Latest SALARY for MAS. SIA Pilots
DarkForXe
Feb 16 2007, 11:16 AM
People who become pilot would have to face a difficult social life because they are just too busy. Thats one reason i dont wish to become pilot despite the high salary. If it is a 9-5 job then i will just take it. lol.
alpha0201
Feb 16 2007, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(DarkForXe @ Feb 16 2007, 11:16 AM) People who become pilot would have to face a difficult social life because they are just too busy. Thats one reason i dont wish to become pilot despite the high salary. If it is a 9-5 job then i will just take it. lol. 9-5 job, right.... Pilot during flight announcement onboard in the air, "We are now 25,000ft above sea level and about 1 hour more to the destina...oh crap its 4.59pm!!! I need to go home or else my wife would kill me!!!" Then make a U-turn after travelling 1200km from home.... If you want 9-5 job, better stick to office job.
bonzaimy
Feb 17 2007, 07:35 PM
WildChai
Feb 18 2007, 12:09 AM
High risk job?
sakuraguy
Feb 18 2007, 12:13 AM
I hate heights .. heightophobia .. hahaha .. I dont wanna be Pilot even they pay MYR100k ..
Added on February 18, 2007, 12:14 amI hate heights .. heightophobia .. hahaha .. I dont wanna be Pilot even they pay MYR100k ..
This post has been edited by sakuraguy: Feb 18 2007, 12:14 AM
hoongji
Feb 18 2007, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Feb 17 2007, 07:35 PM) you must experience it then only you'll know what kind of training a pilot has to go through so as to prepare himself to handle the worst case actual scenario. you also don't know how much effort and hardwork he had put in to pass through all his training. yes, there are many spm leavers as pilots. but you already know which country and academy is that. so what else that you don't get it? everything is 'boleh' here. but it doesn't matter since everyone is equal in learning and with sufficient training, all pilots will have the same flying capabilites at the end of the day; no matter what previous qualifications they have. and you have misconception about AUTOPILOT. if AUTOPILOT is so good, why do you think they want to put pilots in the cockpit? what happens if the AUTOPILOT fails in the air and everything goes haywire, and your plane is descending in zero visibility? do you think the ground engineer can help? and do you think a SPM leaver in the cockpit can do the job? answer is no. it is the pilot who has SUFFICIENT training and skills that will save your life. the pilot is just like everyone else and he has a family back home waiting for him. now can you see who is risking the life? * to threadstarter, there is already a thread about piloting here (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/342504). no need to duplicate same thread. This post has been edited by hoongji: Feb 18 2007, 01:29 AM
cafuheva
Feb 18 2007, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 16 2007, 11:53 AM) 9-5 job, right.... Pilot during flight announcement onboard in the air, "We are now 25,000ft above sea level and about 1 hour more to the destina...oh crap its 4.59pm!!! I need to go home or else my wife would kill me!!!" Then make a U-turn after travelling 1200km from home.... If you want 9-5 job, better stick to office job. married your wife as stewardess, and do a 9-5 job after landing. LOL Added on February 18, 2007, 1:40 amQUOTE(bonzaimy @ Feb 17 2007, 07:35 PM) I tot every pilot must have degree in Physic,geography, and math. This post has been edited by cafuheva: Feb 18 2007, 01:40 AM
cutiepooh
Feb 23 2007, 12:23 PM
some ppl might thing pilot is ec to b... .. wat i noticed that to b a pilot is not ec.. 1st have to past academy level of their basic requirement. then of coz reaction and equanimity. pilot need to take up d biggest responbility of all d passenger and cabin crews. and to make sure all r save during landing.... kee it up all pilots. bside some engineers got nice paid. jus depends on which com and countries u r working with.
cherroy
Feb 23 2007, 03:46 PM
The biggest disadvatange for airliners job including stewards and pilot is that it is not 8-5 and Monday to Friday/Satruday job and if the flight is scheduled overnight one, then need to work at worknight also. For long haul flight that more than 10 years, it is quite stressful and constantly doing it, you might bored with this job quite easily. When starting time, surely excited but for long periods, years and decades you might be thinking office job is better. Also, you might not able to see frequently your family especially those married and got children one.
andoril
Feb 23 2007, 04:24 PM

