 11 2017, 02:57 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,093

Joined: Oct 2007


i see nice....

you're not doing a system tank? for water changing purpose.


aquaneo16
post Jan 11 2017, 09:59 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 11 2017, 02:57 PM)
i see nice....

you're not doing a system tank? for water changing purpose.
*
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Erm..didn't plan to do that for 2 of the aquarium at bottom, but the upper 2 will have water output for discharging water from the tank..
still under progress rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
tehoice
post Jan 12 2017, 09:04 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,093

Joined: Oct 2007


QUOTE(aquaneo16 @ Jan 11 2017, 09:59 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Erm..didn't plan to do that for 2 of the aquarium at bottom, but the upper 2 will have water output for discharging water from the tank..
still under progress rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
*
can see how you are doing it? very interesting. hehehhe
aquaneo16
post Jan 12 2017, 02:24 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 12 2017, 09:04 AM)
can see how you are doing it? very interesting. hehehhe
*
Haven't done yet.. Haha
May be will start making it next week.. Stay tuned.. 😄
tehoice
post Jan 12 2017, 03:25 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,093

Joined: Oct 2007


QUOTE(aquaneo16 @ Jan 12 2017, 02:24 PM)
Haven't done yet.. Haha
May be will start making it next week.. Stay tuned.. 😄
*
sure!
how about water inlet? if any?
aquaneo16
post Jan 12 2017, 04:57 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 12 2017, 03:25 PM)
sure!
how about water inlet? if any?
*
Water inlet will be water from storage tank from the top of the rack.. 😄
tehoice
post Jan 12 2017, 05:36 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,093

Joined: Oct 2007


QUOTE(aquaneo16 @ Jan 12 2017, 04:57 PM)
Water inlet will be water from storage tank from the top of the rack.. 😄
*
yaya, the valve in transferring the water into the tank? how is your mechanism working on?
aquaneo16
post Jan 12 2017, 11:09 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 12 2017, 05:36 PM)
yaya, the valve in transferring the water into the tank? how is your mechanism working on?
*
erm..abit hard to describe
there'll be hole underneath the tank for discharging water. then water storage tank at the top, and of course, there'll be a valve for each tank to monitor the water level
tehoice
post Jan 13 2017, 10:35 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,093

Joined: Oct 2007


QUOTE(aquaneo16 @ Jan 12 2017, 11:09 PM)
erm..abit hard to describe
there'll be hole underneath the tank for discharging water. then water storage tank at the top, and of course, there'll be a valve for each tank to monitor the water level
*
when are you setting it up? can't wait to see drool.gif

the water inlet from the storage tank is automated or manual by hand ya?
aquaneo16
post Jan 14 2017, 12:28 AM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


Haha..should be within these 1~2 weeks biggrin.gif
o..
there will be a floating valve in the aquarium..once water reach desired level the valve will stop water from entering.
edmund90
post Jan 20 2017, 01:13 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 147

Joined: Jan 2011
From: Liverpool,UK


Interesting... Hope to see the final result soon. Thx for sharing
aquaneo16
post Jan 20 2017, 11:35 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


QUOTE(edmund90 @ Jan 20 2017, 01:13 PM)
Interesting... Hope to see the final result soon. Thx for sharing
*
Very soon, almost 80% complete... biggrin.gif
still need sometime to deal with pictures
aquaneo16
post Jan 24 2017, 12:33 AM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2016


UPDATE! 24/ Jan / 2017

Bought Philips T5 Light!
Attached Image

DIY the so called 'Reflector' made with some random zinc ( I guess) got from local hardware store biggrin.gif
Attached Image

Anyway, look quite nice (Philip maaa)
Attached Image

Front View
Attached Image

Fill Water (3rd layer), lucky no leak! rclxm9.gif
Attached Image

Too Bad 4th layer leaking cry.gif , luckily small matter, can fix..
Attached Image

Time to add soil! Using SL Aqua Nature Soil from Taiwan
Attached Image

Done Setup! Fishes Coming Soon! (BTW Filter is Geilee Aqua Undergravel Filter Box) smile.gif
Attached Image
Attached Image

Ready for first, 2nd layer!
Attached Image

Drill Hole biggrin.gif
Attached Image

First attempt failed, glass broken rclxub.gif
Attached Image

Learned from youtube, added putty before drill
Attached Image

Finally Done! One more piece of glass to go!
Attached Image

**tips for drilling glass, drill patiently. My first attempt fail because drilling too fast,
and apply too much force on the glass panel**

Too bad didn't get to snap picture during making of aquarium,
but here's a picture after adding in every layer!
Attached Image

Prepare piping (For quick discharge of water)
Attached Image

Abit design fail here, too badd can't fix it due to limited of space cry.gif
Attached Image
Attached Image

Done! Let's hope no leakage haha...
Attached Image
Attached Image

When discharge water, just need to connect soft tube, then open the valve.
Water will start to discharge, and directly to the drain
Attached Image

Top Layer will be water storage tank. Notice the 2 small hole?
water will fill into the aquarium from these holes, and of course, there'll be valve to stop the water once desired level reached
Attached Image
Attached Image

Why 2 holes? Because one side is to adjust water parameter for Sulawesi Shrimp, and the other side for Neocaridina Shrimps
Anyway, there'll be a glass to seperate water from 2 sides which I'll add on later biggrin.gif

That's All At This Time! Hope You Guys Enjoy! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aquaneo16: Jan 24 2017, 12:41 AM

3 Pages  1 2 3 >Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0486sec    5.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st November 2017 - 12:34 PM