USD/MYR v5

Hansel
post Jul 12 2017, 04:08 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 12 2017, 01:34 PM)
Spot on bro! You got my point. Why fret when there is nothing much you can do about it. Just go with the flow, while being smarter. Policies will get changed as it time passes. People always mention, business is hard nowadays. Why didnt you capitalize last time when you had the chance?
That's why I preferred to invest out of this country, bro,... just can't handle the 'double-standard thinking' that I have to adopt in this country,... at least can't take it 24 hours of the day,...
Hansel
post Jul 12 2017, 04:23 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 12 2017, 02:52 PM)
Its not that bro, talking about politics in this thread is not allowed.  laugh.gif
Though I do agree that is what ths Chinese community are doing. Just keep your heads down and concentrate in making money. But yeah, certain issues will arise and will come back to us and in the end, we will stand to lose more.
Yeah,... make money and send the children out to other opportunities in the rest of the world,... they may or may not do well, but at least, give them a chance. Encourage them to succeed overseas, help them wherever possible,... earn a good and proper currency besides the weak MYR. They can come back for holidays if they wished to,...but not build their careers here in Malaysia.

Malaysia has turned into a bad country,... unfortunately...we, as the earlier generations have no choice because we have our foundations here, but try to help our younger ones get a chance to earn a stronger currency outside. There is no perfect country,... there are different sets of problems everywhere,... but I know our MYR is a lousy and doomed currency,...

Problem is,....... the world is beginning to close its doors, and the rate is speeding up after President Trump came into the picture. So,... if want to invest outside, better open accounts earlier, start to learn earlier,... invest earlier,... and if wishes to send the children out, send them out earlier,...
Hansel
post Jul 12 2017, 05:15 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 12 2017, 05:09 PM)
You are right bro.  thumbsup.gif  Both of us think alike.  But others might call us selfish and ungrateful but I think one's survival is dependant on himself/herself. So its every man for himself. Dont come complain later when you fail to make it (like some do) and say others took your opportunity. Its your own fault that you failed to grab it when it was there.
Thats why it pisses me off when others call the Chinese community "Pendatang" or whatever shit. Do they realise how much taxes these "Pendatang" pays every year compared to some others who pay to a fund so that they can go for pilgrimage. Im not questioning any of their believes but do have a heart for those who pay through their noses in taxes for the developement of the country.
Emm,... I noticed that even staff of local authorities today say it's important that one takes care of himself,... they say even the ministers and the 'first official' do the same, so,... trend is all must grab opportunities. The earlier days of the role of governments creating opportunities for the people is gone,... It's just that no one is allowed to talk about this openly,...

Err,... taxes-wise,... if you invest in foreign countries, you mist also pay the appropriate taxes,...

One reason for the weak MYR : http://www.finews.asia/index.php?option=co...er-12-july-2017
Hansel
post Jul 12 2017, 06:06 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 12 2017, 05:59 PM)
Einstein... insanity is doing the same things over and over again and hope to get different results.

Ok, some people probably will say he was an idiot, there are geniuses here like mox.
Bro,... we don't really know their ulterior motives and objectives,... they may actually want the MYR to be weak, so that they can keep controlling the people in this country, and it will not be easy for us to travel and to get educated. They themselves hold lots of foreign currencies overseas, hence their positions are already hedged.

Like what some 'elites' in this country told me,... this is a good country for the rich, because money can 'kautim' everything,... hence, with a weak country and people who 'remain as slaves' to them, they will continue to wield power in this country,...

Who would want to lose such power ??
Hansel
post Jul 13 2017, 10:16 AM

9,361 posts

One main reason why the RM keeps weakening against the other currencies in the world...

Don't be misled by the Malaysian media saying that the RM is strengthening. What the media is saying is the RM is strengthening vs the USD ONLY - that's all ! The RM continues
to weaken against the other currencies of the world.

July 12, 2017

Yeo Jiawei, a former banker serving the longest jail term in Singapore’s probes linked to 1Malaysia Development Bhd., admitted to money laundering.

Yeo, who also pleaded guilty Wednesday to cheating his former employer, was handed a 30-month term in December on charges of trying to tamper with witnesses in the probe.

The former BSI SA wealth planner’s admission of guilt comes after the Monetary Authority of Singapore wrapped up a two-year probe into fund flows related to the Malaysian investment fund. Prosecutors identified Yeo as a central figure linked to Malaysian financier Low Taek Jho, who was characterized by U.S. investigators as the controller of a plan to drain billions from 1MDB.

