USD/MYR v5
USD/MYR v5
Aug 11 2017, 07:13 PM
9,361 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Bro,.......
Aug 17 2017, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(dasecret @ Aug 17 2017, 02:53 PM) This is coming much sooner than I expect. Received a mail regarding my UK bank account (almost dormant) where the bank is asking for TIN (tax identification number) to comply with the CRS IRB doesn't have so much time and manpower to do all this,... The CRS site also updated to indicate that SG and MY is going to be onboard in 2018 I think This should have big impact to the bosses who have lots of cash, shares, UT outside of Malaysia. For now I think properties not on board yet You might have pay tax but if you are really good at saving up and investing, IRB may still flag the account and query you. It's the hassle that you have to go through to close the case la |
Aug 22 2017, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Aug 22 2017, 02:48 PM) Thanks for the information about retirement in Malaysia. I dont have any children and my wife is also a Malaysian citizen with Aust PR (migrated together in the late 80s). We are the same age. She has 2 units in MK (3-bedder and a studio) rented out which she bought a while ago - we will probably live in the 3-bedder when we return to KL. I was initially planning to buy another 1 or 2 apartment in MK with my retirement fund when i go back but a lot of my KL friends have advised me not to. I am now in 2 minds whether to leave my retirement fund in Aust (tax-free once we retire after 55) since the rental return on our 2 MK units are only averaging 3.8% per annum (used to be a lot higher but we had to cut rent last year to keep the Japanese tenants). My superfund gives me roughly 5-6%pa average over the last 10 years. What would you advise - to move money back or not? QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2017, 03:07 PM) Don't move all your money back. Why? In the long run, RM will depreciate. Bring back only what you need. Keep the rest in AU. If you bring back everything now, it's game over for you in the future as you cannot get more RM to spend. I agree with my bro, Ramjade,... don't withdraw everything from your Super,... just continue to enjoy the yearly 5%-6% dividend returns (assuming they are ASX stocks) and 'pullback' whatever amount you need for usage in KL later-on. YOU still have your rental income from the renting of the other unit of your M Kiara studio.The Ringgit is not a good currency moving fwd,... hold-on to your AUD,... Just curious here - why do you wish to retire in MY ? Is it because the $$$ can go a longer way here ? Or other reasons pls ? |
Aug 22 2017, 04:24 PM
Lots of pessimism,... this will translate into RM strength,....or weakness,....
https://asia.nikkei.com/Features/FT-Confide...c-among-Asean-5 Most inconfident even in Asean ?? |
Aug 22 2017, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2017, 07:07 PM) Exactly, bro,... all those talks of great achievements are not what we are feeling at our side. Things are getting more expensive, that fella is telling us to eat cheap 'kangkung' then everything will be fine but we hear so many stories and allegations of diamonds and billions gone missing,....Then when we go out of the country, everybody out there looks down on our MYR and our MYR can't buy so many things anymore,.... come on,.. Things are becoming more and more expensive as the days go by,... how-lar, bros,... What GDP growth to be proud of ? When I compare and I earn foreign currencies, I can see and feel the difference,... So, nothing to be proud of,... just stay here and live with it,... don't tell us to be proud of anything,.... and if can convert into MYR from foreign currencies earned from outside, can use that money which would be a lot and 'buy' anything we want here,... even,.... (jokingly) criminal activities,....... |
Aug 22 2017, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Aug 22 2017, 08:15 PM) Err, bro,... not really, wherever I have been travelling lately in the last few months,... I get statements like the following from foreigners :-1) Msian politicians are really,... then he did the thumbs-down sign to me,... Thailand. 2) You are not taking part in any actions to remove anyone from office ? - Australia. 3) Yeah,... that PXXX of yours, really hammered a lot,... - Singapore. Everybody outside knows now, bro,.... Other bros should try to,... Need to add this : The above will take place if they know I am from Kangkung land,... if they don't, then they won't comment like that,... Anyway,... like I always tell my friends and neighbours, if want to stay here, complain so much also no point,... just do what the Romans do, perhaps with some finesse to it,.. most important is must have $$$$$$$$,.... everything can, err,....they call it 'kautim',.... This post has been edited by Hansel: Aug 22 2017, 08:28 PM |
Aug 22 2017, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Aug 22 2017, 08:28 PM) But,... if this place os so bad,... why so many Indons, Banglas, Indians, Filipinos want to come here ?????????? Doesn't this make you all think too ??My Filipino maid commented to me once,... she came to Msia because Msia is an open country. Not Singapore or HK,... Then I asked her why open ctry ? She said rules are not so tight, and not much paperwork needed. Even the health check is not so strict, she said,... Hmm,... |
Aug 22 2017, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 22 2017, 08:43 PM) QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2017, 08:44 PM) 1. Easy to masuk 2. Money is strong (but now they start complaining that our money also drop so they get less money when send money back) 3. If kena tangkap, just deport + free food. No rotan unlike SG. 4. Become citizen (good eg. Sabah) QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Aug 22 2017, 08:48 PM) Ha ha valid point also everything $$$ payoff make Mal to become " open country QUOTE(NyD-WiLL @ Aug 22 2017, 09:02 PM) Wtf is that? Next time if rakyat complaint again, BN will ask rakyat syukur la because we are still better than South Africa. Not a good thing for us in this country if not strict, especially if the healthchk can be 'kautimmed' at FOMEMA-side... that's why we have tuberculosis again after so many yrs,... haha, my doctor told me,...If kena tangkap,... depends,... if got $$$, can be freed,... a handful will be sent back,... for the press to capture. IF got more $$$, can make permots too,.. and even more $$$, cab get red IC,... like my contractor,... can kautim JPN, pls don't ask for proof here, my contractor who extended my house told me. He even showed me his red IC,....and passport too,... but funny, he can't use that passport to go to SG,... Yes,... Msia - open country,... my maid told me,... And finally,... bros there are always lower countries than us,... if you noticed, recently,.. we are comparing ourselves to African countries... no more comparing against Asean countries,... haha,... the media 'told' me,... Looks like I got a lot of news from everywhere,... let's say only half is true,... that's bad enough,... |
Aug 22 2017, 10:37 PM
Come to think of it, all,... maybe that's why 'one' needed to have that much money. With that amount of money, can win elections,.. can have everything in this ctry,...
