4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

magika
post Mar 28 2017, 01:59 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Mar 28 2017, 01:37 PM)
Anyone knows whether we could provide instruction on FD upon maturity for Bank Rakyat if we are overseas on the maturity date?

I was told by one BR officer over counter that I can't do anything but let it auto-renew.  This is unlike other banks which accept signed letter instruction.
Which bank accept ? Maybank also dont accept after FD cert has been printed. Instruction On Maturity need to be predetermined.

magika
post Sep 15 2017, 02:08 PM

2,606 posts

Did a placement at Bank Muamalat. Purchased Banker Cheque from RHB for FD placement. Firstly, each cert must have value above 100k only entitle for 4.3%. Have some problem with counter staff who insist placing FD with dual name , Banker Cheque also must have dual name doh.gif . Managed to place it after making some noises, however officer say rule will apply to personal cheques. Got cert and placement date on the same day.

This post has been edited by magika: Sep 15 2017, 02:09 PM
magika
post Sep 15 2017, 03:48 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 15 2017, 03:23 PM)
No such thing and no noise in my Muamalat branch, Magic.

I submitted single name banker's checks to Muamalat for many times, and I was allowed to get joint name FDs with my mother.
Yes, got FD cert and FD effective date on the same day.

I found out the cheapest banker's check should be from Am Bank: RM 2.80
Its laughable and illogical. But nowadays feeling very lazy to argue with them.

magika
post Oct 15 2019, 02:29 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Free Spirit @ Oct 15 2019, 12:37 PM)
Yeah, I too use Maybank's GIA very often, especially 1M GIA since we can uplift anytime and still enjoy daily interests (current profit rate = 2.25%).

I've always received the indicative profits in the past, but I guess anything is possible after Lehman Brothers tongue.gif Those interested in putting money into an Islamic investment account like Maybank's GIA and HLB's TIA-i, please read the product disclosure sheet and T&C first.
Sure ?
magika
post May 12 2020, 11:07 AM

2,606 posts

So back to the drawing board , with FD rates dropping so much as its not feasible anymore.
magika
post Mar 7 2021, 05:23 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 7 2021, 04:53 PM)
Anyone knows of BR, any FD promo ?
Nope. I transfered remainder to SSPN... flex.gif
magika
post Oct 28 2021, 03:41 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(lowdensity @ Oct 27 2021, 08:12 PM)
Meaning PIDM does not cover in this case then as it is "international" bank.

Even if it covers, the maximum only quater.

"The maximum limit of coverage is RM250,000 per depositor per member bank."
Got meh... international bank ?

magika
post Feb 15 2022, 10:16 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Sushi_Mushi @ Feb 15 2022, 04:02 PM)
Hi, I wonder if anyone could answer this.
Fixed deposit with autorenewal feature has to be updated around 7 years to avoid becoming unclaimed money right, how about e-fixed deposit? Is it necessary and how to update for e-fixed deposit?
Last week went to uplift my wife FD with Affin Bank, if not mistaken auto renewed since 2009. More than 12 years FD not updated but still money is there.

magika
post Mar 21 2022, 03:20 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Mar 21 2022, 02:18 PM)
1 and 4 are almost the same (fixed deposit) where Islamic funds cannot be used to buy pork related products or give loans to non halal company tongue.gif

number 2 self explanatory, it's investment and u may lose all / part of your $$

number 3 no idea. Sounds like FD (islamic) but it says "trading" like trust fund.
Hope not going direct into an argruement. Pls reply only when you have experience in the products itself.

magika
post Mar 21 2022, 03:22 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 21 2022, 09:44 AM)
Hi all,
Do you all have any idea what is the differences among the following MBB i-fixed Deposit?
1) Maybank conventional fixed deposit
2) General investment account-i (GIA-i)
3) Prosperous Now! Account-i (PNA-i)
4) Islamic Fixed Deposit
1..2..n 4 is all fd but separated into conventional and islamic entities.

Maybank efd especially GIA-i used to be the hot favourites for us other than banks promo rates back then with indicative rates of around 4%. Now if not mistaken its not favourable. I do still have some but really not bothered as its only to hold for my current expenses.

