bbgoat
post Jun 15 2022, 05:07 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 11 2022, 08:16 PM)
may be yours coming next week......
QUOTE(kochin @ Jun 15 2022, 04:22 PM)
just received an sms saying i am entitled for the gift as well and will be delivered by end of this month.
it did tate that it's for investing in HL TIA-i. hope you have the same sms soon!
Haha, no such luck. No SMS from HL.

In fact last few weeks has been moving out HL TIAi to FD in Affin and AmBank. HL TIAi rate did not appear to be attractive to me after recent hike in OPR.

If US hike 0.75%, wonder Malaysia side's reaction ??
guy3288
post Jun 15 2022, 07:42 PM

5,879 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 15 2022, 05:07 PM)

In fact last few weeks has been moving out HL TIAi to FD in Affin and AmBank. HL TIAi rate did not appear to be attractive to me after recent hike in OPR.

My 2.58% TIA due Aug, will WD also. hopefully Can get to buy bonds if FD rate still low
fabu8238
post Jun 15 2022, 09:45 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 15 2022, 05:07 PM)

Malaysia need not follow as inflation here is lower due to fuel subsidy. They may buy time and watch developments in Ukraine as west seems keen to end the war
Hello030
post Jun 15 2022, 10:38 PM

79 posts

Anyone recently put FD in Affinbank? SP branch system down for 2 days after so-call upgraded system
umboy
post Jun 15 2022, 11:01 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Hello030 @ Jun 15 2022, 10:38 PM)
Anyone recently put FD in Affinbank? SP branch system down for 2 days after so-call upgraded system
Yes
Everything in affin online/always is always slower by 1 day
FD, credit card ……………………
mavistan89
post Jun 16 2022, 12:35 AM

500 posts

US rate hike, Malaysia need to increase too, else ringgit depreciate further.

But rate hike, Malaysian no $$, economy die too
bbgoat
post Jun 16 2022, 08:58 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 15 2022, 07:42 PM)
My 2.58% TIA  due Aug, will WD also. hopefully  Can get to buy bonds if FD rate still low
Hope HL increase 3 to 6 mth TIAi rate, then may consider to put back in some eggs. No recommendations from CIMB RM on any good bonds recently. Just some Klibor stuff.

QUOTE(fabu8238 @ Jun 15 2022, 09:45 PM)
Malaysia need not follow as inflation here is lower due to fuel subsidy. They may buy time and watch developments in Ukraine as west seems keen to end the war
Economists will argue on the need to increase OPR.

QUOTE(Hello030 @ Jun 15 2022, 10:38 PM)
3 weeks or so ago was there placing FD, when the so called new system implemented. Looks like they still have not resolved the issue !!

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Jun 16 2022, 12:35 AM)
US rate hike, Malaysia need to increase too, else ringgit depreciate further.

But rate hike, Malaysian no $$, economy die too
Hoped OPR goes up though some will not be happy !

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 16 2022, 08:59 AM
kampungboy123 P
post Jun 16 2022, 09:34 AM

Probation
20 posts

QUOTE(fabu8238 @ Jun 15 2022, 09:45 PM)
I will be very disappointed if BNM do not increase OPR in the meeting next month. If they don't increase, Ringgit will drop further, by how much, i don't know. But, it will definitely drop. With dropping Ringgit, all imported goods (including imported raw materials and fertilizers), will costs more and therefore inflation will rise. Saying that the current inflation is not high and therefore no need to hike rate is backward looking. You need to expect what the future holds and react to the future, not the past. Or else, inflation will spiral out of control.

Yes, Malaysia does indeed subsidize fuel and cooking oil. But, do u really know how the subsidy work? I don't know about fuel oil. But, I know how the cooking oil works. The gov allocate a certain sum of $$ for subsidy. Not by gross weight like xxx tonnes. It subsidizes in ringgit terms. Meaning with Higher cooking oil prices, gov actually subsidizes correspondingly less amount of cooking oil by weight. That is why you have a shortage of cooking oil in the supermarket. You cannot find much stock right? Always out of stock signs.

For me, I believe all these subsidies schemes are INeffective and breed crony-ism and create opportunity for smuggling of these goods to go OUTSIDE of Malaysia.

There is actually a much smarter and easier way to help the lower income group. Just deposit these $$ into the bank account of these lower income group. If they don't have bank account, just do e-wallet depositing. Most people got handphone. If still don't have these, disperse the $$ through the local post office.

