343 Pages « < 323 324 325 326 327 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Recommendation for Credit Cards V4, Please post according to Format stated

benzxzx
post Apr 20 2025, 01:57 PM

180 posts

chanced upon this cardup program upon listening bfm’s podcasts. basically it provides cash flow solutions in the cc ecosystem where it allows you to pay your recurring expenses like rental, with credit card for a 1% fees.

perks: i get to enjoy cashback and accumulate miles points at faster rate

cons i could think of: hidden cost for administrative fees? lock in period/penalty for early cancellation? not sure if there’s any, or just pdpa concerns.

am currently paying rent for 3k per month and 2k for kiddy, around 60k annually which is currently settled by way of bank transfer, since both institutions do not accept CC.

is it worth it for me to opt for this conversion program? costs involved would be 800 ish i guess.

current bank cc: cimb islamic petronas visa infinite & uob visa infinite
beLIEve
post Apr 20 2025, 02:03 PM

三軍都督
7,815 posts

QUOTE(benzxzx @ Apr 20 2025, 01:57 PM)
chanced upon this cardup program upon listening bfm’s podcasts. basically it provides cash flow solutions in the cc ecosystem where it allows you to pay your recurring expenses like rental, with credit card for a 1% fees.

perks: i get to enjoy cashback and accumulate miles points at faster rate

cons i could think of: hidden cost for administrative fees? lock in period/penalty for early cancellation? not sure if there’s any, or just pdpa concerns.

am currently paying rent for 3k per month and 2k for kiddy, around 60k annually which is currently settled by way of bank transfer, since both institutions do not accept CC.

is it worth it for me to opt for this conversion program? costs involved would be 800 ish i guess.

current bank cc: cimb islamic petronas visa infinite & uob visa infinite
You should probably ask in https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4161836/

Such facilities have been around for quite some time. I don't remember what other competitors charge.

Most here not interested to pay 1% fee to enjoy cashback and airmiles unless they are significantly higher than 1%.
benzxzx
post Apr 20 2025, 02:08 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Apr 20 2025, 02:03 PM)
You should probably ask in https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4161836/

Such facilities have been around for quite some time. I don't remember what other competitors charge.

Most here not interested to pay 1% fee to enjoy cashback and airmiles unless they are significantly higher than 1%.
oh yeah right maybe i shall learn from the best, i was abit hesitant to pay for that too, and i just found out their usual rates was 2.25%, 1 ish is applicable during promotions, guess i will drop that idea
1024kbps
post Apr 20 2025, 02:23 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

Been using cardup for my rent, Citi can pay rent with CC but the rate is much higher, at 2.6, cardup only charge 1.75%
So far only my citi cc can earn points from cardup. been using for 4 months plus earned 4K miles, citi miles is expensive to earn with cardup compared to other cc.

Here's the guide for reference https://milelion.com/2025/04/19/full-list-o...codes-for-2025/
but it may be applies to Singapore user only.
saintprayer
post Apr 20 2025, 04:06 PM

101 posts

It is only worth for high end card that the CC point required to redeem miles is less compared to normal cards.

There is a reward calculator in the cardup offical website. If your card not listed in the calculator, the chances are it is not worth to use it.
Sri
post Apr 20 2025, 08:11 PM

298 posts

Dear sifus,

Hope all is well with you. Could you please advice me on the matter below as I'm new to this CC realm. Thank you notworthy.gif

----------------------------------------------------------

1. Annual Income: RM180k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Would be good to have

3. Card required for: Petrol, Bills, Reloads , Cash Back/Rebate would be nice to have as sell, AirMiles (currently only travel 3-5 times a year) , Free LCCT Lounge Access , and kids school bills

4. Existing credit cards (if any): None

5. Interested in CC from: any bank would do

6. Others: First time applying for a CC
nexus2238
post Apr 22 2025, 08:51 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Sri @ Apr 20 2025, 08:11 PM)
Dear sifus,

Hope all is well with you. Could you please advice me on the matter below as I'm new to this CC realm. Thank you  notworthy.gif

----------------------------------------------------------

1. Annual Income: RM180k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Would be good to have

3. Card required for: Petrol, Bills, Reloads , Cash Back/Rebate would be nice to have as sell, AirMiles (currently only travel 3-5 times a year) ,  Free LCCT Lounge Access , and kids school bills

4. Existing credit cards (if any): None

5. Interested in CC from: any bank would do

6. Others: First time applying for a CC
For cash back, consider:
RHB Shell Visa - 12% cb for Shell capped at RM50; 5% cb for online, e-wallet, utilities, groceries capped at RM50; min spend RM2500. Effective 4% cb.
Maybank Islamic Ikhwan Amex - 8% cb for online spend capped at RM50. Use Posonline / Kiosk > SPLater > Amex to pay bills and get cb.

