PC Audio Creative X-Fi club!, X-Fi owners and fanclub!

SUSMatrix
post Feb 14 2007, 09:51 AM, updated 16y ago

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Just wondering why no one starts an X-fi thread yet??

Nobody likes creative??? laugh.gif

Anyway, just bought an X-Fi XtremeMusic...CNY instinct purchase due to cannot resist good offer...LOL.

Currently only using it with my main rig as in my sig. Speakers are Creative 4.1 speakers.

Haven't much time to do some testing yet.

Initial impression:
X-Fi is definitely >>>>> SB live 5.1. I find my old SB Live 5.1 (recently sold) really crummy and frankly not much better than on-board sound.

Music:
Sounds great. But is it better than my Prodigy LT? Can't say for sure. I'll probably need to take my main rig and plug it into my Yamaha receiver & 5.1 speakers in the living room to do an accurate test.

24-bit crystalizer:
a lot of hoo-hass has been made by Creative over this. I dunno sometimes when i on it, it sounds as though the "Loud" button has been pushed. Sometimes it does sounds better though. I think the improvement is more significant when playing MP3s ripped at 128k (from err...dunno where...ahem).. than when i play high-quality WMA/MP3 rip from my CDs, the improvement is not so significant.

Games:
Not a heavy gamer. Only tested with BFME2 so far. Other than being nice and crisp, nothing really significant. But then again, this is not the kinda game to test this card.

Movies:
Not tested yet.

Installation:
I've sort of screwed up my installation by downloading latest drivers instead of using the installation CDs. Problem is, in order to install all the other apps, u need to use the CD instead. I've tried running the setup manually for each of the app and it won't work. E-mailed Creative with my problem and got a response next day. They just point me to their knowledge base for procedures for a complete installation clean up (not so straightfoward!).

Anyway, solved the problem myself.

VISTA:
Tested in VISTA too. Some of the Creative apps don't run properly with messages keeps popping up saying something. EAX don't work anymore. In BFME2, i tried setting the EAX3 option on (only EAX 3....X-Fi is EAX 5)...it says "EAX 3 is NOT SUPPORTED by your hardware". Thanks VISTA. doh.gif

No doubt, EAX is dead and gone in VISTA, with OPEN AL as the new library.

X-Fi owners, share ur experience here!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Feb 14 2007, 10:34 AM
SUSMatrix
post Feb 15 2007, 09:03 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(master_audio @ Feb 15 2007, 12:11 AM)
For gaming in Vista for X-Fi, have you try out ALchemy:

http://preview.creativelabs.com/alchemy/default.aspx
Wahh...finally got 1 reply. Thanks for the tip.

Looks like people dun like Creative around here wor... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Feb 15 2007, 09:12 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Feb 15 2007, 09:07 AM)
I owned X-fi xtrememusic. Bought for 460 from niclasteoh in april 2006. Pair with logitech z5400 now. compare with Audigy 1se, the sounds great and clarity. but due to lack of vista support it force me to stick with XP.
yeah VISTA support is very dodgy. It has beta drivers now but seems to have problems. I've a strange problem, sometimes it refuse to play MP3 in VISTA (using Windows Media player/ MCE), after reboot it'll work. If it doesn't, then need to reboot again!!!!

That's why i've dual boot currenty. Currently VISTA have not much use...only use it to surf net!!! doh.gif
SUSMatrix
post Feb 15 2007, 11:59 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Feb 15 2007, 10:48 PM)
well.. i used 2 sound cards..
i like xfi when comes to games.. but its basic driver package size is whopping 40MB while my maya driver size is over 100x smaller which is abt 450Kb. (yup... its less than half megabyte.. its that small)
A lot of the stuff can be disabled...there's one DLLML.EXE is sucking 50% of my CPU resource!!! I disabled all the stuff...it's not needed anyway. Creative drivers are not very good me thinks. Loads of junk that hogs resources for no good reasons.

SUSMatrix
post Mar 3 2007, 12:51 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Mar 3 2007, 12:32 AM)
vista support from creative sucks big time, i recon stick with xp instead
Actually Creative drivers sucks big time. It has known problem with Nforce mobo till today also cannot resolve.

My X-fi occasionall got hiss sound when boot up (XP) and it'll be gone after re-start. Luckily it's not very often, just encountered once or twice. VISTA support is even more horrible. Most of the software that comes with the card don't even run at all.

