8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xuzen
post Jan 23 2017, 10:59 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 23 2017, 10:58 PM)
You see how volatile is it. It went up, now 3 days also go down. It went up a lot, then down a lot. Means very many volatility about it.

LOL! Lu tak tau ada distribution meh? Ha ha ha ha...... doh.gif

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 23 2017, 11:05 PM
xuzen
post Jan 23 2017, 11:08 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 23 2017, 11:01 PM)
Bro, which distribution to use? Binomial, Poisson, Exponential, Normal...which one?
Hebat lah engkau nih! Terbaik!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 02:55 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Jan 24 2017, 11:21 AM)
I have already fallen in love with her and chose her over her Es equity counterpart (of course one is equity the other FI). Does Algozen ™ think she is fertile?wink.gif  Allocated 5%for her in my port, still in accumulation phase though. very volatile beast she is.
I allocate:

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 03:16 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 24 2017, 03:02 PM)
Sorry to find out a little more.

You having been having this amount of allocation all the time or you just increase from x% to 10% very recently ?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 24 2017, 03:17 PM
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 08:42 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kd88 @ Jan 24 2017, 08:31 PM)
any recommended fund to RSP? for mid to long term.
Garenti baguz punya! thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 24 2017, 08:52 PM
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 09:04 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 24 2017, 08:53 PM)
I need to get something at the end of the month as well. I am thinking either Eastspring Global Emerging Markets Fund or the Affin Hwang Select Asia Ex Japan Quantum Fund, but the latter will leave me overexposed in Asia.
Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 09:16 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jan 24 2017, 09:08 PM)
Maybe you can elaborate? Would like to understand the reason for learning purpose
Let's start with the notion that all rational investors wants the best return for the least risk they take... correct?

Hence to get this best of both world, a bit like getting a good Wahgyu Steak at McDonald price....

You need to use ROI / Volatility also known as "risk to reward ratio".

The larger the number the better. In this way, Ponzi Two is better compared to Ponsi 1 with a better risk to reward ratio.

For EI GEM, using the same argument... well, since there are only two global emerging equity unit trust fund in whole of FSM inventory, namely EI GEM and AM GEM, which both sucks, personally I would stay away from global EM equity as a whole.

I want to eat Kobe beef paying McD price!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 24 2017, 09:19 PM
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 09:22 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jan 24 2017, 09:10 PM)
sifu,

just focus on RHB AIF and CIMB Titan funds ?
For CIMB Titan fund, it is made up of three area namely US + Eurozone + Japan.

Out of these three geo zones, only US is seeing a positive growth. Hence this fund is basically being prop up by the US component. If this is the case, better go Manulife US equity to get the best deal!

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 10:04 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jan 24 2017, 09:29 PM)
So to tap into EM potential would RHB EM bond fund be ok in your books?
I guess so. But remember RHB EMB fund is pure fixed income. It is not equity.

The following is what I know from what I have read and followed from media sound bite:

When Trump won POTUS back in Nov 2016, there was a massive exit from EM Bond to US equities. This sell down pushed the price of the bond down and yield up. EM Bonds are usually rated almost like junk bonds with very high yield.

I am not sure whether the smart money has return to EM Bond yet, but the POTUS result presented a buying opportunity back then. I did not go in immediately because I wanted to see the numbers first. Now the numbers have shown a entry signal as far as Algozen™ is concern.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 11:13 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jan 24 2017, 10:35 PM)
Just curious, what is your portfolio performance for year 2016? Got over 20% ka?
My port went south on two occasion: The early 2016 China circuit breaker fiasco and the Trump POTUS black swan event.

It is still positive albeit single digit because I went cash heavy after the China fiasco and DCA back slowly up to Trump.

On single fund ROI, there are two funds that gave me double digit ROI in 2016 are TA GTF @ 18% and Manulife India @ 12%. As for RHB AIF @ 7%.

But knowing my port is mixed asset port, it will never be 20% since I did not go all out equities. I always balance between ROI and Volatility. There is always a compromise between speed and safety.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 24 2017, 11:14 PM
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 11:17 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 24 2017, 10:45 PM)
hmm.gif while waiting for his responses,...
let me kay poh abit.

if a portfolio has 4 EQ funds & 1 FI fund
each must have 20% ROI to have 20% portfolio ROI
FI fund can get 20% ROI?
I think very unlikely....so the rest of the 4 EQ funds must hit > 23% ROI each
if the 4 EQ funds are diversified into 4 regions...then each regions would have to get >23% ROI
you think it is possible to have each >23%?

