Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

cybpsych
post Dec 24 2022, 09:51 AM

---------------------
65,310 posts

QUOTE(dragonspirit @ Dec 24 2022, 07:47 AM)
Just made another e-IFD placement this morning. No issues like previous FPX campaign. Instantly reflected. Profit amount also shown. smile.gif
previous issue was due to FPX

this promo no need FPX, just draw fund from SA

p/s: made another placement for PiB 18mth @ 4.50% pa. FPX draw fund from RHB. annoying initially as the limit must be set/changed from NEW rhb portal (because RHB FPX already routed to new rhb portal). bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Dec 24 2022, 09:53 AM
SUSKopistall
post Dec 25 2022, 07:00 AM

I'm discussing not spamming, so stop reporting my postings
350 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Dec 24 2022, 07:57 AM)
Go to affin if u r invikta

If not mistaken they r giving 4.25 for 12mths
Affin very good. But to be Invikta need rm200k right ?

ManutdGiggs
post Dec 25 2022, 10:30 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(Kopistall @ Dec 25 2022, 07:00 AM)
Affin very good. But to be Invikta need rm200k right ?
Yup
vanguard_15
post Dec 26 2022, 09:49 AM

51 posts

I'm currently looking at the Ambank 4.5% for 18 months, but next month, I hear the OPR will go up again, so, is putting it in right now still worth it?
cybpsych
post Dec 26 2022, 10:00 AM

---------------------
65,310 posts

QUOTE(vanguard_15 @ Dec 26 2022, 09:49 AM)
I'm currently looking at the Ambank 4.5% for 18 months, but next month, I hear the OPR will go up again, so, is putting it in right now still worth it?
the same ol question smile.gif

1) what if next month no increase? then you wasted x days profit

2) what if increment not significant? can it cover your x days of waiting from now until new promo rate is out? be mindful opr increase date != promo available date (eg ambank) too

imo, if you have fund now, just lock it down now lor. or put short term fd/versa/kdi until good news come out next opr increment (if any) next month.

if ur fund unlocked next month, just wait a bit.
Mr Gray
post Dec 26 2022, 11:15 AM

926 posts

QUOTE(vanguard_15 @ Dec 26 2022, 09:49 AM)
In rising interest rate environment, it's advisable to go on the shorter end of the FD, ie 1 month or 3 month. Therefore you will benefit from rising interest rate further down the road.

Inflation rate in Malaysia is still too high at 4% in November. Fed rate is already 4.5%. Market is expecting rate in US to peak around 5% in 2024.

Malaysia latest OPR is 2.75%.

It's a foregone conclusion that there will be further rate hike in Malaysia in 2024. BNM need to tame inflation and shrink the gap with US Fed rate.
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 26 2022, 12:50 PM

3,862 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 26 2022, 10:00 AM)
the same ol question smile.gif

1) what if next month no increase? then you wasted x days profit

2) what if increment not significant? can it cover your x days of waiting from now until new promo rate is out? be mindful opr increase date != promo available date (eg ambank) too

imo, if you have fund now, just lock it down now lor. or put short term fd/versa/kdi until good news come out next opr increment (if any) next month.

if ur fund unlocked next month, just wait a bit.
Yep. In the end, not much difference. Short term lose for lower interest rate, If wait, earn back higher rate at later date. BNM has trakc of raising 0.25 everytime. So it's not going to be major jump, especially now US looking at less aggressive interest hike.
PixelPerfect
post Dec 26 2022, 01:57 PM

63 posts

Anyone knows if they (Public bank) allow top up of maturity FD to get the promo rate on the counter? Last time they used to allow top up 3-5k on the counter for the FD upon maturity to renew at the promo rate.
Garysydney
post Dec 26 2022, 02:05 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(PixelPerfect @ Dec 26 2022, 01:57 PM)
Anyone knows if they (Public bank) allow top up of maturity FD to get the promo rate on the counter? Last time they used to allow top up 3-5k on the counter for the FD upon maturity to renew at the promo rate.
Depends on who the manager is in charge.

My wife always renew her term deposits at Mont Kiara and the Indian girl at the branch (we are priority members) always allow my wife to add 1k and treat it as fresh funds. My wife breaks all her term deposits into 50k lots.