Is there any Intel X-Fi user here with hiss sound problem?

Added on March 3, 2007, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Mar 3 2007, 09:18 AM)
Iz it X-Fi xtreme music got any difference with the Audiotrack Prodigy 192? Quite noob at here!!! Thx!!!
Quite hard to say. I've both Prodigy LT and X-fi in different rigs. Can't do fare comparison coz my Prodigy got the better receiver and speakers. But i can say both are good. The X-fi crystalizer is pretty good sometimes, depending on the source.

Still if you want to use HTPC rig, i'll still prefer my Prodigy LT due to it's multitude of connectors including optical and coaxial connectors. One of the biggest drawback of the X-fi is the "3 in 1 Flexi jack" which acts as mic/line/in and digital out all in one. If you intend to use the digital out, there's no where u can plug in a MIC at the same time. Creative should be shot for being such a cheapskate and cutting cost on such corners on such an expensive card!!! vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Mar 3 2007, 12:55 PM
SUSMatrix
post Mar 8 2007, 09:30 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Mar 8 2007, 07:07 AM)
I have no problems with the X-fi, except for the ridiculously huge driver package. I don't use any of the "fancy" creative BS panels,, only Audioconsole, which is so much more streamlined. I turn off all the crap settings like crystalizer or whateverizer. It sounds good. No complaints, it actually works without problems for me on XP.

About the problems with Nforce mobos, i don't blame creative. I'm almost certain it's a Nvidia issue. They do a lot of stuff in a non standard way on the Nforce (which is why i never liked Nforce mobos). This includes even their hard drive interface. I believe there is something weird with the way the Nforce handles PCI requests, the latency is too high.
Yeah, Nforce mobo is weird...I sure hope AMD/ATI will come out with a good alternative soon ..or is there one already?? Otherwise, i think i'm gonna ditch the AMD platform in favor of Intel the next time i upgrade.

SUSMatrix
post Mar 17 2007, 09:55 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Mar 14 2007, 12:59 PM)
well, why u said like that? can i know? bcuz i want to buy nforce based mobo for my new rig plus x-fi sound card, plz tell me why blink.gif

i more thing, is there any different with x-fi xtremegamer and x-fi xtrememusic, how much their diffrent..

which one is good bcuz i love to music n i love to gaming too.. rclxub.gif

plz share ur experience..
You're bound to encounter some problems with X-fi/nforce combo. Sometimes i've the hiss sound problem but it doesn't occurs very often, just once in a long while. Previiously also having some other problem but i'm not sure it's the X-fi or something else. Now, it's okay most of the time, but there are many users on the web that reported recurring problems.

btw, DON'T BUY XTREMEGAMER edition unless you have too much money to spend (which in case, i'll not stop you. smile.gif ) The Xtrememusic performs just as well in gaming.
Don't waste a few hundred bucks just to see 1 possible extra fps which you won't notice anyway. You might as well save the money for a better GPU or CPU.

btw, Extrememusic retails for only RM399 at ALL IT Hypermarket (digital mall)....if u know people, can go lower...smile.gif

NEWS FLASH:
Latest X-FI VISTA beta drivers released on 15th March 2007.
SUSMatrix
post May 28 2007, 09:33 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Oh-oh...my X-Fi is acting bizzarre recently...or is it the speaker?

Sometimes, when i start up my PC (WinXP), i'll get high-scrrech noise from my speakers/headphone.

I'll have to go to the console and select the speakers/headphone and it'll be back to normal again...

Could it be due to me connecting both the speaker and headphones simultaneously (using a Y splitter)? It's been working for 1 month+ fine until now though...Sometime whenever i on the speaker volume when startup...get heart attack by the sudden high pitch noise!!! sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jan 7 2008, 11:41 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Dec 17 2007, 06:23 AM)
X-Fi user here more than a year and the driver still sucks...period. Updated to the latest driver but still got crackling, static, pop,snap sound here and there....
I used to have that problem. Try change it to different PCI slot. Now solved already.

Added on January 7, 2008, 11:42 am
QUOTE(okboy @ Dec 21 2007, 11:41 AM)
I lost my Xfi xtrememusic cd...

i downloaded the driver from creative website..

but the website lack of some of the applicationcompare to the original CD... sad.gif

such as GUI controller...

so who can tell me where can download it???
There apps sucks...loads of bloatware...i don't install anything else except the drivers.

