QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 30 2016, 09:05 AM)
Thats why. Even lose out with Bangladesh which people like to troll on. Their currency stands stronger against RM now compared with last time. Even the Bangla workers here are complaining.USD/MYR v5
USD/MYR v5
Dec 30 2016, 09:08 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,219 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Dec 30 2016, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 30 2016, 09:05 AM) Thats why. Even lose out to Bangladesh which people like to look down on. Their currency stands stronger against RM now compared with last time. Even the Bangla workers here are complaining.This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Dec 30 2016, 09:16 AM |
Dec 30 2016, 04:11 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 30 2016, 01:49 PM) thank you. looks like none of this is for me as it's either you lose or either you win unless you move alot of cash. being in kuching is a handicap where we need to charter a flight just to go to Singapore Try looking at Bruneian Dollar. Its holding similar value with SGD and its near you. |
Dec 30 2016, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2016, 12:55 PM) this question, in both general and specific sense has been asked many times in this thread. Dont need to go into details bro... there is no single answer but a list. diff people use diff ways according to the amount, individual needs, risk appetite, cost and convenience, e.g. 1. buy foreign notes at money changer, keep under mattress. .. easiest, good rates, small amounts, not an inv, only FX risk. 2. buy foreign notes at money changer, put in bag and travel abroad to deposit. .. subject to FX/immigration laws, risk of theft n robbery. 3. buy foreign equities with local banks/brokers. .. easy to do, but high brokerage fees, potentially high spread. .. new BNM rule says for individual, limit is RM1 mil minus outstanding RM loan liability (1 house exempted, i believe); no limit for those w/o loan. 4. buy foreign equities with foreign brokers. .. harder to open account now with say Interactive Brokers, Ameritrade. .. money to be TT'ed subject to same new BNm rule of RM1mil. 5. buy with DCI or dual currency inv accounts with local banks. .. useful for those expecting to actually use the hard currency when time comes. .. the usual FX risk for those who do not plan to use the foreign currency. All the above comes under curency exchange controls and the government are on their toes to try to curb these. This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Dec 30 2016, 04:14 PM |
Dec 30 2016, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 30 2016, 09:36 PM) Eh.....Look at your map lah.... Brunei is just as far as Singapore from kuching....And harder to go, as no direct flight....By road, it's a 12hr journey.... Eh.. check your facts la. |
Dec 30 2016, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 30 2016, 10:56 PM) read carefully what i wrote again... Its just another option for the forummer to convert out his RM. If you wish to talk about transportation, do bring your points to the right thread. Dont derail this thread.and hello....there are 3-4 direct flights a day between kuching to singapore..... |
Dec 31 2016, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(AznRicy @ Dec 31 2016, 09:56 AM) I do notice early December, when RM weakened against USD, RM was also weakened against SGD. If I were you, I would only convert what is needed only. Definately the preference would be to keep SGD over RM.now, the correlation pattern seems to stop. Is it a good time to convert some SGD to MY now? Or should I wait for trump sworn in on Jan 20? |
Dec 31 2016, 05:32 PM
New Year's Eve
SGD - 3.085 USD - 4.458 AUD - 3.240. Rm strengten a bit like last weekend. |
Jan 1 2017, 07:58 AM
Jan 1 2017, 10:52 AM
Jan 2 2017, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 1 2017, 11:26 PM) Your rates are the lowest around. Only the select few money changers can give this rate. MV. QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 1 2017, 11:44 PM) OK bro,... but if inflation goes up, BNM will have a good reason to increase the OPR. This will strengthen the RM instead,..... I still feel that the increase in crude oil prices will definately improve RM's value. Now lets see if the Middle Easterners can keep their word on their agreement within all OPEC membersThis post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 2 2017, 12:27 AM |
Jan 2 2017, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(wjchay @ Jan 2 2017, 11:10 AM) U can even use cash over counter in Malaysian branches, bank will convert your myr to USD or whichever your target currency. However just take note that the bank sell rates are bad for you. If you hv no other means of converting and depositing to your target currency and account, so be it. Correct. But dont forget that this method will be "on the records". Bank sell rates are much higher than any local money changer. |
