Ramjade
Apr 14 2019, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 14 2019, 09:32 AM) Stupid question here: If I got foreign currency account in local banks, am I allowed to withdraw physical notes from the account? Nope. You can't do that in malaysia.. But you can do it in SG or HK. I know if you that in SG, kena charge like 1%.
Ramjade
Apr 14 2019, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 14 2019, 03:49 PM) If you go money changer, there's a spread from mid rate right? Could be hugher than 1%? Still cheaper than banks (converting cold hard cash vs attempting to TT via banks) But again as mentioned, your original question is can you withdraw cold hard foreign currency cash in Malaysia, answer is no. You can write a cheque. Not sure if super priority banking level got such feature. I am not that level yet so can't comment. My comment is for regular folks with regular bank accounts. Labuan is considered offshore. They might have that service. But this one really not sure. Not sure about SG money changer's rate. You need to manually checked out some of the best money changer's in town. http://www.thebestsingapore.com/best-place...-raffles-place/https://fxchange.sg/money-changer/best-mone...s-in-singapore/Some website that can check best rate in SG. https://get4x.com/en/singaporehttps://cashchanger.co/singaporeYou can try ask our money changer if they can provide you cold hard cash if you write them a cheque or not. Of course, not sure what you need cold hard cash for.
Ramjade
Apr 14 2019, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 14 2019, 09:59 PM) I'm just helping a friend to ask. The only official way to get cold hard cash from bank account is via SG route if one have multicurrency bank account. I have heard that some money changer in SG offfer such service (exchange cheque for cash). But that requires asking them. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 14 2019, 10:15 PM
Ramjade
Apr 15 2019, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 14 2019, 03:49 PM) If you go money changer, there's a spread from mid rate right? Could be hugher than 1%? Just confirm can. But not sure if cashier order or bank cheque.
Ramjade
Apr 15 2019, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 15 2019, 10:48 AM) SG money changer. SG banks of course can withdraw as mentioned but kena charged 1+% fees. No minimal sum to withdraw but got minimal fees. Last time can withdraw/deposit for free for free. Days of free withdrawal over. Some eg. Withdrawal/deposit foreign currency in-lieu of exchange (min. S$10) applies as follows: USD 1.5% AUD 2.5% GBP 1.5% HKD 3.0% JPY 1.5% Others 5.0% EUR 1.5% Other bank rates more or less the same. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 15 2019, 10:55 AM
Ramjade
Apr 23 2019, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(scentedfyre @ Apr 23 2019, 01:44 PM) Hello to all the sifus. I have about USD1800 in cold hard cash. Should I keep it or exchange and invest some place? Not sure what I can do with the cash but if I exchange now, will I regret later? Depends on what you want to use your cash for. USD is not welcome in Malaysia, cannot be deposited or used in Malaysia. Your only option with USD cash in Malaysia 1/ convert it to RM 2/ hold the USD cash 3/ deposit it in SG bank and kena charge 1.x% fees. 4/ Go to US on a holiday. For me I am holding USD In my account which have use as I am able to put the USD to work (buying USD denominated stocks) This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 23 2019, 02:01 PM
Ramjade
Apr 23 2019, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(scentedfyre @ Apr 23 2019, 02:15 PM) Ya, it's either option 1 or option 2 for me. Since I am dabbing into investing, I think option 1 seems more viable at the moment. If you believed in RM, then convert. If not take option 3/ and earn more USD. Of course you might think about collecting say USD4k before start investing in USD stocks.
Ramjade
May 19 2019, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 19 2019, 04:49 PM) How's your view on the current weakening of MYR against USD? On the side, does anyone do dual currency to exchange USD when rates are low? Just do what you think is right. If you think is low and want to chanfe just change.
Ramjade
May 26 2019, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 26 2019, 09:15 PM) Hi, guys... forgive me silly question, but what happens to MYR if USD slumps since we're pegged to it? RM is no longer pegged to it. Depends on reason USD slump. If is US fault then our RM will increase (like in 2008). If is other reason, our RM may go down with it.
Ramjade
May 27 2019, 07:38 AM
QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 27 2019, 12:12 AM) Ohh, we're not...so RM is a floating currency now, correct? Does that actually benefit us? I tried reading through articles on this, but nothing really made me understand how the mechanism work for us when we're no longer pegged. We do have lots of exports with US, if I'm not wrong. Thanks for putting it in layman terms for me, appreciate it. Nope. It does if our RM does not depreciate. Is based on supply and demands. If you pegged your RM, no matter how good your currency, you always need to sell your currency and buy the other currency so that your currency value cannot deviate. Likewise if the other currency is good and your currency is no good you need to keep waste money to buy the other person currency. Is good as easier for business to do business.
Ramjade
Apr 30 2020, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(powerlinkers @ Apr 30 2020, 08:31 PM) Who is he ? are your assumptions based on the 2 factors: interest rate and commodity price? Any others? He = a person (malaysian citizen) I give you some more stuff. No tourism. How is the country going to survive without oil, oil palm, tourism?
Ramjade
Apr 30 2020, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(powerlinkers @ Apr 30 2020, 08:35 PM) If you can come up with counter argument, I am all ears.
Ramjade
Jan 8 2021, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(Conslow2020 @ Jan 8 2021, 12:10 AM) Yay new intel motherboard and lian li new pc case drop price Nowwadays people use amd already.
Ramjade
Jan 8 2021, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(Conslow2020 @ Jan 8 2021, 01:22 AM) AMD new cpu hard to get no stock and need buy bundle Now everything no stock. Maybe I wait for new version release next year and buy this year edition.
Ramjade
Aug 10 2022, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 10 2022, 11:44 AM) I suspect many Msian individuals and companies have foreign currencies parked outside the ctry,... This is another true for those who knows how to invest. I have friends who are in B40, M40, they dont know how to invest and don't want to keep money overseas.
Ramjade
Sep 1 2022, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 1 2022, 08:16 PM) My only regret is, I started too late. It's never too late. I believe we will see sgd4.00 in our lifetime seeing how the country is run. I just transferred my saving silver to sg today itself. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 1 2022, 08:29 PM
Ramjade
Sep 1 2022, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 1 2022, 08:33 PM) I concur and I have the same believe on it too. SGD 4.00 and USD 5.00 within the next 5 years are plausible. Nowadays, most of my saving already in USD, left the spare funds in MYR, but i am still too late into the game, if only I see your wisdom earlier. I continue converting every spare cash from my salary I have as my goal is long term. Collect rm10k then convert.
Ramjade
Sep 1 2022, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 1 2022, 08:40 PM) Last time you used to fly to SG to convert, just curious, nowadays are you using those like Wise for conversion? Correction. I never fly. I take the train. I used Sunway money. RM30k transaction more than enough for me to convert. Their rates is as good as money changer rate. Even if rates are more expensive, sometimes the cost to travel and deposit = same as doing it online. Last time the only online service available are banks. Nowadays there are alternatives which gets the job done as good as banks but cheaper. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 1 2022, 08:44 PM
Ramjade
Sep 1 2022, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 1 2022, 09:25 PM) Which is why, I know I must ask you that question if got the opportunity. I am not aware of Sunway Money, so far I been using Wise. I will look up into it Thank you for the response and also the correction  Sunway money rates are even better than wise rates at least for SGD. Not sure about other currency.
Ramjade
Sep 1 2022, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 1 2022, 10:15 PM) I remember reading one of the post from you stating that you are actually moving from SGD to USD, you are using other avenue to convert SGD to USD? Interactive broker. Spot rate. You cannot get cheaper than interactive broker as they are giving you USD at real time market rate without any markup unlike banks.