Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

yygo
post Dec 23 2016, 08:56 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Dec 22 2016, 10:27 PM)
yeah, for 12 months, step up..... but now don't have liao ....

there were 3 stages, 3.xx%, 4.xx% and 5.xx%. Effective is 4.7%.
got meh? rclxub.gif

pure fd? tis was not discussed in tis thread before. last 3 years no 12 months 4.7% fd lo.
yygo
post Jan 2 2017, 10:04 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 1 2017, 03:25 PM)
do u read posts before you?
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 2 2017, 09:59 AM)
some ppl just post 1 liner without doing any work and expect others to spoonfeed the answer.  laugh.gif

if you can open up lyn forum, open the thread link, and type the question here, the amount of time spent can be found directly from ocbc website or even google.
yes! some pipu just ask questions without understanding wat pipu posted. like gia questions posted last 2 days. the effective rate question and how to check has been answered. yet some senior forummer still asking tat question. did not even acknowledge after pipu helped. bangwall.gif
yygo
post Feb 2 2017, 09:00 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Feb 2 2017, 01:56 AM)

Bank Rakyat guarantees the full amount however big it is, no wishy washy PIDM maximum limit of 250k business for all your accounts/FDs total.
sifu, if br bankrupt, how can they guarantee? full amount?

some say by gomen. any written tat full amount guarantee by gomen?
yygo
post Feb 8 2017, 08:02 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(cherrykoay @ Feb 7 2017, 09:51 PM)
Update: just did a 3mths @HSBC with 4.88% fresh fund, got free hsbc premier umbrella somemore lol
for joining their pb? min amount?
yygo
post Feb 8 2017, 01:46 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Feb 8 2017, 11:05 AM)
6 mth & 12 mth is offering lower rate? that is an indicator of....?
bro, cimb has been showing tis type of rate for last 2 or 3 mth. shorter term better fd deals.
yygo
post Feb 17 2017, 05:42 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Feb 17 2017, 12:42 PM)
EPF will be annoucing  the dividen tomorrow. 2015 was 6.4%. Market expects 6%. It is still good to place rm60k max for those self-employed. current bank interest rate range from 3.9 to 4.05%.
unker, oni self-employed can do self contribution?
yygo
post Feb 22 2017, 08:59 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Feb 21 2017, 11:25 PM)
The 4.08% for 8 months with minimum of 50k is not for everybody but only for Ambank Signature Priority customer. Meaning placeĀ  200k plus into CASA first before can qualify.
sifu, ambank pb need 200k, can be in fd, not only casa.

oso, 3 posts in a roll. can be considered spamming. please use "add" reply.

This post has been edited by yygo: Feb 22 2017, 09:02 AM
yygo
post Feb 22 2017, 10:09 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Feb 22 2017, 09:13 AM)
In Melaka , minimum amount for PB for ambank is RM250K, sure it's 200K?
after check again, 200k is rite.

This post has been edited by yygo: Feb 22 2017, 10:42 AM
yygo
post Feb 22 2017, 10:44 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 22 2017, 07:51 AM)
Hahaha it's not the maths that's faulty, it's the logic that's fubar  smile.gif

Reminds me of the bimbo who was asked how many slices a pizza should be cut into - 8 or 12. She said she'd  like 8 because  she said 12 is too much to eat...Can't  finish 12... LOL
p.a. is wat pipu used to look at it. y some sifu wan to make it so difficult to understand?
yygo
post Feb 23 2017, 04:13 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 23 2017, 12:17 PM)
cclim2011 a noble thing you're trying to do. but don't end up  bangwall.gif  ya!  console.gif

whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
laugh.gif better than get post reported and deleted. someone gud at reporting pipu's post here, you know who la.

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 23 2017, 01:01 PM)
eh I also notice long passages lately... that one I dont have the patience haha
me tu. long winded till pensan wat he is saying.