Jan 3 2017, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 2 2017, 11:16 PM) Just found this for sending money overseas ! Really much higher than the usual money changers. http://www.eremit.com.my/#homerate The rates are horrible ! QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 3 2017, 08:29 AM) Do they require documentation before doing remittance bro?QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 3 2017, 09:05 AM) MV. That explains the long queues, everyday.This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 3 2017, 12:00 PM |
Jan 3 2017, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 3 2017, 11:42 AM) Bro,.. you try those in MV,... talk to them. I did notice USD : 4.458, but for AUD, lowest I found was 3.24 for the weekend,. Nevertheless, great rates those are. Also Jap Yen seems to be the most sought after. Many places were out of stock. Anyway, the rates just went up abit this morning. Looks like the best time to change are during holidays itself where the rates are cheaper and the queues are not as long. Bro,... been changing all over the recent holidays. My Average rates :- 1) USD : 4.4692 2) AUD : 3.2306 What do you think ?? Other forummers ? Are these rates acceptable ?? |
Jan 3 2017, 12:06 PM
-Deleted-
This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 3 2017, 02:04 PM |
Jan 3 2017, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(xpmm @ Jan 3 2017, 12:13 PM) the last time i converted when usd was 4.25. Many are expecting the Ringgit to breach the 4.5 mark now.not converting anymore after hit 4.4x because really rugi besar convert now. instead, i am looking to buy land now to preserve rm value, rubber estate as rubber price is not bad now. worse is convert convert later haul up by bnm. die If convert more than Rm3000, have to give IC. |
Jan 3 2017, 12:46 PM
Jan 3 2017, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(xpmm @ Jan 3 2017, 01:34 PM) bnm already peg, cant go up much. even if go up 4.5+ its only for a while, just wayang wayang. Yes, but only if one has the holding power.then i price my land in usd lol. Yes, but for how long. Its already costing them a lot of money. seriously, land is one of the best hedge against inflation and currency drop. |
Jan 3 2017, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 3 2017, 02:09 PM) *optimists activated* if our forefathers (fathers) and some of us can survive the 1998 Malaysian bloodbath we can survive this. we'll my family didn't we were the unlucky few who declared ourselves backcrupt and had to run to Brunei. so if I can survive that I can survive another round. this time in preparation. I do agree on that. People nowadays (you know who) have much more savings in hand and are more prudent in managing their finances compared to 1997 when most of them go "all out" because of the "vibrant" stock market back then. A lot of businessman and their businesses and even the banks are more prepared this time if there would there be another "1997" to happen again.This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 3 2017, 02:18 PM |
Jan 3 2017, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 3 2017, 02:56 PM) money changer amounts are usually small, little impact. How are the 'crooks' going to catch themselves? You already know who are the biggest 'crooks' in siphoning big sums of money out of the country.to help the RM, gomen can and should do something like china now. msia is as bad as china when it comes to illicit money outflow. but is there a will to stop the crooks from siphoning big big sums? QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 3 2017, 03:42 PM) Most fixed assets could hedge against inflation provided is fully paid off. As bank inflation rate will rise with inflation; if buy property with borrowing, not many could sustain high bank interest rate. buying domestic assets could never hedge against forex loss. Like mentioned, its just another better way of parking one's money other than saving it in the bank. Don't understand how buying domestic assets could hedge against forex loss. During cheap and easy credit period 2011-2014, substantial amount of residential loan given was subprime, flippers intended to flip upon vp, etc. As property market is not as idea as a few years, believe next banking crisis is likely subprime crisis like in the US 2006. Last I heard, NPL on residential loan has climbed by double digits % y.o.y. You are right on the High NPL rates. This I confirmed with my bankers. Not only NPL high on residential loans, car loans, personal loans and credit cards are also recording high NPLs. This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 3 2017, 04:35 PM |
| Change to: | 0.1163sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:53 PM |