oldkiasu
post Jul 3 2022, 12:30 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jul 3 2022, 12:30 AM)
interesting comments in FB regarding HL TIA- Promotion

Only a bank with silly untrustworthy management would throw away the trust of TIA investors by giving less or investing in unsafe arrangements or lose money due to financial or technical problems.
SatayRojak21
post Jul 3 2022, 08:01 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(oldkiasu @ Jul 2 2022, 01:37 PM)
Hong Leong TIA-i promo (islamic investment, no PIDM) at HLConnect.

3m 2.55%
6m 2.65%
12m 3.10%

minimum initial TIA-i at RM 500 (whatever that means).

Placement is not by FPX, but by debit on-line with HLConnect internet banking from existing SA balance.

Principal can be selected to be auto-creditted into the SA on maturity.
have been placing in this product for years. So far interest paid as stated
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 4 2022, 01:55 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(oldkiasu @ Jul 3 2022, 12:30 PM)
Only a bank with silly untrustworthy management would throw away the trust of TIA investors by giving less or investing in unsafe arrangements or lose money due to financial or technical problems.
Well. If they fail to pay. Then you have to worry about your fixed deposits as well.
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 4 2022, 01:56 AM

1,354 posts

Which are the banks that pay in monthly interest besides Bank Rakyat?
bcombat
post Jul 4 2022, 10:34 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 4 2022, 01:56 AM)
Which are the banks that pay in monthly interest besides Bank Rakyat?
UOB. Yes they credit interest into our saving/ current. But they don’t allow premature withdrawal. Otherwise, the interest already paid earlier will be deducted out from the withdrawal amount.
PeopleOfPerlis
post Jul 4 2022, 10:42 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jul 4 2022, 10:34 AM)
UOB. Yes they credit interest into our saving/ current. But they don’t allow premature withdrawal. Otherwise, the interest already paid earlier will be deducted out from the withdrawal amount.
is it only UOB sri petaling or any uob branch? because i read previous post, got offer from UOB sri petaling. not so sure about other branches
bcombat
post Jul 4 2022, 10:47 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(PeopleOfPerlis @ Jul 4 2022, 10:42 AM)
is it only UOB sri petaling or any uob branch? because i read previous post, got offer from UOB sri petaling. not so sure about other branches
I think account condition should be the same for all branch, The interest could be slightly higher for Sri petaling branch when they newly open (but now already one month +??)

Anyway, Give them a call to confirm.
cybpsych
post Jul 4 2022, 11:01 AM

---------------------
65,288 posts

Moody’s: BNM to lift policy rate in July

BANK Negara Malaysia (BNM) will lift its policy rate by 25 basis points (bps) to 2.25% at its July meeting, according to Moody’s Analytics.
jhleo1
post Jul 4 2022, 11:14 AM

4,381 posts

I'm new to HLB. Placed FD & TIA at the same time but yet matured. Want to confirm if interest as per stated given upon mature, therefore return on TIA shall be better than FD right since interest higher on TIA?

QUOTE(SatayRojak21 @ Jul 3 2022, 08:01 PM)
have been placing in this product for years. So far interest paid as stated
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 4 2022, 11:53 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 4 2022, 11:01 AM)
Moody’s: BNM to lift policy rate in July

BANK Negara Malaysia (BNM) will lift its policy rate by 25 basis points (bps) to 2.25% at its July meeting, according to Moody’s Analytics.
On one hand they say inflation is controlled and on one hand they say lift policy rate.

Hmmm.
bcombat
post Jul 4 2022, 12:01 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 4 2022, 01:55 AM)
Well. If they fail to pay. Then you have to worry about your fixed deposits as well.
For those who want 100% certainty then should opt for HL FD instead of investment term acc. On legal terms, HL has the right to pay less than 3.2 % and there is no avenue for the investor to complain later. For FD, if rate is 3% then they must pay 3% and not 2.99% etc.

just 2 cents….
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 4 2022, 12:37 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jul 4 2022, 12:01 PM)
For those who want 100% certainty then should opt for HL FD instead of investment term acc. On legal terms, HL has the right to pay less than 3.2 % and there is no avenue for the investor to complain later. For FD, if rate is 3% then they must pay 3% and not 2.99% etc.

just 2 cents….
I will take this "risk".

I think the worst case scenario is they will not pay you the interest if something really drastic happens.

That is the purpose of this account. To account for the worst case scenario. But likelihood is almost zero. I can take the risk of getting lesser interest.

Actually it's good management on the bank part to take care of that.

If it goes to the stage that you will get a haircut that means the situation of Malaysia itself is in a dire state.

Also, I think the fact that they dun have to pay for the pidm insurance means they can actually give higher interest to you.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Jul 4 2022, 12:39 PM
Afterburner1.0
post Jul 4 2022, 01:34 PM

771 posts

after 5 or 6 July, do u all think we will start to see banks offering above 3% FD rates for 12 mths placement?

Perakpower
post Jul 4 2022, 01:46 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jul 4 2022, 01:34 PM)
after 5 or 6 July, do u all think we will start to see banks offering above 3% FD rates for 12 mths placement?
Yes, will do.

But I still hope for the 0.5% surprise, come on, BNM, don´t be lame. I have Affin FD maturing this week cool2.gif
dannyw
post Jul 4 2022, 03:08 PM

1,286 posts

That's why I feel this year HLB 7/7 Connect Day 3% for 12 months not attractive.
cybpsych
post Jul 4 2022, 03:33 PM

---------------------
65,288 posts

need to wait until the "fat lady" sing

all the speculations about opr by banks/rating agencies, always 50:50 sweat.gif , either OPR increase or stay laugh.gif

what if OPR stays? bank dont need to do anything, most promo FD rates would continue to be sub-3.00% p.a.

also, if OPR increase, banks doesnt react that fast. may be next few days to see new revised promo rate --- but we already missed HLB's 7.7 rate biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
dannyw
post Jul 4 2022, 04:14 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 4 2022, 03:33 PM)
need to wait until the "fat lady" sing

all the speculations about opr by banks/rating agencies, always 50:50  sweat.gif , either OPR increase or stay  laugh.gif
what if OPR stays? bank dont need to do anything, most promo FD rates would continue to be sub-3.00% p.a.

also, if OPR increase, banks doesnt react that fast. may be next few days to see new revised promo rate --- but we already missed HLB's 7.7 rate biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Ya, is 50:50. Just thinking even this round not increase the next should be. Hoping will be higher than this biggrin.gif
Another concern is like you mentioned, bank may not follow the promo as soon. Like this month promo been waiting since May OPR increase.
fabu8238
post Jul 4 2022, 04:54 PM

208 posts

My wish is to see OPR raised this mth bcos not optimistic of seeing rises if another wave of covid strikes in near future
bcombat
post Jul 4 2022, 07:55 PM

998 posts

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mayb...-next-12-months

Maybank IB forecasts 100-basis-point hike in OPR over next 12 months
Perakpower
post Jul 5 2022, 12:18 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 4 2022, 11:53 AM)
On one hand they say inflation is controlled and on one hand they say lift policy rate.

Hmmm.
No, that totally makes sense. Inlfation is controlled, so a small step up is enough. If inflation would be out of control we would talk about a 5.0 % interest hike, not a 0.5.

1671 Pages « < 1072 1073 1074 1075 1076 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:59 AM