Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

pangolin88
post Feb 13 2017, 12:41 PM

98 posts

Just wondering why banks give a better FD rate for over the counter deposit. Online FD usually give a lower rate. I hate going to the bank looking for a parking space then waiting for a counter number.
pangolin88
post Feb 14 2017, 12:12 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 13 2017, 07:07 PM)
So that they can hard sell you insurance, unit trust, savings plam
Very True . I kena conned into buying unit trust by sweet talking lady. Having learned my lesson I will be more careful next time. bangwall.gif
pangolin88
post Jul 9 2019, 11:25 AM

98 posts

slightly off topic but i read in the Star today about income tax.

" He noted that there was an understanding between members of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) countries to share banking information through its Automatic Exchange of Information (AEOI) system.

“Through this information, we will know who has overseas bank accounts and whether they have come forward to declare their incomes or under-declared incomes,” he said."

My question is this..If I open an account in Singapore to earn interest from the FD there, will I have to declare it to the tax authorities. (Note: Money transferred there is legally earned in Malaysia and already declared on my annual income tax returns)

pangolin88
post Jul 9 2019, 12:52 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Free Spirit @ Jul 9 2019, 12:37 PM)
Nope, you need not declare your account opening to LHDN.

If you have been paying very little tax or none at all, but have a fat balance at a foreign bank outside of Malaysia, then be prepared to be called for a "coffee session" at LHDN (except that there won't be any coffee served).

However, you need not worry if you earn your income legally and pay your tax honestly.
Thank you.
Not to worry. all my income hard earned and fully taxed.
pangolin88
post Jun 20 2020, 08:08 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 16 2020, 03:03 PM)
MY FD in ambank was auto renewed at 2.05%. I wanted to redeem it and transfer to another bank so that on transferring back it is regarded as fresh funds.
For the last 3 days I have been unable to redeem it .. error message is .. "unable to redeem because of technical error. Please try again in a few days"

Anybody has this same problem.
Their helpline is grossly inefficient. To confirm my identity they asked me some security questions. The trouble is the questions they asked are not what I selected!!

pangolin88
post Jun 20 2020, 07:00 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 20 2020, 12:09 PM)
Placement is over the counter?
Nope . all my FD done online

0.0614sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:36 AM