4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Honda Civic 1.5TC or 1.8, Which one is the better choice?

Honda Civic 1.5 TC or 1.8s

1.5TC [ 204 ] ** [70.34%]
1.8S [ 86 ] ** [29.66%]
Total Votes: 290
Guests cannot vote 

TSwind409
post Dec 13 2016, 05:20 PM, updated 8y ago

Going to buy a 2016 Honda Civic but struggling on 1.5 or 1.8.
Since Honda first invented turbo charge on their model and there is rumor said that overheating issue or the owner have to change the engine oil frequently.
Thrust
post Dec 13 2016, 05:22 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,690 posts

If you don't fancy power or high tech engine, the 1.8 liter engine will do. This engine is reliable.
TSwind409
post Dec 13 2016, 06:07 PM

QUOTE(Thrust @ Dec 13 2016, 05:22 PM)
If you don't fancy power or high tech engine, the 1.8 liter engine will do. This engine is reliable.
Do you think turbo engine suitable for daily use that would meet heavy traffic condition oftenly?

Drian
post Dec 13 2016, 06:14 PM

4,968 posts

QUOTE(wind409 @ Dec 13 2016, 06:07 PM)
Do you think turbo engine suitable for daily use that would meet heavy traffic condition oftenly?
Why not ?

This post has been edited by Drian: Dec 13 2016, 06:15 PM
TSwind409
post Dec 13 2016, 06:23 PM

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 13 2016, 06:14 PM)
Why not ?
Is it mean the engine also have to change in very short period of time?
jucl
post Dec 13 2016, 06:26 PM

1,375 posts

I was told turbo maintenance is high but if you look at Honda's website it seems like otherwise . Isit bcoz turbo is 1.5 n thus uses less engine oil compare to 1.8?
K3nnYkl82
post Dec 13 2016, 06:27 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(wind409 @ Dec 13 2016, 06:23 PM)
Is it mean the engine also have to change in very short period of time?
Engine oil for turbo car will need to be replace more frequently becoz of the turbo itself. Not the engine. The oil is fed to cool the turbine as well. The turbine runs very hot that degrade the oil.

This post has been edited by K3nnYkl82: Dec 13 2016, 06:29 PM
Drian
post Dec 13 2016, 06:29 PM

4,968 posts

QUOTE(jucl @ Dec 13 2016, 06:26 PM)
I was told turbo maintenance is high but if you look at Honda's website it seems like otherwise . Isit bcoz turbo is 1.5 n thus uses less engine oil compare to 1.8?
I don't see why it is high but the intervals might be shorter depending on driving condition. Is say rm300 ringgit a year extra high maintenance?

This post has been edited by Drian: Dec 13 2016, 06:31 PM
K3nnYkl82
post Dec 13 2016, 06:31 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 13 2016, 06:29 PM)
I don't see why it is high but the intervals might be shorter depending on driving condition. Is say rm300 ringgit a year extra high maintenance?
Malaysian kiasuness ma..
They forgot to factor in.. 1.8L roadtax at 280 per year while 70 per year for 1.5L
jucl
post Dec 13 2016, 06:42 PM

1,375 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 13 2016, 06:29 PM)
Only that small difference? In that case turbo is definitely better. Not only u save more fuel but road tax is cheaper too but i doubt so. I think turbo cost is much more than that.
Btw does civic need to do decarbo as well?

This post has been edited by jucl: Dec 13 2016, 06:42 PM
Drian
post Dec 13 2016, 06:50 PM

4,968 posts

QUOTE(jucl @ Dec 13 2016, 06:42 PM)
Only that small difference? In that case turbo is definitely better. Not only u save more fuel but road tax is cheaper too but i doubt so. I think turbo cost is much more than that.
Btw does civic need to do decarbo as well?
Best to check with the civicX club people.

As far as I know , decarbo is one of those things that is not mandatory but people do it anyway just to play safe. VW club people recommends every 60k.

roocarroll
post Dec 13 2016, 07:15 PM

32 posts

The Paultan review said the 1.8 is more powerful and the 1.5t is tuned for fuel economy.
trimmtrabb
post Dec 13 2016, 07:36 PM

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 13 2016, 06:50 PM)
Best to check with the civicX club people.

As far as I know , decarbo is one of those things that is not mandatory but people do it anyway just to play safe. VW club people recommends every 60k.
normal decarbo service in the market wont clean the carbon deposits on the intake valves

civic's 1.5 turbo is a GDI engine, thus the carbon deposits on the intake valves are inevitable. While 1.8 NA will be much more reliable

This post has been edited by trimmtrabb: Dec 13 2016, 07:36 PM
RalphRatedR
post Dec 13 2016, 08:21 PM

267 posts

If both 1.5T & 1.8 are equally specced I might choose 1.8, probably better for long-term
kyle9
post Dec 13 2016, 08:47 PM

128 posts

1.8 missing leather seat, paddler shifter, rear dim mirror, 17inch wheels and of course the turbo engine

1.5 TCP gain LED, chrome handle and GPS

1.5 turbo maintenance schedules is decoupled means that depend on driving condition, you might need to change the engine oil when the service reminder pops up and go back again for the 10k service. You can opt to do both together if the reminder pops up at 7k or more.
rcracer
post Dec 13 2016, 11:08 PM

?????
3,743 posts

Beware of turbo, i heard it myself , it has low speed engine knock. I go for evening walks and ngam ngam near a speed bump civic was passing

As he accelerated over it, so distinct klak klak klak engine knock. I was shocked, you normally hear that on old wira, iswara carburetor not in brand spanking new engine .

If it is that mysterious low speed knock that is fatal to turbo engines, good luck. That's why many people say never never never lug a turbo engine , meaning floor the pedal in high gear.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low-speed_pre-ignition

This post has been edited by rcracer: Dec 13 2016, 11:11 PM
JunJun04035
post Dec 14 2016, 06:53 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

more fun facts:

Depends on usage, most turbo need to rebuild within 100k ~ 200k millage range yo
romuluz777
post Dec 14 2016, 07:32 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(wind409 @ Dec 13 2016, 06:20 PM)
Going to buy a 2016 Honda Civic but struggling on 1.5 or 1.8.
Since Honda first invented turbo charge on their model and there is rumor said that overheating issue or the owner have to change the engine oil frequently.
Dont listen to unfounded rumours about overheating issues.

Go scour the CivicX owners forum and talk to current owners about their experience on the 1.5TC.

The turbocharged version is the only model worth buying IMO.
Looks, power and features (those lovely LED headlights especially) all in one handsome package.
acbc
post Dec 14 2016, 07:44 AM

8,475 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Dec 13 2016, 06:31 PM)
Malaysian kiasuness ma..
They forgot to factor in.. 1.8L roadtax at 280 per year while 70 per year for 1.5L
90 la!
SUSwaiora_protuner
post Dec 14 2016, 07:51 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 13 2016, 11:08 PM)
Beware of turbo, i heard it myself , it has low speed engine knock. I go for evening walks and ngam ngam near a speed bump civic was passing

As he accelerated over it, so distinct klak klak klak engine knock. I was shocked, you normally hear that on old wira, iswara carburetor not in brand spanking new engine .

If it is that mysterious low speed knock that is fatal to turbo engines, good luck. That's why many people say never never never lug a turbo engine , meaning floor the pedal in high gear.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low-speed_pre-ignition
deswai it got cvt

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0417sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:27 PM