I don't know maybe we are regular customers at the branch so we may be treated differently.
zenwell
post Dec 26 2022, 04:24 PM

1,749 posts

Which banks are the ones that you regularly place FD (usually have good promo rates)? I need some suggestion on exploring new banks for FD.

(except for Maybank, CIMB, RHB, Ambank and Bank Rakyat)
MGM
post Dec 26 2022, 04:48 PM

18,419 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Dec 26 2022, 11:15 AM)
In rising interest rate environment, it's advisable to go on the shorter end of the FD, ie 1 month or 3 month. Therefore you will benefit from rising interest rate further down the road.

Inflation rate in Malaysia is still too high at 4% in November. Fed rate is already 4.5%. Market is expecting rate in US to peak around 5% in 2024.

Malaysia latest OPR is 2.75%.

It's a foregone conclusion that there will be further rate hike in Malaysia in 2024. BNM need to tame inflation and shrink the gap with US Fed rate.
U actually meant 2023?
Human Nature
post Dec 26 2022, 04:49 PM

- student of human nature -
26,528 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Dec 26 2022, 04:24 PM)
Which banks are the ones that you regularly place FD (usually have good promo rates)? I need some suggestion on exploring new banks for FD.

Why exclude MBB, Ambank and BR? Those 3 banks are currently having good promo rate for their respective tenures
Mr Gray
post Dec 26 2022, 05:00 PM

926 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 26 2022, 04:48 PM)
U actually meant 2023?
Erkk.. Yeah
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 26 2022, 08:38 PM

3,862 posts

Just go with whatever bank having best rates. Currently Ambank, PBB, Islamic Bank, MBSB has some good offers.

Won't go with Maybank anymore. Useless bank. Won't even tell you the rates until you have confirmed your deposit! Dem scammer.
dudester
post Dec 26 2022, 09:07 PM

1,228 posts

MBB online 10 days offer . 3.9% 6mths . 10k min
RHB OTC 3.8% 6mths, 4.0% 12mths, 10k min
zenwell
post Dec 26 2022, 11:32 PM

1,749 posts

Let me further explains. I'm considering opening bank accounts but at the same time i also want to pick banks that have good promo rates regularly. the exception does not mean i don't think they are good. I just wanted opinion other than those.
adele123
post Dec 26 2022, 11:34 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 24 2022, 09:51 AM)
p/s: made another placement for PiB 18mth @ 4.50% pa. FPX draw fund from RHB. annoying initially as the limit must be set/changed from NEW rhb portal (because RHB FPX already routed to new rhb portal).  bangwall.gif
You can also change limit on the app. App is by default the "new" portal.

Anyway, the rhb online banking is really bad overall. I think i wont be using it if not for the rhb smart account and previously, rhb was doing more fd promo.

The max you can place is 30k from rhb to other bank right? I cant increase the fpx limit pass 30k.

oldkiasu
post Dec 26 2022, 11:38 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Dec 26 2022, 11:32 PM)
Let me further explains. I'm considering opening bank accounts but at the same time i also want to pick banks that have good promo rates regularly. the exception does not mean i don't think they are good. I just wanted opinion other than those.
Bank Rakyat still going 4.05 % for 6 months OTC.
Bank Muamalat now at 2.7 % for 1 month online although bank website did not update previous dropdown info of 2.45 % for 1 month. Can try if exceed the maximum allowed at other places like OCBC 360 at 3.1 %, etc.

This post has been edited by oldkiasu: Dec 26 2022, 11:42 PM
Human Nature
post Dec 27 2022, 12:16 AM

- student of human nature -
26,528 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Dec 26 2022, 11:32 PM)
Affin, Bank Muamalat and occasionally UOB
dudester
post Dec 27 2022, 09:48 AM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 26 2022, 11:34 PM)
You can also change limit on the app. App is by default the "new" portal.

Anyway, the rhb online banking is really bad overall. I think i wont be using it if not for the rhb smart account and previously, rhb was doing more fd promo.

The max you can place is 30k from rhb to other bank right? I cant increase the fpx limit pass 30k.
I faced this with RHB now.
RHB FPX limit is 30k max. (MBB is 50K)
Duit Now (to Bank Account) is 50K, so if you have MBB, move it there to transit.

1672 Pages « < 1232 1233 1234 1235 1236 > » Top

0.0361sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:06 PM