Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 24 2023, 02:37 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Jul 24 2023, 01:58 PM)
Went to ask AmBank Bangsar branch about the promo.

Highly secretive, would only let me glance at the printed promo (supposedly "internal"). Also did not give details of how to earn 4.3% effective rate, except to say will need to deposit around 500k to get this rate. This requirement is just too high for me .
Fuiyo ..RM500k for 4.3% only...if straight forward , not so bad, really hate all the pusing pusing CASA game.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Jul 24 2023, 02:37 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 25 2023, 06:05 PM

3,860 posts

CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 26 2023, 10:30 AM

3,860 posts

Just done a transfer to eFD in HLB from Maybank..No issue

CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 27 2023, 11:02 AM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jul 27 2023, 10:38 AM)
Guys...just FYI to you all...i tried to transfer money out from bank A to bank B and then back to bank A...to qualify as 'fresh' fund for FD placement...

looks like now bank is implementing additional steps to protect scam victim because they will block the transaction and you need to contact the bank or in bank A case, they will call you quite fast to ask if you really do the transaction, did anyone pressure you to transfer money etc.

on one hand, i feel this is a good initiative to prevent online scam...but now it will make those who want to transfer large sum amount a bit hassle... but i think it is better also to prevent scam...
Bank A and B is which Bank?
CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 27 2023, 11:06 AM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jul 27 2023, 10:27 AM)
MBSB Bank latest TDi campaign start from 27/7/2023 until further notice with the effective rate as follows:

*6mth:4.00%*
*12mth: 4.30%*

Minimum amount: RM10,000.00

FD/CaSa bundle to be allocated on 25:75 basis
QUOTE(BWassup @ Jul 27 2023, 10:33 AM)
Bro, are these the effective rates after bundling, or just the FD rates alone? TQ
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 27 2023, 10:36 AM)
Don't like this bundle crap thingy...

Better have straight to the point rate... No bundle keep $$$ in CASA thingy...
Doesn't sounds like Effective rates with the "*" there.
CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 28 2023, 07:00 AM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jul 27 2023, 05:35 PM)
Today is my RHB eFD maturity date 27/7/2023. I can only withdraw tomorrow? I remember other bank I can withdraw on the maturity date.
QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jul 27 2023, 06:33 PM)
can just click next? Receive warning before proceed.
Based on my experience with RHB...I also kena con thought can only lift next day. You can lift the same day, no problem. They just want to confuse you and hope to make 1 more day from your money without paying you interests.
CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 28 2023, 07:02 AM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jul 27 2023, 07:42 PM)
It shows RM0 accrued interest in the approval screen also, I think to do withdrawal tomorrow safer.
Accrued 0 is correct. Means your previous interest already matured. If got amount, then you will lose the money. Ex, you can try check one day before mature and you can see almost full amount of the interest which you will lose (minus 1 day). Today, when you uplift you will see some amount there. Means you already rugi 1 day interest to RHB....Really Horrible Bank!

QUOTE(helloguyssss123 @ Jul 27 2023, 07:43 PM)
Yes, they doing right. I explained to them i transfer to my own account but another bank, but they like not believe. LOL.
Last time I kena asked before, I think it was not too long after I created new account with the bank. Ask why I transfer...I said your FD so low, you want me to put here ah??? Then diam already....lol

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Jul 28 2023, 07:11 AM
CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 28 2023, 12:41 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(qse6236 @ Jul 28 2023, 08:29 AM)
Different banks use different banking terms. Upliftment, Redeem, Withdraw, Permature, etc..
Layman term should be used across the banks.
Agreed. BNM has failed here. Should make it standard term and pratice and condition. No suka suka create new term, then apply dodgy description to confuse customers.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Jul 28 2023, 12:41 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 29 2023, 06:39 AM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jul 28 2023, 04:11 PM)
dun think so. our inflations rate seems under control. unless our currency shows more sign of weaknesses
Erection now. No way increase OPR. After erection, maybe.
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 1 2023, 02:55 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 1 2023, 11:32 AM)
OCBC rate, not attractive

*OCBC Premier Banking*
*FD Promo for AUGUST 2023*
—————————————————

*For Existing Fund without Fresh Funds*
*Minimum RM 50,000*

OR

*Fresh funds with minimum of RM 1,000*

*6m @ 3.6% p.a. *
*12m @ 3.7% p.a.*
So many better options. LOL.

