astro byond V13

westlife
post Apr 30 2017, 08:05 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Apr 28 2017, 11:29 PM)
Astro have more money. They can do anything they want. For HyppTV till today their not provide Dolby Digital 5.1/7.1 & PVR service due to lack of customer & slow UniFi rollout.. sad.gif

Need to think logic about this. Astro already more than 21 years for this business & HyppTV just 7 years and only use IPTV protocol. What i know is HyppTV can launch as many channel they want. Because it's unlimited from internet service. For Astro, they need to depend on existing & new satellite(if full) to launch more HD channel.

But we know that Measat 3b has more space to make Astro to launch 50+ more HD channel. But Astro is monopoly the market. And slowly or not to launch the channel because to earn more profits... doh.gif laugh.gif

And most Astro subscriber, especially old Malay like to watch Ria & Prima channel. Because if you change the channel to english. They will not layan. Because the story always about action & horror(standard english TV Series laugh.gif ). That why i Astro focus to make more in-house content. All TV series, such as new gen layan one like anime, comedy & Korean show can just easily be download from the internet. And they not layan tv everyday. Balik rumah terus main phone. Buka games & Youtube... laugh.gif

No wonder Astro agressively to push Astro GO to the new level. They have more money. The future will change. So, about time they can improve streaming quality and so on.. smile.gif
PVR can solve the issues.

Even one is not at home, with it, they dun miss programme too.
TSskylinelover
post Apr 30 2017, 08:11 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 30 2017, 01:20 AM)
Where is this?
Un-astro-ed bein sports i believe laugh.gif doh.gif
westlife
post Apr 30 2017, 08:32 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 26 2017, 12:45 PM)
Well u get what u pay tongue.gif

If can wait okay..

If seriously needs to change, then no choice. Expensive also must buy..
4k tv is not really ex nowadays. the price now is about the same for full hd tv few years back for the same size.

GamersFamilia
post Apr 30 2017, 08:36 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,762 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 30 2017, 08:32 AM)
4k tv is not really ex nowadays. the price now is about the same for full hd tv few years back for the same size.

yerp , wait for middle this year , rumors say price will drop for the 2016 models
westlife
post Apr 30 2017, 08:59 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 30 2017, 08:36 AM)
yerp , wait for middle this year , rumors say price will drop for the 2016 models
Yup Sony malaysia they had announced new 4K tv yesterday. The 2016 model should be go on discount now and then soon.
joshhd
post Apr 30 2017, 09:09 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 30 2017, 08:03 AM)
These are what I mean.

You can see from the position of the TV channel logo which it is not box setting that causes it, but the source (astro) broadcast issues.

[attachmentid=8775556]

[attachmentid=8775557]

[attachmentid=8775558]
Yes. The channel provider (TVB) transmits in 16:9. Whenever they show old 4:3 programme, pillar box will be added by them.

Still, Astro will still transmit in 4:3 with letterbox because the feed is in 16:9.

In a nutshell, TVB transmit its feed in 16:9 + add pillarbox during old 4:3 programmes = pillarboxed in 16:9 frame + Astro transmit in 4:3 with letterbox = windowboxed.
joshhd
post Apr 30 2017, 09:11 AM

7,791 posts

Yeah. It's not that expensive already.
TSskylinelover
post Apr 30 2017, 09:31 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 30 2017, 08:36 AM)
QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 30 2017, 08:59 AM)
Yup Sony malaysia they had announced new 4K tv yesterday. The 2016 model should be go on discount now and then soon.
QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 30 2017, 09:11 AM)
Yeah. It's not that expensive already.
awaiting SUHD curved TV 65 inci dropping price here also brows.gif 55 inci feels 2 small 4 me already laugh.gif
Qash-M
post Apr 30 2017, 09:41 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 30 2017, 09:09 AM)
Yes. The channel provider (TVB) transmits in 16:9. Whenever they show old 4:3 programme, pillar box will be added by them.

Still, Astro will still transmit in 4:3 with letterbox because the feed is in 16:9.

