8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

wodenus
post Jan 12 2017, 01:56 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 12 2017, 01:32 PM)
no follow"rules" portfolio after  >3 yrs...
See.. just diversify and be patient, don't have to switch here and there, up and down smile.gif

wodenus
post Jan 12 2017, 08:31 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 12 2017, 08:29 PM)
two weeks aye? okay thanks for the heads up. this will be in early February. time to top up then
Might be unlikely due to CNY rally in HK.. but then again who knows.
wodenus
post Jan 13 2017, 07:40 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 13 2017, 12:41 AM)
Ok I think SG can wait lah. Let me get settled with what I have. I do have relatives in SG and go down from time to time, so that isn't an issue.

The biggest draw for me is that they have so much better fund choice selection - Brazil, Russia, Eastern Europe, South America, Mexico, Turkey, Poland etc. Malaysia got none of those individual funds, sadly.
In the end though I guess it's a black cat, white cat thing.
wodenus
post Jan 13 2017, 04:36 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ykit_88 @ Jan 13 2017, 04:34 PM)
Dear all,

Been thinking to buy in Manulife US tomorrow to take adv of the 0.5% SC.
But since Trump just take over office it sounds risky to me.
Or should I top up other funds while wait to buy in US at another round?
Advise pls.
Yea REITs and dividend-based UT going to be a little riskier. But then again there's a possibility of buying low, because he's not always going to be president.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Jan 13 2017, 04:37 PM
wodenus
post Jan 14 2017, 01:57 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 13 2017, 11:32 PM)
But Manulife focus 50% in Singapore

AmAsia is more diversified

I guess in depends on your preference smile.gif
Yea that got me worried too.. way too concentrated in Singapore. On a risk-adjusted basis it's hard to make a case for it.
wodenus
post Jan 15 2017, 05:45 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 14 2017, 10:46 PM)
She said Malaysian economy was expected not to do well. Read the whole thing or I filter for you. (2nd page, 7th paragraph On the home front...)
https://www.kenangainvestors.com.my/KIB/KIB...e_Interview.pdf
I have a simpler explanation - if you vote for socialists and fundamentalists, you will be punished by the capitalists.
wodenus
post Jan 15 2017, 06:32 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Jan 14 2017, 08:16 PM)
Door gifts from FSM is just a lunch box and tumbler. Then take the lucky draw tear-out to every counter to stamp, and get a spin on wheel of fortune for another gift including RM10 Parkson voucher, FSM notebook, tumbler/mug etc.

Aberdeen gave a box of tissue and mouse+notepad
Eastspring fish catching game and I got a desktop calendar, others including biscuits, umbrella, lunchbox (again), pens etc
Nomura gave a smartphone screen cleaner
RHB gave post-it notes (how many notes are we going to write)
Money Compass and Smart Investor gave a copy of their magazine respectively

Until today I thought FSM is more appealing to the younger people (read: small fish like me) but surprisingly there are many uncles and aunties there and they told me their children recommends FSM to them. And they get silver/gold/platinum sales charge since they have big(ger) monies.

Basically the main point I see is they are all optimistic about Asia-Pacific ex-Japan / ASEAN / Asian Emerging Markets. A number of them are optimistic on Malaysia subject to stock picking on particular sectors (infrastructure, commodity-related, disruptive businesses)
Door gifts were quite good then.
wodenus
post Jan 15 2017, 11:05 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 15 2017, 10:21 PM)
Guys, I want to revisit the topic of FOREX risk because I think in this forum thread we are greatly overlooking the impact of it on the returns we have been seeing for the past 2-3 years.

Now, let's say out Ringgit improves from RM4.50 at the start of the year to RM4.05...meaning it appreciates by 10%. At the same time, let's say that Fund A is a mother fund which invests in the United States, and it sees a 10% returns for the year.

If we invest in Fund A though a local Fund B, is it fair to say that at the end of the year the Ringgit appreciation could wipe out most/all of the gains that the underlying mother fund made in USD terms in the US markets (assume a constant linear 10% appreciation and gain across the year)?
Good.point. There's always forex risk, unless the fund manager is mitigating it somehow.
wodenus
post Jan 15 2017, 11:46 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 14 2017, 11:28 PM)
It's an old article from 2016.  sweat.gif Note: I didn't go for the talk.
It can hardly be an article from 2017, seeing that it's all of 15 days old smile.gif
wodenus
post Jan 16 2017, 05:23 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 16 2017, 10:31 AM)
lol not me. just here to talk cock since I got nobody around my level to talk to with these stuff. most my peers are all about spending, boozing, travelling and looking for air stewardess to bang with their white coats.
More of them in FB than here.
wodenus
post Jan 16 2017, 11:32 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 16 2017, 09:18 PM)
Two different things dude. The Ringgit already has depreciated. It's likely going to appreciate or stabilize now. The Renmimbi meanwhile is said to start depreciating soon.

