15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Studying in Canada

segamatboy
post Jul 26 2010, 11:41 AM

637 posts

His best bet still going via the Atlantic route and not the Pacific route.
KL to London and take the AC direct flight to Halifax. Leaving KL(MAS) at midnight, arriving at Heathrow in the morning and catch the late morning flight to Halifax, arriving in the afternoon.
KL to HK to Vancouver to Halifax. I am assuming that will be Cathay Pacific flight. That flight arrives at YVR at 1pm and the next flight to Halifax is late at night. The next alternative is to fly to Toronto but one has to spend some 6 hr layover time in HK

Reminds me of my time.

Brace for one crazy journey to Halifax. KL>HK>Vancouver>Halifax or something like that.

feynman
post Jul 26 2010, 12:38 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Jul 26 2010, 11:41 AM)
His best bet still going via the Atlantic route and not the Pacific route.
KL to London and take the AC direct flight to Halifax. Leaving KL(MAS) at midnight, arriving at Heathrow in the morning and catch the late morning flight to Halifax, arriving in the afternoon.
KL to HK to Vancouver to Halifax.  I am assuming that will be Cathay Pacific flight. That flight arrives at YVR at 1pm and the next flight to Halifax is late at night.  The next alternative is to fly to Toronto but one has to spend some 6 hr layover time in HK
Reminds me of my time.

Brace for one crazy journey to Halifax. KL>HK>Vancouver>Halifax or something like that.
The only affordable non-via US choices are AC And CX for the pacific route. Though CX is a little pricey.

Flying over the atlantic is too expensive.

This post has been edited by feynman: Jul 26 2010, 12:38 PM
cain
post Jul 26 2010, 03:16 PM

User is delinquent
676 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Jul 26 2010, 05:29 AM)
Going to Dalhousie???  Did you hear the news regarding the fire that KO the Life Science building and the shutdown of 3 other buildings due to water damage???

Is it typical of them to take this long to process study permits... Dunno. Maybe the officals are busy trying to figure out how to process the anticipate arrival of a boatload of Thambys from Sri Lanka. Estimate time of arrival...eerrr gatecrashing, sometime this week
Yup. I saw the news on FB. Hopefully things'll get more or less settled by the time i get there early Sept.

And btw, i got an email from the embassy this morning asking me to collect my medical forms smile.gif Will go there tmr!

QUOTE(feynman @ Jul 26 2010, 10:21 AM)
Reminds me of my time.

Have you been asked to do the medical checkup? If you have, then you shouldn't worry too much. You will be done by mid-august. Meanwhile, go book your tickets. I am guessing that classes start on the first week of september. Try to get there a week before class starts. You won't want to miss out on the pre-term activities.
Yessh, and the flight ticket costs a bomb too! Cheapest deal i got for now is ~RM4.6k, one-way T_T Don't remember whether its going the Atlantic or Pacific route, but as long as can save some money, the 6hr layover won't be a problem i think.

What sort of pre-term activities might i ask? You went to Dal too?
feynman
post Jul 27 2010, 11:44 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(cain @ Jul 26 2010, 03:16 PM)
Yup. I saw the news on FB. Hopefully things'll get more or less settled by the time i get there early Sept.

And btw, i got an email from the embassy this morning asking me to collect my medical forms smile.gif Will go there tmr!
Yessh, and the flight ticket costs a bomb too! Cheapest deal i got for now is ~RM4.6k, one-way T_T Don't remember whether its going the Atlantic or Pacific route, but as long as can save some money, the 6hr layover won't be a problem i think.

What sort of pre-term activities might i ask? You went to Dal too?
MSL travel has student fares. Flying via US is cheaper than everything else(you must get your visa). About RM5k one year return. The journey will be long, penang/KL>Singapore>tokyo>chicago/washington/detroit>halifax

Frosh, orientation. Even if you don't drink, there are lotsa things to do. Nope. Haven't been to Nova Scotia.
cain
post Jul 27 2010, 03:48 PM

User is delinquent
676 posts

@feynman
Apparently MSL doesn't have any student fares from KL to Halifax. Just dropped by their office this morning and they quoted RM6k one-way doh.gif
feynman
post Jul 27 2010, 07:07 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(cain @ Jul 27 2010, 03:48 PM)
@feynman
Apparently MSL doesn't have any student fares from KL to Halifax. Just dropped by their office this morning and they quoted RM6k one-way  doh.gif
Then you really kantoi.

