Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

SUSlowya
post Aug 17 2021, 11:25 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 17 2021, 08:41 AM)
I do not see AM Bank offers the same rate at 2.78%.
Can you show me the info?
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 17 2021, 10:55 AM)
Are you referring to the one tied with CASA?
thanks for pointing out.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=101976363

Ambank CASA 2.88% effective rate shd be lower than BR true 2.78%?
Human Nature
post Aug 17 2021, 11:58 AM

- student of human nature -
26,527 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 17 2021, 11:25 AM)
thanks for pointing out.

Yup, I didnt do the calculation but at a glance, it will be lower.
cybpsych
post Aug 17 2021, 01:26 PM

---------------------
65,309 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 17 2021, 11:25 AM)
thanks for pointing out.

the diagram already stated effective rate between 2.25%-2.52% p.a

the T&C also have few calculation examples
Deal Hunter
post Aug 17 2021, 07:14 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 17 2021, 03:33 AM)
Ambank offer the same rate, any reason to go for BR instead?
Ambank is not offering the same rate but far worse Effective Rates at 80FD:20CASA. BR can also get monthly payment.
rocketm
post Aug 17 2021, 11:23 PM

1,628 posts

Hi all, my Hong Leong bank TIA matured today.

It is 6 months 2.45%, the effective rate is 1.225% (correct me if I am wrong)

I deposited RM5k and received interest of RM59.50. So, my return is 1.19%.

Based on your experience, does the differences between the actual rate and effective rate is acceptable?
cybpsych
post Aug 18 2021, 07:35 AM

---------------------
65,309 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Aug 17 2021, 11:23 PM)

Based on your experience, does the differences between the actual rate and effective rate is acceptable?
try check back the placement receipt. what was the indicative rate stated?

placement = 17 Feb 2021
maturity = 17 Aug 2021
principal amount: RM5,000
indicative rate = 2.45% p.a.
tenure = 6 months
profit received = RM59.50

If i straight calculate like (e)FD, expected profit = RM60.75 (less RM1.25)

If i reverse calculate based on your received-profit, the indicative rate = 2.40% p.a. (less 0.05% p.a.)

----

i've placed 1 time back in Jan 2021 (matured Jul 2021), profit received is less RM0.01 (due to system), but the rate matches with my initiate placement.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Aug 18 2021, 08:20 AM
michaelchang
post Aug 18 2021, 08:34 AM

916 posts

Effective rate is 1,225%??? Why? they kept your $$ for additional 6 months for zero interest?

cclim2011
post Aug 18 2021, 09:46 AM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 18 2021, 07:35 AM)
try check back the placement receipt. what was the indicative rate stated?

placement = 17 Feb 2021
maturity = 17 Aug 2021
principal amount: RM5,000
indicative rate = 2.45% p.a.
tenure = 6 months
profit received = RM59.50
If i straight calculate like (e)FD, expected profit = RM60.75 (less RM1.25)

If i reverse calculate based on your received-profit, the indicative rate = 2.40% p.a. (less 0.05% p.a.)
----

i've placed 1 time back in Jan 2021 (matured Jul 2021), profit received is less RM0.01 (due to system), but the rate matches with my initiate placement.
this one looked reduced. probably hongleong reduced the rate. 😕
SUSlowya
post Aug 18 2021, 09:57 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 16 2021, 06:05 PM)
Is Bank Rakyat's 18 months FD promo at 2.78% still available?
I am thinking to place this 2.78% FD tomorrow..
https://www.bankrakyat.com.my/d/campaigns/c...0Conditions.pdf

A. Campaign Eligibility
1. This Campaign is only open to the following individual with Malaysian citizenship
including Permanent Resident (PR):
a) EXISTING Term Deposit-i depositors (individual, joint and trustee);
b) EXISTING customers who hold or subscribe any products of Bank Rakyat.
do u know if they accept NEW customers too for this 2.78% 18m FD?

Anyone has BR relationship manager contacts to share for such clarifications?

BoomChaCha cybpsych Human Nature Deal Hunter

Did anyone notice this BR's strange clause:

D. General Terms and Conditions
2. Depositors/customers agree to give the exclusive right to the Bank to print and publish
the names and picture
for promotion purposes in newspapers, magazines, the Bank’s
corporate website or any suitable channels defined by the Bank.

