> Penang pipu masuk, Penang Bridge Toll Question

TSatong
post Dec 13 2016, 03:44 PM, updated 10y ago

93 posts

I am buying the new 2016 Toyota Fortuner soon.

I have a question on the Penang Bridge Toll limit.
The height of the SUV is 1.835 meter while the Smart TAG limit on Penang Bridge is 1.6 meter.
I have seen Alphard which is definitely more than 1.6 meter using the Smart Tag lane. It seems that 1.6 meter limit has a lot of tolerance.
Can't find the dimension of the Alphard (2013 version) I saw the other day so I don't know the height of the vehicle.

Would a new Fortuner pass through the Smart Tag lane without any scratch? Thanks

This post has been edited by atong: Dec 13 2016, 03:44 PM
SUSVelocity
post Dec 13 2016, 03:46 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(atong @ Dec 13 2016, 03:44 PM)

The height of the SUV is 1.835 meter while the Smart TAG limit on Penang Bridge is 1.6 meter.
I have seen Alphard which is definitely more than 1.6 meter using the Smart Tag lane. It seems that 1.6 meter limit has a lot of tolerance.
Can't find the dimension of the Alphard (2013 version) I saw the other day so I don't know the height of the vehicle.

Would a new Fortuner pass through the Smart Tag lane without any scratch? Thanks
i dont think entire penang and malaysia only you have a fortuner. Majority of smart tag i know are about 2.0 or 2.3m

I think they already able to estimate for most suv , 4x4 and even small lorry to pass.
TSatong
post Dec 13 2016, 03:48 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Dec 13 2016, 03:46 PM)
i dont think entire penang and malaysia only you have a fortuner. Majority of smart tag i know are about 2.0 or 2.3m

I think they already able to estimate for most suv , 4x4 and even small lorry to pass.
The limit in Penang bridge is lower than most Toll. Already confirm with PLUS Helpline. They are 1.6 meter and so far I haven't seen any Fortuner passing the Smart Tag since I'm rarely using Penang bridge.

This post has been edited by atong: Dec 13 2016, 03:49 PM
friedricetheman
post Dec 13 2016, 03:53 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

I use Grand Livina. Confirm can use Touch n' Go lane on Penang Bridge.

I dunno about Fortuna. Is it taller than a Grand Livina?
TSatong
post Dec 13 2016, 03:55 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Dec 13 2016, 03:53 PM)
I use Grand Livina. Confirm can use Touch n' Go lane on Penang Bridge.

I dunno about Fortuna. Is it taller than a Grand Livina?
I think so. From the specs, it says 1.835 meter (height). Taller than me.
friedricetheman
post Dec 13 2016, 03:57 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(atong @ Dec 13 2016, 03:55 PM)
I think so. From the specs, it says 1.835 meter (height). Taller than me.
My Livina when passing the toll, still have quite a bit of clearance. I think Fortuna should be no problem.
punkLOL
post Dec 13 2016, 03:58 PM

59 posts

langga je
incubus_skj
post Dec 13 2016, 03:59 PM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

QUOTE(punkLOL @ Dec 13 2016, 03:58 PM)
langga je
SUSVelocity

3,188 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Dec 13 2016, 03:57 PM)
My Livina when passing the toll, still have quite a bit of clearance. I think Fortuna should be no problem.
fortuner is alot taller

Livina only about Height 1,590 mm (62.6 in)
Blofeld

4,704 posts

Woi dun langgar then cause jam to everyone.
TSatong
post Dec 13 2016, 04:02 PM

93 posts

I just confirm again with the PLUS, they said the height has a lot of tolerance but they not sure if it can goes up to 1.8 meter
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Dec 13 2016, 04:06 PM

937 posts

cannot take lorry lane? hmm.gif
Feugo
post Dec 13 2016, 04:07 PM

111 posts

fortuner not that high la..

you'll be fine.
shmiad
post Dec 13 2016, 04:09 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Dec 13 2016, 03:57 PM)
comparing livina and fortuner height is like comparing asian and nikka didi
SUSVelocity
post Dec 13 2016, 04:10 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(atong @ Dec 13 2016, 04:02 PM)
I just confirm again with the PLUS, they said the height has a lot of tolerance but they not sure if it can goes up to 1.8 meter
user posted imageupload gambar

from this photo it seems like written 1.6m

That hilux i have checked

Xtra and Double Cab 2WD: 1,695 mm (66.7 in)
Xtra and Double Cab 4WD: 1,810 mm (71.3 in)

not sure is which.

From the photo looks like 1.8m should be able to go through see how big gap that is

This post has been edited by Velocity: Dec 13 2016, 04:11 PM
wohoo
post Dec 13 2016, 04:18 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(atong @ Dec 13 2016, 03:44 PM)

cannot pakai lorry lane ke? why so much hassle
TSatong
post Dec 13 2016, 04:30 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Dec 13 2016, 04:06 PM)
cannot take lorry lane? hmm.gif
QUOTE(wohoo @ Dec 13 2016, 04:18 PM)
cannot pakai lorry lane ke? why so much hassle
Can. No problem. Just asking if I can use the Smart Tag lane since I have one with my new car.
TSatong
post Dec 13 2016, 04:32 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Dec 13 2016, 04:10 PM)
user posted imageupload gambar

from this photo it seems like written 1.6m

That hilux i have checked

Xtra and Double Cab 2WD: 1,695 mm (66.7 in)
Xtra and Double Cab 4WD: 1,810 mm (71.3 in)

not sure is which.

From the photo looks like 1.8m should be able to go through see how big gap that is
Thanks bro. Judging the heights, my Fortuner should be fine.
TSatong
post Dec 13 2016, 04:33 PM

93 posts

*double post

This post has been edited by atong: Dec 13 2016, 04:34 PM
Dothan
post Dec 13 2016, 04:40 PM

Dingle Berries
1,054 posts

Clearance of 1.6 meter is pretty low... I think the actual should be higher than that.

Imagine a normal average Malaysian is 1.68m already.
roystevenung
post Dec 13 2016, 04:43 PM

2,173 posts

Drive masuk like a baus and if get stuck you will know that lane is not for you tongue.gif
TSatong
post Dec 13 2016, 04:45 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Dec 13 2016, 04:40 PM)
Clearance of 1.6 meter is pretty low... I think the actual should be higher than that.

Imagine a normal average Malaysian is 1.68m already.
You are right. The people in PLUS helpline ask me to try first, if my car can go in without scratch - i should file a complain so they will action on it.
If not, I should move to other lane. WTF??
JokerNymous
post Dec 13 2016, 04:46 PM

328 posts

use lorry lane easy

0.0175sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:21 PM