For AirMiles, consider:
HL Visa Infinite - automatic RM3.50 local retail spend for 1 Enrich Mile, RM2.20 equivalent overseas retail spends for 1 Enrich Mile. 4x p.a. access to PPL in MY and SG.
Maybe kids school bills go here, as I am not sure about cards with good cb for education fees.

mosfet83
post Apr 22 2025, 02:46 PM

218 posts

Hello,

Please recommend good credit cards based on the following questionnaires.

1. Annual Income: >500K MYR
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Optional, will be waived automatically most likely
3. Card required for: Air Miles (Etihad Guest, Enrich, KrisFlyer - based on preference), Insurance, FX retail and restaurant.
4. Existing credit cards (if any): RHB Rewards-i
5. Interested in CC from: Any
6. Others: 90% spending in foreign currency (AED, SAR, OMR, JOD, EUR), on average 300K MYR equivalent. Local MYR transaction in average RM10,000/month primarily for insurance/takaful. Based on my survey, top CC so far would be CIMB Travel World Elite, AmBank Enrich Visa Infinite and UOB PRVI Miles Elite.

I'm not a fan of RHB new rewards schema so trying to find other options.
Appreciate your feedback and recommendation if I missed any.

Thank you.

VelvetTapioca P
post Apr 22 2025, 11:54 PM

Probation

Anyone is encountering issue of not receiving OTP from both Cardup and IpayMy? I am trying to register and be a user of the platforms but the OTP just won't reach my phone to complete the registration process.
VelvetTapioca P
post Apr 23 2025, 12:31 AM

Probation

Hi all, ni hao~
I done a lot of research in the past week and arrived at some conclusions for my situation.
Please advise if I am missing anything, and advise on the stuff that I am not able to figure out~

Here goes:

1. Annual Income: RM144k (RM12k monthly, excluding bonus)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must.

3. Card required for: Cashback, Air miles, Airport Lounges, Insurance & Utilities payments.

4. Existing credit cards (if any): Maybank 2 Gold Cards.

5. Interested in CC from: HLB Visa Infinite (for miles), CIMB Petronas Visa Infinite-i (for free lounge), upgrade from Gold to MBB 2 Platinum cards (just for the sake of upgrading).

6. Others: See below.

-------------------------------

I am a low spender, so I know I probably won't hit the min. spend requirement of some of the perks, rate my plans for my expenses below:
1. BMW car loan = RM2k, considering using Cardup / iPayMy, but stuck at not receiving OTP to complete registration process, also after 2nd round of recalculation, it seems I am not getting meaningful reward from the platform (assuming 2% fees, if I convert the miles earned via HLB Visa Infinite at RM3.50 = 1 Enrich mile, I'm paying 489 in fees only to earn miles worth 510, just marginal reward). Any other method to squeeze reward out of this 2k expense?

2. Phone bill, internet bill, Astro = RM358, probably just use HLB VI to pay.

3. Medical insurance = RM930, same like point 1 trying to use Cardup but failed at registration, MBB 2 cards seem to give 1x reward point for it, better than nothing.

4. Petrol = RM140, fully remote working now, so very less use car. My nearest petrol station don't accept AMEX, so I plan to use HLB VI to rack up miles instead.

5. Retail expense (dining out, facial, etc) = RM616 estimated budget, plan to use AMEX whenever possible for the cashback on weekends, otherwise HLB VI for the miles.

So you can see, my biggest chunk of expenses are actually difficult to get rewards, they are car loan and medical insurances, please advise.

Last but not least, since last week I am on a credit card application spree, here is what happened below:
1. Applied CIMB Travel Platinum in anticipation of my travel few months later, trying to spend enough to get free lounge, got approved within the same week with 18k limit. Card arrived yesterday, not yet activate. I want to cancel it though, it serve no purpose now, read point 3.

