Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Nom-el
post Jan 7 2017, 03:40 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(FDInvestor @ Jan 6 2017, 02:41 PM)
Where did you get the latest info about PBB FD promo ? I have checked their website but no relevant information can be found.
It is actually an islamic FD. Link below: -

https://www.publicislamicbank.com.my/pdf/Te...1oct-30nov.aspx
Nom-el
post Jan 20 2017, 11:28 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Jan 19 2017, 11:39 PM)
As on 10 January 2017, Ambank newest promo was 9 months at 4% but for big minimum 500k a placement until further notice. Islamic FD.
The minimum for the Ambank promo is 5k only.
Nom-el
post Apr 5 2017, 10:29 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 4 2017, 12:42 PM)
My CIMB RM confirmed that only Islamic 12 mth 4.15% gives monthly interest. The 4.2% conventional one, no monthly interest.  biggrin.gif

Ah, if know it earlier would not have put into HL 9 mths 4.15% today.  cry.gif

Anyway please note it is for CIMB Preferred customer.  biggrin.gif
The Islamic FD with monthly interest is also eligible for the 4.2% special rate.
Nom-el
post Apr 5 2017, 12:08 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 5 2017, 10:35 AM)
CIMB RM told me yesterday the Islamic one is 4.15% but with monthly interest. You have placed the Islamic one at 4.2% with monthly interest ?
I did not personally place the FD but according to the T&C on the website, both Islamic FDs (monthly interest & interest on maturity) are eligible for the 4.2% special rate for Preferred account holders. Maybe you ask your RM to check with HQ or you can confirm with another branch.

Link here

Nom-el
post Apr 19 2017, 06:28 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(TheMinimalist @ Apr 18 2017, 07:19 PM)
any bank offers reasonably good rate for 3-months FD?
CIMB is offering 3.8% p.a. for 3-months FD for minimum 10k. It is not an official promotion, so need to ask from the counter. Might differ from branch to branch. Can get higher rate if the amount is big or if you are a Preferred customer subject to management approval. Can get upfront interest if opt for the Islamic FD (FRIA-i Why Wait).
Nom-el
post May 8 2017, 12:57 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(Darren @ May 6 2017, 08:45 AM)
same happen to me
they say must open a saving account with rm250 n charged rm15 n gst for annual fee
kinda pisss me off but when i think have to queue again if go other branch/come another day,i give in.....lolx....
anyway the interest can help cover abit....better than normal rate bank....
QUOTE(Darren @ May 6 2017, 04:35 PM)
i go to cimb jinjang branch on friday....
they say is a must to open a saving account with annual fee rm15+GST
i say i no need debit card and jz a basic saving account for the interest
they say cannot...
so no choice jz accept lo......
QUOTE(Darren @ May 8 2017, 08:57 AM)
will they refund the money to me?i doubt so....
u think what will they do? warning? next time when wan withdraw,sure kena kaokao lo.....
I don't think they will refund the money to you either since you already agreed to open the normal savings account. If I were you, I would not have opened that account. I understand you did not want to go through all the hassle of queuing up again by going to another branch or coming again another day. The best they can do now is allow you to open another account, the basic savings account with no annual fee. Then, you would have two savings account to manage. I am not sure if they would allow you to close your existing account without penalty. Normally, if you close your account within the first 3 or 6 months, there would be a penalty. But since you were cheated by the staff, I don't know how that applies to you. I doubt you will want to go through all the hassle.

If the staff dares to make it difficult for you after making a complain, get the staff's name and make another complain. I understand that many people would not like to go through that kind of hassle but keeping quiet will only make their attitude worse. Sometimes, just getting the staff's name can do wonders. From "Apa pun tak boleh" suddenly become "Apa pun boleh". biggrin.gif
Nom-el
post May 8 2017, 04:39 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 8 2017, 01:37 PM)
I had the same experience but with SCB. I lodged a complaint to BNM and demanded compensation from the bank for opportunity loss and time wasted. i got them. The bank sent their staffs to my office to hand over the compensated amount.
notworthy.gif Salute you for taking the trouble to complain to BNM. Glad to hear that you got the compensation. rclxms.gif If I remember correctly, the issue was with FD right? I think I read about it before in this forum but I do not remember the details. Btw, how do you quantify the compensation for opportunity loss and time wasted? Did you demand for a specific amount or the amount was determined by BNM or SCB?
Nom-el
post May 10 2017, 10:32 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 10 2017, 01:50 AM)
No sure Cimb staff gave you wrong info or you got the right info wrong.
The RM15.90 is the debit card annual fee, applicable to both BSA without annual fee and BSA with RM8.48 annual fee.
There are two types of fees. Basic Savings account RM8.48 annual fee and Debit card RM15.90 annual fee.
You open BSA without fee but you still have to pay debit card RM15.90 annual fee.
Cimb doesn't provide free debit card to all casa eventhough you opted for BSA without fee.
The only way to get truly free BSA from Cimb is to open BSA without fee account and ask the staff to disable the debit card feature, the debit card can only be used as ATM card though.
Did the staff tell you this? I think you have been misinformed.

