91 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

PC Audio Creative X-Fi club!, X-Fi owners and fanclub!

phoonwa
post Jun 19 2008, 01:58 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 19 2008, 01:45 AM)
ASIO is only for analog output, since you now using Digital out, so ASIO doesn't make sense at all, since digital out already consider as pure bit stream from your songs....and keep in mind that digital out only can output 2 channel stereo PCM and won't response to ASIO, direct sound, CMSS3D and mutichannel speaker setting..
so i wish to ask about your opinion about these 2 situations :
1. A music play with ASIO format go through normal cable to speaker.
2. A music play with digital format go through optical cable to speaker.

Which one can perform better?
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

coolkwc
post Jun 19 2008, 02:06 AM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

QUOTE(phoonwa @ Jun 19 2008, 01:58 AM)
so i wish to ask about your opinion about these 2 situations :
1. A music play with ASIO format go through normal cable to speaker.
2. A music play with digital format go through optical cable to speaker.

Which one can perform better?
hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
i don't know whether your Z-5500 got a good DAC inside or not, if you have a good external DAC/decoder, the 2nd method will be the best....method 1 need to pass-through DAC and opamps before go to your speaker, the sound will greatly affected by DAC and opamp...

keep in mind that:

method 1 is the highest quality Analog output from the sound card

and

method 2 is the highest quality digital bit-stream output from your sound card.
phoonwa
post Jun 19 2008, 02:14 AM

57 posts

So any recommendation for external DAC?
coolkwc
post Jun 19 2008, 02:22 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(phoonwa @ Jun 19 2008, 02:14 AM)
Sorry bro, i'm not familiar with external decoder, if you want just ask HERE, but i would like to say the XtremeMusic build in Cirrus Logic CS4382 DAC was quite decent adi...only the opamp after DAC make a different...

I suggest you try connect the analog and digital to compare which one suit your taste, i'm not recommend external DAC for your setup because no need to do so...

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jun 19 2008, 02:24 AM
nicholas_1213
post Jun 19 2008, 12:57 PM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

QUOTE(phoonwa @ Jun 19 2008, 02:14 AM)
External DAC for your z5500? But bear in mind but most of the external DAC only support stereo channel... And just to clear things up, external DAC and external decoder are two different things smile.gif
coolkwc
post Jun 19 2008, 05:17 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jun 19 2008, 01:07 PM)
What's good about this Chaintech other than the Wolfson DAC is it doesn't use any sort of opamp, so its sounds pure and unaltered. I do the same on my X-Fi, and I never turn back on using opamp anymore smile.gif
well, just now i soldered the output directly from DAC, listen it and i noticed that

with opamp
1.more bassy.
2.midrange more pronounce but not clear/a bit blur.
3.rough high region.

direct coupled from DAC
1.less bassy than opamp.
2.clear midrange.
3.high region sound is smooth, airy.
4.-10dB in volume decrease.

i would say that the difference not so marginal, not night and day...maybe just a matter of taste for different people..

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jun 19 2008, 05:17 PM
Najmods
post Jun 19 2008, 07:09 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

With opamp everything is just in-your-face kind of experience, not the kinda thing that I like especially fo music listening, the soundstaging is very wide without opamp.

For me whet you describe is night and day, because you can clearly hear the difference, but well, one man's meat is another's poison. What speaker did you use with the X-Fi?
coolkwc
post Jun 19 2008, 08:37 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jun 19 2008, 07:09 PM)
With opamp everything is just in-your-face kind of experience, not the kinda thing that I like especially fo music listening, the soundstaging is very wide without opamp.

For me whet you describe is night and day, because you can clearly hear the difference, but well, one man's meat is another's poison. What speaker did you use with the X-Fi?
i pair with Yamaha RXV-800 amp and Concorde floor stander at home...but once i go back university, i have to settled with my AL MX5021 only...

EDIT: i like the sound by DAC alone too, but i think the card not designed to use like that, so i will change opamp also...

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jun 19 2008, 08:44 PM
songbo
post Jun 19 2008, 08:59 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jun 19 2008, 07:09 PM)

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 19 2008, 08:37 PM)
i pair with Yamaha RXV-800 amp and Concorde floor stander at home...but once i go back university, i have to settled with my AL MX5021 only...

EDIT: i like the sound by DAC alone too, but i think the card not designed to use like that, so i will change opamp also...
OPAMP freak!! can open an opamp discussion thread liao. nod.gif
coolkwc
post Jun 19 2008, 09:14 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(songbo @ Jun 19 2008, 08:59 PM)
OPAMP freak!! can open an opamp discussion thread liao.  nod.gif
i wish also...so that can collect some information for opamps nod.gif
songbo
post Jun 19 2008, 10:00 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 19 2008, 09:14 PM)
just do it pal icon_rolleyes.gif
scy320
post Jun 19 2008, 10:48 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 19 2008, 09:14 PM)
im sure many people want information about opamp,lolz.
coolkwc
post Jun 20 2008, 05:15 PM

