567 posts

What’s the best FD rate these days?

Friend suggested OCBC 360 2.45%
Chiggah
post Aug 26 2023, 07:35 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Aug 24 2023, 04:00 PM)
Almost everyday received SMS/email/notification about scam from all my banks...kanasai...spam kaw me kaw kaw.
MBSB. Its best in town right now. Minimum like 5k or 10k only. It is a CASA bundle with effective rates of 4.3%.
Is MBSB Prime Casa safe ?

Where would you guys suggest to put rm500k ?

Split to multiple FD for PIDM coverage ?

This post has been edited by Chiggah: Aug 26 2023, 07:36 PM
Chiggah
post Sep 14 2023, 08:58 AM

567 posts

QUOTE(woowoo1 @ Sep 14 2023, 08:23 AM)
Yes this is the effective rate 4.3% for 12 months, this is based on my calculation. I thought promo until 31 Dec but looks like they cut short to 31 September 2023
Is this better than Ambank ?

What’s the maximum to put in mbsb ? Better put 250k so covered by pidm ?
Chiggah
post Sep 15 2023, 11:42 AM

567 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Sep 15 2023, 11:37 AM)
Quota almost full? Ayo, was thinking of topping up a bit more. maybe too late liao.   nod.gif 

I have had a truesaver account for a while. I just use it as a transactional account, so meeting the various requirements for bonus interest isn't a hassle. Yup, need to deposit 3k monthly to earn additional 1.15% on top of the basic 0.75%. Then if retail spend or pay at least 3 bills totaling at least 1k for both together, get an extra 0.6%. Grand total interest of 2.5% as you mentioned earlier. thumbsup.gif
I saw this too. What is the best way to achieve the 0.6% ? Can topup ewallet tng ? But no cashback right ?

Minimum 3 transactions (1) via AmOnline/AmBank Debit Card/Credit Card/-i/DuitNow QR Payment to Merchants (2)
or
Perform monthly repayments/payments (with any amount) of home loan/financing from TRUE SA/TRUE SA-i to AmBank/AmBank Islamic home loan/financing account

(1) Applicable to bill payments/Retail Transactions/e-Wallet top-up only.
(2 Minimum accumulated spend of RM1,000 monthly.

This post has been edited by Chiggah: Sep 15 2023, 11:43 AM
Chiggah
post Sep 22 2023, 02:22 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Sep 22 2023, 09:42 AM)
CIMB got good promo but the website FD placement is disabled until end of month....woooot....

https://www.cimb.com.my/en/personal/promoti...fd-efria-i.html
What was the deal ?
Chiggah
post Sep 22 2023, 02:22 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Sep 22 2023, 09:42 AM)
CIMB got good promo but the website FD placement is disabled until end of month....woooot....

https://www.cimb.com.my/en/personal/promoti...fd-efria-i.html
What was the deal ?
Chiggah
post Sep 23 2023, 09:08 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Sep 23 2023, 08:40 PM)
They do. but for this combo promo CASA thingy, the locked balance will be day+1 then only they transfer. The fd part and interest they credit on maturity date. Btw, still 4.3%? I am going on Monday.
Until 30th September for MBSB
Chiggah
post Sep 23 2023, 10:51 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Sep 23 2023, 10:06 PM)
Mbsb 4.3% 12m now?

I going there Monday...
Yup quite satisfied with their HQ at PJ Sentral
Chiggah
post Sep 25 2023, 12:51 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Sep 25 2023, 11:51 AM)
Did you ask about the debit card fee at the branch?
I opted out for the debit card since I won’t be using. Did you take it ?

Any idea if you can make online transfers in/out without debit card ?

This post has been edited by Chiggah: Sep 25 2023, 12:52 PM
Chiggah
post Sep 25 2023, 08:32 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Sep 25 2023, 06:06 PM)
I opened an Affin Bank savings account some years ago for FD interest crediting. At that time I opted not to have a debit card, and the Branch did some maintenance so that I could enjoy internet banking. I had the full 50k transaction limit, with approval code sent via SMS TAC, until recently, when they migrated fully to app-based secure approval, for transactions of 1.5k and higher. Affin requires a debit card to set-up the app approval. I am now unable to approve single transactions of 1.5k and higher. It's possible to do multiple transactions of below 1.5k totaling up to 50k but obviously, that is a real pain if the amount is large. doh.gif

The above exception applies to existing customers. I think they will "force" all new account holders to have a debit card, otherwise no access to internet banking.
Just tested without Debit Card.

Can transfer into MBSB, but can't transfer out. Got this error "Process Denied"

Debit card is a scam. Quite annoying banks forcing onto consumers.

This post has been edited by Chiggah: Sep 25 2023, 08:33 PM
Chiggah
post Sep 26 2023, 11:53 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Sep 26 2023, 10:40 PM)
They say cannot withdraw the saving 25% ratio until fd matured. You withdraw yours?
If not CASA, then is OK. Mine is just FD only and withdrew balance to 0 also lol
Chiggah
post Sep 26 2023, 11:54 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Sep 26 2023, 08:50 PM)
Wow. I was informed that need to maintain RM20 minimum balance in True Savers account. Not True  laugh.gif
I was informed the same too. Banks are real scummy
Chiggah
post Nov 18 2023, 11:33 AM

567 posts

Best deal still AmBank ya?

Mbsb no more 4.2 already ?
Chiggah
post Feb 24 2024, 11:55 AM

567 posts

Bank Islam still got 4.15% for 6 months ?
Chiggah
post Apr 5 2024, 04:14 PM

567 posts

Mbsb shared this to me today

4% 12 months

This post has been edited by Chiggah: Apr 5 2024, 04:14 PM
Chiggah
post Aug 25 2024, 04:53 PM

567 posts

Is Bank Islam 4% FD covered by PIDM ?
Chiggah
post Jul 16 2025, 11:55 AM

567 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Jul 15 2025, 05:49 PM)
MBSB

Rates for TDi and TIA for 16th july to 31st july as below:

*TDi*
3 months 3.55%
6 months 3.65%
9 months 3.83%
12 months 3.80%

*TIA-i*
3 months 3.72%
6 months 3.75%
9 months 3.97%
12 months 3.95%
What’s the difference between tdi and tia?
Chiggah
post Sep 12 2025, 08:45 AM

567 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Sep 11 2025, 08:14 PM)
Hmm no one go for HSBC 4.28% TD?
What’s the caveat? Need to join Premier or?

0.0767sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:53 AM