Added on January 7, 2008, 11:44 am
QUOTE(kianweic @ Dec 20 2007, 12:19 PM)
Does anyone have the problem with any X-Fi card for that matter whereby, some of the games have no sound at all (some in movie and some in games).

For eg. Two Worlds and Lord of The Rings: Battle for Middle Earth 2.

Thanks in advance,

As for me, I can't really tell the difference between a Sound Blaster X-Fi and a Sound Blaster Audigy 2.
Maybe there's no difference...coz BFME2 using only EAX3.0.....X-FI is EAX 5.0

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 7 2008, 11:44 AM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 4 2008, 04:43 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

There was a furore over the new :

drivers:http://arstechnica.com/journals/hardware.ars/2008/08/01/creative-caves-supports-dolby-digital-dts-in-vista-driver

What does this Dolby Digital Live/DTS Live do? What kind of application that can make use of it? BluRay disc?

I'm running under VISTA, will download and try the drivers tonight.

SUSMatrix
post Aug 6 2008, 09:24 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Aug 5 2008, 08:16 PM)
Without Dolby Digital Live/DTS Live, the card SPDIF only can output 2 channel uncompress PCM or output compress multichannel sound which is 'pre-encode' and store in DVD...and if you want to get the multichannel sound from the card for multichannel sound game title, you only can output from analogue terminal, SPDIF only can output stereo sound because the card can't encode the DTS/Dolby on fly...

Dolby Digital Live/DTS Live encode multichannel sound on fly, that means now you can get multichannel sound from game through SPDIF terminal, final thing is now you can output multichannel sound from SPDIF according to the speaker setting in the driver, without Dolby Digital Live/DTS Live your SPDIF terminal can only give stereo even you set your speaker to multichannel format...

one thing, according to the creative official forum announce, Dolby Digital Live/DTS Live will charge money and won't bundle inside the driver, and the driver you saw was only the 'regular' driver which unlock DTS/Dolby in Vista, not the advance 'live' feature...

BTW, welcome back thread starter, you have lost since long time ago...lol... tongue.gif
Ok, i get it. Last time i was doing this test, for EAX, i have to use analog connection to my receiver to get the effects. So now, we can use the digital connection, which saves a lot of hassle and cables.

But does this mean my receiver also have to support DTS Live/ DD Live? But i think i saw some new mobos with built in sound also support DTS/DD live!!! And they're quite cheap!

So what does this "unlock in Vista" means? Is it there or is it not? rclxub.gif

Oh yeah, i remember now, i started this thread...didn't realized so many people here already...ha-ha...

SUSMatrix
post Mar 18 2009, 09:13 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Mar 15 2009, 02:44 AM)
just purchase and activated my Dolby digital live and dts connect pack for my extreme music,  on my winxp sp3 32bit,

works nicely but strange, only Dolby digital live available, no DTS connect as mention, wat i miss leh?

is it only for vista? havent tried mine vista os yet...

anyone?
U are using the coaxial out i suppose? Or you have that extra dongle to output to optical out?

SUSMatrix
post Jun 30 2009, 02:32 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ May 21 2009, 01:44 AM)
do u guys buy thing ?
Dolby Digital Live and DTS Connect Pack
http://asia.creative.com/products/product....uct=18034&nav=1
detail:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1375233
what is this thing ?
THX ? mean wat ?
You can download Daniel-K's driver for free if you know where to look.

This is useful only if you are using the optical out. It's live encoding to DTS/DD regardless of what audio stream you are playing.

Added on June 30, 2009, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(Najmods @ May 24 2009, 10:28 AM)
EAX in Game mode is different from in Entertainment mode. In Game mode, it depends on game support and it can be enable in game and it support up to EAX 5, while in Entertainment mode its used for preset on room acoustics for music and movies, not games, if you use Entertainment mode to play games it only up to EAX 3 IIRC
EAX is already dead. Probably doesn't matter anymore as most new games don't support it.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jun 30 2009, 02:34 PM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 6 2009, 07:02 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

EAX is dead. So is OpenAL. There's hardly any new games that support EAX nowadays. Creative card's basically has lose their edge. No point buying Creative cards anymore. Sad, but true.
SUSMatrix
post Sep 11 2009, 02:39 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 6 2009, 10:38 AM)
Oh no, not this s*** again, will you stop posting POS like this? If EAX is sooo dead why do ASUS sells their card say thet can do EAX emulation in the first place? There is still new games that comes out still using EAX, like Cryostasis and Assasin Creed. You just say 'EAX and OpenAL' is dead because you hate them, sad but true
ASUS is just doing that for marketing gimmick. Assasin Creed a 'new' game? Cmon lar. doh.gif

All the new games i'm playing the last 1 year+...NONE have EAX. SFIV, DMC4, Red Alert 3, RA3:Uprising, GTAIV, Wolverine, and a whole list of others. Nada. Zilch.

