> ~My Little House Renovation Project~, Home Sweet Home

TSIce BabY
post Dec 21 2016, 08:07 PM, updated 7y ago

769 posts

Hello, It's been a while since i bought my house. And just got my key 2 months ago and now it started to renovate!
Just want to share some photo of my simple renovation=)

Floor Plan

Basic Unit

Listing:-
1) Extend Front Wall 4ft L shape to make living room look larger (Since the living room are smaller than dining area mad.gif )
2) Hack wall between dry and wet kitchen
3) Built a L shape wall for kitchen
4) Plaster Ceiling for whole house (My 1st floor Master room and Living hall will be covering plaster ceiling about 10ft heights from ground)
5) Relocate some pipe
6) Re-tiles for Master room
7) Concrete table top and full height tiles for kitchen
8) Window Grill
9) Window Tinting (D.I.Y icon_rolleyes.gif )
10) Alarm & CCTV
11) Install a security door for back door
12) Add Wiring point for whole house

This post has been edited by Ice BabY: Dec 21 2016, 08:12 PM
TSIce BabY
post Dec 21 2016, 08:11 PM

769 posts

Building walls =)

bobowyc
post Dec 21 2016, 08:19 PM

You are who you are.
1,888 posts

Lol. Better change your front door to security door also..That door dont look so secure. lolz
TSIce BabY
post Dec 21 2016, 08:30 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Dec 21 2016, 08:19 PM)
Lol. Better change your front door to security door also..That door dont look so secure. lolz
It's 3.8mm door. Will add window grill. If budget allow maybe change a nyatoh door =\
bobowyc
post Dec 21 2016, 10:27 PM

You are who you are.
1,888 posts

QUOTE(Ice BabY @ Dec 21 2016, 08:30 PM)
It's 3.8mm door. Will add window grill. If budget allow maybe change a nyatoh door =\
Oh.. Okay lor then.. Lol. Nyatoh door ah.. Might as well add security door. HAha.. price not that much different. Of course nyatoh will be slightly cheaper i think. lol
maxilife1
post Dec 22 2016, 10:49 AM

536 posts

nice! all the best! biggrin.gif
avrilmae
post Dec 22 2016, 11:34 AM

1,039 posts

Congrats on your house purchase and good luck in your reno!
ar188
post Dec 22 2016, 07:05 PM

9,188 posts

congrats, and thx for sharing.
gugukrez
post Dec 22 2016, 07:09 PM

939 posts

Toilet tiles go for full height.. if can try black tiles.. it will look more classy
TSIce BabY
post Dec 22 2016, 08:00 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Dec 21 2016, 10:27 PM)
Oh.. Okay lor then.. Lol. Nyatoh door ah.. Might as well add security door. HAha.. price not that much different. Of course nyatoh will be slightly cheaper i think. lol
Around RM1500 for 3.5ft x 8ft.. Quite over my budget.. lol..
TSIce BabY
post Dec 22 2016, 08:00 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Dec 22 2016, 10:49 AM)
nice! all the best! biggrin.gif
Thx..
TSIce BabY
post Dec 22 2016, 08:03 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 22 2016, 07:05 PM)
congrats, and thx for sharing.
Thx..

QUOTE(avrilmae @ Dec 22 2016, 11:34 AM)
Congrats on your house purchase and good luck in your reno!
Thx..

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Dec 22 2016, 07:09 PM)
Toilet tiles go for full height.. if can try black tiles.. it will look more classy
Will get something bright color, should i go for matt or gloss for floor and wall? And I'm planning to redo for master room toilet only.. For 2 other small toilets plan to make it full height only..
crysis08
post Dec 22 2016, 11:31 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(Ice BabY @ Dec 21 2016, 08:07 PM)
Hello, It's been a while since i bought my house. And just got my key 2 months ago and now it started to renovate!
Just want to share some photo of my simple renovation=)

Floor Plan

Basic Unit

Listing:- 
1) Extend Front Wall 4ft L shape to make living room look larger (Since the living room are smaller than dining area  mad.gif )
2) Hack wall between dry and wet kitchen
3) Built a L shape wall for kitchen
4) Plaster Ceiling for whole house (My 1st floor Master room and Living hall will be covering plaster ceiling about 10ft heights from ground)
5) Relocate some pipe
6) Re-tiles for Master room
7) Concrete table top and full height tiles for kitchen
8) Window Grill
9) Window Tinting (D.I.Y  icon_rolleyes.gif )
10) Alarm & CCTV
11) Install a security door for back door
12) Add Wiring point for whole house
How much bro for the renovation of Hack wall between dry and wer kitchen?