QUOTE(lamode @ May 10 2017, 10:14 AM)
the debit card tagged to BSA (either type) will not be charged the annual fee, that is what I was told and so far I haven't been charged anything on the debit card.
perhaps other can confirm?
I can confirm there is no annual fee for the debit card for CIMB BSA (without annual fee). I have not been charged a single sen for that, it's been a few years already. I have also heard Ambank staff telling customer that they need to pay for the passbook for BSA (without annual fee) even though the ATM card is free. That is bullshit again, everything is free (passbook & ATM card) as there is no annual fee whatsoever for that account.

Nom-el
post May 15 2017, 06:22 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2017, 11:03 AM)
UOB IBFT only max 30k per day. Online ibg max 50k per day. But NOT sure if can do both IBFT 30k per day and ibg 50k on the same day. May still be max 50k per day online xfer. hmm.gif

Anyway I did max 30k IBFT then did 10+k of ibg on the same day. Did not breach the 50k limit.  tongue.gif
Bones, 5% dream still on ?  hmm.gif
250k AUM. Anyway the 4.2% may be over next week. Call CIMB branch to confirm.
The limit for IBG & IBFT is separate for UOB. Meaning can transfer max 80k per day online.

This post has been edited by Nom-el: May 15 2017, 06:23 PM
Nom-el
post May 16 2017, 04:46 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ May 15 2017, 11:40 PM)
After Affin lowering from 100k minimum for 24 months at 4.25 % p.a. with interest payment every six months, but still not good enough to beat Bank Islam promo 5k minimum for 18 months at 4.25 % p.a.

Suggest you try to ask for 4.3 % p.a for 70 k for 2 years.

Some banks have strange strategy for large minimum sums to try to get unhwi to be tied up longer. Not an attractive idea as too inflexible and affect cash flow which should be distributed fairly evenly. Makes one wonder if these bankers ever think or understand some FD depositors criteria (not those unhwi who got too much money supply to be over bothered). Instead of not getting interest while collecting the big minimum requirement, some ordinary people would reasonably have placed the smaller amounts at banks that are competitive but with lower minimum requirement.
Do you have online banking with Bank Islam? I am just wondering if Bank Islam have E-FD. Can the FD placed OTC be withdrawn online? Anyone else knows? Thanks.
Nom-el
post May 26 2017, 02:36 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(ProxMatoR @ May 26 2017, 12:26 PM)
May I know where you get to know the MBB 4.1% e-FD?

referring to your 1st Q, usually it depends on which bank, and is it e-FD or conventional FD. based on my experience, if uplift conventional FD OTC, you can use the cash IMMD.

TMK, GIA is not really FD, but is some other investment thing.

AFAIK, banks are now promoting a lot on islamic. and banks always tell there is not much diff, in terms of FD. oh well..... still, like what Deal Hunter post #2144, he mentioned that
"...Islamic products and regulations, institution status and conditions at time of placement and changes to conditions later may affect legal rights in any future dispute/case. This is one of the reasons why people fear to use Islamic products as they fear they will get the worse of any dispute as banks usually have fine print to get away with changing rates etc...."

1 of the major concern people dare not to go for it is this.
Actually, there is no real reason to be concerned about Islamic deposits. Most of the fear simply stem from people's lack of knowledge / understanding on it. The difference lies mainly in the concept used. Islamic FDs are as safe as conventional ones. Islamic banks cannot simply change the rates for Islamic FDs once you placed the FD. Some Islamic FDs might have higher interest rate & extra features like monthly profit or upfront profit.

Islamic investment like GIA on the other hand is different in the sense the profit & capital is not guaranteed. The rate is usually higher but it is indicative only. Islamic deposit account & Islamic investment account are completely different although they are both offered by Islamic banks.

Nom-el
post May 28 2017, 04:11 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ May 27 2017, 10:53 PM)
After so many years, most people already understand what you wrote and quite understand and accept that bank can lose or lower profit under Islamic.
thus affecting profit and even the question of capital. After all, want to gain more must be willing to risk more. What is so problematic or difficult to understand or accept about that even if end up risk sharing with a not so well performing or dubiously managed bank?

The major fear actually is not the risk regardless with or without PIDM or any other arrangement, or profit rates but about the "etc" - that is, changing the rules of the game.