3. By participating in this Campaign, Depositors/customers agree to allow the Bank,
subsidiaries, affiliates, licensees, directors, officers, agents, independent contractors
and advertising agencies the promotional use of the customer’s name and personal
details (if required) for the purpose of communication, trade promotion
, overall, in any
and all media now or hereafter planned, without further compensation, unless
prohibited by the law.

8. DISCLAIMER: SUBJECT TO THE EXTENT PERMITTED BY LAW, THE BANK
WILL NOT BE LIABLE TO ANY DEPOSITORS/CUSTOMER FOR ANY DIRECT,
INDIRECT, SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES OR
EXEMPLARY DAMAGES (INCLUDING LOSS OF USE, DATA, BUSINESS OR
PROFITS) ARISING FROM OR RELATING TO YOUR PARTICIPATION IN THIS
CAMPAIGN, WHETHER LIABILITY SHALL ARISE FROM ANY CLAIMS BASED
ON CONTRACT, WARRANTY, TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE), STRICT
LIABILITY OR OTHERWISE, AND WHETHER DEPOSITORS/ CUSTOMERS HAVE
BEEN ADVISED OR POSSIBILITY OF SUCH LOSS OR DAMAGE CAN OCCUR.

9. The Bank shall not be responsible for any eventuality caused by natural disasters,
wars, riots, curfew, fire, flood, drought, storm, epidemic or pandemic, system failures
or any circumstances beyond control of the Bank.
they are selling your data in as revenue for getting their FD promo and not responsible for above stated events, is this even legitimate according to PIDM? vmad.gif and What happen to Data Protection Act?

This post has been edited by lowya: Aug 18 2021, 10:12 AM
cybpsych
post Aug 18 2021, 09:58 AM

---------------------
65,309 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Aug 18 2021, 09:46 AM)
this one looked reduced. probably hongleong reduced the rate. 😕
if not mistaken, it was a short-term cny TIA promo

Human Nature
post Aug 18 2021, 11:43 AM

26,527 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 18 2021, 09:57 AM)
https://www.bankrakyat.com.my/d/campaigns/c...0Conditions.pdf
do u know if they accept NEW customers too for this 2.78% 18m FD?
They have the same clause during the promo last year too. I doubt they bother la.
cclim2011
post Aug 18 2021, 11:44 AM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 18 2021, 09:58 AM)
if not mistaken, it was a short-term cny TIA promo

oh ok. could be giving out the extra later. not sure then. hope not general reduction.
SUSlowya
post Aug 18 2021, 11:49 AM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 18 2021, 11:43 AM)
They have the same clause during the promo last year too. I doubt they bother la.
u mean they accept new customers too for this promo?

hope someone with BR contact can share.

However i'm already hesitant in view of the already pathetic rate plus the funny clauses.
cybpsych
post Aug 18 2021, 11:57 AM

---------------------
65,309 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 18 2021, 11:49 AM)

However i'm already hesitant in view of the already pathetic rate plus the funny clauses.
if you really dig through all the products and services that you use, all would have similar clauses in their T&C or PDPA policies.

not just BR, or banks or fintechs, but any other products & services that you use.'

in short, in order for you to use their products --- or they provide products or render services to you --- they need to use some form of your information in some capacity.

if you dont agree to this at all, just dont use their products or services. they dont have reasons to use your info since you are not their customer to begin with.
Human Nature
post Aug 18 2021, 12:56 PM

26,527 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 18 2021, 11:49 AM)

Interesting, someone posted this last year.
QUOTE(batsashimi @ Jun 16 2020, 12:09 PM)
meh i just called, luckily didn't go straight to the branch, so to get this promo you'll have to be their existing customer for purchasing their "financing product or something", i mean seriously this thread needs to be more transparent cos recent promos just feel like bait
SUSlowya
post Aug 18 2021, 01:21 PM

4,821 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 18 2021, 12:56 PM)
Interesting, someone posted this last year.
some good digging u got there

QUOTE(batsashimi @ Jun 16 2020, 12:09 PM)
meh i just called, luckily didn't go straight to the branch, so to get this promo you'll have to be their existing customer for purchasing their "financing product or something", i mean seriously this thread needs to be more transparent cos recent promos just feel like bait
it's shaddy.

let's see if BoomChaCha manage to get it as a new customer without being tricked into getting their other "financing product or something".
BoomChaCha
post Aug 18 2021, 01:50 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 18 2021, 01:21 PM)
some good digging u got there
it's shaddy.

let's see if BoomChaCha manage to get it as a new customer without being tricked into getting their other "financing product or something".
No, I did not buy any investment product from Bank Rakyat.

