Selling my first house, What need to be pay

BEANCOUNTER
post Dec 17 2016, 03:03 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(Adrian1981 @ Dec 17 2016, 02:04 PM)
Hi all ,

I'm selling my first property through agent. Can anyone advise what I need to pay?
I bought it 200k, now selling it for 350k. Agent will charge me 2%.

This is what the costs I know I need to pay :

Agent fees: 2% of 350k = 7000
Loan lock in period = 3 years, so no penalty.

Did I miss anything else ?
need to know exactly what type of property you bought......there are other cost too but not as much as agents fee and legal fee.

even you pegging back buyers lawyers, it doesn't mean it will be free.

also need to check if your banks lock in period is from 1st disbursement or full disbursement....
BEANCOUNTER
post Dec 17 2016, 03:04 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Dec 17 2016, 02:57 PM)
If u declare this property as yr first home ..perhaps u could be exempted from paying the tax..but one for life time ...afterall 4 years plus is just a bit short of 5 ...can u wait ? Or u do not mind to pay the tax..

Many countries have this exemption..but best is for u re check with other sources to see whether still applicable here
its not worth it to use life time exemption for tis claim...IMO.
BEANCOUNTER
post Dec 17 2016, 03:15 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Dec 17 2016, 03:09 PM)
just an option only..worst case scenario..

but if u to migrate to outside m'sia, can consider lah
migrate doesn't mean you have to give up Malaysian citizenship.
BEANCOUNTER
post Dec 17 2016, 03:53 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Dec 17 2016, 03:25 PM)
Non resident tax  could apply.....u are treated like non citizen..for income tax purpose..whether u are actual Malaysian or not ..

i.e u need to follow non resident tax schedule ..and not the normal one.
like that you dun need to migrate also can kena non tax resident tax.
BEANCOUNTER
post Dec 17 2016, 04:26 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(David_77 @ Dec 17 2016, 04:01 PM)
It's the physical presence in the country that determines tax residence status, i.e 180 days (or 181 days). So if a person (citizen or foreigner) is physically presence in Malaysia for that number of days, then will be consider tax resident.
section 4a of Income Tax Act. biggrin.gif

BEANCOUNTER
post Dec 17 2016, 04:29 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Dec 17 2016, 04:07 PM)
U can avoid tax mah like Robert Kuok...being staying in tax heaven for longer duration..
haha.......staying in tax haven wouldn't exempt you from taxing on your property held in Malaysia leh....

you can stay on moon but if you sell any property within the tax jurisdiction of Malaysia...still kena lah.
BEANCOUNTER
post Dec 17 2016, 05:47 PM

20,146 posts

You can promote and sell yourself...

Save the 2% agents fee.

0.0164sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:03 AM