"This is one of the reasons why people fear to use Islamic products as they fear they will get the worse of any dispute as banks usually have fine print to get away with changing rates etc. ---THIS "ETC" COVERS A LOT OF HISTORY -- hope not repeated but plenty of scope to do other new stunts

This had happened before and will happen again as everybody knows for an unarguable and proven fact that Islamic Banking is a work in progress and the authorities and religious people are still playing around with various ways.

The latest version of this kind of thing is Maybank latest Islamic changes. Actually I had been affected in their previous change of the game so I am not bothered with propaganda or claims as I know what is the score and operational risk very well. I still use Maybank Islamic products, but will have to adjust again like previously - troublesome. History repeats when do not get the point about what people/previous victims/customers  really understand better.  rclxub.gif
I admit Islamic banking goes through more changes as it is relatively new compared to conventional banking. However, none of the changes affect the rates & rights of existing Islamic FD placements until maturity or the next renewal date. I am talking about Islamic deposit accounts here. Islamic investment account is a different ball game though. What "ETC" are you talking about here? Please give an example of how have you been negatively affected in the past by these changes?

Speaking about the latest changes to Maybank Islamic, they only apply to Islamic investment accounts, NOT Islamic deposit accounts. All Islamic FD and CASA are not affected at all. Only GIA-i & the other Mudarabah accounts are affected.

Nom-el
post Jun 17 2017, 03:31 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(akping_1 @ Jun 15 2017, 11:15 AM)
May i know for CIMB 4.1% 12months unfixed deposit offer, i need to go back the same branch to uplift or i can perform at any branch?
Any branch also can.
Nom-el
post Jul 10 2017, 10:50 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Jul 7 2017, 11:37 PM)
Just reading the TnE of the "special" promotion to be eligible for the 7% if doing the incremental deposit to CASA account.

It seems to be based on the (total sum of balance from 7-13th )/7  -  closing balance on the 6th.

So need to maintain the additional 1000 for at least the period to qualify for the 7%. If didn't add today then you have to add more tomorrow... the longer you wait the more you need to top-up. Is this true???
Yes.

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Jul 8 2017, 12:18 PM)
I'm not exactly sure but i think they calculate like this:
Max deposit amount = RM 70k.
7% PA interest (0.07/365 = daily interest rate) * 7 days promotion period * 70,000 = rm93.97.

So this is the additional amount of interest that you will get JUST for the balance in CASA. 

I believe I confused myself between this and to qualify for the 4.3% FD promotion. But maybe some sifu master can help to explain?
QUOTE(kisa @ Jul 8 2017, 01:40 PM)
I'm confused as well.  rclxub.gif what the heck do they want? lol I can't just deposit in for FD to account for the RM1k in CASA?
To qualify for the 4.3% FD promotion, just need to deposit min. 1k to CASA to qualify. No need to keep for 7 days. However in order to enjoy the additional 7% p.a. bonus interest for CASA part, should keep it until 13th if you place on the 7th (total 7 days). If you place after 7th, not recommended to keep the 1k in CASA as the incremental deposit will be less than 1k as it would be less than 7 days. Less than 1k is not eligible for the additional interest. If want to enjoy the additional bonus interest on CASA, should deposit more so the incremental deposit is at least 1k to a maximum of 70k. Depositing for 1 day also entitled to the bonus interest if the amount is big, for e.g. deposit 70k on 13th & withdraw the next day will get: -

Incremental deposit = 7,000 / 7 = 1,000
Interest = 1,000 * 0.07 * 7 / 365 = 1.34

Nom-el
post Jul 13 2017, 03:57 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Jul 11 2017, 09:47 AM)
Hi all, went to OCBC yesterday to check on the 5% FD rate, apparently only half of investment will enjoy this FD date. the other half is partial investment + premier save.

This premier save is interesting, its a saving account with 3.6% interest, would like to check with u guys, any other bank that provide similar "savings account"?

thx
Do note that 3.6% is the promo rate. After the promo ends, it would be back to 3.1% board rate. What do you mean by "savings account"? Premier accounts or accounts with high interest rate? For accounts with high interest rate, can consider:-

1) OCBC 360 Account / Account-i
2) HLB Pay & Save Account / Account-i

but need to fulfill certain conditions to get the higher rate.

QUOTE(kakashin @ Jul 12 2017, 11:12 PM)
Haha, ya that was my understanding also, which is why I wanted to confirm sweat.gif
Did you just open the FD account, meaning you do not have any OTC FD before? If that is the case, you might need to enable the viewing from HL Connect.
The steps are: -

1) Go to Settings
2) Click on 'Customise My Accounts'
3) Tick on your FD account to 'Allow for Online Viewing'.