Unlike maybe like 3 years ago, almost most top titles support EAX. Do some research before you start your fanboyism. Here, try this: http://www.soundblaster.com/technology/?gameId=00004

Just how many "new" games(and hot titles) are there on the list? And Mass Effect and BioShock still there....what 2 years old games?

I'm merely stating facts. So you can keep your fanboyism to yourself. doh.gif
SUSMatrix
post Sep 12 2009, 09:13 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 11 2009, 11:12 AM)
Assasin Creed launch last year on PC, so its reasonably new.

So why you stating the same old thing over and over again? Whats your point?

I buy Creative cards NOT just because it have EAX or I'm a fanboy, its the easiest card for me to mod, its cheap to buy, my Elite Pro only costs RM250 2nd hand, reasonable good driver support and it can do bit-perfect out for music which ALL ASUS cards can't do, even the Xonar STX/ST

King of Lowyat.Net, yeah right. Keep your whining to yourself. Nobody mention EAX support, what games does it support, or is there any new games supporting it in the first place.
Fine, live in your turtle shell. Whether it's easy for you to mod or not is frankly hardly a selling point. How many people actually go mod their cards?? 0.001%??

If EAX is sooo dead why do ASUS sells their card say thet can do EAX emulation in the first place? There is still new games that comes out still using EAX, like Cryostasis and Assasin Creed. You just say 'EAX and OpenAL' is dead because you hate them, sad but true
Crysis and Crysis Warhead have its own sound engine, and have no support for EAX. Check here for supported games
Who mentioned EAX??? You got Parkinson disease?? lol.

I highlight this issue to share information with other users, so that they don't buy Creative cards for the wrong reason, expecting EAX and 'best gaming sound card', when the sound has already left the games. And what is your agenda? Nobody buy creative cards and you have no business modding, hmmm??? biggrin.gif

You can keep yapping here all you want, loser. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 12 2009, 09:17 AM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 25 2010, 09:17 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Aug 25 2010, 05:45 AM)
Sometime that happen to me too, but so far after changing to Windows 7 it doesn't occur as frequently as it did on Windows XP.

About the digital out, I found this on the other forum:
Now here is the scoop with the digital outs on Creative's cards. They WILL do 5.1, 6.1, 7.1 whatever via digital ONLY if the source is encoded in DD or DTS. So that means, DVDs, BDs, HD-DVD and anything encoded with AC3 like the odd Divx the sound card simply passes it through for a reciever to decode.

With games and regular music it will ONLY do stereo.

For 5.1+ in games you MUST use analogue. Which isn't too bad, the X-Fi's have ok DACs and if you use a decent set cables between the PC and your speakers it'll sound just as good as digital.
This is not only X-FI cards lar... doh.gif All sound cards are like that. They'll pass the compressed digital signal via the optical/coaxial out and let ur AVR decode.
This is why the DTS Connect and DD Live is useful. It can encode non DD/DTS track like 2 channel stereo from whatever source into DD signals. Cards like ASUS XONAR DX do the same (DX can only encode DD Live, DX2 can encode DD Live and DTS connect). Some onboard codec also able to encode DD Live, at the expense of some CPU processing power.

If you want to pass 5.1/7.1 signals via analogue to ur AVR, u still can. Just buy 3 or 4 3.5mmjack->RCA (left and right). Connect these 3 or 4 cables from ur soundcard to ur AVR RCA input. So you get the analogue signal from sound card to AVR for each channel. The decoding will be done by your sound card. I've done that before...and this is the only way if you want to hear EAX effects on your AVR multichannel speaker coz AVRs don't decode EAX....But since EAX is dead now, don't waste your time.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 25 2010, 09:21 AM

0.0444sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:09 PM