Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V39

Jet23sky
post Jan 30 2018, 02:44 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Guys, any recommended website for me to purchase Gunpla? (in Malaysia)

Also, I plan to get the gunpla cutter knife and some panel paint in Japan. Will there be any custom clearance problem due to sharp cutter?
Jet23sky
post Feb 1 2018, 01:27 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Jan 30 2018, 04:38 PM)
Gunpla cutter knife shouldn't be a problem. Though paint might have problem if ship using air. Didn't noticed you meant going to Japan and bring them back. No problem if you store them inside your check-in luggage.
Thanks for the info. Just wanna check, how many bottle of panel paint I need to get for 3 PG and 6 MG? Also, I plan to repaint the strike freedom MG 1/100 puke gold to gold, will one bottle of gold paint enuf? Any recommended gold paint brand to get?
Jet23sky
post Feb 1 2018, 04:18 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Feb 1 2018, 02:18 PM)
Might depends on whether you hand-paint or airbrush. The latter more efficient in regard of the amount of paint needed. For the Strike Freedom MG 1/100 puke gold, one bottle is enough. To save abit more on the paint, don't apply the gold to the whole frame; just apply to parts where they are visible, unless you want to display it without outer armor.
Thanks. I do not think I will be using air brush, most likely is just the Tamiya kind of line panel paint to dip the paint into the place and wipe it out.
Jet23sky
post Mar 21 2018, 05:39 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Good timing for deepstrike out, just a right time for me to get it during Japan trip next month. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Jet23sky
post Mar 22 2018, 01:01 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Mar 21 2018, 07:56 PM)
Why would you get it in Japan next month? Save your luggage space for something else, you can already get it locally by then.
Maybe cheaper. I guess. Hehe
Jet23sky
post May 13 2018, 02:26 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Hi guys, is there any recommended online gundam shop which is price reasonable? I only need to get those normal gundam version ( not those like mandrake type of rare model )
Jet23sky
post May 14 2018, 11:33 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

I need you guys expertise on the gunpla as I am going to start my gunpla build up after purchase quite a number of gundam from my Japan trip.

I bought these tools from Japan as well. These are based on the guide online via website or youtube.

For compound, I understand that the sequence is based on the smallest number to largest number.

The cutter is for cutting plastic.

The sand paper is to remove the nub significantly in sequence starting from the lowest number to the highest number. But I am not sure whether I got the correct sand paper or not

I will be getting the rest of the tool kit here.

Line Paneling Paint ( Brown, Grey and Black )
Hobby Knife ( Any recommendation? )
Tamiya Thinner ( For excessive line removal, is it necessary? )
Small Cutting Mat
Tamiya Gold Paint ( For strike freedom )

You guys can share the quantity I need to get to build the following number of gundam.

I have 2 PG, 9 MG and 2 RG to build.

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: May 14 2018, 11:33 AM
Jet23sky
post May 15 2018, 10:30 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 14 2018, 02:10 PM)
My personal preference:

Standard stationery cutter is fine, but use high quality blade, usually made in Japan (e.g. NDT). Can be found at dedicated art or stationeries shops.

You can purchase 99% IPA from Shopee or Lazada, works well as alternative to Tamiya own thinner, but not quite with Mr. Color paints.
May I know how long do I need to change the blades? The Tamiya Hobby Knife is kinda expensive. ( Around RM40 -RM60 )
Do you have any brand specific made of Japan? There are too many different brand of hobby knife outside. I tried to google NDT but I can't find anything.

What is IPA? What brand did you get for Thinner?

One question, I would like to paint inner frame of strike freedom to gold. Should I just get the spray paint of Tamiya or get the paint and apply it using brush?

QUOTE(kimirockz @ May 14 2018, 11:24 PM)
interested to know what kit u bought
Don't hammer me that I bought these normal model instead of mandrake. laugh.gif

PG - Gundam Unicorn, Gundam Unicorn Banshee
MG - Duel, Buster, Aegis, Justice, Unicorn Phenex, Freedom, Infinite Justice, Strike freedom, Providence
RG - Destiny, Unicorn Banshee

FYI. No issue getting through Singapore Custom. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: May 15 2018, 02:59 PM
Jet23sky
post May 17 2018, 05:19 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

After reading some topic regarding sanding. It seems like I bought wrong number of sandpaper. Instead of getting 400 and 600, I should get 800 and 2000. Lucky the sand paper is not expensive.