wah.. pilot so high salary geh.. any info on Airasia pilots?
clivengu
Feb 23 2007, 09:47 PM
extremely good salary. I think the hardest thing to become a pilot is ... the payment for the training.. Unless i come from a very rich family.. Damn..then have to train for many many years..i heard like need 10+ years to become captain.
haturaya
Feb 23 2007, 10:14 PM
Not so good for a family person... sure you miss the moment your first child taking his / her first steps, first words, etc... sorry, i won't change that with high salary. Money is not everything although you need money to do something  )
TScrew
Feb 27 2007, 04:10 AM

Ya,It affects your family life big time and pilot has one of the highest divorce rate.
mofonyx
Feb 27 2007, 05:24 AM
QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 23 2007, 09:47 PM) extremely good salary. I think the hardest thing to become a pilot is ... the payment for the training.. Unless i come from a very rich family.. Damn..then have to train for many many years..i heard like need 10+ years to become captain. right, I wonder where does a doctor rank on your list of "hardest to be professions"
pwk1983
May 28 2007, 06:47 PM
I just want to know how much they pay for cadet pilot? SIA? MAS? AIR ASIA?
anyone know?
allwerp
May 29 2007, 04:43 AM

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Feb 17 2007, 07:35 PM) i strongly second what you say dude..the reason why pilots are so highly paid is because this is a very specialized profession and the level of responsibility the pilot has..i think there is already enough said about the level of responsibility the pilot has on the lives of everyone on board..'pilot is not hard'? just need to push the autopilot button after take off?well why didn't you mention about the stress on getting your aircraft on time,runway and wind conditions for take off,different take off technique on take off roll and rotation in the event of a crosswind condition,weather on departure,long and complicated ATC clearences,terrain awareness on take off,flight in busy TMA...then i think you will have a second opinion on this..autopilot is to take care of the 'grunt' work needed to hand-fly the aircraft..and in the business of airline flying,that is only a small part of what we do overall.. well,ok SPM CAN get you into the academy..but i can assure you that the ground exams and flight tests that you have to endure in the academy is no easy feat..even if flying academies require a degree first before u join the school,what difference does it make? if you don't meet up to the required standards,you still won't make the cut..and anyway,do you really think you need 'high iq' to get a degree?
Tainted
Nov 11 2007, 07:03 PM
I wonder how much AirAsia pay their pilots?
Supreme Allied Commander
Nov 11 2007, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(hoongji @ Feb 18 2007, 02:24 AM) you must experience it then only you'll know what kind of training a pilot has to go through so as to prepare himself to handle the worst case actual scenario. you also don't know how much effort and hardwork he had put in to pass through all his training. yes, there are many spm leavers as pilots. but you already know which country and academy is that. so what else that you don't get it? everything is 'boleh' here. but it doesn't matter since everyone is equal in learning and with sufficient training, all pilots will have the same flying capabilites at the end of the day; no matter what previous qualifications they have. and you have misconception about AUTOPILOT. if AUTOPILOT is so good, why do you think they want to put pilots in the cockpit? what happens if the AUTOPILOT fails in the air and everything goes haywire, and your plane is descending in zero visibility? do you think the ground engineer can help? and do you think a SPM leaver in the cockpit can do the job? answer is no. it is the pilot who has SUFFICIENT training and skills that will save your life. the pilot is just like everyone else and he has a family back home waiting for him. now can you see who is risking the life? * to threadstarter, there is already a thread about piloting here (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/342504). no need to duplicate same thread. YES i second to that  . In other words shit happens and different kind of shit happens everytime u Go fly.
Lestat
Nov 16 2007, 02:26 AM
now u know what pilots get after all that pocket-busting training and backup the autopilot system drive the aircraft around (yeah, they deserve that money  ) any one could give a gross pay for those spanner wanking grease monkeys in the maintenance? jr tech, tech, sr tech, engineers and all?
wvt
Nov 16 2007, 08:18 AM

can i ask a off topic noob question? what about airforce pilot un malaysia?anyone knows about it?