Fake liquor? Too good to be true?, 50% off retail price
TSsquidsquid
Dec 27 2016, 02:27 PM, updated 9y ago

Need any experts/veteran opinion on this.
If you go to facebook and type liquor, many pages will show up and selling range of liquors (usual range would be Macallan, Johnnie Walker etc etc) at very cheap price. About 50% retail/duty free price.
They look so genuine, perhaps they recycled the bottles, and most come even with the Jabatan Kastam Diraja Malaysia Duty Paid / importers' sticker (from one of the biggest importer in Malaysia if you r aware). Can they even fake the duty paid stickers nowadays?
Any other way to differentiate the fakes? Taste buds would be one but I am not expert in that at the moment.
This post has been edited by squidsquid: Dec 27 2016, 02:28 PM
alextan99
Dec 27 2016, 02:32 PM
usually when its too good to be true that means something's fishy
takemehomepls
Dec 27 2016, 02:51 PM

If u capable to get to the source only u will find out. Another way is to beat the bushes, they will startled if they have something to hide. Hope u get what I mean.
meteoraniac
Dec 28 2016, 08:39 AM
there are fakes and there are smuggled
but 50% is too low for smuggled liquors
urbanite
Dec 28 2016, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Dec 28 2016, 08:39 AM) there are fakes and there are smuggled but 50% is too low for smuggled liquors Could be stolen goods
telement
Dec 28 2016, 01:01 PM
Liquor are not allowed to be sold online in Malaysia. You need a license to sell. So, if you kena cheated, police also won't help you..
This post has been edited by telement: Dec 28 2016, 01:03 PM
pastacarbonara
Dec 28 2016, 01:03 PM
Go to a reputable liquor store and look at the genuine bottles. Take note of the cap seal and label. So at least you know how a genuine one looks like and how you can tell if its fake before buying. Fake ones usually have shoddy label that can be wrongly stuck or the cap seal looks like it has been reworked.
Also look at the alcohol beading. Gently shake the bottle and look at how to bubble rises up to the top of the bottle. If the bubbles / froth are there and it looks like teh tarik bubble then it's very likely to be fake.
These are some tips that liquor purveyor taught me previously.
teehk_tee
Dec 28 2016, 01:18 PM
usually, try to source them from dealers. and, a good tip is like mentioned above - if the liquid is frothy like teh tarik or the bubble stays there. it's fake. if u've tip over the bottle of a real whisky and watch the bubbles you'll understand.
and check the seals, if the seals look like they've been pressed in (not smooth etc) = tampered.
funnybone
Dec 28 2016, 01:22 PM
No way a good liquor could go for half price...