It is just a waste of human resources to do all these so call subsidies that are totally INeffective and breed corruption (knowingly or unknowingly). And then send officials to go into supermarket to check if they violated the rules,.. blah blah blah.

woowoo1
post Jun 16 2022, 09:51 AM

199 posts

Public Islamic is offering 2.80% for 15 months and 2.90% for 18 months tenure
mavistan89
post Jun 16 2022, 04:05 PM

500 posts

I expect a rate hike for coming July meeting, and also sep & Nov. If not, ringgit bye bye
MUM
post Jun 17 2022, 07:16 PM

14,892 posts

Just a note of caution...
If i can happens in S'pore, I think it will bound to happens here too. 😅😅

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/cour...sit-scam-victim

guy3288
post Jun 17 2022, 09:22 PM

5,879 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 17 2022, 07:16 PM)
Just a note of caution...
If i can happens in S'pore, I think it will bound to happens here too. 😅😅

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/cour...sit-scam-victim
i cant believe it!
I doubt anyone in here would ever fall for such scam la..

"Responding to an unsolicited text message, the victim transferred $100,000 to a bank account provided by the man"

Would anyone in here received unsolicited SMS offering high FD rates simply transfer 100k just like that?
ridiculous!! victim deserved it.

Trf 100k to another person's account , unheard of kind of stupidity
fabu8238
post Jun 17 2022, 09:25 PM

208 posts

Too stupid to be true. I don't believe it
MUM
post Jun 17 2022, 09:36 PM

14,892 posts

Don't believe it to be true?
That story was also published in the S'pore police Web too

https://www.police.gov.sg/Media-Room/News/2...ed_deposit_scam

Just like so many scams of almost the same modus operandi that keeps on happenings too. (like loves scams, parcel scams, Macau scams, etc etc).. This fd is kind of new... For no one believes it.
SUSyklooi
post Jun 17 2022, 09:48 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 17 2022, 09:36 PM)
Don't believe it to be true?
That story was also published in the S'pore police Web too

https://www.police.gov.sg/Media-Room/News/2...ed_deposit_scam

Just like so many scams of almost the same modus operandi that keeps on happenings too. (like loves scams, parcel scams, Macau scams, etc etc).. This fd is kind of new... For no one believes it.
Just abt 3 days ago, I got a WhatsApp voice call claiming to be from tng ewallet, telling me that according to their system, I just used 700 tng ewallet. I told them "yes, it is okay, no problem" then closed the phone eventhough I did not spend 700 ewallet. I told my spouse abt that.
Then today, my spouse received a handphone call number from "insurance company" saying that her insurance claim was successful. My spouse replied "yes, thank you for the process" and hang up the phone eventhough she did not claim any insurance claim.
woowoo1
post Jun 18 2022, 09:20 AM

199 posts

Do you know it is so easy to take over your WhatsApp acct. Set up a 2step identification on WhatsApp if you want to protect it. OTP shoud not be the only identification when you forget password.
Even if you accidentally reveal the otp, the 2step identification would require pin code .you know we keep so much personal data in WhatsApp like photos of if and so on and if your acct is overtaken, dieloh
cybpsych
post Jun 22 2022, 06:30 AM

---------------------
65,312 posts

Please be informed that Public Islamic Bank is launching a new “PIBB 7-Month and 13-Month Term Deposit-i” Campaign starting from 13 June 2022 to 31 August 2022.

Click here for the Campaign’s Terms & Conditions in English.

Afterburner1.0
post Jun 22 2022, 08:46 AM

771 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 22 2022, 06:30 AM)
Please be informed that Public Islamic Bank is launching a new “PIBB 7-Month and 13-Month Term Deposit-i” Campaign starting from 13 June 2022 to 31 August 2022.

Click here for the Campaign’s Terms & Conditions in English.

jokers...didnt they do a survey first b4 doing a promo? with this rate might as well don't do promo lar....
cybpsych
post Jun 22 2022, 09:08 AM

---------------------
65,312 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jun 22 2022, 08:46 AM)
jokers...didnt they do a survey first b4 doing a promo? with this rate might as well don't do promo lar....
let the banks do their promo la, why so angry about it?

many options for you other there mah

some ppl will still continue to stick with public bank, even with lower rates
fabu8238
post Jun 22 2022, 09:31 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 22 2022, 09:08 AM)
let the banks do their promo la, why so angry about it?

many options for you other there mah

some ppl will still continue to stick with public bank, even with lower rates
I wonder who is over-sensitive here

1672 Pages « < 1067 1068 1069 1070 1071 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:33 AM