Good anti-virus/internet security /total security

TSyongtjunkit
post Dec 6 2016, 11:24 AM, updated 10y ago

2,517 posts

Hi, I was wondering if there's any good anti-virus/internet security /total security other than avg as avg bricked my pc at one point of time and I had to reinstall windows 10 as the recovery partition( windows 8 recovery partition from asus) is corrupted and Windows 10 recovery(usb pendrive) Wasn't able to restore the pc from the bricked state
endymeon
post Dec 6 2016, 11:28 AM

193 posts

For me, i'll just disable my avast and turn on my Windows Defender that comes with Windows 10. It seem like a pretty decent antivirus for normal usage.
TSyongtjunkit
post Dec 6 2016, 11:36 AM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(endymeon @ Dec 6 2016, 11:28 AM)
For me, i'll just disable my avast and turn on my Windows Defender that comes with Windows 10. It seem like a pretty decent antivirus for normal usage.
What about kapesky? Does seems to be reliable for the past 60 days (internet& total security) eventhough it causes my pc to bsod and have no space in os drive (c:)
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2016, 11:52 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

You're using Windows 10, just use the built-in Windows Defender lah
More than enough. I've been using Windows Defender since the age of Windows 8
TSyongtjunkit
post Dec 6 2016, 11:54 AM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 6 2016, 11:52 AM)
You're using Windows 10, just use the built-in Windows Defender lah
More than enough. I've been using Windows Defender since the age of Windows 8
The built in one scans quite slow
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2016, 11:58 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Dec 6 2016, 11:54 AM)
The built in one scans quite slow
What do you mean by "slow scan"?
Mine run just fine & that's with 1 NVME SSD + 6 HDD in the system
kongming
post Dec 6 2016, 12:07 PM

I don't care
1,984 posts

I am heavy surfer on Internet.
For saving money's sake, I use Windows Defender on Windows 10 and ended reformat.
Then I installed Bitdefender, it is fine and less problems.
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2016, 12:19 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(kongming @ Dec 6 2016, 12:07 PM)
I am heavy surfer on Internet.
For saving money's sake, I use Windows Defender on Windows 10 and ended reformat.
Then I installed Bitdefender, it is fine and less problems.
Been using Windows Defender for nearly 4 years now, never had any issues with it
If you're having issue with it, then it's your fault, not the software's fault laugh.gif
TSyongtjunkit
post Dec 6 2016, 12:44 PM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 6 2016, 11:58 AM)
What do you mean by "slow scan"?
Mine run just fine & that's with 1 NVME SSD + 6 HDD in the system
I have an 750gb 5400rpm hdd, and it doesn't offer scheduled scanning

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Dec 6 2016, 12:46 PM
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2016, 02:26 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Dec 6 2016, 12:44 PM)
I have an 750gb 5400rpm hdd, and it doesn't offer scheduled scanning
1. This is the age of SSD. Rather than paying for 3rd party antivirus, save that money for an SSD instead
2. Who said you can't do schedule scanning on Windows Defender?
TSyongtjunkit
post Dec 6 2016, 02:35 PM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 6 2016, 02:26 PM)
1. This is the age of SSD. Rather than paying for 3rd party antivirus, save that money for an SSD instead
2. Who said you can't do schedule scanning on Windows Defender?
Do you have any idea how, would like it to run a full scan on monday -Friday
abubin
post Dec 6 2016, 03:52 PM

10,429 posts

windows defender is free but i wouldn't say it is a good or feature full antivirus. It only does the basic which is good enough for people who knows how to handle their computer usage.

For users who are not so tech savvy, I would recommend using more powerful antivirus that comes with internet protection.

If you want free then go for free version. If you have a little money to spare then go for antivirus only version. If you have more money to spare and want absolute protection then go for antivirus+internet protection.

Almost all antivirus software comes in this 3 package type: free, antivirus, total protection.

