USD/MYR v5

coolguy99
post Oct 23 2017, 07:23 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 23 2017, 06:27 PM)
did some expert/analyst/banker said $/rm may go to 4.0 by year end?

it's oct.. and it's now 4.238.

why? why the rm just can't appreciate better than 4.2?

$ getting stronger after a low of index 92 is one reason.

the major reasons... read and digest... or just ignore!

sorry, cannot ignore the politics - that is driving the economy now.
i usually just take whatever those so called 'analyst' said with a pinch of salt.
coolguy99
post Nov 29 2017, 06:10 PM

7,353 posts

I think this will be short lived. Good time to get some usd now
coolguy99
post Jan 5 2018, 09:18 PM

7,353 posts

i think it is more towards weak USD rather than strong MYR. if you compare against other currencies like SGD, MYR didn't gain as much though...
coolguy99
post Feb 25 2018, 09:42 AM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Feb 24 2018, 04:09 PM)
When RM is weak, many traders / businessman hike price with excuses of higher cost, transportation, labours, ...etc ...etc

When RM is recovering, will many traders / businessman reduce price with excuses of lower cost ???

Irresponsible traders, wants bigger profits.. Should keep monitoring these traders and stop buying goodies, services from these irresponsible traders..

Will RM recover.after GE??
based on historical data, ringgit will trend higher before GE and will most likely to go weak after GE
coolguy99
post May 27 2018, 09:23 AM

7,353 posts

The new govt policy will certainly take some time to implement, whether they are effective or not is another question. But from the looks of it, I am positive on the future outlook of the country, the short term MYR might take a beating, but we are on for the long haul.
coolguy99
post May 27 2018, 10:10 AM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 27 2018, 09:41 AM)
OKay,... and Yes,... I would agree with you gentlemen,... I heard Minister Mentor Lee said to us once at a function in The Istana, he said "well, today's generation is enjoying the strength of the SGD and the reputation of Singapore. Your father's generation had to suffer. I leave it up to you all to decide if it's worth it".

Then I said : MM Lee, I, being a Malaysian would like to thank you 'utmostly' for your efforts has benefitted us too. At my generation, with the internet at our disposal, we have the opportunity to discover where to go to participate quickly in the successes of another place without needing to wait for a generation.

Then MM said to me : You are welcome, Mr XXX,... Let us move forward together then, and leave no one behind.

In comparison, Tun is now doing what MM Lee has done two generations ago. But mind you, we are not guaranteed of the success yet for our next generation, for times are different today.
We are not guaranteed success yes, but I don't see we being worse off than our ex-PM regime which is going down the drain. With the new govt in place it gave the nation a breath of fresh air, and also a glimmer of hope that one day we might see our nation become great once again like how we once hoped 10 years ago before Najib came into power.
coolguy99
post Jun 20 2018, 11:47 PM

7,353 posts

I am pretty bullish on Malaysia's long term outlook, despite the recent weakening of MYR and selldown of bursa.
coolguy99
post Jun 26 2018, 08:49 PM

7,353 posts

This will be a very smart move but in the same time a very dangerous one too.
coolguy99
post Sep 6 2018, 08:23 AM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Sep 6 2018, 12:04 AM)
4.30 by the end of the month?
By the looks of it, it is not entirely out of the picture
coolguy99
post Sep 6 2018, 02:05 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 6 2018, 01:29 PM)
keep getting bad news...

4.30 is getting real soon blush.gif
Export stock gonna benefit? Hahah
coolguy99
post Sep 6 2018, 07:03 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(flight @ Sep 6 2018, 05:29 PM)
It looks like ringgit weakening, but actually its usd become stronger.

Compare against any other currency. Ringgit is not weakening.

I have investment in aud, but ringgit keep appreciating. Just take any currency, ringgit is not weakening.
Is this a sign that that USA has the upper hand over China in the trade war?
coolguy99
post Sep 13 2018, 02:53 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 13 2018, 01:40 PM)
I like to buy when things are cheaper than when it's super expensive. No point buying when super expensive.  If it drops,  buy more,  average down the price,  get more dividends.
How can you tell if a stock is super expensive? For example I thought padini was expensive a year ago at 2.5. Look where is padini today.
coolguy99
post Sep 15 2018, 12:06 AM

7,353 posts

I got a feeling that Trump is again controlling the market.

Calls for trade war -> world market slumps
Starts negotiation to end trade war -> world market rises
coolguy99
post Oct 11 2018, 11:09 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Oct 11 2018, 09:54 PM)
Trump controlling market?  whistling.gif
Why not? Although Trump is bad at being president but I must admit that he is a damn good businessman
coolguy99
post Oct 12 2018, 05:35 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 12 2018, 05:18 PM)
1 USD = 4.16 MYR

so next stop is 4.20 ???

later from nowhere... some will appear from hiding saying 4.50 is real soon tongue.gif
Nobody knows. We chose this govt, just have faith with them and give them the time to turn things around.
coolguy99
post Oct 13 2018, 09:39 AM

7,353 posts

CGT would further deter investors from investing in MY. I understand the need for extra income but introducing CGT when we need foreign investors more than ever now?
coolguy99
post Oct 15 2018, 10:46 AM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(powerlinkers @ Oct 15 2018, 09:23 AM)
Wow, this is a major relief.

If proper study is done, the ministry of finance will not proceed with these taxes or at least the rate will be low.
This is a major relief indeed. Please do proper analysis before introducing any new initiative from the govt so that no more u turn again.
coolguy99
post Nov 10 2018, 02:31 PM

7,353 posts

Those who are working in Singapore really enjoice. SGD is the most stable currency in Asia at the moment.
coolguy99
post Dec 5 2018, 06:19 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Dec 5 2018, 12:56 PM)
Now what is the rate? Just now saw cimb buy note 4.38 and sell 4.5?
4.15/4.16
coolguy99
post Dec 20 2018, 11:25 PM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 20 2018, 10:54 PM)
well outflow of foreign funds from Malaysia added the weakness of MYR.
then u have lower crude oil price...
Airlines will benefit most from low crude oil price I think.

0.1161sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:55 PM