Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V28, Free Upgrade In 2017

sentry68
post Dec 18 2016, 12:48 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Dec 16 2016, 11:17 AM)
I wonder what will happen to those paying RM149 for 5/10 Mbps now next year...
I believe will stay at 10 Mbps for those received the upgrade few months back, and upgrade to 10 Mbps for those who hasnt.

I was on VIP5 and was upgraded to 10Mpbs a few months ago, I have been rejecting multiple offer (or tricks?) to upgrade to 10Mbps a couple of years back, and to 30 Mbps last fw months. Got calls from both Maxis and TM last few days for their broadband services. Maxis is offering 10 Mbps upload & download speed at RM139 net with all new equipment sets, 1 month free iflix, or go to RM179 for 30Mbps and free flix for life. TM also offer to upgrade to 30 Mbps (10Mbps upload) @ RM159, with Jumbo pack but free call to TM line has been taken away (replace with pay per use at RM0.20/min), and 1 year warranty for equipment set and new 2 years contract. Decided to go for TM's 30Mbps offer since I need the extra speed from time to time, very low usage on the phone line, and some of the equipment are starting to have issues.

I did ask if I will get the free upgrade to 50 Mbps like what they are offering to new customer now, and the answer is no - not going to get speed upgrade to 50Mbps come next year.
sentry68
post Dec 18 2016, 12:52 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Dec 16 2016, 11:06 AM)
directed to here from kopitiam:

Just received a call from Unifi to upgrade my current plan.

Initially subscribed to 5mpbs, but later they upgraded for free to 10mbps few months back.

Now asking me to upgrade to 30mbps for additional RM10 only.

Anyone received similar call? Worth upgrading since the budget says double the speed, half the price next year...  hmm.gif
My situation is same as you, get the call on Thursday to upgrade to 30Mbps, free call to TM line taken away and given Hypp TV Jumbo pack for free. Do you get similar offers(on phone and TV channels).

As for further upgrade - I asked and was told those on VIP5 and got upgraded to 10Mbps for free (without new contract) earlier this year will not get further speed upgrade next year,
sentry68
post Dec 26 2016, 12:03 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Dec 25 2016, 11:55 PM)
the offer that they offered me was rm159 without the 600 minutes FOC calls. doh.gif
same here - RM159 without any free minutes, and it's pay per use rate is RM0.20 / min
sentry68
post Jan 19 2017, 02:25 PM

78 posts

Started with VIP5 @ RM149 since Feb 2013, rejected multiple offers to upgrade from 2014 onwards till late last year. Got the free upgrade from VIP5 to VIP10 around Sept'16 at same cost, and finally decided/agreed to take their offer in mid Dec'16 to upgrade to ADV30 @ RM159 with Jumbo hypp tv package minus the free call, but tied to another 2 years of contract and 1 year equipment warranty. Was told I won't be eligible for further free speed upgrade this year since I've received the free upgrade from VIP5 to VIP10 last year.

Just check the "Thank You Surpise" site and to my surprise, I am entitled to free upgrade to ADV50 again! So not a bad deal for 50Mbps with Jumbo hypp tv package @ RM159 if I really get another round of upgrade! :-)

sentry68
post Jan 19 2017, 03:52 PM

78 posts

[quote=monkeybeh,Jan 19 2017, 02:47 PM]
[quote=sentry68,Jan 19 2017, 02:25 PM]
Started with VIP5 @ RM149 since Feb 2013, rejected multiple offers to upgrade from 2014 onwards till late last year. Got the free upgrade from VIP5 to VIP10 around Sept'16 at same cost, and finally decided/agreed to take their offer in mid Dec'16 to upgrade to ADV30 @ RM159 with Jumbo hypp tv package minus the free call, but tied to another 2 years of contract and 1 year equipment warranty. Was told I won't be eligible for further free speed upgrade this year since I've received the free upgrade from VIP5 to VIP10 last year.

Wow, by just adding RM10 you get 10x speed rclxms.gif

[/quote]

yes, this is a great deal if I really get the upgrade to 50Mbps
sentry68
post Jan 19 2017, 03:53 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(kosuke09211 @ Jan 19 2017, 03:49 PM)
Hi this is my 1st time smile.gif I wan to ask if Unifi have or doesnt have the Unlimited free call like streamyx used to do? Because when i apply for it i ask the agent multiple times about it and he said NO. There wont be additional charge if you call other TM fix lines. But now im receiving bills that they charge me for all the fix lines call we made.
it is free for VIPxx package, but not on the advance package. Which package you are in?
sentry68
post Jan 20 2017, 02:11 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Jan 20 2017, 12:14 PM)
I also received this today. I'm skeptical that they will increase my monthly fee because VIP 5 package is no longer existed in their system.

Anyone know will they increase my monthly fee? Currently paying RM 149 (+ RM 8.96 GST)

I am skeptical haha. That's why i asking here. I kena before in other country, they call me say free upgrade, but then bill different. Apparently it's "FREE UPGRADE" only. Monthly payment different story  icon_idea.gif  sweat.gif

So the discount RM50 shown in the screenshot below will last forever? Anyone have any idea?

Many people have gotten the free VIP5 to VIP10 upgrade at same cost last year (before the budget announcement), and the bill is exactly as the example shown - VIP10 with RM50 discount.

0.0789sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:42 AM