In a nutshell, TVB transmit its feed in 16:9 + add pillarbox during old 4:3 programmes = pillarboxed in 16:9 frame + Astro transmit in 4:3 with letterbox = windowboxed.
Only in Melesia. laugh.gif
westlife
post Apr 30 2017, 09:43 AM

14,241 posts

Yeah, that's why I feel terrible. The old drama resolution is already poor, now it becomes like this. Even worst. Super terrible to view.

That's why I feel the astro broadcast is really poor nowadays comparing to hypptv.

The same old programme if view from Astro (Satellite) vs HyppTv, the image quality has big difference.
chuppachop
post Apr 30 2017, 10:00 AM

957 posts

I understand better now ..... Window-boxed smile.gif

Astro shld justify how many ppl are actually on legacy box, surely newer boxes outnumbered those on legacy boxes

StarHub cease the old analogue boxes by upgrading those on the old analogue by giving them 2 to 3 months STB waiver and then a discounted rate on the new digital boxes for half a yr to 1 hr, I recall
joshhd
post Apr 30 2017, 10:02 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 30 2017, 09:43 AM)
Yeah, that's why I feel terrible. The old drama resolution is already poor, now it becomes like this. Even worst. Super terrible to view. 

That's why I feel the astro broadcast is really poor nowadays comparing to hypptv.

The same old programme if view from Astro (Satellite) vs HyppTv, the image quality has big difference.
I've said before. Astro uses MPEG2 video codec for SD channels while Hypp TV uses newer MPEG4 video codec for both SD and HD channels.

MPEG2 is a 1990s technology. Of course it is obsolete technology and if you compare with newer MPEG4, the video quality will be obviously better.
nexona88
post Apr 30 2017, 10:20 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,422 posts

shakehead.gif
Only Astro does that... doh.gif
dannielshazmeer
post Apr 30 2017, 10:28 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 30 2017, 11:20 AM)
shakehead.gif
Only Astro does that... doh.gif
why they use MPEG2 instead of MPEG4 ?
what is the best reason for astro stay in MPEG2 ?
I think that astro has support H264/MPEG-4 since introduce of byond decoder
Astro is using H264/MPEG-4 for their HD channels and MPEG-2 for SD channels

This post has been edited by dannielshazmeer: Apr 30 2017, 10:29 AM
joshhd
post Apr 30 2017, 11:40 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Apr 30 2017, 10:28 AM)
why they use MPEG2 instead of MPEG4 ?
what is the best reason for astro stay in MPEG2 ?
I think that astro has support H264/MPEG-4 since introduce of byond decoder
Astro is using H264/MPEG-4 for their HD channels and MPEG-2 for SD channels
Astro remain using MPEG2 for SD channels for the sake of the compatibility of legacy Astro boxes. Astro will use MPEG4 for SD channels only if all Astro and Njoi customers has upgraded to Byond boxes, where legacy boxes will no longer be used. This transition has started many years ago.

But then, Astro can take their sweet time about that. While customers complain about poor SD quality, Astro will convince customers to subscribe to HD service to enjoy HD quality channels. So, Astro can still use this excuse to earn profit in HD service. See the trick there? Astro is smart, you know?
theevilman1909
post Apr 30 2017, 12:54 PM

3,952 posts

Anyone know how many customers now using the HD services?
joshhd
post Apr 30 2017, 01:11 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Apr 30 2017, 12:54 PM)
Anyone know how many customers now using the HD services?
I read the news long ago, but I couldn't find where is the link. It is more than 1 million of customers, almost half or more than half of all Astro customers subscribed to HD.
theevilman1909
post Apr 30 2017, 01:16 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 30 2017, 01:11 PM)
I read the news long ago, but I couldn't find where is the link. It is more than 1 million of customers, almost half or more than half of all Astro customers subscribed to HD.
the balance still on the legacy Astro boxes?? mega_shok.gif
joshhd
post Apr 30 2017, 01:19 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Apr 30 2017, 01:16 PM)
the balance still on the legacy Astro boxes??  mega_shok.gif
No. Many customers are already using B.yond boxes but did not subscribe to HD service. In case you don't know, using B.yond boxes doesn't mean you must subscribe to HD service.

Now, less than 10% of 5 million Astro customers are still using legacy Astro boxes.
GamersFamilia
post Apr 30 2017, 01:30 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,762 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 30 2017, 08:59 AM)
yerp , cant wait for it

213 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:16 AM