1672 Pages « < 822 823 824 825 826 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

eujin
post May 22 2020, 01:56 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 22 2020, 01:52 PM)
CIMB always uses special link for its promotional eFD.

Placement link also shared in my earlier post: https://www.cimbclicks.com.my/clicks/#/

GrumpyNooby
post May 22 2020, 01:57 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(eujin @ May 22 2020, 01:56 PM)

Use this link: https://www.cimbclicks.com.my/fdrate
It'll redirect you to the placement link

adele123
post May 22 2020, 01:58 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 22 2020, 10:40 AM)
Usually these plan that comes with insurance benefits will deduct the premium "as payment for insurance portion" right?

But how come this OCBC one shows payout 100% of premium paid?

That sounds really good since got extra insurance benefits.
Those insurance plan which i believe you call with 'payment for insurance portion' is with reference to Investment linked product. Not all insurance products have the same level of transparency. This one is really just telling you, if you pay this, you get this and you must hold for 2 years because high penalty if you withdraw. (I know i'm repeating)

If you read the flyer i shared, if the person die, only get back 101% of money paid. Which is just +1%

For lack of better word, better dont report death claim on this policy.

!@#$%^
post May 22 2020, 01:59 PM

Safe Trader
17,502 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ May 22 2020, 01:58 PM)
Those insurance plan which i believe you call with 'payment for insurance portion' is with reference to Investment linked product. Not all insurance products have the same level of transparency. This one is really just telling you, if you pay this, you get this and you must hold for 2 years because high penalty if you withdraw. (I know i'm repeating)

If you read the flyer i shared, if the person die, only get back 101% of money paid. Which is just +1%

For lack of better word, better dont report death claim on this policy.
then they take back the 3.9% pa ?
Tobyby P
post May 22 2020, 01:59 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 21 2020, 12:01 PM)

Is this the best promo rate so far for FD? compared with other banks...
GrumpyNooby
post May 22 2020, 02:01 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Tobyby @ May 22 2020, 01:59 PM)
Is this the best promo rate so far for FD? compared with other banks...
3m at 3.15% for Alliance Online selected customer
4m at 2.58% for PBe
6m at 2.88% for Affin Online/OTC
10m at 2.70% for OCBC eFD

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 22 2020, 02:02 PM
eujin
post May 22 2020, 02:12 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 22 2020, 01:57 PM)
Use this link: https://www.cimbclicks.com.my/fdrate
It'll redirect you to the placement link

got it. thanks
Tobyby P
post May 22 2020, 02:13 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 22 2020, 02:01 PM)
3m at 3.15% for Alliance Online selected customer
4m at 2.58% for PBe
6m at 2.88% for Affin Online/OTC
10m at 2.70% for OCBC eFD
Thanks for rate sharing.

I'm don't have an Affinbank bank account, can I create one online and then do the eFD placement? All can be done online?

Actually I'm using OCBC 360 Account, treating it like a FD account, but currently the rate drop to 2.75%, so I'm thinking of other options...
GrumpyNooby
post May 22 2020, 02:17 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Tobyby @ May 22 2020, 02:13 PM)
Thanks for rate sharing.

I'm don't have an Affinbank bank account, can I create one online and then do the eFD placement? All can be done online?

Actually I'm using OCBC 360 Account, treating it like a FD account, but currently the rate drop to 2.75%, so I'm thinking of other options...
For Alliance related matters:

QUOTE(??!! @ May 18 2020, 09:38 AM)
I received via email notification.  Can see the code in online acct  inbox
QUOTE(??!! @ May 18 2020, 01:22 PM)
Copy ---'

Here’s an exclusive offer that you can be proud of as an allianceonline mobile user. Earn 3.15% p.a. interest rate when you place a 3 months e-Fixed Deposit (“e-FD”) with a minimum placement of RM5,000. Sign up today!
Here’s how:

Campaign steps
*As the last step allianceonline mobile registration, perform a balance inquiry at any MEPS-enabled ATM within 3 days (only applicable for new allianceonline user).

This preferential interest rate is available for a limited time only so don’t miss out.
Campaign Period: 30 March 2020 to 30 June 2020

Terms and Conditions apply.
QUOTE(??!! @ May 21 2020, 05:46 PM)
3 months 3.15% ..promo for alliance online banking app user.
U need to dl the app. The TnC refers to 'selected customers' who will receive a promo code on the inbox when u log into alliance online. No definition of the bank selection criteria.

The code is for 1 x use only. Tried to place 2nd time...tak holeh
Try and see if you can open this TnC document

https://www.alliancebank.com.my/Alliance/me...MPAIGN-16042020
Place eFd via Alliance online (not the online app)
.there's a dropdown to enter promo code after select 3 month tenure. Then u can see the 3.15 % rate
QUOTE(a.lifehacks @ May 19 2020, 09:47 PM)
Click the link below,

https://www.alliancebank.com.my/banking/per...us-account.aspx

Select “Apply Now”,

Enter your personal details and most importantly,
Choose your “Preferred Branch”,

You’ll get an SMS sent to your mobile no (which you have entered in the online application form).

Print out / screenshot the submission confirmation & the SMS you received.

Walk to your preferred branch, grab a queue number for account opening- For ID verification.
adele123
post May 22 2020, 02:31 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ May 22 2020, 01:59 PM)
then they take back the 3.9% pa ?
the 3.9% once paid, can't take back.

If the person died immediately on the 13th month, the guarantee portion that the person would have gotten the 3.9% (paid at the end of 12th month) + the 1% when the person die + 100% principal.