QUOTE(carentan @ Feb 23 2017, 03:48 PM)
hi i have 800K, may i know which bank interest is highest?
read post 1 to get some idea dulu.

yygo
post Mar 31 2017, 08:11 PM

895 posts

any pipu done fpx through maybank on tuesday and still can do multiple fd (30k each time) in hl? for the hl tuesday 4.15% offer.

hope still can do more than one on tuesday.
yygo
post May 25 2017, 11:19 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Morning Sun @ May 25 2017, 10:58 AM)
Anybody notice how did bank Muamalat keep our IC copy or info?
They use traditional way to photostat our ICs?
Or they only use the thumb print digital device to save our IC info?

I asked them to put a chop on my photostat IC, but do not know if
they do it or not? Quite worry..
bro, you r the oni one say got monthly interest. r you sure? any proof? brows.gif
yygo
post May 25 2017, 12:30 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(Morning Sun @ May 24 2017, 01:52 AM)
Just placed bank muamalat 1 years FD 4.5% with a banker's cheque yesterday (23 May 2017).
FD date starts effective immediately on the same day, received fd cert on the spot, and opened
one basic saving account (RM 20 to open) to receive monthly interest. Bank muamalt said fd can
withdraw 1 year later, no need to wait 1 day to withdraw.

I called bank muamalat customer service from website first before I went to place fd. Bank mumalat
customer service said if use personal's cheque then need to wait 2 working days to clear; if use banker's
cheque then can get FD effective on the same day.
QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ May 25 2017, 11:43 AM)
Bank Muamalat had their company promo going for some time and was mentioned in this forum some time ago. Actually there is a range of promo offers for various months which I mentioned was not relevant to our specific narrow interest on WLB! 5  RI 2 at 4.5% p.a. for 12 months at minimum of 100k.
The various offers details and conditions were too many for me to digest or even summarize. I can readily agree that confusion at customer and even for bank staff can occur. It is not as simple as the red 4.5% glossy pamphlet, banner or newspaper advert used to attract curious readers.
y sifu reply for him? sifu easily confused? rclxub.gif

c his post above. clearly said 4.5%, open sa to receive monthly interest.

let us hear from the horses mouth. laugh.gif
yygo
post May 25 2017, 12:33 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ May 25 2017, 12:08 PM)
Sorry if feel rubbed you but I ahem confused by your earlier post. brows.gif

No monthly interest, so no need to open SA.  biggrin.gif

I discussed the pros and cons of moving funds in and out using various ways with 2 Bank Muamalat staff on my second visit. I was told can close the Basic SA after 3 months and any money including minimum amount will be refunded without penalty to avoid the question of dormant account. That was OK as the promo period end is longer than 3 months away and I can close after my last transfer in for placement before 2 October 2017. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

I want more Penang people to be more kiasu, squeeze and hentam the banks kow kow so that we can have better deals all round. So please Kah Yau!!  devil.gif
again confused? brows.gif rclxub.gif

write too long post can get confused easily. brows.gif

sifu kiasu type. brows.gif not evione same as sifu. rclxm9.gif
yygo
post May 25 2017, 05:50 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(babysiew @ May 25 2017, 04:38 PM)
aiyoh u can use rentas ma. u just need to pay rm2.50 or something like that if i am not mistaken. interbank ma lol... why need paper document when can transfer digitally? biggrin.gif
br rentas rm5.30.

QUOTE(pearl_white @ May 25 2017, 05:04 PM)
From experience dealing with BR and Bank Muamalat Malaysia Berhad, BMMB for short, both look and feel almost the same, except furniture and fittings for BMMB slightly newer.  But the customer service and the level of interaction with staff at BMMB way better, they seem more confident and willing to speak up.  When I went there, Bank Manager came and greeted me herself.  The SA and Bank officer both personally did all the processing real-time.  It was a very pleasant experience.  This was the Kajang branch btw.  SA willing to travel to see you to get things done, but 1st time visit necessary if you intend to have an ATM card, otherwise you do not need to visit the branch.  Opening account or creating FD account can be done offsite.  Saving account also comes with a passbook!

Got all done within 15mins since BR dont do BC anymore, need to create Saving a/c 1st then whatapp BR to rentas to BMMB.  BR officer was feeling sad for this small withdrawal, but the BR HQ not budging at all.  They know about BMMB's promo, but I guess flushed with rm92bil+ cash, they wont be moving any promo anytime soon.

