91 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Bottom

PC Audio Creative X-Fi club!, X-Fi owners and fanclub!

BL!Tz^_^
post Sep 29 2009, 11:52 PM

202 posts

hi guys, i am using creative x-fi 5.1 surround external.
there are 2 rca jacks.
i always connect my laptop to the HD TV while watching movie
i wonder to know can i directly connect the home use speakers to the soundcard via rca?
thanks!
radi3tz
post Sep 30 2009, 12:22 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 29 2009, 08:44 PM)
Thanks for the reply. Thats really informative. Really appreciated it.  notworthy.gif

Am just curious here, what about the Fatality series and other brands like Asus XONAR? Extra features?

Anyway I guess I'll go for either Xtreme Audio or Titanium as my budget allows. Whaddaya think?
Fatal1ty series have x-ram features, thats great to accelerate gaming performance's sounds(as games have massive background/environment sound, and positioning)

if u like games, I highly recommend u using the fatality series as my brother does. .
if u don't and only uses the soundcard for music&movies, get the x-treme audio x-fi, it get the same performance as the fatal1tys for the job.
however, if u can increase your budget higher, u can take a look for asus xonar's series.
I got the info from my friends that these cards sounds warmer for music. .
C-Note
post Sep 30 2009, 12:49 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(radi3tz @ Sep 30 2009, 12:22 AM)
Fatal1ty series have x-ram features, thats great to accelerate gaming performance's sounds(as games have massive background/environment sound, and positioning)

if u like games, I highly recommend u using the fatality series as my brother does. .
if u don't and only uses the soundcard for music&movies, get the x-treme audio x-fi, it get the same performance as the fatal1tys for the job.
however, if u can increase your budget higher, u can take a look for asus xonar's series.
I got the info from my friends that these cards sounds warmer for music. .
I see. Well, from what I gather, X-Fi Titanium is a full-fledged model that uses the X-Fi chip. XtremeAudio still uses the old chip. Is that true? Is there any difference between these two models?

Anyway, for casual gamers like me, I guess <RM400 is the max I would spend on a sound card as I find it as an added luxury to fully utilize my C3. no offence to audiophile fanatics icon_rolleyes.gif

Lacus
post Sep 30 2009, 01:53 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

XtremeAudio is not using the X-Fi chip. it has already been mention earlier (i was the 1 asking biggrin.gif)
nismo91
post Sep 30 2009, 02:59 AM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 30 2009, 12:49 AM)
I see. Well, from what I gather, X-Fi Titanium is a full-fledged model that uses the X-Fi chip. XtremeAudio still uses the old chip. Is that true? Is there any difference between these two models?

Anyway, for casual gamers like me, I guess <RM400 is the max I would spend on a sound card as I find it as an added luxury to fully utilize my C3. no offence to audiophile fanatics  icon_rolleyes.gif
the XtremeAudio is the only X-fi in the market that uses old Audigy chip. own a XtremeAudio before. sounds much better than onboard on my speaker. Too bad now can't use x-fi cause my new graphic card and mobo now dont have anymore available PCI slot. have to go back to basic realtek. doh.gif
C-Note
post Sep 30 2009, 08:56 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Hmmm...XtremeAudio or Titanium.....is it worth the extra RM100?
Lacus
post Sep 30 2009, 09:12 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

well if it's me, Titanium (cause XtremeAudio if not mistaken uses the same chip like Audigy thus i find it useless to change to it smile.gif )
radi3tz
post Sep 30 2009, 09:55 PM

13 posts

hmm, which one uses the old chip?
x-fi xtreme audio, or x-fi xtreme audio pci express? or both??
I'm using the x-treme audio pci express version earlier(forget to mention it)
they uses different chip friend. . smile.gif

This post has been edited by radi3tz: Sep 30 2009, 09:56 PM
Lacus
post Sep 30 2009, 10:44 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

both of it uses the older chip it seems =/..(audigy SE's sound chip)
C-Note
post Sep 30 2009, 11:34 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

how about the X-Fi Surround 5.1? if it uses the new chip , then i reckon its pretty cheap and good.
Dreamworks
post Oct 1 2009, 07:58 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 25 2009, 11:49 PM)
Its up to you, I just giving suggestion smile.gif Well, that IS veroboard, I know what you mean actually, the board that have all the row already soldered (connected). But I'm not used to that and I wanted to have my own layout. I'll tidy it soon, just too lazy tongue.gif

Yes I agree buying adapter is better in long run especially if you love rolling opamp. If you use the adapter you can just tap from the PSU directly to the opamp if you want 12V supply. Use small capacitor like 0.01uF to bypass it to ground for some noise reduction
Ooops... Sorry, I didn't know they are all called veroboards, I guess what I meant was stripboard. Whatever lah as long as you get what I mean tongue.gif I'll just stick with the supplied 5V, lazy to manage those fragile wires here and there.

QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 29 2009, 08:44 PM)
Thanks for the reply. Thats really informative. Really appreciated it.  notworthy.gif

Am just curious here, what about the Fatality series and other brands like Asus XONAR? Extra features?

Anyway I guess I'll go for either Xtreme Audio or Titanium as my budget allows. Whaddaya think?
XONAR has superior opamps compared to the X-Fi (All models except the Elites), so they will naturally sound better, but then again... They cost more than those OEM X-Fi anyway, so it's kinda like you get what you paid for, unless you plan to mod the X-Fi later on. Driver and software of the XONAR is lighter, meaning smaller installation size and memory demand. As for the Fatality, not many games support X-RAM and the performance gain is negligible in most modern systems.

QUOTE(radi3tz @ Sep 30 2009, 09:55 PM)
hmm, which one uses the old chip?
x-fi xtreme audio, or x-fi xtreme audio pci express? or both??
I'm using the x-treme audio pci express version earlier(forget to mention it)
they uses different chip friend. . smile.gif
The PCI Express X-Fi Xtreme Audio is just the old Xtreme Audio with an added PCI-PCI Express bridge chip, all X-Fi effects are emulated by the main processor aka CPU.

Added on October 1, 2009, 8:06 pm
QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 30 2009, 11:34 PM)
how about the X-Fi Surround 5.1? if it uses the new chip , then i reckon its pretty cheap and good.
I do not think it's the new chip as its EAX support is only up to 4.0. Cards with "real" X-Fi APU supports up to version 5.0...

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Oct 1 2009, 08:06 PM
C-Note
post Oct 1 2009, 08:44 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

thanks dreamworks for the reply.

guess the titianium is the way to go. time to save up.

Added on October 25, 2009, 11:59 amElite Pro reporting in!! thx to kuchingfight thumbup.gif

hmm whats the optimum configuration for music playback?

Added on October 25, 2009, 12:16 pmhey guys how come I can't find DTS or anything related to Dolby in my Settings?

This post has been edited by C-Note: Oct 25 2009, 12:16 PM
davidbilly87
post Nov 13 2009, 03:16 PM

513 posts

Guys can explain what use of those thing ? and Can the Creative PCI Express X-Fi Titanium OEM flash to Creative rom? hmm.gif

erm....current i use AV amp to playback the music....after mod the SQ will increase?

my set up :

SC > AV/AMP > Hifi......

Please guide me thks ..... smile.gif smile.gif

This post has been edited by davidbilly87: Nov 14 2009, 06:41 PM

Dry Pillow
post Nov 24 2009, 01:32 AM

623 posts

I'm using laptop and mostly listening to music using headphone. Can you guys suggest me a good soundcard for laptop? smile.gif
jimmydotnet
post Nov 24 2009, 09:00 AM

Jimbo da Riverian
766 posts

guys...do u know where can get the software suite for x-fi fatality (older one) for windows 7 ??
can we use the software suite for vista??
Angel of Deth
post Nov 24 2009, 02:13 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 30 2009, 11:34 PM)
If you read the box it say "XtremeAudio technology" something like that. So technically it use same chip as XtremeAudio
Faint
post Nov 24 2009, 03:57 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

QUOTE(jimmydotnet @ Nov 24 2009, 09:00 AM)
guys...do u know where can get the software suite for x-fi fatality (older one) for windows 7 ??
can we use the software suite for vista??
You can find it in Creative website.
jimmydotnet
post Nov 24 2009, 04:12 PM

Jimbo da Riverian
766 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Nov 24 2009, 03:57 PM)
You can find it in Creative website.
but nothing for windows 7....can we used the vista @ xp one ??
btw guys about modding...can we change only the capacitor but not the DAC...will it give much nicer sound ??
wingster
post Nov 24 2009, 08:21 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

guys wanna ask does any new good X-Fi 5.1 Usb Soundcard for laptop? Leave away for the previous X-Fi USB Soundcard .. the sounds works well but it sucks on the popping distortions for my sensitive laptop .....
chaosneo
post Nov 25 2009, 12:44 PM

5,694 posts

proud owner of Creative X-Fi Titanium at RM325 ...

i can't hear much difference except,

- sounds that were not there before now there is, especially in music.
- highly configurable compared to onboard Realtek.
- gaming is a sensation.
- watching movies, if you actually set the rear L/R loud enough, you feel you are like in the movies but your sound perception might be distorted a bit as the surrounds are supposed to be ambient sounds.

oh.. my set... running 7.2 system

Logitech 5.1
Center, Front L/R, Side L/R, Bass

Eacan 2.1
Back L/R, Bass

it took me a considerably HELL amount of time to calibrate those two different set of speakers to balance so one is not louder than the other. but i did set the rear L/R a little tad higher, gives you REAL scare when watching horror movies, especially with girls... hehehe...

91 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:05 AM