Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

BWassup
post Jan 4 2024, 05:58 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(New2LYN @ Jan 4 2024, 05:43 PM)
I noticed that the bank paid the bonus interest in full month even though the placement was not on the 1st. Only the based interest they go by number of days. For your case:

1.75% of 100k, 30 days - 119.86/25*30 = 143.84
AmBank gives top FD rates and extra interest. Very generous thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by BWassup: Jan 4 2024, 06:09 PM
BWassup
post Jan 15 2024, 10:56 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 15 2024, 09:25 AM)
until 31 December 2003?
BWassup
post Jan 15 2024, 11:06 AM

836 posts

Starting today. But looks same as the recent promo. FD bundle. Effective rate 6 months 4.00%. 12 months 4.40%.

https://www.mbsbbank.com/promotions/chinese...-combo-campaign
BWassup
post Jan 15 2024, 12:53 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 15 2024, 12:15 PM)
outdated image biggrin.gif

Need to place same amount in OCBC 360 as well? How does that work
BWassup
post Jan 22 2024, 09:47 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 22 2024, 06:21 PM)
Welcome to the highest FD  rate now . thumbsup.gif

365 or 366 we cant do much
but  maturity date we can do something.

i got my  money ready  on 10.1.24 to place FD  but ended put it only on 11.1.24, maturity 11.1.25 Saturday
lost 2 days interest RM150+......MBSB does not pay back  interest  when maturity falls on Sat or Sun or PH...
I had a MBSB FD maturing on Saturday last November. On the maturity date, MBSB system extended the FD another 2 days to Monday, and paid an additional 2 days interest.

Other posters also said the same thing for their FD maturing on weekends or PH.
BWassup
post Jan 23 2024, 11:17 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 23 2024, 10:16 PM)
i told the girl how come maturity  date is Saturday, she said  system like that, she couldnt change to 13.1.2025

this  FD no autorenew, on 11.1.25 would be auto credited into Saving account, money stuck till Monday only i can remove.
perhaps sat and sun can  IBFT out but only 60k ranting.gif

so far no one kena like mine?
The FD I mentioned that matured last November on a Saturday was also No Auto-Renew. When I made the placement originally, had been informed that special rate FD done OTC are not auto-renewed on maturity date.

I was thinking to do partial online withdrawals on the Saturday maturity date, plus Sunday and Monday. However, the FD had been extended by the system to the next Monday, and proceeds were credited on that day, with additional profit for 2 days. Went to the bank on Monday, withdrew one shot via RENTAS.

Did the girl say that the principal and profit will be credited to your account on 11.1.25?

BWassup
post Jan 24 2024, 10:22 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 24 2024, 08:49 AM)
Hmm...but last year many people here including myself got FD renewed at the previous promo rate. Is it only weekend the system doesn't auto renew? Or was that a one off bug which is now fixed. hmm.gif
Yeah, think it's bad programming, odd to get the same rate from a promotion already ended long time ago? Renew at old promo rate not available any more now sad.gif

This post has been edited by BWassup: Jan 24 2024, 10:25 AM
BWassup
post Jan 24 2024, 04:56 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jan 24 2024, 03:22 PM)
cannot trasnfer using online banking?
Can, but 100k cannot do one day. Need 3 days +. Funds transferred to another bank for FD promo.

This post has been edited by BWassup: Jan 24 2024, 05:01 PM
BWassup
post Jan 24 2024, 07:41 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(blackjoker @ Jan 24 2024, 06:39 PM)
PBB can transfer up to 100k
Nice. Do they have big CNY promo this year?
BWassup
post Jan 24 2024, 11:25 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 24 2024, 10:14 PM)
hope is like your case then good..

yes she said at maturity  autocredit into SA becos no  renewal.
And there is the problem lah.

i emailed HQ complained why give me Sat maturity, should auto adjust to Monday........
but dont know  apa apa they jawab in  email.. you see.
renewal at promo rate is really ODD especially during that time promo no longer available.
when money is in MBSB,
you have RM100k limit in PBB no use also.
another  bank with  100k is BI.
Yaloh, their reply is ambiguous. They do not specifically say the proceeds will be credited to your account on the Saturday maturity date.

Since your FD is special rate done OTC, not e-FD, from all the previous OTC FDs I have done, MBSB requires us to present the FD receipt at the Branch on maturity date, and give renewal instructions - either renew or withdraw.

(Anyone have different view or experience, correct me if I am wrong about the procedures on maturity).

Whatever the customer instruction, to be fair, since we can't present the FD receipt on a Saturday, the FD should be extended by the system until the next working day.

Better just call the Branch Manager or OIC to find out exactly what is gonna happen on maturity date. That girl may not be that knowledgeable. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by BWassup: Jan 24 2024, 11:27 PM
BWassup
post Jan 25 2024, 10:01 AM

836 posts

I received my bonus interest for Decemebr on 24th Jan as well.

However the rate is only 1.15% instead of the expected 1.15% (deposit) + 0.6% (spend). shocking.gif

I rechecked my spending, it exceeded RM1,000 in December. However this includes some retail spending via Bonuslink, inked to my debit card and debited to Truesavers account at the time of transaction.

I'm wondering if spending via Bonuslink is not included in the Spend total.

Anyone know if Bonuslink is accepted or not under Spend category?