If you login to Maybank website, do an fd placement then all four of the above choices are available. Why then place the choices in the fd placement tab if its not fd albeit with a bit of variety.

Regarding the differences between them , then look at the indicative rates for islamic products and compare them to interest rates for conventional fd products. Even though islamic base products are not guaranteed as its syariah base principle does not allow such a guarantee, forumers here can relate that its indicative rates translate to actual rates.

I have completely lost interest in fd rates a few years back as the prevalent low rates does not warrant my research time. GIA- i seems to have evolve a bit now , and seems not to have PIDM coverage if i am not mistaken.

Just sharing my opinion.

This post has been edited by magika: Mar 21 2022, 04:51 PM
magika
post Mar 22 2022, 01:41 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 22 2022, 01:29 PM)
btw, i have not placed FD more than 1 year before. for FD more than 1 year... example HLB 2.75% for 24 months

if i place today 22 / 03 / 2022, it will expire 22 / 03 / 2024

so the interest is 2.75% p.a * 2, which means for 10k placement, interest is RM275*2 = RM550?
FD interest is counted in days. Sum x nos of days / 365 or 366 x %

This post has been edited by magika: Mar 22 2022, 01:43 PM
magika
post Mar 23 2022, 03:36 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Mar 23 2022, 02:44 PM)
https://www.reuters.com/world/us/fed-policy...ion-2022-03-22/

It's basically confirmed. Market has rebounded and preparing for the expections.
Market rebounded because of rates hike...? First time hear it

magika
post Jan 9 2023, 01:38 PM

2,606 posts

Went to Ambank near me, staff there say no promo. Call another branch, staff say promo for priority customer only. Reaffirmed that not all branches have same promo.

This post has been edited by magika: Jan 9 2023, 01:39 PM
magika
post Jan 9 2023, 02:28 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jan 9 2023, 02:25 PM)
If u got 250k or 500k immediately can be priority customer  biggrin.gif
Went to Ambank, the RM blur blur abt promo rate. Ambank saving account does not discriminate between normal saving account vs priority account but maybe diff is got RM to entertain.

magika
post Jan 15 2023, 12:36 PM

2,606 posts

Excellent customer service of the banks that i have visited for fd placement :

1. Ambank
2. Ocbc
3. Hong Leong

100. Maybank

magika
post Jan 16 2023, 02:46 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 16 2023, 01:46 PM)
Thanks. Just place it. Fpx limit 30k per transaction very mafan. Lucky can reuse code

Place last week at priority banking but efd easier n better.

magika
post Jan 16 2023, 07:03 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(mbbvic @ Jan 16 2023, 06:44 PM)
Quick question... how shld I answer above for PBB eFD?

first part all NO..... second part really pening

me == Malaysian tax payer. never been to US
All no

magika
post Jan 19 2023, 10:00 AM

2,606 posts

A learning experience, many small missteps to make better experience.

Ambank Online FD 4% 2 month.
Usually when i open a bank account, i will always try to make it joint account in case shit hit the fan. As with Ambank , i open a joint account and got a debit card in my name, thinking that its still a joint account. So instead of placing the FDs otc which involves travelling to the bank, i did it online. The issues is the amount is much larger whereas fpx limit is restricted to RM50k per day, so i transfered some to my wife account and did the fpx from both our account. When placing the fds online, i did read that it must from the same name as the fds, but imaging mine to be joint account, tried it anyway for learning purposes. True to expectations, the status went to " pending review" and the reject notification came the next day. It will be a few days for the fund to return barring any hiccups. So plus 1 for new experiences this year 2023.

magika
post Jan 19 2023, 11:09 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 19 2023, 11:04 AM)
Should make a Will and a list of all your accounts and password to your beneficiary.
Its not so simple. Accounts are quite fluid nowadays and liquidity will be easier.

magika
post Jan 19 2023, 07:35 PM

2,606 posts

With Fds rate above 4% and on the extreme side PBB 24mths 4.8% , it would satisfy savers and a relief for borrowers when opr is maintained at the current level.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0608sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:26 PM