to have > 20% portfolio ROI...., the chance of getting 1 fund with just > 20% is higher than 5 funds
but how to get "that" 1 fund?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 11:30 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(opticc @ Jan 24 2017, 11:27 PM)
Very difficult to earn money from unit trust, i see people make a little bit, after that  market crash ,loss more than proifit. crstall man also cannot win, with prediction wrong the market, for newbies  us can forget making money.  how to start investing
go invest in skim cepat kaya!
xuzen
post Jan 24 2017, 11:32 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 24 2017, 11:24 PM)
blush.gif I got that calculation workout from FSM CIS 2 years ago....
they are the one that tell me to reduce the size of funds in a portfolio.....the lesser funds there are the higher the chances of getting higher ROI...(I just need to get lucky-lor)
See! I always keep my port to around four unit trust fund only. Somemore a few heroes here got nine or ten funds, thinking they are playing Pokemon gotta catch em' all meh!
xuzen
post Jan 25 2017, 09:04 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Jan 25 2017, 08:43 AM)
start of the new year, lunar and gregorian, got new ppl come in, some willing to learn and take note, some come in gun at the hip shooting everyone else and everything, demanding this and that.

take note this is full of ppl who invest for their own personal reasons, not your go to specialist for help. you do not pay us, so give some respect and try to learn something new. we could be wrong and if you have any right ideas, do share. we are learning as well. happy chinese new year and happy holidays!
some of us are in this SH1T longer, some less.

some have eaten more SH1T than some have eaten salt.

Hence those who have eaten more SH1T can bullsh1t more lah!

Happy Chinese New Year, Kung Gei Fatt Choy, Sum Siong Si Seng!

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 25 2017, 12:20 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 24 2017, 06:22 PM)
For your reading interest. Most of the investors should have this already.

What And Where To Invest 2017 Key Takeaways
I have read that paper. What I want to say is that the articles are written with commercial intention. Why do I say that?

If you'd notice, all the UTMC points are in reference to the funds that they purvey. Hence, I would be so bold to say that the writings are tinted with commercial intent, which there is nothing wrong as UTMC are purely commercial entity. Hence it is our consumer / end user using our own wisdom and peer review to sort things out.

As a user or consumer of the unit trust product, I do not have commercial intent when I write my opinions since I am a user, not a sales man. Take cognizance that I am a human / regular Joe investors. I do not cover up my portfolio with wonderful marvelous return. I tell it as it is. Unit trust fund is not a guarantee product, it is an investment product that comes with risk, albeit less risky than other products. Hence noobies should be mindful that you are participating in an open market risky environment. However, the good news is that unit trust is a very regulated product.

p/s For those who remembered, 2013 to 2015 was the year of M'sia equities. You got consistent double digit growth didn't you all? Now? They suxs don't they. The point is, what is good may not last forever and what is bad also do not last forever. If you participate in the market long term, then you would know the trend and flavor. If you are those who come in hit and run, hoping to make some fast money then retreat into your cave, then sorry to disappoint you. Timing the market is the wrong way to go. The time spent in the market is the way to go.

Xuzen

Even mathematically it is shown that by chasing return, that is, ROI is only linearly correlated. Whereas, time spent in the market with the power of compounding, the Future Value of your investment is exponential. So, this is true, investment is less about chasing return but more about staying invested for the long term!

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 25 2017, 12:44 PM

xuzen
post Jan 25 2017, 12:49 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Jan 25 2017, 12:11 PM)
Sifu Xuzen will give you 10 likes....
wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jan 25 2017, 01:03 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 25 2017, 12:58 PM)
sounds like xuzen received a brand new Samsung note phone. lots of drawn images lately. hahahahaha
Samsung Note 5. He he he
xuzen
post Jan 25 2017, 01:40 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 25 2017, 11:03 AM)
Sis, I am even worse than you. My main portfolio has about 15 funds. I expanded it again this year.  blush.gif  I am definitely taking the concept of asset allocation to a different level.

On a different issue, the best performing fund in my portfolios remain EISC at 17.20% profit and KGF at 17.84% profit after holding them for 2 years with periodic profit taking and top up.
Pokémon player?

xuzen
post Jan 25 2017, 03:01 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 25 2017, 02:24 PM)
You draw really well for someone who likes statistics and finance theory  notworthy.gif
cool2.gif

CNY mood already... things have quiet down at work a bit. My staffs are eating keropok / mandarin oranges and biscuits liao.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 25 2017, 03:15 PM
xuzen
post Jan 25 2017, 04:28 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Jan 25 2017, 04:13 PM)
Usually bosses make more money in his enterprise than his market. Or maybe I assumed that since SME bosses are too busy running the business and no time to spend at the market...
Mind to tell what business is that?

By the way, I have just bought the book Intelligent Investor and just finished chapter 1 during my flight balik kampung. Haven't read the entire book yet, but I get a grasp on his attitude towards investment (i.e the highlighted distinction between investor and speculator). So far I've read about DCA, his approach to buy when the price is going down (value investment?) and his aversion to hit-and-run speculator...it seems like you are a follower of this approach, am I right?
I am in the Home DIY business. At this time, customers are busy making kuih-muih liao or busy buying food related stuff. Those who want to do fix-it-up, would have done so last two weeks, which was my peak season.

No, I have not read Benjamin Graham's titular book. I am a student of Prof Harry Markowitz. You heard of him?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 25 2017, 04:40 PM

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1615sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:23 PM