My persona favourite is avast. Cause it is light on memory, fast and have avast manager where you can manage all your PC's antivirus.
JStatham
post Dec 7 2016, 04:46 PM

27 posts

Previously i use eset and avg..but both of these make my old laptop slow like tomorrow.

Now im using windows defender + malwarebytes
diadokmai
post Dec 7 2016, 11:18 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Dec 6 2016, 02:35 PM)
Do you have any idea how, would like it to run a full scan on monday -Friday
full scan monday-friday? aww
your computer use for what? virus scanning computer?

if cant afford to buy decent SSD and hate windows defender just use free 360 total security. its works fine for me so far. just save the money buying yearly subscription security suite
even thou i still recommended windows defender. and im using SSD too. not a problem for full scan.
diadokmai
post Dec 7 2016, 11:24 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Dec 6 2016, 03:52 PM)
windows defender is free but i wouldn't say it is a good or feature full antivirus. It only does the basic which is good enough for people who knows how to handle their computer usage.

For users who are not so tech savvy, I would recommend using more powerful antivirus that comes with internet protection.

If you want free then go for free version. If you have a little money to spare then go for antivirus only version. If you have more money to spare and want absolute protection then go for antivirus+internet protection.

Almost all antivirus software comes in this 3 package type: free, antivirus, total protection.

My persona favourite is avast. Cause it is light on memory, fast and have avast manager where you can manage all your PC's antivirus.
bro, what version of avast u use? free antivirus? internet security or premier?
i use it before the premier one.. its actually more heavy than 360 total security or AVG Ultimate.
dont know if free avast is lighter since never tried. but reading on the details free avast dont provide total protection bro
TSyongtjunkit
post Dec 8 2016, 06:50 AM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Dec 7 2016, 11:18 PM)
full scan monday-friday? aww
your computer use for what? virus scanning computer?

if cant afford to buy decent SSD and hate windows defender just use free 360 total security. its works fine for me so far. just save the money buying yearly subscription security suite
even thou i still recommended windows defender. and im using SSD too. not a problem for full scan.
Just wanted to make sure that my pc doesn't have virus, while the anti-virus does its scaning I use it as normal (using Internet,etc) plus my laptop only have 1 slot for storage which is currently used for hdd.

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Dec 8 2016, 06:59 AM
DellMalaysia
post Dec 12 2016, 11:30 PM

Kindly look at my previous successful threads
735 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Dec 6 2016, 11:24 AM)
Hi, I was wondering if there's any good anti-virus/internet security /total security other than avg as avg bricked my pc at one point of time and I had to reinstall windows 10 as the recovery partition( windows 8 recovery partition from asus) is corrupted and Windows 10 recovery(usb pendrive) Wasn't able to restore the pc from the bricked state
im using bitdefender total security 2017
lanusb
post Dec 27 2016, 01:49 PM

807 posts

I recommend getting the norton 360. I am using it for multiple pc. Getting it from 11street best cause can use credit card to collect points and delivery of the antivirus serial code is immediate via email plus no need to go all the way to lowyat/digital mall to buy it. I got mine from this seller JDmall
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/norto...ternet-21793376

This post has been edited by lanusb: Dec 27 2016, 01:50 PM
Fred89
post Dec 28 2016, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Dec 6 2016, 11:24 AM)
HI, I am using bitdefender antivirus total security, its in the top list for now.. if u purchase now, it also can be upgrade into 2017.. the most important thing you should aware ransomware, you use what ever antivirus also cannot detect, always keep up to date your antivirus, to prevent.. you should brought from here, its a good price, will send the key through email, i brought it from here. http://itfirst.com.my/store.php rclxms.gif
blastmeister
post Jan 10 2017, 02:19 PM

105 posts

What makes you all choose the software you mention? Like Avast, Bitdefender, anmd norton 360? heard Norton is pulling out from the local retail?

0.2673sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:28 PM