Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V28, Free Upgrade In 2017

Max2006
post Dec 13 2016, 01:45 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(dr_zoidberg @ Dec 13 2016, 09:46 AM)
I'll be getting Unifi early next year, and I'm deciding whether I can go for the wired option or the Wi-Fi option.

If I go for the wired option, I have to lay cables at the home, and mine's a 3-storey one which doesn't have any ethernet ports, so I'm not sure if I could run these cables all the way from the ground to the top floor.

But if I go for the wireless option, I worried that the wireless dongles I have can have drop/high latency when I game online.

Any opinions? smile.gif
Why not you get the Unifi in this month? You will get free upgrade if you apply before the end of 2016.
Max2006
post Dec 23 2016, 11:27 AM

4,099 posts

For people who still wondering whether Unifi users who subscribed before Dec 2016 are eligilbled for the upgrade or not, or still assuming that the free upgrade is only for the users who subscribed In Dec 2016....etc.

With all due respect, this is totally not worth to be worried about. If the free upgrade is only limited to newest subscribers, the existing users sure will go chaos and I am sure all hell will break loose in no time. Do you think TM will go for such a stupid move?

And ya. I am sure some of you would say their T&C and FAQ doesn't mention anything about the existing customers. There's no source and news indicating that the existing users will get the free upgrade. Please la people. They did not mention it doesn't mean they will ignore the existing customers. Most likely, the T&C and FAQ will be changed once again after the Dec promotion.

Common sense people, common sense.

Max2006
post Dec 23 2016, 04:08 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Dec 23 2016, 01:21 PM)
I think on this matter, common sense does not really apply here.

The promotion (for free upgrade) could be a ploy to get current subscribers to sign up for the 30mbps / 50mbps packages by 31/12/2016, so that they would be able to enjoy the upgrade. That, and to get more new subscribers to use Unifi.

It may mean that the current subscribers who opt not to upgrade their package (e.g. those who are currently using 5/10/20 mbps), would not be eligible to enjoy the upgrade.

A valid concern, considering TM has not informed/made it clear on this.

---

A case in point; the mobile packages (say, Maxis, Celcom, DiGi) that you have subscribed years ago would be less 'cool' than those offered for new subscribers. e.g. More expensive, less data plan, no free-calls to other operators. And when they roll out new packages with better perks, do they revise the package for old subscribers? No Sir, nope.
So it is only when TM comes up with statements to say that the upgrade is to be given to those subscribing prior to 2016, we shall take it as no upgrade is given.
You do have a valid point over there and I do understand your concern. But after that infamous Maxis cheating loyal customers fiasco, I really don't think that TM will pull that kind of stunt. If they really do, then they should prepare for war coz I don't think majority in here will get over this so easily. Or should I say, things will become very ugly if TM is planning to ignore the loyal customers.

QUOTE(gedebe @ Dec 23 2016, 02:09 PM)
how come i can only quote 1 person when replying although i've actually selected more than 1 quote?
You need to use the Add Reply button at the bottom of thread after quoting multiple person.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Dec 23 2016, 04:15 PM
Max2006
post Dec 27 2016, 04:56 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Dec 27 2016, 12:43 PM)
hey guys, is there anyways on how i could check who's using my UniFi?
Depends on why brand of router you are using. For example, I am using Asus router. And from my Asus router admin control panel, I can see how many clients are using my Unifi connection.
Max2006
post Dec 28 2016, 12:41 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Dec 27 2016, 08:47 PM)
I am using the TM's standard router, it's silver one. It looks like this.

I am a noob in this network thing, i think I manage to go into the control panel with the Unifi IP but I don't know the username and password.  blink.gif
LOL!
1. Connect to your Unifi network.

2. Open Browser and type 192.168.0.1.

3. Login

Username: operator

Password: h566UniFi

IINM, this silver router does not provide such feature to let the users check how many clients using the network. However,
I ditched my TM router after I bought Asus router. So I don't know if my memory serves me right. Anyway, since now you know the username and password, no harm for you to check it out. But since you said you are a noob in this, just be careful when you access the control panel. Make sure you won't mess around with the settings and end up break down your internet connection. LOL.
Max2006
post Dec 28 2016, 12:57 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 28 2016, 12:45 AM)
By the way, is there any router in the market that can work as a BTU as well? unsure.gif Can consider one and my desk will look neater. laugh.gif
Hmmm...I don't think such router does exist.... may be in future. Who knows? biggrin.gif
Max2006
post Jan 1 2017, 02:41 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jan 1 2017, 02:34 PM)
Do existing 50mb customers need to do anything (register) to receive the upgrade or just wait?
Wait for their calls/sms/emails (could be any time from now), then say yes to them before they proceed to upgrade your package.
Max2006
post Jan 1 2017, 02:44 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Jan 1 2017, 02:43 PM)
how about unifi pro, what do we get?
Nothing, at this moment. But some news did say the pro users may get some rewards/discount instead of upgrade. No confirmation from TM though.
Max2006
post Jan 6 2017, 01:39 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Jan 6 2017, 12:40 AM)
This is just an example, i also got this info today by the ISP agent company i joined recently. The info they get is from TM.
As I expected. No way TM would ditch the old customers in this upcoming upgrade bandagon. bruce.gif