Saw also one sheepish lowyat forummer there too, deposited a couple hundred K in FD.  thumbsup.gif

ps. just to add, BC in Malaysia will cease to be issued soon, BNM directive.  BC to be issued if recipient is the govt. of M'sia only.
you whatsapp br to rentas fund to bmmb. no need to go to branch?

who is the "sheepish" one, a senior? innocent.gif sweat.gif
yygo
post May 26 2017, 07:50 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 26 2017, 06:22 PM)
Exactly....a lot of hearsay...
some gave outdated info n do not believe even more pipu said the same ting

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ May 26 2017, 07:15 PM)
Yes for 'selected customers'

Basically those selected ones predominantly consist of existing citigold people whose AUM doesn't reach 400k by june.
But you can also just call your RM and request their 'hr or whomever' to ask if you can be qualified for the UT/FD combo.

I managed to call in to get twice their FD limit for 3 mths.
o you are converted? brows.gif brows.gif last time you even question wen tis was mentioned. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yygo: May 26 2017, 07:51 PM
yygo
post May 27 2017, 12:43 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 26 2017, 06:22 PM)
Exactly....a lot of hearsay...

Am Bank
4 month 3.6%. Minimum 200k. Free 20in Condotti trolly bag.

8 months 4.08% for priority customer extended till end of May
QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ May 27 2017, 12:15 PM)
Is this quoting from an old post or old outdated promo info?

I was told at Ambank branch on Mon 22 May 2017, replaced with new promo to last till 31 August 2017.
No leaflet or poster at that time yet as too new development. But it did not seem good enough, so  did not bother to post as they might do another quick change to compete.

If I remember correctly,

5 months at 3.3 % minimum 10k

10 months at 4.1 % minimum 200k for normal customer.

10 months at 4.1 % minimum 50k for existing priority customer.

Please check what is the latest promo version at your branch, as Ambank is a dynamic bank that changes promos.
another hearsay? outdated promo? wic is ambank promo sekarang?
yygo
post May 27 2017, 12:45 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ May 27 2017, 01:12 AM)

I not sure if it will uplift IMMD, but my guess is it will take a day. i.e., if you uplift today, your cash is only ready in your account by tomorrow.

efd uplift immediately. $$ ready in account IMMD.
yygo
post May 29 2017, 04:57 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ May 28 2017, 04:24 AM)
Nah, not really converted, it's my parent's account. managed to get400k 4.88 for 3 months isn't that bad, maybe after the tenure is up, we'd probably just close the account? lol.xD
i tot bro said "who say citibank has 4.88% fd promo" wen tis was mention? devil.gif

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ May 29 2017, 02:10 PM)
It helps to keep an open mind about why monthly interest mentioned in the first place as the promo was started for large company sums originally before opening up to individuals later. Probably that poster actually was a huge investor and not a minimum 100k investor.

There was even something suggestive about complimentary BSA in one of the documents.
I had to open BSA with RM 30 but somebody else managed to get it down to RM 20 like for not coming back to withdraw the next day. The RM 100 opening is supposed to be for normal savings account at the branch I went to. But I believe Bank Muamalat branches have some flexibility and differences which should be no surprise.

Golf umbrella - don't know if all branches available or only for amounts bigger than 100k. Anybody got a golf umbrella for exactly 100k first time placement?
did sifu got the fd cert same day? effective date next day?
yygo
post May 29 2017, 06:27 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ May 29 2017, 06:22 PM)
Placed at Bank Muamalat HQ Jln Melaka, KL next to Masjid Jamek LRT station before prayer break.

Answers to your questions:- NO and NO.
Personal cheque given on Friday 19, told to come back for FTA-i certificate after clearance. Placement date Tuesday 23.

No umbrella given. Probably catch promo too early and staff still blur or not yet fully briefed what to do.
19/5 to fd date 23/5, sifu lose 4 days interest. @gsc said fri to monday lose 3 days oni.

sifu did not complain?

0.0427sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:01 PM