If you are adventurous and lucky. You can book airasia to london. From there, there are many carriers that fly to halifax. Try expedia or travelocity. To be safe, stay around london for 1-2 nights so that will definitely be able to make the connection.

Icelandair is usually cheaper.

You might be able to save at least RM1k+ by doing so.
cain
post Jul 27 2010, 08:31 PM

User is delinquent
676 posts

Guess it's my own fault for booking at such last minute *sigh* Thanks for the suggestion! Will look into it smile.gif
ratloverice
post Jul 28 2010, 10:52 AM

804 posts

I wonder if my result allows me to transfer to UW >.< I screwed up my calculus test. SIGH!!
Suk
post Jul 28 2010, 08:22 PM

2,330 posts

I got rejected to canada student visa... sad.gif
by saying i will stay in canada after my study period..
now i have to make an appointment with the officer.
feynman
post Jul 28 2010, 08:44 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Jul 28 2010, 08:22 PM)
by saying  i will stay in canada after my study period..
Did they tell you that that was the reason of rejection? Or you guess that it was because of it?

samseiko
post Jul 28 2010, 08:59 PM

60 posts

What if I have advanced diploma, can i continue in UoT??
cain
post Jul 28 2010, 09:47 PM

User is delinquent
676 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Jul 28 2010, 08:22 PM)
by saying  i will stay in canada after my study period..
Oh dear... You told that to the lady at the counter/reception? Cuz i didn't even have to go through interview...

Added on August 11, 2010, 11:23 amWell, it's settled. I'm taking AirAsia to Stansted International, London, stopover for a couple of days, then flying straight to Halifax by Air Canada! Cheapest option available at the time of booking... Can't wait smile.gif

This post has been edited by cain: Aug 11 2010, 11:23 AM
xzjasonzx
post Sep 12 2010, 07:19 PM

234 posts

Hi, I'm currently studying A-Level locally but still unsure which country to go for my university studies. I only know of the Australian and UK universities, eg entry requirement, fees, living cost, etc and I'm new to Canadian education system.

Do Canadian universities have any entrance exam like SAT or I can enroll with my A Level?

Are Bachelor degrees in Canada 3 years like UK or 4 years like Australia (including Honours)?

Compare Canada to Australia (RM100k-130k) and UK (RM90k-110k), is it cheaper to go to Canada to study?

Any education agent in Malaysia that I can consult about studying in Canada?

Thanks very much. Any extra information are welcomed.

p/s: Just curious, why Malaysian tend to go to Australia and UK and not Canada for university studies?

This post has been edited by xzjasonzx: Sep 12 2010, 07:20 PM
segamatboy
post Sep 12 2010, 10:01 PM

637 posts

What did you think of that hurricane that blew into Nova Scotia lat week?? Similar to Malaysia monsoon rain? Did you heard of that swarming incident in Halifax the other day???

QUOTE(cain @ Jul 28 2010, 09:47 PM)
n, stopover for a couple of days, then flying straight to Halifax by Air Canada! Cheapest option available at the time of booking... Can't wait smile.gif

Added on September 12, 2010, 10:27 pm
As far as I know, Canadian universities do not have entrance exam like SAT. Just send in the transcript and proof of English profciency.During my time I took the Michigan test. Yes you can enroll with A level and the university won't ask for English proficiency test. Go to a university website and look up at entrance requirement
Canadian Bachelor degrees are 4 years. 3yrs degree programs were phased out in the late 80s or early 90's. Standardize with US.
Overall it is cheaper in Canada. Tuition fees varies. U of T is the most expensive
Why do Malaysian students go to OZ and UK?? OZ...closer to home. UK...colonial tie. Canada...first impression, a land of snow and ice. The day I landed, the first thing that greeted me was a blizzard(snow storm) and a minus mid 20'sC temperature

QUOTE(xzjasonzx @ Sep 12 2010, 07:19 PM)
Hi, I'm currently studying A-Level locally but still unsure which country to go for my university studies. I only know of the Australian and UK universities, eg entry requirement, fees, living cost, etc and I'm new to Canadian education system.

Do Canadian universities have any entrance exam like SAT or I can enroll with my A Level?

Are Bachelor degrees in Canada 3 years like UK or 4 years like Australia (including Honours)?