The Malaysian fund, at the heart of several money laundering and corruption probes across the globe, has consistently denied any wrongdoing. Low has previously described his role with 1MDB as informal consulting that didn’t break any laws.

Yeo had referred to Low as “boss” and spent at least one night at his house, according to earlier court proceedings. Yeo said it was a misunderstanding that he worked for Low.

Singapore has imposed a total of S$29.1 million ($21 million) in penalties on eight banks as part of its 1MDB probes. Credit Suisse Group AG and United Overseas Bank Ltd. were among the firms that paid penalties, while BSI and Falcon Private Bank Ltd. were also ordered to shut their local operations. Five people, including Yeo, have been convicted in Singapore, the only country so far to have criminally charged bankers.

Hansel
post Jul 18 2017, 01:23 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 18 2017, 01:15 PM)
SGD is 3.13x again.

AUD.. almost 4.4 again.

Thai Baht.. RM1 can now buy 7.8 baht only.

congrats to those holding wealth in these currencies.

Becos USD falling n falling... RM falls with it.

$ index now only 94.6.
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Tq bro,... but I don't have Thai Baht,....
Hansel
post Jul 18 2017, 03:31 PM

9,361 posts

Looks like the moment the RM starts to strengthen against the other major currencies, we have to set a target and aim to convert over already,... We must not wait anymore,.... this is another big lesson learnt this time.
Hansel
post Jul 19 2017, 02:05 PM

9,361 posts

I think there will be another chance,... just don't know how soon it will be !
Hansel
post Jul 26 2017, 01:42 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 26 2017, 09:15 AM)
Sgd just went up 3.135 , while Aud is maintaining 3.4.
QUOTE(kopifan @ Jul 26 2017, 11:06 AM)
It is approaching 3.15 on NDF  cry.gif while AUD awaiting RBA governor to speak
SGD to turbo boost to 3.32 by this Nov?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 26 2017, 11:30 AM)
I already mentioned that this would be inveitable. However, the SGD and AUD did dip a bit before raya. Those who didnt grab the opportunity could only have themselves to blame.
Thank God I exchanged out a big percentage of my PNB Fixed Price Funds since end-2015,.... AND MANAGED TO INVEST THOSE FUNDS SUCCESSFULLY IN THE asx AND sgx. Today I'm EARNING SGD and AUD to fund my family staying in Australia,... otherwise, if needing to convert like this always,.. very expensive.

Added : Thanks to the 'great scare' back in 2015 saying that the Fixed Price Funds MAY change into Variable Price Funds in 2016,... this prompted me to take big actions to evaluate my investments in PNB. That was when I took out my passbooks to see how much I have,... I never looked at my passbooks for many years.

So,... things always happened for a reason,... karma or God's Will,... or whatever, but a scare turned into a great outcome,... for me,.. Appreciated the discussions here in this Lowyat forum,....

This post has been edited by Hansel: Jul 26 2017, 01:49 PM
Hansel
post Jul 26 2017, 01:50 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(this1when1 @ Jul 26 2017, 01:24 PM)
How do you guys thing the MYR will do against the Aussie and New Zealand dollar over the next 12 months? Will it depreciate further or is it as low as it's going to be? I have about 100k AUD and 60k NZD and am wondering when is the best time to exchange to MYR. Wait for a year or do it now?
Bro,... go find a way to invest this AUD and NZD to earn more of such currencies... don't change back into the MYR,... just chg back whatever you need to use only,...
Hansel
post Jul 26 2017, 01:53 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 26 2017, 01:48 PM)
Good move bro.. at least the future of your family is secured now in Aus. One question, investing in the Asx and Sgx does comes with risks. So you full time change is looking at the stock exchange right now?
Not really,... but I do a lot of reading and talking here and there,... I still want to work,... if don't work, the body will get sick,....