And also for the living room extension?
TSIce BabY
post Dec 23 2016, 12:55 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(crysis08 @ Dec 22 2016, 11:31 PM)
How much bro for the renovation of Hack wall between dry and wer kitchen?

And also for the living room extension?
Total 10k include hacking wall, build wall and extend front as shown in the pictures. (And also 2ftx6ftx4pcs powder coat windows panel)

This post has been edited by Ice BabY: Dec 28 2016, 03:34 PM
Noregrets
post Dec 23 2016, 06:30 AM

1,124 posts

Enjoy the renovation experience.
Will be stressful but once completed you will get a great sense of accomplishment.

crysis08
post Dec 23 2016, 08:57 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(Ice BabY @ Dec 23 2016, 12:55 AM)
Total 8k include hacking wall, build wall and extend front as shown in the pictures.
Workmanship so far ok or not? I have purchase same unit also like you , now start to thinking about renovation as well.
enriquelee
post Dec 23 2016, 09:41 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,507 posts

QUOTE(Ice BabY @ Dec 22 2016, 08:03 PM)
Will get something bright color, should i go for matt or gloss for floor and wall? And I'm planning to redo for master room toilet only.. For 2 other small toilets plan to make it full height only..
Floor matt is better to avoid slippery.
qwerty223
post Dec 23 2016, 10:06 AM

670 posts

matt does not necessary = friction

But since icebaby is on budget, might want to think twice before retiling the bathroom.

first of course the tiles are very expensive. Bathroom has the floor waterproofed and 1.5 ft up on the wall. Complete retiling for a small 8*5 bathroom easily cost you 3k.

I would suggest you save the budget for a storage type water heater, hack the shower tiles to fit a mixer and a nice shower head, extend the same tiles to the top, then install a water pump at your tank.

Better then spending all budget for pretty tiles then everyday shower with a pitiful instant heater. My 2c.
TSIce BabY
post Dec 23 2016, 11:55 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(crysis08 @ Dec 23 2016, 08:57 AM)
Workmanship so far ok or not? I have purchase same unit also like you , now start to thinking about renovation as well.
Workmanship ok a, Maybe you can come to my unit and have a look? Lol..

QUOTE(Noregrets @ Dec 23 2016, 06:30 AM)
Enjoy the renovation experience.
Will be stressful but once completed you will get a great sense of accomplishment.
Yeah stressful when looking for more quotes. Now senang a bit coz i know which contractor to look for. =)

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Dec 23 2016, 09:41 AM)
Floor matt is better to avoid slippery.
Yes i was thinking that too, but my partner like gloss. o.o

QUOTE(qwerty223 @ Dec 23 2016, 10:06 AM)
matt does not necessary = friction

But since icebaby is on budget, might want to think twice before retiling the bathroom.

first of course the tiles are very expensive. Bathroom has the floor waterproofed and 1.5 ft up on the wall. Complete retiling for a small 8*5 bathroom easily cost you 3k.

I would suggest you save the budget for a storage type water heater, hack the shower tiles to fit a mixer and a nice shower head, extend the same tiles to the top, then install a water pump at your tank.

Better then spending all budget for pretty tiles then everyday shower with a pitiful instant heater. My 2c.
Yes retiling for whole bathroom my contractor charge me 3.5k exclude tiles is it reasonable? But i got 1 contractor charge me RM1.8k only too cheap? Also include 2'x3' concrete top..
Is the storage type expensive for 3 bathroom? I heard it's quite dangerous if there were electric leak is it true?
enriquelee
post Dec 23 2016, 01:15 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,507 posts

QUOTE(Ice BabY @ Dec 23 2016, 11:55 AM)
Yes i was thinking that too, but my partner like gloss. o.o
Can also, then probably you need to put those anti slip plastic mat on top pf your tile.

0.0186sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 04:55 PM