Compare Canada to Australia (RM100k-130k) and UK (RM90k-110k), is it cheaper to go to Canada to study?

p/s: Just curious, why Malaysian tend to go to Australia and UK and not Canada for university studies?
This post has been edited by segamatboy: Sep 12 2010, 10:27 PM
xzjasonzx
post Sep 16 2010, 08:54 AM

234 posts

Anyone know which education agent that I can approach if I want consultant? Or do I have to do the registration etc by myself?
baby fox
post Oct 5 2010, 03:50 PM

Do you have to study French in a Canadian University?
feynman
post Oct 5 2010, 05:36 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(baby fox @ Oct 5 2010, 03:50 PM)
Do you have to study French in a Canadian University?
Nope.......not even in Quebec. The exception is if you study in a francophone school, then you have to...duh....You can choose to take french courses and some schools offer rebates for french courses.
patryn33
post Oct 8 2010, 06:18 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(xzjasonzx @ Sep 12 2010, 07:19 PM)

A level U do get some credits transfer if U go USA. FYI Uni such as UMN is at ~ US$15K in tuition, BYU only cost ~US$9K a yr and Berea college ~US$3K.

anyway, back to Canada.. there was CEC malaysia not sure if they still exist. some one told me the office in Singapore close, canada is just too unpopular.
http://www.studycanada.ca/malaysia/index.htm

what is your intended major? FYI unlike UK/OZ Law, Medicine are post grad degree..

RM130k in OZ or AUD$40k+ was that per yr?
Canada would cost ~80k to 110K on avg..

why OZ? near, in the past easy to get job and PR. Canada also getting easier today.
like segamatboy said, everyone impression is its COLD! few ppl from this region enjoy COLD.
on top of that many 2+1 kind of program for OZ.

xzjasonzx
post Oct 8 2010, 08:11 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 8 2010, 06:18 AM)
A level U do get some credits transfer if U go USA. FYI Uni such as UMN is at ~ US$15K in tuition, BYU only cost ~US$9K a yr and Berea college ~US$3K.

anyway, back to Canada.. there was CEC malaysia not sure if they still exist.  some one told me the office in Singapore close, canada is just too unpopular.
http://www.studycanada.ca/malaysia/index.htm

what is your intended major? FYI unlike UK/OZ Law, Medicine are post grad degree..

RM130k in OZ or AUD$40k+ was that per yr?
Canada would cost ~80k to 110K on avg..

why OZ? near, in the past easy to get job and PR. Canada also getting easier today.
like segamatboy said, everyone impression is its COLD! few ppl from this region enjoy COLD.
on top of that many 2+1 kind of program for OZ.
I'm looking into actuarial science or chemistry. I'm looking at Canada universities because I realised that they might be much cheaper than Australia which is now close to RM120-150k. Furthermore, a few Canadian universities have higher world ranking than Australian universities.

Apparently the CEC in KL is closed I think, I tried calling them but the line has been cut.

Looking at the world map, Canadian biggest cities (Vancover, Montreal, Toronto) are at the same latitute as London, I didn't study geography, but are Canadian cities really colder than UK?

About ADP credit transfer, Canadian and US universities do 4 years bachelor program which come after pre-U, why ADP credit transfer in Inti/Taylor/HELP can be done after SPM and only for 4 years (ie 1 year faster than studying a year of pre-U then enter university)?
feynman
post Oct 8 2010, 02:11 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(xzjasonzx @ Oct 8 2010, 08:11 AM)
I'm looking into actuarial science or chemistry. I'm looking at Canada universities because I realised that they might be much cheaper than Australia which is now close to RM120-150k. Furthermore, a few Canadian universities have higher world ranking than Australian universities.

Apparently the CEC in KL is closed I think, I tried calling them but the line has been cut.

Looking at the world map, Canadian biggest cities (Vancover, Montreal, Toronto) are at the same latitute as London, I didn't study geography, but are Canadian cities really colder than UK?

About ADP credit transfer, Canadian and US universities do 4 years bachelor program which come after pre-U, why ADP credit transfer in Inti/Taylor/HELP can be done after SPM and only for 4 years (ie 1 year faster than studying a year of pre-U then enter university)?
CEC is closed.

Of the 3 cities, Vancouver has the best weather. That is because, Vancouver is a coastal city, its climate is moderated by the sea. Montreal and Toronto are way inland. If you remember your form 2 geography, land retains and loses heat faster than the sea. So come summer, it can get really hot......35 or so hotter than malaysia. In winter, the temperature drops more than any temperate country in Europe. The prairies have the most extreme weather, 40 in the peak of summer, -30 or more during the cold months of winter. Julat suhu=70. That is why Toronto has a relatively better climate than Montreal, Lake Ontario is just off Toronto. Also consider, Stockholm and Helsinki, they are further north than those Canadian cities, but the coldest that they get is like -10. Why? Coastal cities.......

15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:53 AM