Added: Err bro,... no country is perfectly safe and perfectly secure,... one needs to adapt, to have $$$ and to be 'smarter' than 70% of the general population. Living in Malaysia also demands such qualities. The qualities required are different in different countries.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Jul 26 2017, 01:57 PM
Hansel
post Jul 26 2017, 02:07 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(this1when1 @ Jul 26 2017, 02:01 PM)
So bro, you don't see the MYR picking up against these currencies anytime soon? Why is this bro when historically MYR has never been as low against these two currencies so I would have thought it has reached its floor and can only go up, right? Do you think it will go down even more in a year's time? Thanks.
The concept of flooring must be supported by fundamentals. I don't see any positive fundamentals for the MYR in the near future,... The other thing is,... if you are working in Msia, you will be earning the MYR continuously,... so,... it's better to diversify out your currency holdings,....
Hansel
post Jul 26 2017, 02:33 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(this1when1 @ Jul 26 2017, 02:20 PM)
Hansel,

Fair enough. I am currently working in NZ and was in Australia before that. Aim is to return home in 5 years time and hence the question. In your opinion, assuming  BN wins the next elections, do you think this will have a negative or positive impact on the MYR? Thanks.
Then it depends on your long term plans,... if it's me,.. I'll buy one house in MY, one house in SG and one house at another place,... this becomes more complicated,.. you have to think what you wanted in life,... BUT,..............

Hmm,... I will still continue to earn the stronger currencies, just convert back enough to pay cash for a house, but don't buy investment props and investment assets in MY.

Err,... caveat is if you have an unfair advantage,... then YES, you can 'makan' the Malaysians' money,... hard to explain like this,... Err,... it's like this : I was told by a minister's son once that his father can earn more money in Malaysia than if his father needs to work outside of Malaysia,... this is what we called an unfair advantage,... so,... it's not all bad in MY,... it' just that you needed certain exceptional qualities.

But yeah,... if you are talking about earning more money in a normal working way, or using regulated investment instruments, then it's better outside, generally,...
Hansel
post Jul 26 2017, 02:46 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 26 2017, 02:35 PM)
Yes, I concur to that. But the issue lies in that the miniorities here are and will continue to be surpressed due to population declination and this will ultimately cost you your say and rights. Those who has already realized this are looking at greener pastures elsewhere where everyone will be treated equally and will have the same opportunities and those countries will be developed countries like Australia, The UK, Singapore etc. Hence those who realized early have already moved their family and their wealth to these countries so that their family members could have a more secured future.

Back to the question, Wont playing with the asx or sgx be a bit risky? Of course I understand that there would definately be risks associated with this, but are there other worthy investsments other than this overseas?
OK, bro,... to yr first para,... had to talk here,... too wide a topic, and highly an individualised matter,... to cut it short,...just send the kids out, they can adapt better and faster.

To yr second para,... I don't understand yr question : do you mean to say if there are better investments than the ASX and SGX locally in Msia ? Or in AU and in SG ?
Hansel
post Jul 26 2017, 04:46 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jul 26 2017, 04:16 PM)
In this case, also good for those Malaysian have CPF account in Spore right!
Definitely,... but you can only take yr funds at a very late stage,... if you can get better returns from outside, then it's not that good anymore,...
Hansel
post Jul 26 2017, 04:53 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 26 2017, 02:52 PM)
Both of us share the same ideology.  laugh.gif We can see whats coming to us.

Im saying in Au or Sg.
Good insight there. But knowing me, I dont want the extra headache of looking after too many things, especially when they are so far of us. If you get what Im trying say.
Hmm,... don't want to watch/monitor ?..... something like the PNB Fixed Priced funds,... I don't know of any besides FDs and TDs in Australia,... but today,... the FDs and TDs are too low in returns,....
Hansel
post Jul 27 2017, 04:45 PM

9,361 posts

Those holding more foreign currencies now can count their blessings, and can weave a sigh of relief for making this decision many years ago,... the time has come,....
Hansel
post Aug 2 2017, 10:35 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 2 2017, 06:35 AM)
The real concern here for Najib and Malaysia is that this failure come up with any cash has not only proved what we all knew about 1MDB (that it’s broke), but it has proved what those in the know already knew about its guarantor, Malaysia’s Ministry of Finance.  Najib hasn’t even been able to find the money to PRETEND that the debt was paid by 1MDB.

