213 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

astro byond V13

joshhd
post Jan 23 2017, 11:45 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jan 23 2017, 11:41 PM)
Meaning that this Quan Jia HD is free trial channels to Njoi?
Or need to top up this channels for njoi?
Erm, see who posted that information before you believe his words. This Low Li Hao user is well-known for making up own false statements about Astro that eventually did not happen in reality.

Don't believe me? Let's see on 25 Jan 2017, is there such thing Astro Quan Jia HD and AOD available on Njoi Prepaid or not.
Anime in HD
post Jan 23 2017, 11:59 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 23 2017, 10:49 PM)
Previously I sent an email to Astro to complain to them about the stupid letterbox is being shown on quite an amount of SD channels. And this is the reply:
Looks that the reason are all for the sake of legacy Astro set-top-boxes. Haiz...  shakehead.gif
Arena, Disney Channel, Disney Junior, NHK. Boleh pulak upgrade 16:9 SD pic. doh.gif
Astro should force migration to full MPEG4 sd set top box.

In Indonesia most popular TV Operator migrate already. Also that some article you post that state astro stb use.
And more about 90% already use Byond stb. So better astro to move fully Byond stb and using MPEG4 compression for SD channel. biggrin.gif laugh.gif
joshhd
post Jan 24 2017, 12:47 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Jan 23 2017, 11:59 PM)
Arena, Disney Channel, Disney Junior, NHK. Boleh pulak upgrade 16:9 SD pic. doh.gif
Astro should force migration to full MPEG4 sd set top box.

In Indonesia most popular TV Operator migrate already. Also that some article you post that state astro stb use.
And more about 90% already use Byond stb. So better astro to move fully Byond stb and using MPEG4 compression for SD channel. biggrin.gif laugh.gif
There are no such thing as "MPEG4 SD set-top-box" as you mentioned for Astro. For Astro, if you want to watch SD channels in MPEG4, you need to use B.yond box cuz it has native support of MPEG4 video codec.

Actually, those legacy Astro set-top-box (manufactured by Nokia and Philips ones) are considered outdated, obsolete and old technology. It only supports DVB-S, MPEG2 video in SD resolution, and many more. Astro is already actually in transition to migrate to B.yond platform. However the migration/transition is done slowly. It is unsure why is it done slowly, and seems like Astro is taking their sweet time and for them it's like nothing to rush.

Once the migration is done, all Astro customers (including Njoi) will be using B.yond boxes only, and the ones that still using legacy set-top-boxes will be discontinued by Astro and viewers will not able to watch any channels. That time, you can expect SD channels to utilise MPEG4 video codec with AAC audio codec.

All Indonesia pay TV operators using MPEG4 codec.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 24 2017, 12:49 AM
Anime in HD
post Jan 24 2017, 12:54 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 24 2017, 12:47 AM)
There are no such thing as "MPEG4 SD set-top-box" as you mentioned for Astro. For Astro, if you want to watch SD channels in MPEG4, you need to use B.yond box cuz it has native support of MPEG4 video codec.

Actually, those legacy Astro set-top-box (manufactured by Nokia and Philips ones) are considered outdated, obsolete and old technology. It only supports DVB-S, MPEG2 video in SD resolution, and many more. Astro is already actually in transition to migrate to B.yond platform. However the migration/transition is done slowly. It is unsure why is it done slowly, and seems like Astro is taking their sweet time and for them it's like nothing to rush.

Once the migration is done, all Astro customers (including Njoi) will be using B.yond boxes only, and the ones that still using legacy set-top-boxes will be discontinued by Astro and viewers will not able to watch any channels. That time, you can expect SD channels to utilise MPEG4 video codec with AAC audio codec.

Oh. You mean legacy one not support 16:9 video right?
I think by 2020 astro will migrate soon. Just hope doh.gif smile.gif
joshhd
post Jan 24 2017, 01:08 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Jan 24 2017, 12:54 AM)
Oh. You mean legacy one not support 16:9 video right?
I think by 2020 astro will migrate soon. Just hope doh.gif smile.gif
I don't really think is "cannot support" 16:9 la... I think is software bug/glitch that cause the issue, or it may be hardware related, not sure. But since Astro already discontinued support on legacy Astro set-top-boxes, so it is unlikely that they will provide firmware update to fix that issue. Since few years ago, whenever the customers using legacy Astro STB is faulty or having any issues, Astro will straight away replace to B.yond box, not take the set-top-box to repair or whatsoever. Astro has several models of legacy Astro set-top-boxes, it can be only certain models are affected only, examples like first generation ones, second generation ones, not sure manufactured by Nokia or Philips, I have no clue about it.