2. Applied Ambank Visa Infinite last week before the deep research, thinking it was the perfect card, got approved within the same week with 55k limit, but later found out Visa Infinite was rejected, only approved Enrich Platinum, as agent submitted both as recommended. Later today the Infinite got approved after I tried to cancel it due to not getting the Infinite card that I wanted. I am a total new customer to this bank.

3. Applied CIMB Petronas Visa Infinite-i 3 days ago, for the free lounge after deep research, but rejected 1 hour after system submission. Agent plan to resubmit manually, will wait answer tomorrow.

4. Applied HLB Visa Infinite today for the best local spend mile conversion at RM3.50 = 1 Enrich mile. CCRIS now shows Pending but with a RM20k credit limit as placeholder, does this mean high chance of approving?

5. Applied MBB 2 platinum cards online, no respond.

In fact I noticed very poor response if applied online, better go physical branch to apply to get the ball rolling, result is quite immediate.
I did this for HLB and AM and CIMB, can see result in CCRIS already.

My questions:
1. How likely will the CIMB VI manual submission be approved?
2. How likely will the HLB VI be approved?
3. My total credit limit now is 105k (MBB 12k active, AM 55k but not yet activate card, CIMB approved 18k but not yet activate card, HLB 20k pending approval stage), will this affect my CIMB VI manual resubmission and also the HLB approval process? I am now really a fan of those 2 after research, I am willing to cancel AMB to free up 55k limit to get what I truly wanted if a high total credit limit hurt my chances and caused rejection.
HouLeiiShytt
post May 7 2025, 10:51 AM

14 posts

Hi Sifus, requesting for credit card recommendation, preferably Air Miles, currently looking at Alliance VI and HLB VI

1. Annual Income: RM120K and above

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Good to have. If not, best to have waivable conditions.

3. Card required for: From high to low - Insurance, Utilities (Telco, Unifi), Physical F&B, Petrol thru Setel, e-commerce, Overseas spending

4. Existing credit cards (if any): MBB FC Barcelona Visa Signature, PIBB Visa Platinum, CIMB eCredit Card

6. Others: Prefer Air Miles, Cash back also acceptable
coolguy99
post May 7 2025, 10:54 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(HouLeiiShytt @ May 7 2025, 10:51 AM)
Hi Sifus, requesting for credit card recommendation, preferably Air Miles, currently looking at Alliance VI and HLB VI

1. Annual Income: RM120K and above

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Good to have. If not, best to have waivable conditions.

3. Card required for: From high to low - Insurance, Utilities (Telco, Unifi), Physical F&B, Petrol thru Setel, e-commerce, Overseas spending

4. Existing credit cards (if any): MBB FC Barcelona Visa Signature, PIBB Visa Platinum, CIMB eCredit Card

6. Others: Prefer Air Miles, Cash back also acceptable
For Insurance Payment, you can look at Affin Duo. This is one of the very very few cards that still gives cashback for insurance payments today.

Get the MBB 2 Card Amex for weekend cash back and make your utility payments through Lazada.

For overseas spending you can consider Ambank Enrich Visa, if you are worried about the annual fee, suggest you go for the Platinum card instead of Infinite.
HouLeiiShytt
post May 7 2025, 11:29 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 7 2025, 10:54 AM)
For Insurance Payment, you can look at Affin Duo. This is one of the very very few cards that still gives cashback for insurance payments today.

Get the MBB 2 Card Amex for weekend cash back and make your utility payments through Lazada.

For overseas spending you can consider Ambank Enrich Visa, if you are worried about the annual fee, suggest you go for the Platinum card instead of Infinite.
Aren't MBB 2 Card Amex have updated their weekend cash back, preventing us from using it for utilities

Quoted from MBB website:
Effective 1st June 2019, 5% Cash Back for all purchases (except for government bodies and utilities) on weekends (capped at RM50 per month)

or paying through Lazada bypasses that?
cybpsych
post May 7 2025, 11:50 AM

---------------------
65,274 posts

QUOTE(HouLeiiShytt @ May 7 2025, 11:29 AM)
Aren't MBB 2 Card Amex have updated their weekend cash back, preventing us from using it for utilities

Quoted from MBB website:
Effective 1st June 2019, 5% Cash Back for all purchases (except for government bodies and utilities) on weekends (capped at RM50 per month)

or paying through Lazada bypasses that?
maybank only see Lazada ... what you buy within lazada is transparent to the bank.

have you ever seen your purchased items all itemized in your cc statement?
whycanot323
post May 9 2025, 12:17 AM

384 posts

1. Annual Income: Shall be no issue to get any bank cc.

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must, waive by either spend amount/ number of swipes.