I placed 11 months at 2.58% yesterday.

Tomorrow, maybe I will place one more 18 months at 2.78%
Kyan0411
post Aug 18 2021, 04:28 PM

743 posts

For HLB TIA, i always get the full indicative rate. The few placement matured last few days are giving the same profit as per indicative rate.
So I think it might be some small rounding ?

And u cannot annualise the rate like that. It doesnt make sense.

This post has been edited by Kyan0411: Aug 18 2021, 04:30 PM
Deal Hunter
post Aug 18 2021, 07:36 PM

1,064 posts

If I remember correctly, I tried to place for this when this firecracker Chinese New Year TIA-i promo was mentioned. However, I aborted as the placement as the promo was cut short in only a few days and the rate dropped to 2.40 % instead of the advertised 2.45 % for 11 -26 Feb 2021.
I believe by 17 Feb 2021, the HLIB TIA-i p0m6 rate was already down to 2.40 %.
For RM 5,000, you should get exactly 5000 x 181/36500 x 2.4 = RM59.50. You will not get RM 59.51 because HL Bank is one of the banks that uses the Round Down Nearest Sen (rdns) method for rounding, compared to other banks that use Round To Nearest Sen (rtns) method. If you keep proper records and calculation, you can discover how each bank calculates profits/interests.
If somehow you can prove in the receipt that it was 2.45 % at the time of placement, then you can ask the bank to correct it.
You can then get 5000 x 181/36500 x 2.45 = RM 60.74 rdns and not RM 60.75 rtns as profit.

There are 181 IBD from Effective Date 17 Feb 2021 to 17 Aug 2021, and HL uses 365 divisor for all years.

Effective Rate is simply a rough guide and always off (wrong) because it is a simplification that does not take into account the distorting nature of calculating interest based on Interest Bearing Days (IBD). This is one of those instances where the common understanding/calculation is always 100 % wrong all the time because it is just arithmetically impossible.

What you are trying to determine is not called Effective Rate which is a % per annum. It can be termed Actual, Real, Paid, Collected, Return or Yield rate on your principal (depending which math, finance book, or author you read or follow}.

This post has been edited by Deal Hunter: Aug 18 2021, 07:46 PM
mamamia
post Aug 19 2021, 11:14 AM

6,428 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Aug 18 2021, 07:36 PM)
If I remember correctly, I tried to place for this when this firecracker Chinese New Year TIA-i promo was mentioned. However, I aborted as the placement as the promo was cut short in only a few days and the rate dropped to 2.40 % instead of the advertised 2.45 % for 11 -26 Feb 2021.
I believe by 17 Feb 2021, the HLIB TIA-i p0m6 rate was already down to 2.40 %.
For RM 5,000, you should get exactly 5000 x 181/36500 x 2.4 = RM59.50. You will not get RM 59.51 because HL Bank is one of the banks that uses the Round Down Nearest Sen (rdns) method for rounding, compared to other banks that use Round To Nearest Sen (rtns) method. If you keep proper records and calculation, you can discover how each bank calculates profits/interests.
If somehow you can prove in the receipt that it was 2.45 % at the time of placement, then you can ask the bank to correct it.
You can then get 5000 x 181/36500 x 2.45 = RM 60.74 rdns and not RM 60.75 rtns as profit.

There are 181 IBD from Effective Date 17 Feb 2021 to 17 Aug 2021, and HL uses 365 divisor for all years.

Effective Rate is simply a rough guide and always off (wrong) because it is a simplification that does not take into account the distorting nature of calculating interest  based on Interest Bearing Days (IBD). This is one of those instances where the common understanding/calculation is always 100 % wrong all the time because it is just arithmetically impossible.

What you are trying to determine is not called Effective Rate which is a  %  per annum. It can be termed Actual, Real, Paid, Collected, Return or Yield rate on your principal (depending which math, finance book, or author you read or follow}.
i think i have also get "cheated" by the 2.45%, as based on my statement, i still see it shown the rate as 2.45% instead of 2.40%, it seem like my other placement on 25 Feb will only get 2.40% instead of 2.45% if what u mentioned is true..

This post has been edited by mamamia: Aug 19 2021, 11:16 AM

1672 Pages « < 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 > » Top

0.3374sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:46 AM