Also, Ringgit is our home currency. Renmimbi is a foreign currency. Different things

My logic is that it is not good to invest in China if they are going to depreciate the currency cause look at what happened in Malaysia these past 3 years during depreciation - there was large capital outflows, which led to a stock market downturn and also weakening investor's worth cause when they change back to their home currency they get less.

But I want to head what others have to say. Maybe I overlooked something.
Aren't you invested in China?
wodenus
post Jan 17 2017, 12:32 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 17 2017, 12:13 AM)
For you is just 25%, for me is 100% wor. Everything I got I dump into the funds in one go. Actually so far I don't have a losing day. Even today my net gain is somehow still 0.008%. But tomorrow I will have a net loss. For sure.
Kind of hard to lose money if you are diversified actually.
wodenus
post Jan 17 2017, 12:44 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 17 2017, 12:39 AM)
I think I'm diversified. It's just, by nature of it, day to day you have some days being net gains and some days being net losses. So far I have experienced 3 weeks of continuous net portfolio gains, no portfolio loss yet. I think it's normal, but just something new for me personally. What scares me is that when that first red comes, it will keep being red for the next 3 weeks....
That's actually quite normal.. like I mentioned in the other post, on the whole markets tend to go up. Every few years there's a really bad crash.. but it always recovers.
wodenus
post Jan 17 2017, 03:37 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 16 2017, 12:14 PM)
1000x0.5%=myr 5. a plate of rice.

my point being focus on the bigger picture not the small percentages.

my two cents
Over here it's about 1.6kg of rice smile.gif not so rich to pay someone Rm5 to cook and clean up smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Jan 17 2017, 03:39 PM
wodenus
post Jan 17 2017, 09:18 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 17 2017, 05:16 PM)
Crazy like suddenly devaluing your currency, enemies of the West, huge property bubble, imposing capital controls.
Um.. suddenly devaluing the currency - we've already done that smile.gif imposing capital controls - we've done that too smile.gif also there was this huge Soros thing with Mahathir smile.gif the property bubbles though, not sure if it's a real bubble., depends on how valuable the land is.
wodenus
post Jan 18 2017, 01:55 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 18 2017, 01:53 PM)
Stock cant la. No money lol
Correct. The IT I mention is such mentioned and some manufacturing chipsets or hardware. Thanks for the head up!

Pharmaceuticals is indeed less and I don't fund any unless stock as mentioned. I see pharmaceutical is one of the potential growing in MY in coming years.

Automobile will come to a stagnant.

Property will struggle imo....
Aberdeen is pretty big on global pharma though.
wodenus
post Jan 18 2017, 02:21 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ykit_88 @ Jan 18 2017, 02:08 PM)
Which Abeerdeen?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...lass-A-MYABD002

Almost a quarter of the port is in healthcare smile.gif

wodenus
post Jan 18 2017, 06:04 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 18 2017, 05:18 PM)
actually market has been a bit tough. dont expect like 10% a year or something. actually my inital target is 8% p.a. even that i realise, it's not that easy, probably cause i freaked out and didn't top up when there was a sale... end up my IRR hovering between 5.5% to 7%... Have not reach above 8%... Like i say, abit too soon to tell. I have invested for 2.5 years, only performed one switching, and the value is only 5% of the value of funds...

you buy one fund, charge SC, you sell to buy another fund, kena charge SC again... vs i buy the same fund and hold...? if free switching okay la... this RHB, no free switching pulak.
Even free switching you might lose out if your old fund surged during the switching period. You can turn a gain into a loss by switching smile.gif suppose you are losing money in fund A, then you switch into fund B which seems to be making money, but then after you switch fund A goes up and fund B drops smile.gif

wodenus
post Jan 18 2017, 06:06 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Jan 18 2017, 04:23 PM)
Avangelice go as far as 15% or it's shit fund to him too. So, what is your intended return?

His standard went up already? last I heard he said 8% smile.gif

wodenus
post Jan 18 2017, 06:10 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jan 18 2017, 06:08 PM)
CIMB-PRINCIPAL ASIA PACIFIC DYNAMIC INCOME FUND - Annual Expense Ratio ^  2.06% (as of March 31, 2016)

why so high ?
How would we know, ask them about that smile.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1199sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:26 PM