Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V39

Cactite
post Dec 12 2016, 09:24 AM

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Dec 12 2016, 09:10 AM)
Went to ikea yesterday, checking out the detolf, still wonder if the detolf can fit psycho zaku  biggrin.gif
Seriously doubt it. Sazabi Ver Ka takes up half the shelf, as I was trying to pose it and Nu fighting in 1 shelf, and it did go in but just barely with Nu. That tank won't fit, but if you take it off it might fit while taking up the full shelf.
Cactite
post Apr 2 2017, 11:58 AM

Wanna ask, what is the market like for gunpla commissions and painted kits? I don't mean to earn money from it but I like to assemble and paint, then I don't have enough space to keep all so if can sell it would be nice.

So basic plan is to paint it myself, no real customization work most of the times but masked for color apps and only using stickers for eyes, then sell for original kit price + maybe 20% extra cost.

Most I deal with are HG if that is relevant, but MG from time to time.
Cactite
post Apr 2 2017, 01:05 PM

I thought maybe some guys wanna collect kits but dislike stickers, and I can mask the parts to paint.

But if the market is not there, only option is to wind down. Hate having a gundam graveyard. Even looking at extra parts pile is sad to me, since I don't have a place to recycle them
Cactite
post Apr 19 2017, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(cacin @ Apr 18 2017, 09:08 PM)
Few years back, when I check with Red Comet in Penang, I was quoted rm300 for an MG Wing Zero Custom complexity. If you go for Sazabi Ver KA, it can reach more than rm500. Considering the skills that these guys have based on their warhammer figures, I don't doubt the price because you can ask them to colour the kit however you would like it.

I would think that there are some folks that have money to accumulate a lot of backlogs but no time to build them in their lifetime. So, they commission it out.

your + 20% extra costs won't be able to make up for the cost of the paints, decals and time. But, if what you wanted is the joy of building such kits before selling them off, then it is up to you smile.gif

Attached was my first commission job. I just started taking commission last year. I might stop once I completed my fifth commission due to work tongue.gif

Nonetheless, you can view my FB public albums.

MG DOM
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1...=1&l=ca28c888fc

MG NU Ver KA
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1...=1&l=79076a72c4

Other Personal Builds
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1...=1&l=79dcbb4acd
Thanks for the info. RM 300 for a MG Wing Zero is kinda crazy. I would be happy if a Wing Zero of mine sold for RM 200.

Here are some of my Recent Builds

As you can see, the painting is mostly very basic. I think the stuff I plan to sell will be closer to the HG The End in that album. Basic painting/masking and cleaning up marks. Almost no mods except sharpening V Fin. The black, purple, body grey and face(s) are painted

I don't plan to earn money from it, but the kit + 20% of the kit cost allows me to build and have fun, then get some of my spending back.

So where do you take commissions and how to get started? What is it like? Are there deadlines? How do you set the price and discuss the project? I think I want to try one commission to see if it fits me.

Thanks for your time.

This post has been edited by Cactite: Apr 19 2017, 07:47 PM
Cactite
post Apr 23 2017, 04:32 PM

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Apr 23 2017, 09:31 AM)
Hmm seems like no active news from gundamguy blog recently...wonder what happened?
From what I heard/read, seems like they're closing and that's it. Now I just go to Gundamkitscollection.
Cactite
post May 10 2017, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(lol4291 @ May 9 2017, 07:36 PM)

I’ve build a few gunpla models, did some basic detailing. I want to try painting them and I have a few questions regarding it.

1. I’ll be in the hobby for a long time smile.gif Is it better to invest in an airbrush set or is hand painting good?

2. Supposed the best way is to invest in airbrush set, what is the minimum amount I should spend for an airbrush set [along with the necessary accessories]?

3. Can I run/use airbrush for long period of time? If not, what can I do to increase the working time?

4. Are Tamiya Paints the best options for beginners? What other paints brands I can go for? Acrylics are safer, correct?

5. Do I need to prime all my models? I read that just washing the parts with soapy water and drying them would be enough. How true is this?

6. Are these steps correct?
Primer/Wash with soap water -> Paint -> Top Coat [Glossy] -> Panel Lining + Decals -> Top Coat [Flat]

7. I've seen video/read articles saying that you can use 91% Isopropyl alcohol to thin Tamiya Acrylic paint as they as similar to then thinner sold by Tamiya. Is this true?

