> to those who have kopi-o driving license, come in and learn

TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:20 PM, updated 9y ago

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

learn how to turn at junction, and the right-of-way rule vmad.gif
(this is new zealand publication, but it should be the same for almost all commonwealth country, including ours)

Let's look at a number of examples of giving way which can help you determine what to do at many kinds of intersections in New Zealand (and around the world). If you've been confused about the rules before, these simple examples will help you learn them easily.
The basic give way rules are:
>Give way to your right at roundabouts
>Give way to vehicles coming from straight ahead if you are turning right
>Give way to vehicles turning left if you are turning right
>Give way to all vehicles on the top of a T-intersection if you are on the bottom of the T
>A driveway is treated like an uncontrolled intersection
>If you deviate from the centre line, generally you have to give way
>At a stop sign, you have the least priority and all other vehicles have the right of way before you, unless they are at stop signs, too, in which case the give way rules apply
>A police officer's directions overrule any give way or stop signs.

Intersection examples
In all examples, let's look at it from the point of view of you driving the blue car.

You are turning out of an uncontrolled intersection and must give way to the red car coming from the right. If this was a controlled intersection then you'd have to either stop at a stop sign or wait at a give way sign until it was safe to go.

You are driving straight ahead in the blue car across the top of the T-intersection. The red car has to give way to you because it is turning right across your path.

While the general rule is give way to the right at an uncontrolled intersection, that only applies at a crossroads. In this case, you are on the bottom of the T, and the red car has right of way as it is coming across the top of the T-junction. At a controlled intersection you would either be waiting at a stop sign or a give way sign.

The red car is coming from straight ahead and you are turning right therefore you must let it past before you can turn.

Even though the red car is on the right, it is waiting at a give way sign and you are passing straight through the junction. Therefore you have the right of way. The same would apply if it was waiting at a stop sign.

You are turning left and the red car is turning right and would have to cross your path. This used to be the rule in New Zealand until it was changed in 2012. Now, you have the right of way and can turn before the red car.

You are turning right and so is the red car. Which one gives way? The red car is on the bottom of the T-intersection (imagine rotating the picture 90 degrees clockwise). You are driving on the top of the T therefore you can go.

You are turning left and there's a red car coming from your right along the road. You have to wait because you are on the bottom of the T.

This is a tricky one. It's an uncontrolled intersection and both of you are travelling straight ahead. Who has to give way? The rules are that you give way to the right when there are no other controls like a stop sign, therefore the red car must stop and wait for you.

Remember our stop sign rule. At an uncontrolled intersection or one where you were both waiting at a give way sign, you would have right of way. However, you are waiting at a stop sign and that means that the red car has priority, even though it's turning across in front of you.

This post has been edited by kurangak: Dec 20 2016, 08:42 PM
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:21 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

When both cars are turning right at an uncontrolled intersection (which includes many driveways and entrances to public car parks that don't have markings), you must give way to vehicles on the straight road (i.e. the top of the T). The blue car has right of way - the red car must wait for you to turn.

Even though you have a green light, so does the red car, and it is heading straight through the intersection while you want to turn, therefore you have to wait.

You both have a green light, but because you are turning left you can go first.

You both have a green light but the motorbike is turning left, therefore you must wait for it before you can turn.

In this scenario neither car needs to cross each other's path. Both are on a green light. If this was an uncontrolled intersection this manoeuvre is actually safer when the cars pass behind one another rather than in front. This is because when passing like in the diagram, your vision up the road to the left is obscured.

On a roundabout you always give way to the right, so you have to wait for the red car.

The red car must give way to you as you are coming from its right, passing straight through the roundabout.

In this case you are deviating from the centre line, even though you want to drive straight ahead. The red car has right of way.

Both of you can complete your manoeuvre without interfering with each other's trajectories.

credit to this page for photos n explanation

https://www.drivingtests.co.nz/roadcode-que...r/intersection/

This post has been edited by kurangak: Dec 20 2016, 08:44 PM
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:23 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(apj8188 @ Dec 10 2016, 12:22 PM)
What brand is the blue car and red car?
blue is proton satria neo cps r3

red is myvi 1.5 advance
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:27 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(apj8188 @ Dec 10 2016, 12:24 PM)
Then both should not even on the road

Kes kolos.

