PC Audio Creative X-Fi club!, X-Fi owners and fanclub!

Dreamworks
post Apr 5 2009, 01:39 AM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Fellow X-Fi users, may I know if any of you are previous users of a Realtek ALC889A onboard audio? Is there any major improvements in terms of sound quality in music/movies?

I'm currently tempted to get one of those OEM Titaniums from Garage Sales, but this review is giving me doubts:
http://www.hardcoreware.net/reviews/review-373-2.htm

The last time I made a switch from an Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro to this ALC889A, I immediately find the sound muffled and... Well... Terrible sweat.gif I would have stick with the A2 if not for the lousy Creative driver/software support in Vista.

Thanks!
Dreamworks
post Sep 1 2009, 10:00 PM

2,141 posts

DTS Connect is actually an encoder, not decoder. Titanium comes with Dolby Digital Live and DTS Connect, meaning you can get 5.1 channel audio via digital out connection with them instead of simple 2 channel audio nod.gif
Dreamworks
post Sep 6 2009, 10:04 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 2 2009, 01:54 AM)
i got this error when trying to install the DTS Connect

is this mean that my sound card Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro doesn't have DTS capabilities?

MISC pictar...
only shown DDL...

Official Site - http://www.soundblaster.com/products/produ...91&listby=usage
Are you on Windows XP (But judging from the screenies, I suppose you're on Vista)? If I am not mistaken, DTS Connect is only available in Vista hmm.gif I have no problem installing the DDL and DTSC pack from Creative though.

Added on September 6, 2009, 10:08 pm@AoD
Some companies prefer to use their own sound engine because they want to eliminate the dependence on a certain hardware. Crysis for example, uses its own software based sound engine so users, regardless whether they own a dedicated sound card or just plain onboard audio, can still have the same gaming experience... IMO la smile.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Sep 6 2009, 10:08 PM
Dreamworks
post Sep 14 2009, 09:32 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 12 2009, 03:42 PM)
doh.gif eh how come... i got that error when trying to install the DTS connect, but then... when i play on certain movie with DTS, the Z5500 stated DTS 3/2 48/16 bla³... owh ya, by the way... i'm on Windows 7 7600.16384, i did try on XP and Vista, still the same error...
I just upgraded to 7 RTM and both my DDL and DTSC are still intact, I tried running the installer, no problems wor... sweat.gif If you want, maybe I can send you my copy of the DTSC installer.

Added on September 14, 2009, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 14 2009, 12:10 AM)
Its OK smile.gif

Finally, my very own analog line out from DAC biggrin.gif I'm very happy with it, this is the 2nd prototype. The 1st one have imbalanced volume because sketchy layout and improper grounding. After senior lecture about circuit 101 and 2 days of hard work thinking of proper layout, this is the result. Its not without pain, first the left channel is silent, because of one trace is disconnected. Only tested with NE5534, but I have LT1363 and LT1677 to test biggrin.gif Powered by unused PC PSU but modded with better caps

[attachmentid=1196380]
Since you seem to have lotsa opamps, mind if I ask if you know where to purchase a LM4562 locally? NI offers free samples, but not sure whether they'll send all the way to Malaysia or not laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Sep 14 2009, 09:35 PM
Dreamworks
post Sep 16 2009, 10:04 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 14 2009, 10:13 PM)
Nah, I don't have much opamp, yes National do send free sample to Malaysia, but you need to pay the shipping fee, unless you have .edu email address
I think I do have a ".edu" address provided by my uni, but gotta ask my friends how to access it first, never log in before tongue.gif Any opamps you would recommend? Hehe... What about the big fat power filter cap? Looks kinda expensive though.
Dreamworks
post Sep 22 2009, 01:55 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 16 2009, 10:24 PM)
You could try LM4562, LME49720 or LME49723. All of them are nearli identical, on paper at least, the 49723 have slightly worse spec. What I liked the most is LME49720, 2nd is 49723 and lastly 4562 (this is vary)

But for SB046X (XtremeMusic, Fatal1ty, XtremeGamer Fatal1ty) only supplies 5V to the opamp, its not enough to unleash its full power. Recomended voltage is 15V from one guy statement, I tested 5V and 12V and the latter indeed have better and smoother sound (you can ignore if you dont understand this, it'll work anyway tongue.gif )

About power caps, you can use any general purpose caps, like Rubycon YXA. Just don't use ultra low ESR caps like Sanyo OS-CON, the regulator will make a buzzing noise because of it

This is my final back layout of analog out, its hard to route negative supply, positive supply and ground on small area like that sweat.gif I have some problems before get the final layout (note, green = ground, white = positive, bue = negative) I need to shield them though, there is some noise at full volume, but music is very quiet enough
[attachmentid=1201871]
Thanks for the input! It's a good thing I studied Analog Devices in my previous semester thumbup.gif I guess it's possible to draw an external 12V supply from the PSU, but the wiring will be kinda sweat.gif The insides of my PC is messy enough already, and I don't really wanna ruin the looks of my Titanium for the time being. Besides, 5V should more than suffice as I doubt the amplified signal will exceed this limit.