So,.. first thing is,... make that money first,.. and hold-on to it,... |
Aug 23 2017, 12:41 PM
I have not read everything above nor digest everything,... but my opinions have been formed along the following line :-
1) Don't throw away everything in a foreign ctry, you never know if you need to go back there one day, whether you have kids or not. 2) Msia is good when you are earning from a foreign ctry and spending in Msia. 3) Foreign ctry is good for earning their returns. 4) We feel like this because we were born here. 5) We must learn to observe and adapt to other people's environment. Then we must be 'smarter' than more than 70% of their population. See this : http://sbr.com.sg/hr-education/in-focus/si...pore-better-job No matter how good a ctry is, people still want to move. |
Aug 23 2017, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Aug 23 2017, 06:10 AM) Exactly - this is what i have been thinking. I have never in my whole working life seen such as a good exchange rate! I have no intention of ever coming back to live in Aust as i find lifestyle in KL much suited to my personality and most importantly, i have no kids! I have a big bunch of Malaysian friends all nearing retirement (in Sydney) and they have no intention of ever going back to live in Msia because they have kids and usually once you have kids, parents tend to want to live near their kids. One thing that surprise me when i am in KL is whenever i tell my friends i intend to come back to retire is they will say 'why do you want to come back? - we all want to migrate there to retire and you want to come back! Don't come back - Aust is better'. I have not met anyone of my friends who have actually encouraged me to go back to Kl to retire. This has been quite discouraging for me and it has made question my intention of retirement in KL over and over again. My wife has all her relatives in KL (none in Aust) and she will never want to live in Aust when she is older (also very cold in winter!) while i have half my relatives in Msia - cannot upset my wife as she does all the cooking and housework. Ha.Ha. Good can become even better,... hehe,... look at historical data,...Don't listen to those friends, bro,... come back and stay for sometime,.. then decide again, don't burn the bridges,... but you can't claim your franking credits anymore when you are back here, not even through your SuperA,..... I'm sure you have been claiming yr franking credits since you are retired, right ? |
Aug 23 2017, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Aug 23 2017, 01:11 PM) Once you permanently retire after 55, your retirement fund goes into pension phase where you pay 0% tax (yipee!) on all earnings (incl dividend) from the fund so you get all the franking credits back (most company pay 30% tax so you get all the 30% tax back once you retire) - don't have to worry as the superfund will work it all out for you. The govt is trying to encourage citizens to put in as much money to super (in Aust we call it super, in Msia epf)so that when you turn 67, you don't need to rely on the govt pension which is very generous (couple gets A$675/week old age pension and you can still get it eventhough you have A$800k (there is a formula where the pension cuts off completely around the A$820k (couple) and you get the full pension if you have less than A$320k). If you don't have much money in old age, Aust is the place to be but unfortunately, both my wife and my super well exceeds the A$820k limit. This is the reason why a lot of people want to come to Aust when old. Also, Aust has one of the best public hospitals in the world (i must admit that they are world class) and is free to their citizens (and PRs). 1) I'm not sure abt this,... but if you declare to the ATO that you are moving out, what effects will take place onto your SuperA, especially with regards to the franking credits of yr security holdings inside the SuperA ? I have read something abt this, but listening first-hand to you would be better.Or,............ no need to tell the ATO ? 2) Yes, good public hospitals,... but still for many cases,... must queue too and the wait is long for many types of cases, eg at the King George Hospital in Sydney on the way to Qantas Drive,... no different from Sgp public hospitals,.... So, to 'move up the queue', then better to pay,... back to square one,... And if needed to pay, then coming back to Msia to pay is better, depending on the treatment needed,... Err,... sidetracked a bit,... added : I heard from some fellas in SG that if you hold First REIT or PLife REIT units long enough, can get some special prices for critical cases,... don't know how true,... I never asked before,... never fallen sick to such levels,... thank God,... This post has been edited by Hansel: Aug 23 2017, 01:26 PM |