Thanks for sharing this in here, bro. rclxms.gif

This should stop people from keep asking if the free upgrade is only limited to new customers or not. Old or new users, we all now should enjoice! rclxm9.gif

Now the million dollar question is...when? I wonder which area they plan to execute first? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 6 2017, 01:43 AM
Max2006
post Jan 17 2017, 05:26 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Jan 16 2017, 10:24 PM)
they didnt bill me other than RM179 + 6% GST for Adv30

i go TM Point ask, they check account, only have Unifi, but my house fixed line phone still can call out and receive call biggrin.gif
Unifi account and TM fix line account are separated. One name for Unifi account and one name for the TM fix line account. What's the owner name of your house fix line account? You should check from there. The fix line account would still be there eventhough you already registred Unifi.

Wait until next month and see if you still receive the fix line bill. Normally you will still have to pay the RM 1 rental fee (per month) plus the normal call rate.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 17 2017, 05:29 AM
Max2006
post Jan 17 2017, 12:20 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:40 AM)
I am confused...

while waiting for the guys to complete my unifi installation...I asked whether can maintain the current phone line that's linked to my alarm system or not...he said can maintain but it will not call out anymore, can only receive incoming calls

how ?????
Impossible. If the fix line working, you should be able to call in and call out. Either he was bluffing or your line got problem.

Anyway, no need to be panic. Later you try and see if you can call out. I am sure you can.

QUOTE(vez @ Jan 17 2017, 12:06 PM)
lol i know not same account lah bro

been using unifi for 3 years d, i go check fixed line account sure give them fixed line account number but they show me is rm0 monthly... then they said no need pay, so i only pay unifi for 3 years all the while
Wow. I see. Then lucky you bro. Meanwhile, I still have to pay every month. not that I care though since it's a very small amount. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 17 2017, 12:24 PM
Max2006
post Jan 17 2017, 12:31 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jan 17 2017, 12:29 PM)
Page will be up very soon.keep hitting the F5.
I wonder, will the server crash if many people rushing in at the same time? laugh.gif
Max2006
post Jan 17 2017, 03:13 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Sirmacai @ Jan 17 2017, 02:58 PM)
guys what is phase 1 in the unifi speed upgrade project? is it new customer or old customer first?
Old customers first. TM already mentioned that the new customers will only get the free upgrade started from April.
Max2006
post Jan 19 2017, 11:46 AM

4,099 posts

Done submitted the info through the Thank you surprise website. Email received instantly. I am eligible for free upgrade to 50mbps! Woohoo! smile.gif
Max2006
post Jan 19 2017, 11:55 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Jan 19 2017, 11:52 AM)
I filled in my info and submit, but it ask me to check back 25th January... sad.gif
Did you double check the info you filled in? You would get the "check back at 25th jan" message if you filled in the incorrect info. I knew about this because I filled in the wrong TM homeline number intentionally. tongue.gif
Max2006
post Jan 19 2017, 12:08 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jan 19 2017, 11:21 AM)
for the homeline,you need to fill in your UniFi Fix line phone number....mobile phone can any numbers.
hey bro, I would like to ask. I noticed the TM Thank you surprise website mentioned this "Whether you are a UniFi, Streamyx or TM Homeline subscriber, there is a surprise for you!".

My house still got the old copper line TM homeline, the account is under my father's name. So I went ahead and filled in my father's details and submitted. And I got the "check back at 25th Jan" message. Is this normal?

This makes me wonder.....other than Unifi and streamyx, is this mean that the people who ONLY have old copper TM Homeline (without the internet service) also have some sort of rewards in this Thank you surprise campaign?

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 19 2017, 12:10 PM
Max2006
post Jan 19 2017, 12:22 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(nimbus kayano @ Jan 19 2017, 12:20 PM)
Did both of you got email or is there a link somewhere to upgrade?
You will received that email right after you submmited your info succesfully through the Thank you surprise website.
Max2006
post Jan 19 2017, 12:26 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(skyfusion @ Jan 19 2017, 12:23 PM)
I'm still using VIP10 and paying RM179 every month. My contract already finish Dec last year. When i check for TM Surprise Page, it show my free upgrade is for ADV30 only. I am paying the same amount with what ADV30 paying, but I believe ADV30 user got 50mb upgrade? Any idea how do i get 50mb free upgrade?
Terminate your VIP10. Register to Unifi 30. Then check the Thank you surprice website again after that.
Max2006
post Jan 19 2017, 12:27 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(nimbus kayano @ Jan 19 2017, 12:24 PM)
Mind share the link to the thank you surprise website?
https://www.tm.com.my/thankyousurprise/
Max2006
post Jan 19 2017, 12:55 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jan 19 2017, 12:51 PM)
got a message saying pls check back on 25 jan

wad this website is all abt laugh.gif
It's set up by TM for the customers to check/verify whether they are eligible for free upgrade on their broadband services.

0.0239sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:50 PM