As for your mod, why not use a veroboard instead? Less jumpers flying here and there, more tidy ma tongue.gif

Actually, there are quite a few opamps I wanna try, but soldering them on and off every time will be quite a hassle. I'm trying to get a "DIP to SOIC adapter" off eBay, but everything there is a "SOIC to DIP adapter" doh.gif This is what I want:
http://www.epboard.com/eproducts/protoadap...%20IC%20Adapter

QUOTE(hafiez @ Sep 17 2009, 10:20 PM)
well..i have the instruction here.. but i dunno where to get the materials.. sad.gif
[attachmentid=1203783]
I think I used to have one of those white connector thingy, Dell desktops shipped around year 2004 with a Creative card should have it nod.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Sep 22 2009, 01:59 PM
Dreamworks
post Oct 1 2009, 07:58 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 25 2009, 11:49 PM)
Its up to you, I just giving suggestion smile.gif Well, that IS veroboard, I know what you mean actually, the board that have all the row already soldered (connected). But I'm not used to that and I wanted to have my own layout. I'll tidy it soon, just too lazy tongue.gif

Yes I agree buying adapter is better in long run especially if you love rolling opamp. If you use the adapter you can just tap from the PSU directly to the opamp if you want 12V supply. Use small capacitor like 0.01uF to bypass it to ground for some noise reduction
Ooops... Sorry, I didn't know they are all called veroboards, I guess what I meant was stripboard. Whatever lah as long as you get what I mean tongue.gif I'll just stick with the supplied 5V, lazy to manage those fragile wires here and there.

QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 29 2009, 08:44 PM)
Thanks for the reply. Thats really informative. Really appreciated it.  notworthy.gif

Am just curious here, what about the Fatality series and other brands like Asus XONAR? Extra features?

Anyway I guess I'll go for either Xtreme Audio or Titanium as my budget allows. Whaddaya think?
XONAR has superior opamps compared to the X-Fi (All models except the Elites), so they will naturally sound better, but then again... They cost more than those OEM X-Fi anyway, so it's kinda like you get what you paid for, unless you plan to mod the X-Fi later on. Driver and software of the XONAR is lighter, meaning smaller installation size and memory demand. As for the Fatality, not many games support X-RAM and the performance gain is negligible in most modern systems.

QUOTE(radi3tz @ Sep 30 2009, 09:55 PM)
hmm, which one uses the old chip?
x-fi xtreme audio, or x-fi xtreme audio pci express? or both??
I'm using the x-treme audio pci express version earlier(forget to mention it)
they uses different chip friend. . smile.gif
The PCI Express X-Fi Xtreme Audio is just the old Xtreme Audio with an added PCI-PCI Express bridge chip, all X-Fi effects are emulated by the main processor aka CPU.

Added on October 1, 2009, 8:06 pm
QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 30 2009, 11:34 PM)
how about the X-Fi Surround 5.1? if it uses the new chip , then i reckon its pretty cheap and good.
I do not think it's the new chip as its EAX support is only up to 4.0. Cards with "real" X-Fi APU supports up to version 5.0...

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Oct 1 2009, 08:06 PM
Dreamworks
post May 5 2010, 09:07 AM

2,141 posts

I was using the Titanium with a HDA front panel connector, no such issues when connecting/disconnecting my earphones/headphones nod.gif

Added on May 5, 2010, 9:11 am
QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ May 1 2010, 03:37 AM)
I wonder, if it using the same components for normal X-Fi, for what purposed to upgrade to:

analog devices ad8066 opamp
panasonic fm 33uf 35v capacitors for opamp decoupling
panasonic fm 560uf 6.3v capacitors for 3x
cs4398 dacs' vfiltering,
dsp's vfiltering
+5v supply's filtering
panasonic fm 150uf 6.3v capacitor for -5v supply's filtering

As what i read my elite pro sc have different opamp and caps components from the stated above...

can you explain more... rclxub.gif
Your Elite Pro has "slightly" better op-amps and DACs but caps/other components are all the same, still can't compare with an ASUS Xonar when it comes to sound quality though. You can carry out the mods you listed to get better sound, although changing the op-amps from a typical JRC on the X-Fi to AD8066 from Analog Devices will contribute greatly to improving sound quality.

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: May 5 2010, 09:12 AM

0.0476sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:12 PM