Najib now has five days to twist arms in the Treasury, Petronas or somewhere else to cough this huge sum up. Resources abroad have been frozen across the globe, thanks to being mired in Malaysia’s web of suspicious transactions.  As one market watcher has remarked to Sarawak Report:

“If Najib can’t pay by today he won’t be able to pay by next week"

If that really is the case, then, as predicted by those who expected Najib to go to the polls in July, the consequences over the next days will be disastrous.  Malaysia will go into default and the ringgit will start to free-fall.

http://www.sarawakreport.org/2017/08/bugis...s-out-of-steam/

mof 1mdb najib or malaysia as a whole dont have that money, ringgit is going to fall again next week.
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Aug 2 2017, 10:01 AM)
1mdb debt to ipic is explicitly guaranteed by mof; default on 1mdb debt could cause a cross default which bnm and mof would try to avoid. in the unlikely event of default, the implication goes beyond free fall of myr forex rate. a more serious consequence would be exodus of mgs and bursa by foreigners.

a signal of concern will be bnm hold up foreign proceeds and delay expatriation of foreign currency for a few days to pay for this debt.
The writings above are indeed scary,....

BUT, somehow,... things will soon be quiet again and events go back to being normal again,... yeah, perhaps the RM will fall further, but that's normal, right ??
Hansel
post Aug 2 2017, 02:54 PM

9,361 posts

Strong comments against our ctry and us,.... 'thick skin' ??

http://www.finews.asia/services/web-s-best...-02-august-2017
Hansel
post Aug 2 2017, 07:16 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Aug 2 2017, 06:09 PM)
Well said bro. Thats why I said, its every man for himself. Those fortunate and capable ones have already sent their families and wealth overseas so that they could have a better future. For the rest of us here, its how you make do with what we have that ensures our survival. So if you dont do it, dont blame others for what you failed to see. It has been mentioned many times in this thread and those here should know better.
Bro,.... thumbsup.gif

But there was an emotional write-up earlier from another topic,... and I find this write-up,.. quite, well,.. true too,...however, can I have your comments please ? If the below is true, then many people are indeed caught in a dead-end situation in this country,....

Write-up as below by another forummer, bro,.. would appreciate your comments,...

When you have your job, your family, your kids, and eventually your parents that need your care. That's the time you realize. What your concept telling only applicable to those who are young, and do not have any high commitment yet.

Everyone have their own portfolio in saving or even go to investment. You cant say those who not agree to you is entirely wrong. Or those who agree with you are your allies.

Every family have different condition.

As long a we have our own portfolio that can give us a good future. That's it. Y'all cant force people going to this and that. Y'all cant change people is doing the correct thing. Yes, one may save less than you, less wealth than you, as long as they happy, and doing thing all right. What's the problem?

Not everyone want to become the slave of the money.

I rather the money work for me according to my wish.

I have that amount, I save that, from small perhaps in 10 years only able to buy some good stocks. Buying stock now is impossible for me.

I have my work, my study, my ptptn to pay off, my parents etc etc. Thus, I save bit by bit using my own instrument.

Sometimes I need vacation, I go, I need some good food for my parents I buy, I need to have my favourite gadget, I buy once in a blue moon, my car serve me well, that also I service accordingly. Why the hell I need to be the slave of money?

ASx and FSM is now my favourite. Why because this is the only I can save bit by bit. And at the same time open up radar on prop.

When come to investment, no one is wrong and no one is entirely correct.

Those in which initially rich and have a decent jobs for years, yes you can but this and that.

Why not you turn your perception on a middle income family, that have people to feed?

Hell no way you ask that person to quit his job and become plumber or barber in AU. That's a very high risk gambling. For me if that person have their own prop, car, FD. For me its good. And let their kid to have good edu in overseas, that's good.

And come to comparing, eliminate the jumpstart heaven package, people living in urban and living in outskirt have hell lot of different.

A friend of mine, a gov school teacher, she herself is a good saver and previously working in small district in Pahang, for 6 years. Save like mad, but having small vacation in MY thrice a year. Eat well, all well. Transfer to big city in KV can buy a 2 storey house and a myvi. So that's a bad saving huh? If she go stock market sure become Jack Ma? No, because she has no knowledge and people to teach her. Ands even yes, she may can go wrong, all saving become what? Dust? You can say she isn't good enough why no do homework etcetc. Now you have to know diff job have diff work load.
Teacher nowadays not easy also. 6 am to 4 pm. Go back home need do paperwork. Hold a few position in school. Then weekend need go school tuition. Prepare paper work. If I am she, I rather have my free time to relax. Hell no read index and news.

But those big bosses earn big money without doing anything, they deserve a slap then.

Its all down to your perception. You rich you lucky. If no rich, start from bottom slow and steady. From local derivative to foreign exposure. That's it. why so hurry and becoming slave to currency?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

22 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.1146sec    1.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:18 PM