3. Card required for: 1) Going to spend on new house appliances/furniture. 2) Often go to Overseas for Company Business trip, mainly pay for hotels/meals (not flight ticket)

4. Existing credit cards (if any): PBB VS, PIBB VP, AF CB, AF CB Plus, Mb2cards

5. Interested in CC from: Any Bank

6. Others: Suggest cards that either to maximize Cashback (shall be not useful for me case, since capped at RM30/RM50 per month), i think suggest me cards that can earn alot of Points for miles/ gift redemption

This post has been edited by whycanot323: May 9 2025, 12:18 AM
ClarenceT
post May 9 2025, 06:35 AM

14,927 posts

QUOTE(whycanot323 @ May 9 2025, 12:17 AM)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must, waive by either spend amount/ number of swipes.

3. Card required for: 1) Going to spend on new house appliances/furniture. 2) Often go to Overseas for Company Business trip, mainly pay for hotels/meals (not flight ticket)

6. Others: Suggest cards that either to maximize Cashback (shall be not useful for me case, since capped at RM30/RM50 per month), i think suggest me cards that can earn alot of Points for miles/ gift redemption
Maybank World Elite Mastercard

https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...mastercard.page

nexus2238
post May 9 2025, 10:38 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(whycanot323 @ May 9 2025, 12:17 AM)

Consider AmBank Enrich Visa Infinite - RM1 overseas spend for 1 Enrich pts, RM4 local spend for 1 Enrich pts, unlimited access to MAS lounge, RM500 annual fee waived with RM100k spend p.a.
nexus2238
post May 13 2025, 12:55 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 18 2025, 02:44 PM)
I am still figuring out the cycle of Bank Islam cb.

For example, statement dated 25th Feb. Then cb for Feb (in statement it says "Cash Back for Card xxxx - Feb") will show up in mobile app on 10th March.
For any month, I have yet to charge anything after statement date (eg 26 - 31st Jan, 26 - 28th Feb), so till today I still don't know if cb follow statement date or calendar date  tongue.gif
But I do get full RM30 cb for RM1K spend, so no complaint.

Yes, I also find Bank Islam CS less than ideal.
During application, they never asked how high credit limit I wanted to apply.
They gave me > RM100K credit limit, which is 2.5x my monthly salary.
So I asked CS how to reduce credit limit. And they said must download a form, fill it up and submit to a branch  doh.gif
So I did all that > 1 month ago to reduce to RM10K. Till today still no action from them   whistling.gif
Call CS, also blur.
One of this day, when I am around Jalan Raja Laut, I'm going to go to their HQ and sort it out.
Update to those interested in Bank Islam Visa Platinum.

Confirmed cb calculation is based on calendar month.

My example:
Last statement: 25/3/2025
26/3 to 9/4 - RM0 spent
10/4 cb for month of March
10/4 to 24/4 - RM375.72 spent
25/4/2025 - statement balance RM375.72
26/4 - 30/4 - RM388.65 spent
1/5 -9/5 - RM599.71 spent

10/5 - cb for month of Apr - RM22.93 = (RM375.72 + 388.65) * 3%

This post has been edited by nexus2238: May 13 2025, 01:03 PM
ideaplus
post May 13 2025, 02:04 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 7 2025, 02:58 AM)
affin duo and bank islam visa platinum applicable for prudential insurance cashback?
Great Eastern, eligible
swagsaurus P
post May 13 2025, 02:32 PM

Probation

I got charged 1% when i purchased air ticket from singapore airline. The bank claimed its administrative fee, but administrative fee only applicable for debit card or am i wrong?

When search online, there is a 1% charges when there is conversion involved. When i paid for my ticket it shows in ringgit and I received the sms stating that i paid the exact amount. However when i view it in the statement it is 1% higher than the amount shown in the sms i received.

343 Pages « < 323 324 325 326 327 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:52 PM