QUOTE(fartbrat @ Aug 1 2023, 02:33 PM)
doesnt matter shit promo only for priviledged member
Why newbie here acts like they know everything without even reading? This statement is totally wrong.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 1 2023, 11:03 AM)
Looks like latest trend if want high rate is bundle thingy...

No straight FD...

Banks is smart nowadays...

Bank Islam one is the best previously... Too bad already stopped...
After a few months bodoh bodoh, suddenly realized every other banks laughing at them... laugh.gif Oh well, at least we made hay while the sun still shines.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Aug 1 2023, 02:58 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 1 2023, 05:35 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 1 2023, 05:13 PM)
We are here to understand about banks promo, shxt or NOT.  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
Well, just sharing fd promo. There will still be people putting in some deals which to u does not sounds good.
Or are you referrring to the statement not attrative? I actually agreed with you. You also found it not attractive. Nothing wrong posting it.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Aug 1 2023, 05:39 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 2 2023, 01:48 PM

3,860 posts

Maybank very bad service nowadays....like no people serving counter at 1:40pm. People there just doing their own thing. The front end staff filtering also gave customers wrong info....say eFD 5% to an excited Aunty.
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 2 2023, 04:23 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 2 2023, 03:55 PM)
Yes. it's the next best rate...

Bank Rakyat 4.22%

what happen with BoC? slow in FD placements? many rules imposed?
care to share with us?  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah, I am also thinking BOC since macam not bad. Also thought maybe got ChinaDoll CS...lol. This morning I have closed my Bank Mualamat account. Never coming back to that bank regardless how high the FD.
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 2 2023, 04:33 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Aug 2 2023, 04:25 PM)
y
Their system is unreliable and shows redundant duplicate FDs in my account after the recent migration. If this kind of things can happen, I don't feel safe my money with them. The new app is a also a piece of shit and doesn't even work with biometrics. And the sohai bank keep spamming nonsense about SMS TAC scam like a few times everyday until I make a complain.

The IT people should be sacked for this kind of failed migration. I absolutely lost trust with them. (Haven't mention their lousy service OTC yet....need 4 people to have meeting how to make an FD with their system for me last year).
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 3 2023, 06:41 AM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Aug 3 2023, 05:55 AM)
which is why I try to stay away from all these sloth banks, BSN/BI/Muamalat/BR

didnt even place in BI during their 4.5% high. Knowing that 2 account holders have to be present for subsequent FD placement potong steam terus... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
For me, BI ain't so bad, since I am only single holder. Have to come for OTC deposits anyway, so no issue for me.

BR I have never bother due to branches mostly in KL. Affin Bank sucks though. I rate it second worse after Mualamat.
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 4 2023, 08:24 AM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 3 2023, 04:42 PM)
supposedly YES

use the BIMB's VAO (virtual account opening) https://vao.bankislam.com.my/vpnew/
in my case, it failed on final deposit thru FPX. still need to visit branch to complete the registration, get the debit card (no charge), setup pin at ATM, deposit min RM20.00 to the new SA (via CDM)

previously shared my experience here (in spoiler below the post)
Same for MBSB, last last have to go also. Just reduce the time there for data entry only.
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 4 2023, 03:12 PM

3,860 posts

Aiya, if want 4% efd, just place with Ambank for 10 mths. I also don't want to risk with Maybank. 2 weeks ago no choice because got no Ambank option.
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 6 2023, 07:28 AM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(Berkshire Breakaway @ Aug 6 2023, 05:56 AM)
but it says 15K max
how much did you place in this special after transferring?

so much trouble for RM350 after 7 months? not even enough for happy hour.
Bro....that's 15millions. I have placed over 15k no issues.

Damn people here so rich... sweat.gif
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 6 2023, 05:21 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 6 2023, 01:12 PM)
Can i check for mbsb, they will need for the cheque to clear right?

And normally how long it takes to open account there? I am thinking if I should drive 45 mins to go mbsb open new account. Bank Rakyat also need the cheque to clear...
Quite fast 1hr or so. But depends on how many customers lah.
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 6 2023, 11:10 PM

3,860 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 6 2023, 08:56 PM)
Wow that's great news. Thanks to all. Just quick update, AMbank says will request to HQ to give same 4.3% based on bundle. But I think I will just go open MBSB if the above is correct.
As someone mentioned, Ambank bundle has tiered calculation which is not straightfoward. I would just go for MBSB. Will be going there this week and probably next as well.

38 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0585sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:12 PM