3,112 posts

Hmm, some information here, maybe useful for someone or may be not...for those who want to use SPDIF connector actually no need to buy 3.5mm mono to RCA(for me quite hard to find it)...just buy the easy-to-find 3.5mm stereo to dual RCA and connect the left channel(usually white colour) RCA to coaxial input of your amp...just got chance to tested out today.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jun 20 2008, 05:17 PM
Najmods
post Jun 20 2008, 07:06 PM

5,211 posts

Nice find, coolkwc. But internal DAC is great for me

All my opamp has arrived today, tested it on other channel and do A/B test, I don't like them. I prefer no opamp

I have 9 opamp now, 5 of them are high quality. I don't know what to do with them. Don't ask me any because they not for sale tongue.gif

What I do now? Remove all the opamp and all the capacitor on opamp supply because its unneeded smile.gif

EDIT: Forget to add, I'll get Sanyo OS-CON 10uF 10V and 47uF Blackgate NX for free soon biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Najmods: Jun 20 2008, 07:10 PM
coolkwc
post Jun 20 2008, 08:35 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jun 20 2008, 07:06 PM)
Nice find, coolkwc. But internal DAC is great for me

All my opamp has arrived today, tested it on other channel and do A/B test, I don't like them. I prefer no opamp

I have 9 opamp now, 5 of them are high quality. I don't know what to do with them. Don't ask me any because they not for sale tongue.gif

What I do now? Remove all the opamp and all the capacitor on opamp supply because its unneeded smile.gif

EDIT: Forget to add, I'll get Sanyo OS-CON 10uF 10V and 47uF Blackgate NX for free soon biggrin.gif
what opamp you get today? hmm.gif

well, you can do that, but i can't, because i still need the analog multichannel outputs for movies and games...

hmm, today i just compare my Yamaha DAC vs X-Fi opamp...yap, this time i can differentiate quite easily....first heard i noticed the difference but can't tell exactly...after heard the same song repeatedly, finally i can told whats the difference...

the sound through X-FI DAC--> opamp
1. all the background instruments mix like rojak, can't distinguish the distance of instruments, through this test, i finally understand whats call layer of sound.
2. the vocal voice too 'hard'?!!? sweat.gif too centered and upfront.
3. the high region rough, some smooth/airy very high region just nick behind the instrument.
4. overall the stereo image decrease, all instruments, vocal tends to sounded in center, and i finally understand whats call soundstaging, narrow in overall.

i won't going to mention impression on Yamaha amp DAC, it just reverse of the word mentioned above nod.gif

i will call this as, well, morning 9am and night 9pm tongue.gif

yap, the comparison i done can't compare this two because Yamaha amp DAC are totally separated from X-FI, i just want to express what i have learned today...maybe i'm wrong in some elaboration, correct me...maybe i will do direct comparison for X-FI DAC vs X-FI DAC-->opamp later...oops, yesterday i can't said it was night and day because i used the poor cable as signal cable, i known after i tested using RMAA and found that the cross talk was so poor, thats why CS4382 can't really impress me for yesterday test...sorry for CS4382 notworthy.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jun 20 2008, 09:21 PM
Najmods
post Jun 20 2008, 09:59 PM

5,211 posts

Oh, I guess I tell them anyway. The opamp I buy is LME49723 (super secret), slightly worser version of LME49720. Sounds rougher, maybe not burn in, but it still quite the same as LME49720. The other one is AD8066 (ultra secret), it was fast, and it was rather flat, I quite like it though, but I prefer laid back signature, warmth and very wide soundstage of no opamp because my system is quite forward
coolkwc
post Jun 20 2008, 10:08 PM

3,112 posts

Your last sentence just remind me different people have different sound system hence will have different resultant effect from the same DAC output...maybe pure DAC sound signature more suitable for system A but not suitable for system B.

Added on June 20, 2008, 10:19 pmhmm, an interesting question here....

Where the TS went adi? i can't ever saw him since i joined this club in January this year...i just noticed recently this thread was conquered by two of us adi... tongue.gif and proud to say i more like TS...see my total post on this thread... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jun 20 2008, 10:22 PM
tyss
post Jun 21 2008, 08:55 AM

387 posts

Are the latest creative drivers buggy and still features limited?
Najmods
post Jun 21 2008, 09:05 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(tyss @ Jun 21 2008, 08:55 AM)
Are the latest creative drivers buggy and still  features limited?
Its only beneficial who uses Vista, if you using XP better stick with the older official one since there is no major upgrade from it. From what I read from various forum, yes, it is buggy
Pepperboy
post Jun 21 2008, 12:33 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 20 2008, 05:15 PM)
Hmm, some information here, maybe useful for someone or may be not...for those who want to use SPDIF connector actually no need to buy 3.5mm mono to RCA(for me quite hard to find it)...just buy the easy-to-find 3.5mm stereo to dual RCA and connect the left channel(usually white colour) RCA to coaxial input of your amp...just got chance to tested out today.. sweat.gif
Yea thanks man, useful for me biggrin.gif
Btw, do u think there's any degradation of SQ by using this stereo-to-dual RCA as opposed to single RCA?

91 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:15 PM