Hope this helps.
Nom-el
post Jul 19 2017, 06:32 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jul 18 2017, 02:53 PM)
Although it is eFD (online placement), one still have to redeem original cert from preference PBB branch. I believe withdrawal must be done at designated branch as well.
This is not true. eFD can be placed & uplifted completely online. No need to visit the branch at all.
Nom-el
post Jul 20 2017, 06:56 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jul 20 2017, 10:13 AM)
public bank efd can place online but not uplift online. that was few yeara last time. unless changed.
no br promo.
that is not promo. br board rate for 5 yrs.
That is no longer true since 1 or 2 years ago. There is currently 2 options, eFD & online FD placement (old option). eFD can be placed & uplifted fully online. For online FD placement option, need to go to branch to collect cert & uplift on maturity.
Nom-el
post Aug 12 2017, 05:06 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 11 2017, 04:37 PM)
Your calculation is absolutely correct but provided if Affin Gold pays flat 2.15% p.a.

Please do not forget the 1st RM 4,999.99 will earn 0.85%; then the next remaining fund from RM 5000 to 99,999.00 will
earn 2.15%
[attachmentid=9037629]

For example, let's say if put RM 12K to Affin Gold, 1st RM 4,999.99 will earn 0.85%, then the remaining RM 7000.01 will earn 2.15%

Now use your calculation: Total RM 120,000.00 FD fund:
(1) RM 10,800.00 (90% ratio) at 4.58% for 1 year FD = RM 4946.40 interest p.a. x 2 years = RM 9892.80

(2) RM 12,000.00 (10% ratio) in Affin Gold:
(a) RM 5k at 0.85% = RM 42.50 interest p.a. x 2 years = RM85
(b) RM 7K at 2.15% = 150.50 interest p.a. x 2 years = RM 301

Total interest earned per year (omit compound interest):
RM 4946.40 + 42.50 + 150.50 = RM 5139.40 p.a. / RM 120,000.00 = 4.282833% effective rate p.a.

Is my calculation correct or not?  sad.gif
You are correct. Affin uses split-tier rate to calculate the interest for most of its CASA like Public Bank and HLB Pay&Save-i, not the total end day balance which makes calculation more complicated. So, the actual effective interest will always be lower. The only exception is AFFIN BARAKAH CHARITY ACCOUNT-i with 2.2% p.a. flat interest. It is an islamic account though, so not sure if it can be combined with the promo or not. Some banks allow the crediting of interest into islamic savings account while some don't.

Do note that Affin Bank keeps reducing the interest rate for its CASA. They revised it a few times already this year alone.
Nom-el
post Aug 14 2017, 12:43 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 14 2017, 10:21 AM)
Sorry to jump in here with a non FD question.

What accounts can I use for some spare money which I don't need till early next month?

FD cannot as it will be less than a month.

Checked MB MDA-i, but it is for monthly.

Some options to consider: -

1) OCBC SmartSavers Account
2) OCBC 360 Account / Account-i
3) HLB Pay & Save Account
3) Bank Islam's Wafiyah Investment Account

QUOTE(newbiz2008 @ Aug 14 2017, 10:29 AM)
ocbc 365 account with up to 4.1% per annum (daily interest) for the first 100k with following t/c
1. deposit at least rm500
2. pay three minimum amount of RM 50 (bill, ocbc credit card  )
3. spend at least rm500 with any ocbc cc

0.5 +(1.2+1.2+1.2) = 4.1%
Are you referring to OCBC 360 Account? If yes, for the bill payment category, OCBC credit card is no longer counted. There is no minimum amount of RM50 for bill payment either. IBG / IBFT to other bank are also included as bill payment.

QUOTE(chintmy @ Aug 14 2017, 12:17 PM)
guys, any FD that can provide daily interest if withdraw before maturity?  Last time Maybank GIA does but it seems not anymore
GIA is NOT FD. If you are looking for something similar to Maybank's GIA, can consider Bank Islam's Wafiyah Investment Account. However, I heard it is only available over the counter at the bank's branches.
Nom-el
post Aug 14 2017, 02:50 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(newbiz2008 @ Aug 14 2017, 12:49 PM)
From which source you get this info?
Just call OCBC call center, only GIRO to other bank consider as 1 bill payment and the payment to ocbc credit card still consider as bill payment
The T&Cs here does not mention about the ocbc credit card bill payment being eligible for the bonus interest for bill payment

https://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...1115_ACC360.pdf

However, the info on the website mentions that the credit card bill payment is included. So, I am not sure which is the latest info. Have you tried it out yourself? Do share the outcome. As for inter-bank fund transfers, I know both IBG & IBFT are also counted as I have done it before.

For those looking for an alternative to MBB GIA-i, can consider this promotion: -

CIMB Islamic Term Investment Account-i Promotion
For Preferred Customers Only
6 months - 4.2% p.a
Min. 10k
7 August – 31 October 2017

http://www.cimbislamic.com.my/content/cimb...-account-i.html

Do note that this is NOT FD, as principal & interest are not guaranteed.

0.7442sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:03 AM