208 posts

QUOTE(chiwawa10 @ Mar 8 2022, 04:45 PM)
OCBC any promo rate for FD?
Easier to find water in the desert
fabu8238
post Mar 22 2022, 10:37 PM

208 posts

For what its worth Goldman Sachs economists expect Fed to raise rates by 50 basis points in the next 2 months May and June. So will BNM be forced to move faster?

fabu8238
post Mar 31 2022, 08:49 AM

208 posts

The 2.15% was bound to fail. Now 2.35 for 2 days what do you think I am ? Desparate?
fabu8238
post Mar 31 2022, 11:09 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(Perakpower @ Mar 31 2022, 11:01 AM)
Just wait six weeks. Leave it in current account or if it is a really big amaount do a 1 or 2 month FD.
Show more la
fabu8238
post Apr 1 2022, 04:16 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(AndyMaurice @ Apr 1 2022, 03:30 PM)
One year , 70% fd 30% casa 3.05 . Effective rate 2.77%
If FD pays 3.05%pa 70% fd 30% casa you don't get 2.77% effective rate. Roughly 2.1%?
fabu8238
post Apr 4 2022, 10:37 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(KES1957 @ Apr 2 2022, 08:54 PM)
IAmbank OTC for priority clients

12m 2.58%
18m 2.7%
24m 3%

Would have been more convenient if this is offered online.
For my branch the 2 yr rate is no longer available
fabu8238
post Apr 7 2022, 09:53 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Apr 7 2022, 08:15 AM)
What does the rate campaign column means?
This is a TD/CASA combination with 70:30 ratio. The rate campaign is the interest rate the bank will pay for the TD portion of your investment. Roughly the effective rate is 70% of the rate campaign.
fabu8238
post Apr 13 2022, 09:25 AM

208 posts

IMHO FD for 2 years duration should be paying 3% in current outlook
fabu8238
post Apr 24 2022, 06:39 PM

208 posts

Nomura reported Friday that the US will raise the fed funds rate by 50 points in May followed by 75points in June followed by another 75 points in July. The current rate is 0.5% so the 3 hikes will result in a rate of 2.5%!! Probably one of the key reasons why USD/RM went up to nearly 4.4 recently. In the light of this scenario what will happen to our FD rates?
fabu8238
post May 2 2022, 05:17 PM

208 posts

Do you know when interest is paid on 2 and 3 year FDs?
fabu8238
post May 4 2022, 07:11 PM

208 posts

Some banks purposely depress short term tenors thinking this strategy will force savers to place longer term rates. 3 years paying rates of 2.75 to 2.8 are frankly not attractive enough. At the moment I am holding on to cash and waiting for BNM's response nest week. Inflation is the biggest reason for hike covid or no covid
fabu8238
post May 5 2022, 05:28 PM

208 posts

UOB FD promotion:

Islamic 6m 2.1%pa 12m 2.45%pa
Conventional 6m 2%pa 12m 2.35%pa

fabu8238
post May 6 2022, 06:08 AM

208 posts

UOB research expects Asean central banks to start lifting off only nearer to the second half of 2022, compared to global peers who have already begun tightening rates.

In a note on Thursday (Feb 24), the team said the Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) and Philippines' central bank Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) will impose their first hikes around the end of Q2 2022, at 25 basis points (bps) each.

This will be followed by a 25 bps rate hike from the Bank of Thailand (BOT) in the third quarter, and a series of hikes by the Bank Indonesia (BI), anticipated to be the most hawkish of the 4 with an expected cumulative increase of 100 bps in H2 2022, in UOB's view.
fabu8238
post May 13 2022, 04:44 PM

208 posts

UOB FD promotion:

Islamic 6m 2.25%pa 12m 2.60%pa
Conventional 6m 2.15%pa 12m 2.5%pa
Stingy bank at least PBB and MBB passed on full OPR increase in thier FD board rates
fabu8238
post May 24 2022, 02:52 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 23 2022, 01:43 PM)
Checked HL Connect, they have changed their FD and TIAi rate. But small amount compared to the 0.25% change in OPR.

FD 3m 2.15%, 6m 2.25%, 12m 2.45%

TIAi 3m 2.30%, 6m 2.4%, 12m 2.65%

Have to drop HL for now.
My 3 mth TIA of 2.35% with HLB was placed in Feb'22 when OPR was 1.75%. Now when OPR is 2% HLB offer TIA at 2.3%. I agree with the above comments have to drop HLB now!
fabu8238
post May 30 2022, 11:45 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(kevinkit99 @ May 30 2022, 11:22 AM)
HI Sifu, Newbie on FD here.
Sorry for the question, hope that someone could help.
Normally how do you perform the On the counter FD placement, i mean from Bank A (the fund currently resides in) to bank B ( to place OTC FD)?
what i meant is the method of transfering the fund...
If you do not have a savings/current a/c with the bank you are intending to open the FD with, the normal method of funds transfer is with either your own cheque or banker's cheque. These you present at the counter to open the FD
fabu8238
post Jun 2 2022, 12:31 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(nkhong @ Jun 2 2022, 10:49 AM)
Not available when I try to put 6 months, I tried yesterday and today. Only 2.25 for 6 months, any idea?
It says exclusive on your first efd placement
fabu8238
post Jun 3 2022, 04:02 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jun 3 2022, 03:25 PM)
HLB TIA rate increase:
HLB TIA - 3 months 2.30%
HLB TIA - 6 months 2.40%
HLB TIA - 12 months 2.80%

Misleading info only the 1 year increase the 3 and 6 months are unchanged
fabu8238
post Jun 15 2022, 09:45 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 15 2022, 05:07 PM)
Haha, no such luck. No SMS from HL.

In fact last few weeks has been moving out HL TIAi to FD in Affin and AmBank. HL TIAi rate did not appear to be attractive to me after recent hike in OPR.

If US hike 0.75%, wonder Malaysia side's reaction ??
Malaysia need not follow as inflation here is lower due to fuel subsidy. They may buy time and watch developments in Ukraine as west seems keen to end the war
fabu8238
post Jun 17 2022, 09:25 PM

208 posts

Too stupid to be true. I don't believe it

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0734sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:25 PM