I replied to Astro and ask them which model of legacy Astro set-top-box(es) are affected by the black screen issue if the channel is 16:9. Hope I will get a reply soon.
JuneResources
post Jan 24 2017, 09:59 AM

ONE Stop Resources
4,167 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 24 2017, 12:47 AM)

If astro force those old existing customers (who use existing legacy set up box) replace to new astro beyond decoder, sure some of customers sure terminate one.

Coz the new decoder must attached with smart card. Meaning that if you use the particular smart card to another decoder device, it won't work at all.

Astro is kinda noob and no proper system especially for njoi plan. I even email to astro.. If the njoi decoder faulty in the future, customers cannot purchase the replacement of new decoder. In fact, astro request us to subscribe purely new njoi package.

It kinda duplicate new njoi account again n again until around 3 or 4 njoi plan. Don't you think feel lebih?
Fazrien97
post Jan 24 2017, 03:26 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 24 2017, 01:08 AM)
I don't really think is "cannot support" 16:9 la... I think is software bug/glitch that cause the issue, or it may be hardware related, not sure. But since Astro already discontinued support on legacy Astro set-top-boxes, so it is unlikely that they will provide firmware update to fix that issue. Since few years ago, whenever the customers using legacy Astro STB is faulty or having any issues, Astro will straight away replace to B.yond box, not take the set-top-box to repair or whatsoever. Astro has several models of legacy Astro set-top-boxes, it can be only certain models are affected only, examples like first generation ones, second generation ones, not sure manufactured by Nokia or Philips, I have no clue about it.

I replied to Astro and ask them which model of legacy Astro set-top-box(es) are affected by the black screen issue if the channel is 16:9. Hope I will get a reply soon.
this decoder give blank image when viewing 16:9 ch such as arena and eurosport. but the legacy box that look like the first gen byond are able to view that ch.Attached Image
Anime in HD
post Jan 24 2017, 05:07 PM

1,510 posts

This old legacy stb still have some feature.
If you go to channel that you not subscribe.
Such as movie channel like HBO(ch411) will show subtittle.

Not so special but can see subtittle appear. doh.gif laugh.gif
nexona88
post Jan 24 2017, 06:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

Wonder how many users still in old stb..
Why can't astro forced everyone to change to b.yond stb.
JohnLai
post Jan 24 2017, 07:46 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 23 2017, 11:45 PM)
Erm, see who posted that information before you believe his words. This Low Li Hao user is well-known for making up own false statements about Astro that eventually did not happen in reality.

Don't believe me? Let's see on 25 Jan 2017, is there such thing Astro Quan Jia HD and AOD available on Njoi Prepaid or not.
Errr......apparently....those channels are out on my NJOI set today........ mega_shok.gif (except not free to view)
WhiteBuffalo
post Jan 25 2017, 11:32 AM

20 posts

I was using an even older STB and just upgraded to Byond a week ago with HD services. A new STB which is the smallest Astro STB I have seen was installed. Unfortunately, I have not been able to watch any HD channels since the installation. The channel guide will flash on screen briefly and the TV will stop receiving any signal.

I have logged in service call and Astro has not responded. Yesterday, I walked in to Astro's service centre in MV and was told that the new STB has software issues with smart TVs. HD channels cannot be viewed with smart TVs and I was told to revert to an RCA connection! Totally defeats the purpose of subscribing to HD services.

