Oct 19 2009, 04:10 PM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 12 2009, 11:08 PM) Certainly! whats so attractive about Canada? Care to promote a little? The way I see it :Plenty of Adv ppl see in Australia. - proximity - "ease" of getting a job - PR - plenty of Malaysians etc etc - Cheaper postgrad fee ($13k CAD vs $25k AUD /year vs 13kGBP/year vs $25k USD) - but OZ PR can study for free - A comp science PhD is virtually free (very few students since industry pay a lot better but lots of grants, scholarships etc) - but again, OZ PR can study for free too - Easier to get PR compared to UK/US - Spouse can work on student visa (compared to US) - Closer to US/Europe - can travel to a lot of interesting places - Less Malaysians - Can import food This post has been edited by Syd G: Oct 19 2009, 04:11 PM |
Oct 19 2009, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 19 2009, 11:04 PM) with OZ PR don't think can study free. I can only talk about my field (Comp Sc) tho. OZ PR can study free, well almost free (not Masters by Cousework tho - MPhil, PhD) due to Research Training Scheme offered by the government. knew ppl with that still paying just at cheaper rate. today U are slowing finding ppl at their late 20s or early 30s with college degree and working experience applying for OZ PR with hope to get domestic rates. so easy to get a PHd there? how many students are admitted each yr? whats the attrition rates? postgrad in OZ (Masters/Postgrad Dip) intake is Huge unlike Canada. Less Malaysians could be a Con to many here. I checked the list of postgrad CompSc students in Waterloo, UBC, UoT - they're often non-Canadians. Programmers are paid (median) approx $60kCAD/year by the industry so students dont really want to go back to school and study postgrad. For those who did, government schemes and grants usually only cover tuition fee and $12-15kCAD in stipends - that has to be earned by research assistantship and teaching assistantship. If you calculate correctly, that's a tad higher than minimum wage in Ontario My first choice is CA, followed by AU and UK. But scholarships/opportunities to be RA/TA will prolly be my main deciding factor. |
Oct 20 2009, 07:54 AM
Ah my bad then. I meant to say assistantship in addition to scholarship. For International Students, some unis offer at least $1k-$2k a year per successful entrant as overseas students bursaries, the rest have to be earned
Well, if you look for UK uni websites, they'll always mention "3 years PhD" whereas North American institutes dont really put any range in their online prospectus. Focused is probably the right word for it Btw, BCS in Waterloo is still under 'Bachelors of Math - Comp Science' and Masters - 'Masters of Math - Comp Science' instead of BSc and MSc. I wonder how the job market is like for people like me. |
Oct 22 2009, 12:26 PM
If job market condition is so bad I wonder if I can migrate to Australia after doing my master degree in Canada
Waterloo -> $16k per year tuition (-International Master's Student Awards on all admissions $5k) + $15k living expenses per year = approx CAD $25k/year. RM81k/year. Opportunities to TA and RA as well if I can tahan sleeping in the lab often Queen, Mac - almost the same. UofQueensland -> $25k per year + $12k living expenses = approx AUD $37k/year. RM112k/year Melb, Monash even more $ for living expenses. Groceries are more expensive in Australia too. There are a lot of jobs that fits me in career builder & monster CA now. But you're right - they're all over the place hence I forsee moving around after graduation if I'd want to settle there. Decisions decisions. |
| Change to: | 0.0235sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:44 PM |