This post has been edited by kurangak: Dec 10 2016, 12:27 PM
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:29 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Kendall @ Dec 10 2016, 12:23 PM)
Apa lanjao you cakap?
Itu jalan I bayar road tax ikut I la.
Kamu bawak moto pergi tepi la
lanjiao with kopi o license detected
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:36 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Kendall @ Dec 10 2016, 12:32 PM)
You tak suka jangan bawak atas jalan la.
Pergi bawak dalam longkang la
i pray to jesus, allah, yahweh, buddha, zeus, odin, brahma and all main gods from all main religion in this world that you will always be protected from any accidents or danger on the road

seems ull be needing a heck lot of protection from them, whichever god is true
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:38 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Dec 10 2016, 12:35 PM)
Unker why don't you start with changing new tyres from your 3rd hand tyres to begin with. Since your car underpower and slow
apa kaitan tyre n underpowered?

ni la kalau kerak notorious crossdresser telebih hisap baja.. talk nonsense
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:41 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Dec 10 2016, 12:37 PM)
Nice, but a lot to remember.  smile.gif
easiest (n most important)to remember, if ure getting out of a T junction, u hav to giv way.
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:43 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Kendall @ Dec 10 2016, 12:38 PM)
Kalau atas jalan tak ada owang macam kamu jadi banyak selamat lo.
Selalu ingat sendiri pandai nak ajar orang lain bawak kereta.
Steering pernah pegang tak adik?
ye abang.. dh bezaman adik ada lesen kereta, dari zaman laminated paper license lagi... abang dh lepas P license belum? atau ujian undang2 pun belum lepas lagi?
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:50 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Kendall @ Dec 10 2016, 12:48 PM)
Oh. Itu zaman tak payah kopi. Ambil printer cetak itu lesen laminate sendiri sudah siap. Patutlah benda senang pun tak tahu.Lain kali you jangan bawak kereta buat orang lain bahaya sahaja.
oh ye ke? so abang ni baru dapat lesen la ni? patut la meluap2 hati rasa dia king of the road...

takpa... adik pun pernah rasa perasaan sama dulu. kejap je... nanti kalau abang dah tumbuh bulu kote, sel sel otak dah berhubung, hilang la perasaan tu..

This post has been edited by kurangak: Dec 10 2016, 12:53 PM
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:55 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Vape On @ Dec 10 2016, 12:51 PM)
Our accident rate pretty low comparatively since we have a huge amount of retards on the road.

Cukur lah
cukurla...
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:57 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Kendall @ Dec 10 2016, 12:53 PM)
Ini la perangai jahat atas jalan.
Selalu ingat orang lain bodoh nak ajar orang lain bawak kereta.
Google gambar dah ingat sendiri pandai.
aik... manada adik cakap abang bodoh... ke abang terasa adik cakap 'lesen kopi-o'

ohwait!! abang ni pakai lesen kopi o ke? alamak... tak terniat adik nak luka kan hati abang...

sorry abang!!
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 12:59 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(GrowTentProject @ Dec 10 2016, 12:57 PM)
no gip a shit ..... i signal i turn ...

anything happen ....
i go dance and sing Gangnam style with the tune "Wa Sarahan Apa !!!!!!"
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 01:09 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(pandah @ Dec 10 2016, 01:03 PM)
isn't this like common sense?

anyway bus lorry trailer no give any shit they just take the fckin road
memang la common sense, but common sense is so fucking rare nowadays, it can even be called a superpower..

but im not saying kendall hav no common sense ok? nanti terluka lagi hati abang kendall
TSkurangak
post Dec 10 2016, 05:27 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Dec 10 2016, 03:03 PM)
In msia, at intersections n roundabouts the only rule is "who dares wins"
n then accident all jadi bodo say 'apa salahan saya'?

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 10 2016, 03:09 PM)
malaysians need to seriously fucking learn about pre positioning

if you are turning left, keep to the LEFT LANE

not keep right because it's moving then jump three lanes to turn left.
exactly...

QUOTE(Thrust @ Dec 10 2016, 03:12 PM)
Many malaysian driver fail to understand the rule of roundabout.. especially 2 lanes roundabout..
fuck i forgot about roundabouts! thank you for reminding me. amended 2nd post with roundabout rules

QUOTE(ad2000 @ Dec 10 2016, 04:58 PM)
You miss the point..remember how you ask those riding a motobike to move away because "you are paying roadtax"? I've been driving and riding on the road for more than 40 years, I adopt utmost respect for every road user, big or small bikes or cars.. along the way, I've seen many typically like you aplenty. Th type who think he pay more road tax, bigger vehicle etx etc but  doesnt even have an idea about courtesy and respect to on the road user be it bicycle or motorbike or car.. You got snared by me with the "how much you pay for your roadtax" question  smile.gif  smile.gif
shh... calar ego hati abang kendall u cakap macam tu... tak baek taw.....

0.0148sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:27 AM