Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V39

The Red Giant Warrior
post Dec 19 2016, 10:32 AM

13 posts

Guys, I just started with Gunpla again after been hiatus for 10+ years

Previously I never had an experience with dry transfer sticker and top coat. So I have a few questions to ask before I start with my MG Strike RM ver.

1. Normal MG (non KA ver) use dry transfer am I correct? It is easy to make a mistake when applying this sticker?

2. Top coat should be applied before or after panel lining + applying sticker?

Thanks smile.gif

BTW, Litt Tak Store at Sg. Wang still available? Its been a while since the last time I go to Sg.Wang so I'm not sure if the store is still there or not.

This post has been edited by The Red Giant Warrior: Dec 19 2016, 11:23 AM
The Red Giant Warrior
post Dec 19 2016, 12:00 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Dec 19 2016, 11:44 AM)
1. Dry transfer is a pain in the ass, the bigger they are the harder to get it right. Its the easiest among the 4 types of decals/stickers to be ruined while applying. Look up tutorial in youtube to c how u can apply this.

2. Depends. Top coat has 3 kinds of finishes, gloss, semi gloss, and flat. The optimum surface to panel lining and decaling is gloss, if u plan to apply it straight on to bare plastic u dun nid to coat anything beforehand cuz gunpla bare plastic is gloss enough to begin with. If u prime, paint or sand ur kit then u should gloss coat it 1st before panel lining and decaling. At any rate, u must coat it after panel lining and decaling with whatever finishing coat u wan.

bare plastic --> panel line / decals --> whatever finishing coat u wan
bare plastic --> sand / prime / paint --> gloss coat --> panel line / decals --> whatever finishing coat u wan

Of cuz the above is the optimum way of doing things, its kinda time consuming and cost alot to do so. I kinda take shortcut whenever i can, up to u to experiment on where u wan to take shortcuts.
Ok thanks mate for the advice smile.gif

Btw, anyone know if Litt Tak store at Sg. Wang still available?

0.0890sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:43 PM