Aug 23 2017, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Aug 23 2017, 01:39 PM) You raised something very interesting here - i would have assumed superfund is our retirement money so basically it is our savings so upon retirement surely the govt cannot force us not to live elsewhere (or penalize us by having to pay tax just because we elect to live in another country). I suspect they don't see too many cases like me who wants to retire overseas permanently with their superfund in Aus). I know with the Govt old age pension (at age 67), they will stop giving you if you leave Aust for more than 6 weeks (or something like that) as they feel that if you have enough money to go overseas for so long surely you don't need government help. Okay, bro,... just follow their rules if possible,... The gov'ts of the world will pullback their (hmm, forgot the word,.. too many replies here and there in the forum this afterneen,...),.. when one is NOT staying in that country. IT's not because of that reason you stated,... I think,... But,.. they just want you to stay INSIDE that ctry in order to enjoy those privileges,.. err,.. don't know how to say this,.. I'm still discussing with the angmohs and with IRAS,... ERR, UNLESS THEY DON'T KNOW THAT THE RESIDENT HAS MOVED OUT. Only our PNB is the most generous of all,.... hahaha,.... even they know some did not come also, they will still leave their accounts open to collect 7% dividend per year,.... |
Aug 23 2017, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Aug 23 2017, 02:06 PM) I have just verified with my superfund - we can elect to live anywhere in the world and it will not make any difference as it is our savings unlike welfare from the govt. The govt is quite happy with this arrangement because the govt is under so much burden with welfare (people are saying Aust will eventually end up like Greece because of the welfare that they are pumping out). This is why the govt gives us incentive like 15% tax only when you put into super (this is really good for higher income earners) but you are limited to only $25k a year. Appreciated the update very much, bro,... tq.So,... for you, the next step is if you intend to port your funds back to MY for yr regular expenses, you will need an economical method to do so. Charges for withdrawal with ATM Card is high,... but this word 'high' is relative,... You can also log-on to your bank acct internet sessions to perform TT,... BUT,.. if you bring back cash to KL, you can chg for better rates at the money-changers,... however, this is impossible if you are staying for long in KL... |
Aug 24 2017, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 23 2017, 11:39 PM) You actually have option to choose your place of retirement You retirement expert or something, bro ??? Many here in Malaysia do not have the choice. Count your option as a blessing Retirement is a long term plan. Which needs decades of planning. It's good you are thinking of it now since it is still about 20 years away...Recently there are 2 person here asking about retirement, and they have to make their hasty decision about where to retire and if they have enough to retire. That is really bad (or no) planning. Doubts and uncertainties about the future is the last thing they want just before retirement Retirement is about living an easy and exciting life without the worry of finances and schedule. Doing things we cannot afford the money and time when we are still working. Without good planning, we will instead put ourselves into a stressful position in a stage where our age is not flexible enough to make quick changes. Good to be young, and all the best to you in your planning ! |
Aug 25 2017, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 24 2017, 11:59 PM) Not expert, but speaking from experience Now in my 50s, can retire, but still have business to pass my time. Have option living in my, sg, au, uk. Of the 4 countries, I like au the best...and my is second My personal opinion on where to retire : if you have money, anywhere is good QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 25 2017, 12:10 AM) Yeah, bro,.. happy for you,...Agreed that if have $$$,... there are more options available,... Liking which ctry the best, perhaps there is an overall measurement,... but for myself, I find that at times, I like this place, and at another time, due to events, I start like another place,... this opinion keeps changing,... so, I've decided to go with my taste there and then and go to where my heart yearns for. But for now, I'm still working, so must carry out my responsibilities. My investments in many places worldwide will take me to a variety of places since I invested into their capital mkts,... such as attending their AGMs, EGMs, seminars, nominee bank representations, 'shareholder arbitrations',... events that only direct equity-holders can participate in. Just some stories abt my side,.. |
Aug 28 2017, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 28 2017, 10:55 AM) $ falling n falling... index at 92.44. That's the problem with the USD,... never stable,... and now that debt ceiling hoo-haa is coming again. DT said he doesn't mind the US gov't defaulting again,... helps those buying $ now with RM. no help for other major currencies... SGD, AUD, Euro... Euro at 2.5 yr high against $. |
Aug 28 2017, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Aug 28 2017, 03:41 PM) Yes, I am keen to know the source of Rothschild throwing USDs too,... I know abt turbulence creating opportunity, but for myself, I would prefer to invest with more certainly,... and less volatility, for I do not need large returns. When I first started out, and with less $$$ in hand, then I would take bigger chances, hoping to earn more. ... which in a way, I did. Today, with the warchest in hand already, I'd rather play a safe game and earn slowly, which is still more than enough for me to beat inflation,... Hence, I do not need turbulence, I am looking for a larger percentage of certainty. |
Sep 7 2017, 11:05 PM
Sep 7 2017, 11:40 PM
| Change to: | 0.1143sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:00 PM |