As to practice, I might get a few SD or FG kits and try on them. And I’m just curious, what is the typical pricing for Tamiya paints?

Thanks in advance.
1. Hand painting is quite rewarding but also very slow. It is hard to get even surfaces like the airbrush but overall you can get OK finishes with practice. No matter what, if you are in for the long term, I think hand painting is a must, at least for painting details and weathering etc.

Airbrushing is very good investment IMO. Paint is a lot cheaper compared to Spray but almost the same as hand brushing since they use the same types. But the upkeep is a little high in terms of cost and effort, cause you need to buy washing solution and others. Airbrushing is recommended if you really want to paint, and love doing it. Personally, I have AB but I actually don't enjoy the process, so a bit wasted but I still feel like the investment was worth it.

2. This 1 I can't answer, don't keep up w brands and prices. But I do recommend getting the cheaper, electronic AB without compressor. I saw a lot of posts using them and they say it is easier to use. Also should get proper safety gear like respiratory mask and painting booth.

3. The main problem with using AB for long periods is the compressor overheating in my personal exp. Just buy better compressor? But even with my cheap compressor, before it overheats I usually finish my session. Cause there is a lot of waiting for paints to dry, and in between that you can clean the AB or prep some pieces. No need to rush through 3 colors in 1 session IMO.

4. Acrylics are safer from what I hear, while lacquer I hear is bad even with masks. Wear proper safety gear. As for brands, I am only familiar with lacquers, in which I like Gaia>Modo>Mr Hobby. I don't think any brands are "better for beginners". Just the chem components might be different, so you have to find what you like.

5. I still recommend priming. Washing with soapy water is to get rid of the residue on the kits, which has caused problems with paint sticking yes, but still need a good surface for paint to stick to. Alternative for priming is to sand your pieces so the surface is rough, which helps paint stick.

6. Yes, clean before priming. Personally I don't top coat before decals because I haven't had silvering issue, but some people have so you can experiment 1st.

7. Not very sure either, cause I did try to use the "thinner" from local hardware shops. Those cheap 1s like... Cap Kuda I think. The result is not very good. But also I tried at a time when I was a beginner.

8. If not mistaken, Tamiya paints should go for 10-12 for a standard short bottle. Some shops would sell them at 1-4 ringgit higher than that which is to be expected. Honestly like some said, it is harder and harder to get a good supplier for paints and supplies. For now I use Jshobby and Becky Customizer but both don't have huge variety of stock.

-------

Hope this helps. I'm not pro but just casual builder, so maybe someone here can help better.
Cactite
post May 11 2017, 04:01 PM

Hate to be the guy.. but damn I think too many BF kits this time around. Hoping for new HGs or maybe some MGs for the later half of the year but ntg til ZZ. Also ZZ in Sept? So either Bandai breaking tradition or they still got something hidden for Dec?
Cactite
post May 11 2017, 05:57 PM

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ May 11 2017, 04:40 PM)
If you remember, MG Sinanju Stein ver Ka released on February 2013 MG Hi Nu ver Ka on August 2014 and MG FA Gundam Thunderbolt ver Ka on July 2016. No tradition that ver Ka must release on December.

Gotta agree this year MG release is too damn low.
Exclude P-Bandai, we only got MG GM Sniper II, Providence, Justice and ZZ ver Ka this year. Thats only 4.

4 MGs per year?
But I think usually every year Bandai saves 1 big kit or cool kit for holidays, like FA Gundam TB is July but Psycho Zaku in Dec, 2013 Hi Nu Feb but big kit is Sazabi Dec, and so on. 4 MG I think is decent amount if they are different builds, and maybe spread out over the year. MG Sniper is sort of a 2.0 kit, but I still count it as new, but justice and providence is using Freedom 2.0 frame. Then ZZ I'm not really interested so far...

But mostly I just wish not all kits were BF, they are very nice, and I will prob buy a few, but I just wish had more variety.
Cactite
post May 11 2017, 07:17 PM

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ May 11 2017, 07:08 PM)
But they made MG V2 Gundam ver Ka on December 2015. That is small kit and plain unlike his variation V2 Assault Buster. No signature whether the kit is bigger or cooler, if they feel like to release it.
Well yes, V2 isn't big in size but a "big" kit drawing people cz of the transformation gimmick. Point is, if ZZ is Sept, maybe there's still something in Dec, as Bandai always have saves 1 MG for Dec.

0.0694sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:56 AM