Does anyone else have this experience and do anyone have any solution?
TSskylinelover
post Jan 25 2017, 12:45 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

What kind of bullshit is this doh.gif

Might as well fix androidbox better hahahaha laugh.gif
mun88
post Jan 25 2017, 12:51 PM

845 posts

during CNY hypp tv will open all chinese channel from 28 - 11 feb. this things wont happen on astro...
nexona88
post Jan 25 2017, 03:36 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

Well if not mistaken, even Singapore pay TV open all channel for CNY rclxms.gif

We don't expect astro to do that..

smileguy
post Jan 25 2017, 04:38 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(WhiteBuffalo @ Jan 25 2017, 11:32 AM)
I was using an even older STB and just upgraded to Byond a week ago with HD services. A new STB which is the smallest Astro STB I have seen was installed. Unfortunately, I have not been able to watch any HD channels since the installation.  The channel guide will flash on screen briefly and the TV will stop receiving any signal.

I have logged in service call and Astro has not responded.  Yesterday, I walked in to Astro's service centre in MV and was told that the new STB has software issues with smart TVs.  HD channels cannot be viewed with smart TVs and I was told to revert to an RCA connection!  Totally defeats the purpose of subscribing to HD services.

Seems like, that confirms asttro with outdated MPEG2 video and box without any useful features is perfect for CRT tvs and its not compatible with latest tvs! Maybe your latest tv had the latest HDMI output 2.0 and not 1.4,my 4K media player HDMI 2.0 will not play on all my Tvs which are still 1.4 hmm.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Jan 25 2017, 04:39 PM
lionelzc
post Jan 25 2017, 10:57 PM

333 posts

I was using an even older STB and just upgraded to Byond a week ago with HD services. A new STB which is the smallest Astro STB I have seen was installed. Unfortunately, I have not been able to watch any HD channels since the installation.  The channel guide will flash on screen briefly and the TV will stop receiving any signal.

I have logged in service call and Astro has not responded.  Yesterday, I walked in to Astro's service centre in MV and was told that the new STB has software issues with smart TVs.  HD channels cannot be viewed with smart TVs and I was told to revert to an RCA connection!  Totally defeats the purpose of subscribing to HD services.

I was just wondering... did they change your satellite dish from the old white to black?

They never change when I got my new STB
nexona88
post Jan 25 2017, 10:59 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(lionelzc @ Jan 25 2017, 10:57 PM)
I was just wondering... did they change your satellite dish from the old white to black?

Well when u change from old STB to new b.yond STB
Everything needs to change.. Dish & cable included...
Fazrien97
post Jan 25 2017, 11:07 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(lionelzc @ Jan 25 2017, 10:57 PM)

actually black dish diameter is slightly bigger than white dish. so it can improve the signal reception. i think is more good to change to new dish.
joshhd
post Jan 25 2017, 11:55 PM

7,791 posts

That sounds ridiculous to me. I think the staff at Astro Centre Mid Valley don't know those technical stuff.
You need to know that not every words said by customer service can be trusted, and Astro is not an exception.
Sometimes the staff don't know, so they tend to assume something else rather than the truth.

Well, you need to know that there are people that, want to get a job/work as technical department but knowledge about technical stuff is low. Not everyone are interested in technology stuff, that's why.

Ignore whatever they told you about reverting to RCA connection.

Have you tried rebooting your B.yond box? Is your HDMI cable is directly connected from B.yond box to your TV? Tried other HDMI input source on your TV? Tried other HDMI cable?

If still persists, explain in detail on what you experience when you tune to HD channels (or only specific HD channels)?

1) What error message appears on your TV when you tune to HD channel? Is it mention something like "Copy Protection Failed" and "HDCP"?

2) Are you able to hear any sound when tune to HD channel?

3) Or, does it show the "Services Currently Not Available" message as if you can't watch Astro during heavy raining?

If you're not sure, you can attach a picture here if possible.
joshhd
post Jan 25 2017, 11:58 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jan 25 2017, 04:38 PM)
Seems like, that confirms asttro with outdated MPEG2 video and box without any useful features is perfect for CRT tvs and its not compatible with latest tvs! Maybe your latest tv had the latest HDMI output 2.0 and not 1.4,my 4K media player HDMI 2.0 will not play on all my Tvs which are still 1.4 hmm.gif
For your info, currently Astro is still using MPEG2 video codec for SD channels is all for the sake of the compatibility of legacy Astro set-top-boxes (non-B.yond boxes).

If Astro migrates to MPEG4 for SD channels, then it also means every Astro customers can only use B.yond box from then, and the legacy Astro set-top-boxes (well known for its blue colour UI) can no longer be used.

213 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:00 PM