QUOTE(scottiebabie @ Aug 5 2007, 11:00 PM)
Hey no offence taken. Whether u are arrogant or a loudmouth or an intellectual giant for that matter, is interpretory. All I'm doing is making an attempt to provide some balance to the commercial vs diy argument that u began. I do believe the best way to provide that balance is to stick to facts and figures.
I do not want to begin any kinds of pointless arguments at the first place. It was merely how I felt. The RSAs are too expensive for my wallet.
Whether Ray Samuels makes good amps or not can be argued but whether RSA products sell and whether they are highly desired or not, cannot. A search on Headfi will provide all the data to verify that RSA (and a lot of other Brands) are highly prized. While I respect diy'ers, the sales figures will attest to the fact that 99% of the population purchase commercial products. Perhaps even diy'er would buy commercial too if they can afford it. Again its my opinion that value is of prime importance in any purchase and taking the points elaborated in my last post, it is shown that commercial branded products can be not only very economically viable but great value as well.
I'll take this post as a general information for everyone else but not directed at me. Again, DIY/audio electronics is not for everyone. 99% of the population that purchase commercial products is just a prove that not many people would take the DIY route which costs much much more effort and money than buying commercial products. However, the value of anything depends greatly on the person's personality and point of view. To me, although DIY route costs a lot more money, but i am actually gaining lots of knowledge at the same time.
To be honest, I really don't care how well RSA's business is. Though, as a amp builder myself, I do admire his work especially on aesthetics and parts selection.
Now I do tip my hat off to people who believe that they can build a better mouse trap and perhaps in their own minds, they can. However where I come from we have an old saying - "the proof the pie is in the eating". Just as accusations and claims are NOT considered evidence nor proof, true respect is gained by "making the pie, putting it out there and let the public tasteand decide". Else what respect one believes one can garner by assumptions, suppositions and claims will start to smell like what pops out of the rear-end after a heavy meal of beans (or in our case, durian and petai).
While Team NATO members might disagree, it is my humble opinion that true respect comes from physically DOING what is claimed rather than performing gigantus feats of oratory poop. But that's just my opinion of'coz. Everyone else is entitled to theirs.
I'd like to add if you don't mind, it also depends on how the so called "TEAM NATOs" express their opinions and the way other people take it. If the "TEAM NATOs" expressed their views and opinions in an objective manner, yet while sending the clear message that they are not interested in putting the effort to share it with others, it's perfectly fine to me. Again, it boils down to how you view it. There is nothing to be pissed off at IMO.
QUOTE(walabies @ Aug 5 2007, 11:09 PM)
Before that, honestly I am having a same opinion as Littleghost, "nah, tomahawk is so overpriced (even I am selling them/I dont open customer's package)", "so small, need 1.5k meh?". But then you have to try it, try with various setups, with rigs you are familiar with.
It's different. It was not about size. The only thing that matters are the parts used, topologies implemented.
What I'm trying to say is, electronics is not subjective. It's entirely objective. Physics does not change just because you are a different person. 1+1 does not equal to 2 just because you think it should be. Sound on the other hand
is subjective. All amps have their own distortion and figures, so in the end, just stick to whatever kinds of "distortions" you like.
EDIT: have not been sleeping much, some errors.
This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Aug 6 2007, 08:31 AM