BWassup
post Jan 26 2024, 09:52 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 26 2024, 01:29 AM)
i hope is like you guys said, come 13.1.25,  system will wake up. ask the boss also same  no use.
i no qualified for  Oct Nov Dec. but Amb goodwill manually credited the bonus.
Didnt know debit card activation card was a requirement hmm.gif

AmBank is quite decent. Good for you.

I am going to my branch today, ask them to check on my "missing" 0.6% bonus interest for December.

This post has been edited by BWassup: Jan 26 2024, 10:15 AM
BWassup
post Jan 31 2024, 05:04 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Jan 31 2024, 01:57 PM)
It's ending 2.2.24
One more day only. So short notice to terminate the promo shocking.gif
BWassup
post Jan 31 2024, 07:58 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 31 2024, 06:39 PM)
MBSB FD promo effective 4.4% for 12 months, last day is this Friday, 2 Feb 2024.
Because target has achieved.

My MBSB 12 months FD will mature and fall into Saturday (FD cert printed maturity date 21 Dec 2024).
MBSB counter clerk said MBSB would pay 2 days interest for Saturday and Sunday, but I doubt MBSB will pay. bangwall.gif

What I am going to do is to transfer mature FD fund to MBSB Cash Rich saving account to earn 1.85% for Saturday and Sunday.
Don't worry bro. If you do that you will lose FD interest less 1.85%, for 2 days.

Forummers (including myself) have confirmed that we have received 2 extra days interest, with the FD being extended by MBSB system on those weekend days.

Actually, I could not even withdraw the FD on the Saturday, as it was already extended to Monday laugh.gif

Trust MBSB, imo they are an ethical bank where FD is concerned (all banks are I hope!), they are not out to "cheat" us, for something unavoiodable.

This post has been edited by BWassup: Jan 31 2024, 07:59 PM
BWassup
post Feb 1 2024, 04:28 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 1 2024, 04:03 PM)
[attachmentid=11490368]

So, you mean only to withdraw FD on 23 of December (Monday)? Even FD cert is printed maturity date 21 Dec 2024 (Sarurday)?

Usually MBSB will forward to next Monday working day. Why this time MBSB does not forward to next Monday?  hmm.gif
Yes, tomorrow is last chance.  thumbsup.gif
I think their system is not canggih enough to adjust the maturity date to the next working day when the FD is created. It is probably fixed at calendar dates i.e 12 months maturity means same date 12 months later, regardless of what day it is.

Idk what kind of patch they have done to extend the maturity date upon maturity date only. You won't see the extended date now as yours still has 11 months to run.

Anyway, you can try to withdraw on the original maturity date but, if follow my case, and what others said, on that day, the FD already extended to Monday, cannot withdraw anyway. Then withdraw on 23 December 2024, with extra FD interest. Think the counter staff was trying to explain to you the same thing?

BWassup
post Feb 5 2024, 06:31 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(ruudygh @ Feb 5 2024, 05:06 PM)
What is personal RM?

The rhb pretty lady banker told me to apply for premier because i will get many priviledge/benefits.
The requirement is easy, i just have to maintain my savings/FD at least rm100k. And pay rm100 premier fee every year.
No need to be a big boss or manager.

And i have never gained any benefits after 3 years since i became premier customers
The annual fee of RM100 is hefty! shocking.gif It is exactly equal to 100k x the extra 0.1% for 12 month FD.

Is it worth it? hmm.gif
BWassup
post Feb 13 2024, 04:37 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(Ichitech @ Feb 13 2024, 02:46 PM)
Any other bank offer rate > 4?
Just asked BR.. no offer, board rate 3.45 PA

Goodies from BIMB.. hehe
abit late laugh.gif
BWassup
post Feb 13 2024, 04:49 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(Ichitech @ Feb 13 2024, 04:46 PM)
expired on 2nd day of CNY.. nak buat macam mana bro..  sweat.gif

Anyways, these are today observation
BIMB TDTi = 4.15% 6M (OTC ONLY)
CIMB eFDi = 3.65% 3M (FPX)
CIMB eFDi = 3.80% 7M (FPX)
CIMB eFD / eFDi = 3.65% 6M (CIMB CASA)
CIMB eFD / eFDi = 3.70% 12M (CIMB CASA)
HLBB eFD / eFDi = 3.75% 6M (FPX)
HLBB eFD / eFDi = 3.7% 12M (FPX)
BR = 3.45% 12M - NORMAL RATE

anyone can please top up.. TQTQ
BIMB still doesn't require us to open savings account, and they accept bankers cheque for same day value right? I did that for last year's 12 month FD promo. They said can withdraw Principal + Profit on maturity date without going through a savings account.

This post has been edited by BWassup: Feb 13 2024, 04:50 PM
BWassup
post Feb 14 2024, 06:52 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(LMC80 @ Feb 14 2024, 04:23 PM)
I did the same last year, without open saving account. Not sure whether the latest promotion apply same condition?
Hope so. Will be making a placement next week.
BWassup
post Feb 14 2024, 06:56 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(lowkelvin @ Feb 14 2024, 12:09 PM)

24 months FD from Hong Leong, but it's only 3.48%
I think this is for those who tired moving and keep chasing promotion rate
I also got the text. Perplexed as to how this is considered a "special" rate. Apart from the (very slim) chance to win a dragon plaque. Which anyway I doubt can be sold if you win it, but don't want to keep it laugh.gif

23 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0661sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:00 PM