do you guys usually get the sand paper in bar or just one piece and cut it yourself?
Jet23sky
post May 18 2018, 02:48 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ May 18 2018, 09:04 AM)
you worry so much. most of us dont even sand it... straight build. just trim the part with cutter properly.
Yeah, its impossible to make it really nice though. I remember 10 years ago when I built my 1/100MG, it only took me 3 days to finish built my 1/100MG. Now I just started the RG unicorn banshee, already 2 days and I am stll in legging portion. laugh.gif

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ May 18 2018, 10:00 AM)
400 and 600 hav its uses, in fact i use 600 way more than any other grit but to each their own. U dun jump the grit so high from 800 straight to 2000 (hardly ever need 2000 btw), sanding should b progressive for example 400-600-800-1000-1200-1500 and its not a sequence u must follow to the T, do it however u wan in increasing order. I do it 600-800-1000 and done cuz im flat coating no point going higher. Try and find a sequence u r comfortable with.

If u r just starting out then just experiment with it, nobody does a perfect job on their 1st try. Every1 of us our 1st model often ended up as a test mule in some way shape or form. Dun fret about it.
Actually I have done it before but it was 10 years ago. So skill is a bit rusty. For sanding part, I'm getting use by using 800, 1000 and 2000 ( for glossy look ).
Just one question, I have the compound like I shown in the picture in previous post, should I apply the compound first then only start with water decals and line paneling? or vise versa?

Jet23sky
post Sep 3 2018, 10:29 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Hi guys, I'm currently assembling 1/100 MG Unicorn Phenex. However I realized that the plastic underneath gold plated is actually white plastic. Hence all nubs are shown as white colour which make it really ugly. I read the user manual and it mentions we are recommended to put some gold color on the nubs.

But the problem is I am not sure which type of colour or items I should be getting. Worrying that the color I purchase might not even close to the actual gold plated color.

Has anyone done this before? Please share with me what kind of marker pen / paint I should be getting to fix this nubs issue.
Jet23sky
post Sep 5 2018, 09:56 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(guarayakha @ Sep 3 2018, 06:14 PM)
No amount of paint can fix that Phenex nub issue, unfortunately. Your best bet is to cut the part as cleanly as humanly possible then maybe dab some gold Gundam marker over the nubs. Personally I think the bling is strong enough to distract attention away from the nubs.
Thanks for the advice. Yesterday I went hobby shop and purchase gold marker. after applied it, it looks better now. ( though as what you said, there is still colour difference but hard to notice it )

I really scare about sanding the nubs for this phenex gundam as the white colour will expose even more if I sand it too hard.
Jet23sky
post Sep 19 2018, 10:09 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 17 2018, 03:01 PM)
info here : https://bandai-hobby.net/GBWC/malaysia/summary.html
i think they have the forms in most TOYS R US AND AEON - go look
also...bye bye daban

I straight purchase Daban MG Strike Freedom & Wings of Light after you showed this news. haha

Worry no more stocks.
Jet23sky
post Sep 19 2018, 01:19 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 19 2018, 12:43 PM)
For sure no more stock la..... whole operation got closed down already. I however dont think the price will go up, daban is not exactly a hot brand for bootleggers
But Daban Strike Freedom is quite popular, because of the MB alike which cost a bomb if its under Bandai.

But let see when Super Nova will be caught.
Jet23sky
post Oct 23 2018, 01:56 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Guys, may I know whether it is possible to get premium bandai that was released before? Right now there is preorder for Perfect Strike Gundam with Coating.

But then I would prefer without coating edition which was released beginning of the year. ( Prefer to it coat myself hehe ).
Jet23sky
post Oct 23 2018, 02:53 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Oct 23 2018, 02:22 PM)
Possible but you pay for market price in aftermarket which is more expensive.
Also I think MG Strike RM was not design undergated.

If you want to buy Metallic/Coating/Chrome version make sure the base kit is undergated or else you deal with nasty nub marks. If you dont mind then go for it.
I have a very bad experience with Gundam Unicorn Phenex already. Unless I repaint the entire kit, or else its not worth getting coating version.
Jet23sky
post Oct 24 2018, 09:23 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Oct 23 2018, 06:15 PM)
Because the base kit is based on 11 years old MG and that time there's no Unicorn unit 3 out yet.

The RG Phenex is good since the recently released RG Unicorn made undergated. Same goes for RG Sazabi.
Does it mean that MG Phenex Narrative also will get these kind of undergated? Or is it just for RG model?

But, I think I will get it though... I really love the perfect strike model. With the old kit, I watched the youtube that it is still possible but some parts need to be sacrifice in order to build all together in one.

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Oct 24 2018, 10:03 AM
Jet23sky
post Oct 28 2018, 12:20 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Finally can start collecting 00 series MG now

0.0736sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:12 PM