astro byond V13

enriquelee
post Feb 27 2017, 03:41 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(tnt_twhon @ Feb 23 2017, 10:49 PM)
Say I have one TV in the living room and one TV in masterbedroom.

Anyway to watch astro on these (2) TVs with only 1 decoder ?

Heard about some wireless module whereby no need to use cable that can connect to the second TV.
There many such devices out there.
just pay a visit to Jalan Pasar if you are in kl area.
enriquelee
post Feb 28 2017, 09:01 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(tnt_twhon @ Feb 28 2017, 01:08 AM)
Any idea what is the name of such device?

There are a few types. Wireless AV extender, RCA composite splitter , TV coaxial RF cable and etc. SOme even can do with HD.

But if you go Jalan Pasar, you do not need to mention all this which might make them lagi confuse. Just tell them you want to watch Astro with different TV will do.
enriquelee
post Jul 18 2017, 05:06 PM

10,510 posts

Is there a thread for Astro IPTV?
I remember we have it here, but I can not find it any more now.
enriquelee
post Jul 19 2017, 09:13 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 18 2017, 08:22 PM)
Thresd dieded liao laugh.gif doh.gif
Ow...this means Astro IPTV is not laku huh.

By the way, anyone here can enlighten me how is the set up for IPTV from in coming fibre optic cable onward?

If I am not wrong, my current set up is external cable --->modem---->router---->switch---->few outlets at various location of my house and NAS.
enriquelee
post Jul 20 2017, 10:47 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 19 2017, 11:53 PM)
Well, this topic is all about Astro. Feel free to ask questions about Astro IPTV here...

The cables and routers installation is the same as the usual TM UniFi/Maxis Fibre/TIME Fibre set up.
Only thing is, a LAN cable from your WiFi router (e.g Maxis router) will be connected to your Astro PVR box. It's pretty much simple.

May I know, your area is under which ISP? Unifi? Maxis Fibre? Or you plan to subscribe Astro IPTV with TIME Fibre?
My area ISP have both Unifi and maxis. Currently I have signed up Unifi and astro separately. Now I am considering to switch to Astro IPTV with Maxis.
But I worry about the following,
1) Enough bandwidth to cater my daily usage. (My current usage include cctv, NAS (Cloud), online PC gaming, online playstation, 1 lap top for works, 1 ipad)
2) Change of hardware. (Currently I have 2 decoder, each decoder link to 2 TVs via repeater)
3) Pulling of new cable. (Prefer conceal type)

If all the above can be addressed without much hassle, I will switch.
enriquelee
post Jul 20 2017, 03:08 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 20 2017, 11:35 AM)
Hmmm... Your installation setup is quite complex... I'll see if I can help.

Could you share with us the main reason you want to upgrade to Astro IPTV?

You are using Fibre or VDSL? In case you don't know, since your area is under TM, fibre cable will be used for Unifi for landed properties, while VDSL copper for high rise buildings (e.g. condo, apartment).

Reply:
1) Which Unifi speed package you've subscribed to? Is it the Personal one or Business one (eg. UniFi BIZ)? Does your CCTV, network attached storage, etc. requires static IP? You need to check with Astro IPTV if you need static IP according to your usage.
2) Yes. One of your TM router will be replaced to the Maxis one.

Are you saying that you have Multiroom subscription (multiple Astro boxes in the same home)? Which Astro box type are you using for primary and secondary Astro box? HD or PVR box?
What kind of repeater you use to connect each Astro box to 2 TVs? 

If possible, explain and describe your installation setup in detail.
The main reason to switch to IPTV is to save my monthly subscription fee. biggrin.gif

I am using fibre cable as I am staying at landed house.

1) Currently I have Unifi 10mbps (Pending for the free upgrade to 30mbps via TM Thank You Surprise program). Is a personal one. CCTV has it own hardisk in the DVR. There is a NAS in my house network connect via CAT cable. I do not use any static IP now.

2) Change router is ok. Not much hassles .

3) Yes, I have multiroom subscription. That is why I have 2 decoders. Both decoders are ASTRO PVR which can do recording of HD movie. I do not know how to call the repeater. It has a small sensor that stick to the front panel of my PVR, then have a small box which can change the 'frequency' +4,+5 etc. Then the 2nd connected TV I need to tune into channel 1 (Not the AV or HDMI) to watch the ASTRO program. At the 2nd TV, the TV is connected to another small box via an RG6 cable (The white cable) then the other end of this small box is connected to wall socket via RG6 cable too. Then there is another box which allow me to remote control the PVR at my 2nd TV. Haha, not sure whether you can understand what i say or not.

What installation set up I need to describe? The astro or the net work,

Many thanks to your help. rclxms.gif thumbsup.gif
enriquelee
post Jul 21 2017, 10:23 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 20 2017, 09:32 PM)
Ohhh.... From what I see, you don't need to do any changes on your existing cable setup. However, just make sure both Astro PVR boxes can be connected to your router via LAN cables.

Also, if you are using the older PVR box (the one that don't have built in WiFi), it will be replaced to the new one as well.

I think, that's pretty much you need to know.
Thanks for the reply.
About connecting Astro PVR to router via LAN. I might have problem in 1 of my tv. As my tv console only have 1 point of LAN wall outlet, and it is connected to PlayStation now. And there is no wifi coverage at this area.

Can I install a splitter after coming out from the LAN wall outlet?
enriquelee
post Jul 24 2017, 11:09 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 22 2017, 02:52 PM)
Your LAN wall socket connects to your router, right?

Well I'm not sure about splitter. whether it will work or not.. But I think using LAN Switcher has higher chance that it will work. Connect the LAN cable to your LAN Switcher so that you can connect multiple LAN ports, one to your PlayStation, another to Astro PVR box. I guess it should work, and the switcher isn't expensive also...

If it doesn't work, use powerline adapter.
Wall LAN socket is connected to switch, switch is connected to router.

Still can use switcher in this setting? Or else have to go for powerline adapter already.
enriquelee
post Jul 28 2017, 08:36 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 24 2017, 07:06 PM)
Switcher should work fine. If not, powerline then...
Means connect a switch to another switch is fine. Correct?
enriquelee
post Jul 31 2017, 08:46 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 28 2017, 07:13 PM)
Connect a switch to another switch?
I mean is, you connect LAN cable from wall socket to switcher so that you can connect it to your PlayStation, right? Just connect another LAN cable from the switcher to your Astro PVR box.

Theoretically it should works fine, but I never try before....
Ya, my current setting is switch to a few wall socket, and 1 of the wall socket is to PlayStation.

Connect another new LAN cable from my existing switch to the new Astro PVR box? This will be a "big" project to me then.

0.1569sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:56 AM