If the another person died on the 23rd month, the person would still receive the same thing as the person who died in 13th month. If smart, ask spouse to don't report death to GE, then let the money transfer back on the 24th month. get the 3.9% instead + 100% of the principal.

i hope i dont kena marah for bringing up this OCBC-GE product even though it's not an FD product. i continue on with the topic because i think there is benefit to it and unlike other insurance plans, this is 'less insurance' feature and more 'savings' feature. it may your cup of tea, maybe not.

but i do think it's worth discussing because i myself benefited from such a product, from etiqa last year, aside from just the 'cash payments', i did get tax relief. now i pray hard 5 years dont need the money because etiqa's version was 5 years.

ok, before i kena reported. bye biggrin.gif
Tobyby P
post May 22 2020, 03:30 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 22 2020, 02:17 PM)
For Alliance related matters:
I mean Affin Bank, not Alliance.

Alliance i don't think i'm eligible, i'm not their existing customer, i thought that promo is for selected customer and offer by bank through email ?
GrumpyNooby
post May 22 2020, 03:31 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Tobyby @ May 22 2020, 03:30 PM)
I mean Affin Bank, not Alliance.

Alliance i don't think i'm eligible, i'm not their existing customer, i thought that promo is for selected customer and offer by bank through email ?
I don't think you can open account online for Affin Bank.
You need to go to their nearest branch.

They always got this wizard at Affin Online: https://www.affinonline.com/lead_gens?name=esaver
But I think you still need to complete at the branch.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 22 2020, 03:32 PM
chiwawa10
post May 22 2020, 03:46 PM

393 posts

OCBC online FD (no fresh fund required).
Per receipt/transaction,
Min placement - 1k
Max placement - 50k

https://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/ac...ed-deposit.html
batsashimi P
post May 22 2020, 03:48 PM

Probation
25 posts

went to alliance bank this morning, was told i had to bring payslip in order to open an fd account.
never bother visit this bank again
!@#$%^
post May 22 2020, 03:55 PM

Safe Trader
17,502 posts

QUOTE(batsashimi @ May 22 2020, 03:48 PM)
went to alliance bank this morning, was told i had to bring payslip in order to open an fd account.
just email a copy to the officer. not difficult.
LoTek
post May 22 2020, 03:58 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ May 22 2020, 03:55 PM)
+1
GrumpyNooby
post May 22 2020, 04:02 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(batsashimi @ May 22 2020, 03:48 PM)
Under what justification they need such document?
You're not even applying for credit card/loan!
Don't submit to such request.

The only reason that I can think of is that your IC address is not within the area of service of that Alliance branch.
batsashimi P
post May 22 2020, 04:06 PM

Probation
25 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ May 22 2020, 03:55 PM)
never seen anyone here mention that payslip is required for certain bank, but just updating the recent fd rates.
the money can be family fund or freelance earning, i mean credit card i understand but putting fd need payslip is for what reason?
leo_kiatez
post May 22 2020, 04:08 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ May 22 2020, 01:26 AM)
The guarantee on the 3.9% is from GE. And despite what the flyer say about potential bonus after 2 years, probably the amount gonna be zero or very low.

Important note is no early withdrawal, you can lose part of the capital. I'm not sure how ocbc promotes it or sell it. They may have a way to ask you to pay one shot instead of 2 separate years. I am not familiar on mechanism but such plans are not out to con you.

I bought etiqa last year pay 2 years kena tahan for 5 years. The issue for me is... i just have to make sure 5 years i cant touch the money. Else lose 10% of the money during the 1st 2 years. While i'm mildy surprise they (GE/ ocbc) did not withdraw despite the interest rate cut, this one is not a fishy plan. You can always ask them for the product disclosure sheet and sales illustration if you worry. Sales person got commission ba, but very low, 0.2%?
I got the flyer before mco. But i dont have full details. Usual insurance caveat is dont surrender early. Full 2 years required for the money to be there. Better get info from ocbc. The annoying thing is they want you walk in to get more info. This is the usual tactic la. But the plan itself is legit la. Unless you dont trust GE.

Edit: Let me caveat slightly, last year when GE did this, i was told only offer to bank customer, usually priority banking. So i never bothered to find out also i dont have 20k lying around. And i really not GE or OCBC staff just want to let everyone know, not all insurance savings plan is evil. Just need to understand. And yes such plans dont make much money for the insurance company. I share you the promo last year lo. 4.5% but last year when you hear 4.5% maybe not as wow la.
Thanks for your explaination. Previous rate was not attractive, but with the recent OPR change drastically, this becomes a better offer. I wonder will they change the GPR rate 3.9% from time to time upon signing up since it's tighted for 2 year ~ 5 years?
!@#$%^
post May 22 2020, 04:10 PM

Safe Trader
17,502 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 22 2020, 04:02 PM)
Under what justification they need such document?
You're not even applying for credit card/loan!
Don't submit to such request.

The only reason that I can think of is that your IC address is not within the area of service of that Alliance branch.
QUOTE(batsashimi @ May 22 2020, 04:06 PM)
never seen anyone here mention that payslip is required for certain bank, but just updating the recent fd rates.
the money can be family fund or freelance earning, i mean credit card i understand but putting fd need payslip is for what reason?
when i opened my BSA at PBB, the officer asked for my payslip - something like to fulfill KPI as to the purpose of opening bank account etc.

1672 Pages « < 822 823 824 825 826 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:22 PM